• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Crash Team Racing Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's a multi-player kart racing game starring your favorite bandicoot CRASH and a host of his friends...and foes! The stakes are high and the competition is fierce. Ready...Set...GO!!!

Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Control is also nearly-perfect... The transparent controls allow you to concentrate on racing and blasting your opponents, and so the races are faster, more fluid and more fun.
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    The game that made kart racing cool. Nothing has ever matched its quality. [Mar 2002, p.34]
  3. Just like the previous Crash games, CTR is utterly polished and addictive to a fault... That's right, you heard me, CTR is a better game than Nintendo's "Mario Kart."
  4. GMR Magazine
    90
    Countless mascot racers flooded store shelves during the PlayStation era, and Crash Team Racing was the only good one. Really. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  5. 85
    Once you get past the insanely capitalistic smile of Crash, the game is rock solid in playability and graphics. Hell! It's a four-player kart game that's on the PlayStation. Isn't that enough?
  6. Though it doesn't add much to the tired genre, it manages to do everything well.
  7. A good game, not a phenomenal game, just a plain and simple good game. Though, a little on the cute side, the challenge out weights such matters.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Best kart racer ever!!!!!!! Ive been playin this game since i was 7 and it never gets old. The music is great and tracks are so fun. This gameBest kart racer ever!!!!!!! Ive been playin this game since i was 7 and it never gets old. The music is great and tracks are so fun. This game is so awesome i went out of my way to get platinum relics for all the tracks. I got all platinum but sewer speedway and n.gin labs are the hardest for platinum. I love this game so much i own for ps1, ps2, ps3, and psp. This so much more fast pace than mario kart. the adventure is much fun especially if you unlock the bosses. In my opinion the best ps1 racing game. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    My first game on Playstation 1, I don't even remember the first time I've played it, but it doesn't matter, I still play it today and I enjoyMy first game on Playstation 1, I don't even remember the first time I've played it, but it doesn't matter, I still play it today and I enjoy it like I always did. As a kid I played it with my two brothers ALL NIGHT LONG. Great times.. About the game: awesome kart steering, interesting power-ups and weapons can be found during the race, large choice of extremely fun maps in which i think all of them have a secret route shortcuts, great graphics for it's time, a lot of characters to be chosen, awesome "adventure mode" and unforgettable multiplayer races. Absolutely one of my all time favorites! 10/10 Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    a great kart racing game made CRASH BANDICOOT and its opponents famous characters ,i'm still playing this game a game full of funa great kart racing game made CRASH BANDICOOT and its opponents famous characters ,i'm still playing this game a game full of fun especially in multiplayer mode Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    It's a tad bit too obvious that it's mimicking Mario Kart 64, but it does it in all the right ways, making it just as innovative and essentialIt's a tad bit too obvious that it's mimicking Mario Kart 64, but it does it in all the right ways, making it just as innovative and essential to anyone's collection of PS1 games. Pros: Fantastic visuals, control, and course design; boss battles; single-player and multi-player mode are endless amounts of fun; lots of extras and unlockables; the hubworld is a nice addition to the adventure mode. Cons: It's a tad bit too easy; it's not as great as Mario Kart 64. Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2016
    9
    Crash Team Racing is a kart racing video game developed by Naughty Dog and published by Sony Computer Entertainment.

    + Most Fun Racing Kart
    Crash Team Racing is a kart racing video game developed by Naughty Dog and published by Sony Computer Entertainment.

    + Most Fun Racing Kart Game I have Played
    + Campaign and Challenges
    + Greats Circuits
    Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    One of the very few best kart racing games for the PS1 which crash team racing is a perfect example to this before Naughty dog no longer hadOne of the very few best kart racing games for the PS1 which crash team racing is a perfect example to this before Naughty dog no longer had the rights to produce another crash game and selling off to a different company.

    Story- Pretty obvious. The bad guy challenges you to whatever he decides in which case kart racing and you must defeat otherwise the bad guy will take over the planet and either destroy, or enslave the living around still awesome plot line for a kart racer.

    Graphics- Not too much to explain since this was part of Naughty dog's involvementt with the game so its basically still a good cartoonish design to look into.

    Gameplay- Don't think for a moment that this is basically Mario Kart since it has similarity just don't be hating enjoy the game. You choose your favorite characters from crash, cortex, tiny, N.Gin, etc while others can be unlocked through challenges involving CTR tokens in the story mode of the game. races are usually 3 laps which you can make your decision in singles, vs racing. while the boxes with ? contain weapons you can use to help you out to your advantage while CPU can do the same thing. Doing slides can really help you out since if you press a button at the right time during the slide you will recieve additional boosts which having more wumpa fruits can also increase slightly, as well as making your weapons stronger, and last for a period amount of time. Stages feel fun to play even after a couple times still enjoyable. Battle mode is where you and your friends duke out to see who's better in hitting the most players or achieving the most objectives in the amount of time. Time Trial is getting the faster time and achiving time relics depending on how fast you finish the race.

    Overall- Still an enjoyable game even today it is amazing how it will always be a classic to kart racing on the playstation 1 though i wished that they would still make these amazing games though but that won't happen any time soon =(

    Final Score- 9.5 for racing enjoyment
    Expand
  7. TheElusivePossom
    Apr 16, 2003
    1
    WOW! I mean, what a steaming crock of sh*t. I couldn't really believe that Sony were truly manifesting this idea until I saw it in WOW! I mean, what a steaming crock of sh*t. I couldn't really believe that Sony were truly manifesting this idea until I saw it in action. Whether it's the shoddy graphics, absent gameplay value or the implementation of the Worst Characters Ever (tm), you might be put off by this plagerised catastrophe. It's fun for about 5 minutes (which is where the "1" in my rating comes from), but when the drugs wear off, reality will just come flooding back to thump you in the face. If you want a decent karting game, look into Mario Kart or Diddy Kong Racing, the two best racing games of all time (you'll need an N64, mind). Whatever you do, just stay away from anything remotely bandicoot-shaped until someone at "Naughty Dog" takes a hint. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

12
3
#3 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1999
7
#7 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1999