Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 719 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    Mario Kart 8 is my favorite series entry since Double Dash, and if it gets arena battle tracks at some point by way of DLC, it will be a near-perfect package. Its vibrant visuals will hold up for years to come, ensuring that the game will withstand the test of time, and it will be a staple in my household for a long, long while.
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. 89
    There is no doubt that Mario Kart 8 is a great game, plain and simple. With the power of the Wii U at their disposal Nintendo has been able to create some really great looking tracks, add a lot more racers for you to compete against, and there is a fairly robust local and online multiplayer component for fans to enjoy.
  6. May 15, 2014
    84
    Despite my criticism of some of the modes and gameplay mechanics, Mario Kart 8 is still an amazing game, and as intense and addicting as its predecessors. I may wish for a better Battle Mode and more online features, but I have happily raced hundreds of matches, and expect thousands more for many months, and even years, to come.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 234
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    This game takes a huge step forward in its course design and graphics, while lovingly looking back to its roots. It combines everything I've loved about every other Mario Kart, and turns it into a fresh experience. The new tracks are great, and the "highlights" are a nice touch- but the thing that most impresses me about this game are the retro courses. They're far from the standard copy/paste from the past, and each of them have been retrofitted with the new things this game brings, while still maintaining their original feel. Nintendo clearly put a lot of time, effort, and thought into this game, and it deserves every last cent that I've spent on it- and I haven't even STARTED The multiplayer yet! To sum it up, this is a fantastic game- a must have for any Wii U owner, and the closest thing we've had so far to a system seller! Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Best game in this month
    It must buy the game and play with everyone
    Frankly fun game to the extreme
    Frankly, one of the strongest games
    Nintendo currently
    With high-definition imaging frankly very wonderful!
    Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    People, Mario Kart 8 is finally here and it's the best game I've ever played! The game is so addicting its a good thing it's not Cocaine because I would have Overdosed already. This is one of those games that you'll never get bored with even in 8 years from now, the graphics are truly next Generation graphics that truly make Mario Kart 8 Shine in the Brightest way possible. If you want to have fun for the rest of your life, you have to go out and buy a WII U immediately and get this game! I guess the only down part of this game, is once you get it your life will be over. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    A nearly Perfect Game. If you liked any Mario or any karting game, get a wii u and buy this game.
    Pros: The visuals. Wow. It looks amazing.
    The races. The Characters. Multiplayer etc.
    Cons: The battle mode. This is the thing that held it back from a 10. They put actual race tracks in the game instead of those cube tracks. This results to instead battling it out with your friends, you drive through the track hoping you find them. And even you do find them, they're just gonna zoom past you.
    Anyway, Great game nearly a 10, but the battle mode ruined it. Still great though.
    Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2014
    9
    Finally un-locked all pre-DLC characters!
    Best looking Mario Kart there is.
    Missing Arenas that were replaced them with actual racetracks -
    that's a step back.
    Handles perfectly and I love the 8 Power Up
    I'll be buying the DLC when I can afford to because I want to play as Link and am looking forward to new tracks.
    If you own a WiiU, I wholeheartedly recommend this one.
    Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2014
    0
    boring. looks like a kid game, plays without any depth, poor graphics at last gen resolution. annoying soundtrack (better to mute). already played this game in the 90s...don't bother with it again. Expand

See all 234 User Reviews