• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nano Assault Neo is a fast paced shoot'em'up set in a microscopic world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    94
    Nano Assault NEO is an excellent eShop title that would be a great addition to any growing Wii U game collection. And for $10, there's no reason to pass it up.
  2. Nov 23, 2012
    90
    Nano Assault Neo is their boldest, more beautiful shooter yet, and Wii U owners absolutely shouldn't miss out on its shiny twin-stick shooting.
  3. 85
    Still, Nano Assault Neo is fun, plays well, and looks great whether you are looking at the TV or playing solely on the GamePad's screen. The ease of getting in and out of a game means that any unsuccessful attempt at improving your scores will likely compel you to try again.
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    70
    Nano Assault Neo is a competent twin analog shooter, both solid and fun, but it's also a little too much traditional gameplay-wise and you can beat it in a couple of hours. And that's not cool.
  5. Dec 18, 2012
    70
    Thanks to its cheap price and overall quality, Nano Assault Neo is a good launch title that lets you try some of the Wii U GamePad's most important features. But it's way too short.
  6. Dec 16, 2012
    70
    With only a few levels on offer, each lasting only a few minutes, it would be easy to conclude that Nano Assault Neo is a total rip-off. Deeper observation, however, reveals a quite addictive experience that will have fans of the genre coming back for more, trying to complete every single one of the downright insane challenges it throws their way, as well as attempting to climb atop the online leader-boards to become the best player in the world... or perhaps aiming for the more reasonable goal of becoming the best Nano Assault player among their friends.
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    40
    Nano Assault Neo is my least favourite kind of game; the kind that follows in others' footsteps with little to call its own. It's not a bad game in the conventional sense - it's not tedious or broken - and it's even moderately amusing, but it's not especially refined and I'm not sure why it exists beyond trying to score a quick buck during a deserted launch window.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    Beautiful game, the developer keeps getting better and better with their games. The controles feel amazing and I love the buy upgrade system. If you have a wii u and you don't have this game, you need to go right to the nintendo store and buy it., it's really cheap! My only complaint is that it's a bit to hard, but that may just be me. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    9 out of 10 might seem high for such a short game, but I've put more time into this one than any of the longer games I own -- excellent replayablity and plenty of incentive to keep coming back to improve scores. Beautiful visuals, tight controls and great soundtrack. Great simplicity and super value. Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Very nice game, lots of action and cool graphics. The control is extremely simple, you just need to use the L/R sticks, what for me is great (I don't like having to memorize 10 buttons control schemes), and the difficulty level is adequate, I'd say 7 in a 0-10 scale. My only complaint is about its length, it could be longer. Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2012
    8
    This game is a lot of fun with beautiful graphics. The co-op mode is perfect for the Wii U and shows the benefit of a second screen. The only problem with this game is that its way to short. The game is $10 and probably should be in the $5-$7 range. You can beat the game in a couple hours. Nice replay value with co-op though. Collapse
  5. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    tres sympa surtout pour le scoring; le prix est petit et le jeu est bon; pourquoi le noter comme un jeux a plus de 60 euros ? Et puis avec la mablette c'est jouissif.
    Bref vous pouvez foncer : bon jeu
    Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    The only reason I didn't give this game a 10 was because of the length: there are only 16 levels total (not counting bonus levels). Perhaps I am a little harsh as this game is designed to be more about achieve high score than anything.

    Other than that, this is a solid twin-stick shooter game and well-worth the $10 I paid. I was very impressed that the game is actually in LPCM 5.1 as well! Despite having very limited enemy types and an interesting art-style (you are essentially fighting on the cells of some organism, I assume a human), the graphics are amazing!
    Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    A nice little game. As short as it is, Nano Assault Neo has that element of replay-ability that many other games lack. The old-school 'try to beat the high score' type of gameplay is done nigh on perfect, easily giving gamers their money's worth in terms of play time. On the flip side, there are a couple of minor issues that keep it from attaining a perfect score. The first, of course, is the shortness of the main game. However, with the inclusion of Arcade, Co-op, and Survival modes, as well as leaderboards, this won't be an issue for those who love those sorts of games. The second issue is a bug which causes freezing of the console. But I have a feeling that this happens with a lot of third-party games that were available at launch. Apart from that, Nano Assault Neo boasts easy-to-learn controls, a modest learning curve, and an interesting look which resembles a mix of Metroid Prime, Super Mario Galaxy, and Space Invaders. A must-have for those who love grinding out personal bests, and those who treasure replay-ability over the amount of content. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews