• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Crash Team Racing Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's a multi-player kart racing game starring your favorite bandicoot CRASH and a host of his friends...and foes! The stakes are high and the competition is fierce. Ready...Set...GO!!!

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Control is also nearly-perfect... The transparent controls allow you to concentrate on racing and blasting your opponents, and so the races are faster, more fluid and more fun.
  2. The game that made kart racing cool. Nothing has ever matched its quality. [Mar 2002, p.34]
  3. Just like the previous Crash games, CTR is utterly polished and addictive to a fault... That's right, you heard me, CTR is a better game than Nintendo's "Mario Kart."
  4. Countless mascot racers flooded store shelves during the PlayStation era, and Crash Team Racing was the only good one. Really. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  5. 85
    Once you get past the insanely capitalistic smile of Crash, the game is rock solid in playability and graphics. Hell! It's a four-player kart game that's on the PlayStation. Isn't that enough?
  6. Though it doesn't add much to the tired genre, it manages to do everything well.
  7. A good game, not a phenomenal game, just a plain and simple good game. Though, a little on the cute side, the challenge out weights such matters.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Best kart racer ever!!!!!!! Ive been playin this game since i was 7 and it never gets old. The music is great and tracks are so fun. This gameBest kart racer ever!!!!!!! Ive been playin this game since i was 7 and it never gets old. The music is great and tracks are so fun. This game is so awesome i went out of my way to get platinum relics for all the tracks. I got all platinum but sewer speedway and n.gin labs are the hardest for platinum. I love this game so much i own for ps1, ps2, ps3, and psp. This so much more fast pace than mario kart. the adventure is much fun especially if you unlock the bosses. In my opinion the best ps1 racing game. Expand
  2. Drjones
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    One of the best games ever released for the PlayStation.
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    a great kart racing game made CRASH BANDICOOT and its opponents famous characters ,i'm still playing this game a game full of funa great kart racing game made CRASH BANDICOOT and its opponents famous characters ,i'm still playing this game a game full of fun especially in multiplayer mode Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game is one of the best cart racers ever created, and finally a great one that isn't a Mario Kart racer. It is a near-perfect cart racerThis game is one of the best cart racers ever created, and finally a great one that isn't a Mario Kart racer. It is a near-perfect cart racer with great graphics and fun gameplay. Expand
  5. May 21, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    After all these years we thought Nintendo was the only company that produced decent kart games for their consoles, well finally theAfter all these years we thought Nintendo was the only company that produced decent kart games for their consoles, well finally the Playstation has its own clone, Crash Team Racing. Created and Developed by Naughty Dog, Crash Team Racing is a kart racing game where the player can choose to play as any of the characters in the Crash series (even the bad guys if you want, I always choose Crash because he's my favourite). There are five different modes to choose from: Adventure, Time Trial, Arcade, Verses and Battle. "Adventure" mode is the main story of the game. You start off in the arena where you can drive around and practice some skills such as hopping, drifting and power sliding. The main goal is to win trophies by coming in first place, when you have collected four the boss challenge opens up. Beat to boss to and you'll receive a key which will unlock the door to the next world, there you will find four more tracks to race. Overall there are 18 tracks, 5 worlds and 5 bosses. There are some unbelievable (Oxide Station in particular) race tracks and if that wasn't enough, you can use weapons on your opponents to help you to catch up if you are behind. In a way it's almost identical to the Wipeout games. As well as trophies, there are other race modes too such as Relic Race, CTR challenge and the Gem Cup Challenge. In "Time Trial" you can race through every single track in the game (this is a good way of getting some practice and memorizing the whole track in all of them), attempting to beat the computer players time. If you're fast enough N Tropy will challenge you, and if you beat his time you'll face Oxide. Trust me when I say this, no matter how many tries, how much speed, power, drifting, everything you give it, you will most likely not beat him. I've attempted them all myself and have only beaten him in a few races. In "Arcade" mode, you can scroll through a selection of tracks you wish to race. You can choose either Single Race or enter a Cup, where you race on four tracks in a row and score points. The better position you are, the more points you gain and if you have the most points after the four races, you win the Cup. The "Versus" mode is pretty much the same, with the exception that two or more players are involved. In "Battle" mode, you can have up to four players fighting and launching weapons at one another during combat in up to seven battle arenas. The type and length of the battle can be adjusted in the main menu beforehand. Graphically the game is very impressive, the colour and texture design of each vehicle are done brilliantly. The race tracks and environments are very well pixelated, and there is lot of variation background to see from a great distance. The characters are very well desinged , and i'm glad the developers didn't change them too much (unlike some Crash games) . As always, the music and sound effects are note perfect. Each soundtrack matches perfectly to each race track. One thing I really like is listening to the players taunts (especially Crash's who does some hilarious ones like "Wheeeeee" and of course his old time favourite "Whoa"), when trying to overtake someone. It's almost as if they're saying what you're thinking. The only criticisms I would say is that some of the tracks (Coco Park for example) are easy and boring and where in the other modes you can adjust the difficulty, Adventure mode doesn't have this option. It would have been nice if they added this feature, in case you felt it was too easy to complete. Despite this, I can honestly say this is the best Kart racing game I have ever played. It's way more superior to the Mario Kart games and if I ever get the chance, I will thank Naughty Dog dearly for making four great Crash games that will remain classics and will entertain millions of gamers as the years go by. Although it was sad to hear their departure from Crash, I absolutly loved what they did with Jak and Uncharted. Expand
  7. TheElusivePossom
    Apr 16, 2003
    1
    WOW! I mean, what a steaming crock of sh*t. I couldn't really believe that Sony were truly manifesting this idea until I saw it in WOW! I mean, what a steaming crock of sh*t. I couldn't really believe that Sony were truly manifesting this idea until I saw it in action. Whether it's the shoddy graphics, absent gameplay value or the implementation of the Worst Characters Ever (tm), you might be put off by this plagerised catastrophe. It's fun for about 5 minutes (which is where the "1" in my rating comes from), but when the drugs wear off, reality will just come flooding back to thump you in the face. If you want a decent karting game, look into Mario Kart or Diddy Kong Racing, the two best racing games of all time (you'll need an N64, mind). Whatever you do, just stay away from anything remotely bandicoot-shaped until someone at "Naughty Dog" takes a hint. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews