• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience the speed of anti-gravity racing with PlayStation Vita's enhanced controls - including front touch, rear touch, and six-axis motion sensors. Optimized for 23rd century racing, you can compete with up to 8 other players on 10 new tracks. It’s a visceral battle to stay atop theExperience the speed of anti-gravity racing with PlayStation Vita's enhanced controls - including front touch, rear touch, and six-axis motion sensors. Optimized for 23rd century racing, you can compete with up to 8 other players on 10 new tracks. It’s a visceral battle to stay atop the online leaderboards. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    92
    If not for the irritatingly long loading times, this might well be the best launch title for the PlayStation Vita Sony has in store for us. The feeling of speed still provides a satisfyingly big wow-factor, while the cross-platform options turn this title into a handheld pioneer. A must-have for every Vita-owner.
  2. 90
    Despite the long loading times (typically 50 seconds before each track) and the excruciating learning curve for non-pros, WipEout 2048 offers a tactically exciting, rewarding and challenge campaign mode with some gloriously-designed tracks and nice variety of events.
  3. Deploying a series of a deadly mines and hearing that soft, distant bang behind you when your opponents run into them is still as satisfying as ever. The same goes for taking the top spot in the final seconds of a race thanks to a conveniently placed speed pad. [March 2012, p.48]
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    80
    Some minor multiplayer issues and overly long load times do little to change the fact that WipEout is back in the palm of your hand, and it's better than ever.
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    80
    It may not be the most progressive title of the PS Vita's launch lineup, but it's a worthy addition to its stable.
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    78
    It's a competent racer, but Wipeout 2048 feels too familiar for its own good. Long loads and underwhelming touch controls don't help the matter, and may dissuade anyone who isn't a longtime fan of the series. [Mar 2012, p.95]
  7. Feb 16, 2012
    60
    It can be hard to look past the game's technical issues, which include insane pre-race load times and a frame rate that tends to rob the traditionally breakneck hover racer of its sense of speed. Toss in a UI that's a little too slick for its own good and you end up with something a little more ho-hum than you might be expecting.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    I bought Vita only for Wipeout-2048. The circuits are very detailed with steady above 30 fps. The physics engine is the same as Fury-HD onI bought Vita only for Wipeout-2048. The circuits are very detailed with steady above 30 fps. The physics engine is the same as Fury-HD on PS3. The visual play looks awesome, the control is steady. However you may dislike the wait cause every time you must wait for 60 seconds long until the initial race-loading completes. The multiplay is sometime interrupted by sudden network connection losts due to authority server out of sync. On Feb 15 2012, the patch 1.01 has been released with improved load time, various bug fixes, and new audio track: Orbital Beelzedub! Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    This Game is Perfect, I Have this Game since 2012 and I'm still addicted to this Race! The Tracks are very detailed and the Ships are veryThis Game is Perfect, I Have this Game since 2012 and I'm still addicted to this Race! The Tracks are very detailed and the Ships are very Amazing! I have no issue about this Game. The DLC is Also Perfect and fix bug where the load Times was to long becomes Short now. In short,its still the Best Racing Game! Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    Wipeout 2048 is a cool racing game. It has beautiful graphics and good gameplay. The controls were okay for me on the "Racer" config. TheWipeout 2048 is a cool racing game. It has beautiful graphics and good gameplay. The controls were okay for me on the "Racer" config. The loading takes a bit long time, but it's still good. The game is fun for me, I really enjoy it. Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    This is the most impressive game for the VIta in terms of graphics. the game runs smoothly and the soundtrack is excellent. The only problemThis is the most impressive game for the VIta in terms of graphics. the game runs smoothly and the soundtrack is excellent. The only problem with the game is the long load times but you soon forget that when you are racing. Overall this is a must have game for every Vita owner Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    I got this game as a part of the PS Plus membership, and I'm really happy with it. The graphics are great, I love the art style, and the musicI got this game as a part of the PS Plus membership, and I'm really happy with it. The graphics are great, I love the art style, and the music goes well with the fast paced racing and combat. It surpasses both the PSP wipeout games in every way. This game was clearly a passion project.

    My only complaint is that a purchase of the online pass is required before being able to buy the HD DLC. Not cool.
    Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised with this game, I really was. I was expecting yet another rushed game but thats not what this is at all. This isI was pleasantly surprised with this game, I really was. I was expecting yet another rushed game but thats not what this is at all. This is a well conceived and put together game. Graphically it really is excellent, who would of known that such a small portable device could generate such brilliant graphics. The soundtrack is absolutely fantastic (some classics from wipeout 2047 in there!), as are the sound effects. The gameplay is engrossing and exciting. However, sometimes there is just to much going on and the framerate suffers, and this also impares the gamers ability to actually see whats happening. Load times need improving as well. Despite these flaws, this is still an excellent game and a must for any wipeout / racing fan. To summarise, and excellent game with some slight issues. A solid 8 from me. Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2012
    1
    This game is completely NOT worth the money. In fact I want to hurt myself every time I see a kid on here saying that it 'embodies the spiritThis game is completely NOT worth the money. In fact I want to hurt myself every time I see a kid on here saying that it 'embodies the spirit of PS One.' Um... No? This game has many flaws its un intuitive controls being the first. It turns to sharply or too wide at random points and it handles like a box of rocks on a trampoline. The reason this game has such a high review is because of the lack of experience on real racing games that makes kids say this game is good. Terrible game and I wish I could just have my money back. Smh Collapse

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita

    Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita Image
    Published: February 15, 2012
    Sony's new handheld gaming device arrives in North America next week (or today, for anyone purchasing the first edition bundle). Is it any good? Find out inside, where we survey dozens of reviews for the new PS Vita.