Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the All-Stars cast battle for supremacy across land, water and air in transforming vehicles that change from cars to boats to planes mid-race.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    90
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a fantastic racer. The tracks and racers are great, and the controls – small jet niggles aside – are excellent.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    Sonic's second foray into the motoring world is his best yet, with a game that headlines the defining advantages of the Wii U format whilst providing more than enough to see and do for SEGA fans both young and old. Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed retains trademark aspects of the karting genre, but also provides enough variation on it to be able to stand side-by-side with Nintendo's eventual Mario equivalent.
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    88
    Amid a sea of sloppy ports, the Wii U version Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed shines like a veritable beacon: with the possible exception of Tekken Tag Tournament 2 it's the best multiplatform title on the console, and might just have the edge over the PS3 and 360 versions of the game, not least because offline play is now available for five players instead of four.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    The GamePad introduces a fifth player, career map, rear-view mirror ... This edition of Sonic & All-Stars Racing: Transformed is the most complete and with possibilities for a fun title that stands out this year and it assembles all of Sega's stars.
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    I'll go on record and say that this is the best kart racer in some time (yes, even better than Mario Kart 7) – now that's saying something.
  6. 80
    If you're looking for a solitary campaign and online experience, then Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is the game for you. If you want chaotic multiplayer party fun, wait until Mario Kart on Wii U.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    Broken modes, both online and off, bring the otherwise enjoyable Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed to a screeching halt.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, definitely a sleeper hit. It lots of the characters from sega's past, which is great if you grew up with those games.This is a great game, definitely a sleeper hit. It lots of the characters from sega's past, which is great if you grew up with those games. If you didn't, it might be harder to relate to the characters but it's a racing game so it shouldn't matter too much.

    The tracks are very well designed and play extremely well. There are three parts to this game: Cart, Airplane, and boat. The cart plays the best in my opinion, it is completely flawless. The airplane and boat can sometimes be hard to control but that may just be me.

    There IS a gamepad only mode. You just need to swipe down on the gamepad when the game starts up and then you can play it on there. It was extremely simple to do and I had no problems.

    The only beef I have with the game is Danicka Patrick, not sure why she is there when they could have had someone like Vectorman in there but to each his own, maybe some people will like her.

    Overall, I give this game a 10 because it is truly a great game, one that is overlooked and this should not be the case. This is not a port either because the game was developed equally for xbox 360 and ps3 and even came out the same day. The game also has a few wii u specific modes that I have yet to try. Overall, there are very little flaws and the game is miles ahead of the last game, which I personally thought was fun to begin with. All in all, this game is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
    Collapse
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    When it first came out there were game killing bugs in it. Terrible!!! However, they've patched it and now it's a very fun game. You can playWhen it first came out there were game killing bugs in it. Terrible!!! However, they've patched it and now it's a very fun game. You can play single player on just the GamePad. You can play 2 player main game and it does one person on the tv and one person on the GamePad so 2 player is NOT split screen. and you can play online. Plus you can have 5 players in the same room playing. (4 player split screen and 1 on the gamepad)
    One thing I like better about this than Mario Kart is when you get hit by items it slows you down, but it doesn't completely bring you to a stop so it helps out the players that are trying to catch up but it's not devastating to the guy that gets hit which makes it much less frustrating.
    Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    specialmias

    is wrong on his review you can play it on the pad as well so don't listen, great game with loads of things to do, there are
    specialmias

    is wrong on his review you can play it on the pad as well so don't listen, great game with loads of things to do, there are some complaining of glitches but Sega have finished a patch that will be out soon so no worries there. loads of sega nostalgia plays kinda like a new diddy kong racing which is no bad thing,
    Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    It beats Mario Kart in variety and weaponry design and overall nuances of the gameplay. It's nice that the courses change from water to air soIt beats Mario Kart in variety and weaponry design and overall nuances of the gameplay. It's nice that the courses change from water to air so you're not just doing 3 laps of the same thing all the time. The point I'm taking off is for how impossibly hard it is on higher difficulty settings. This wouldn't normally be an issue, but even as a seasoned expert gamer who's conquered the legendarily difficult F-Zero GX, I found it insanely hard to unlock all the characters. I feel really bad for people who will literally never unlock some of the characters which require you to beat many missions on S class rating. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    This game in my opinion was better than the latest Mario Kart entries great Race Track Designs an awesome soundtrack which threw me rightThis game in my opinion was better than the latest Mario Kart entries great Race Track Designs an awesome soundtrack which threw me right back to old Dreamcast days and a very good Character Roster. That game hit the sweet spot! Online is fun too and the "Career" mode can be played cooperatively completely as any game mode you can choose from I believe. This game is also more about racing than using your bonus items, which I find fantastic! Way less frustration that way no blue shell kicking you to the fifth spot after having had the lead for several rounds. There 3 ways you race in this game. With the ability to transform into a flying vehicle or a boat at certain spots the experience masters to feel fresh all the time. I spent countless hours on this title and am very happy to have had such a great Kart Racer at the launch of the Wii U console although I hope Mario Kart 8 will be even better, which I think it will be. I´m a positive guy and better seems always better than not better see? Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    Is this the best kart racer this gen? Yep. More importantly is this is a collection of all things Sega. Sega has always been a step behindIs this the best kart racer this gen? Yep. More importantly is this is a collection of all things Sega. Sega has always been a step behind Nintendo and it is good to see Sega come out with a greatest hits type game along the lines of Fighters Megamix. As for the game itself...no story, just racing. Everyone knows how the system works. You race other racers on tracks littered with weapons and speed pads. Sega through in a few time trials for good measure. However.....your car can turn into a boat to run on water of a plane / copter to fly when you run out of land. The boats are a bit floaty by design and the air vehicles feel natural with a bit of touchiness when you go up and down. The weapons are sadly a little on the boring side and actually hitting the target takes a bit of skill. The difficulty is well balanced however some of the later tracks are a tad easier than some of the earlier ones. Speaking of the tracks they are the best looking tracks in any kart racer. Period. There is no argument to be made. It looks fantastic. It looks so good in fact that some tracks like the "Nights" course or the "Samba" track are so cluttered it gets a tad confusing. Also the track design seems to be either a tad to simple or a tad to complicated. Some are trail and error. Not a deal breaker but it needs to be mentioned. But they look great. Sega blue is everywhere and seeing games like Jet Set Radio, Shinobi, and Monkey Ball gets the nostalgia going. Sadly on the Wii U I have not had a chance to dig into multiplayer because I can't get connected to anyone else. Plus the game is full of slowdown and glitches. I actually rented it from Redbox on the 360 and that version does not have the problems. So if you have the choice get the 360 version. Hopefully the Wii U gets a patch but thanks to Nintendo's ignorance I am already out of hard drive space. But I can't hate the game over Nintendo's mistakes. But the Wii U version gets the lower grade for coming out with problems. Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    7.5 actually. Don't believe all the perfect 10 reviews, but don't believe the 5 one's either. This game is good, no doubt about it. The racing7.5 actually. Don't believe all the perfect 10 reviews, but don't believe the 5 one's either. This game is good, no doubt about it. The racing is fun. especially with friends. There are many characters to choose from, vehicles, upgrades etc. This is a proper racing game no doubt about it. The transformation gimick gives it more kick, but it's not a game changer imo. So why just 7.5? because that's what it's worth. Its a good game, but not great. I play mario kart 7 and mk7 is better than this, the gameplay is just more accurate and more challenging. So should you play it? yes! just don't think it's the racing game of the century. I'm sure that anyone can find joy in this game. If you're goinf to choose between Mario kart, or Sonic racing, go with mario. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews