ZombiU Wii U

ZombiU Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 762 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For only the second time in history, a great plague has descended upon London, infecting the human race with a deadly disease. Big Ben tolls as hundreds upon thousands of the unprepared die or are infected by a sickness worse than death... You continue to breathe, for now. But how long willFor only the second time in history, a great plague has descended upon London, infecting the human race with a deadly disease. Big Ben tolls as hundreds upon thousands of the unprepared die or are infected by a sickness worse than death... You continue to breathe, for now. But how long will you survive in the labyrinth of London streets and underground as the infected close in around you? The horrifying remains of humanity ravaged by the foul disease shuffle through the streets, waiting to prey on your living flesh at every turn. ZombiU is designed to take advantage of the Wii U and its new controller and will test your will to survive in a zombie Survival-Horror First Person Shooter. So grab hold of the height of survival kits – your new controller – and stock up your Bug-Out Bag with supplies. Make every second count; you only get one chance. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 70
  2. Negative: 1 out of 70
  1. ZombiU will send shivers of fear and excitement up and down your spine in equal measure: it's the perfect showcase for what the Wii U is all about.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    These minor problems, however, rarely interfere with the pulse-quickening thrill of diving into a mass of infected and coming out alive on the other side. ZombiU isn't for everyone, but those who stick with it, through its unforgiving and occasionally frustrating difficulty, there's a an exhilarating experience to be had.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    84
    It's not perfect and it's not for everyone, but ZombiU is a fantastic return of the survival horror genre.
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    80
    ZombiU is awkward, ugly, crawling in its pace, and often nonsensical with its narrative ... and I remember when horror games weren't ashamed of any of that, even actively exploiting it to create alienating, frightening atmospheres that stuck in a players' memories and made them too spooked to want to take another step forward. ZombiU did that to me.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    It is unforgiving and brutal, but in the best of ways that challenges players to carefully consider each step. For those who don't shy away from a challenge, ZombiU may just be the best reason to own a Wii U at launch.
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    70
    The game-ending glitches can be a real pain and the same goes for some of the developers choices concerning the use of the GamePad. But if you are willing to look past those problems you'll be left with a true and immersive survival horror experience.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    45
    With an uninteresting world and dull combat, the survival horror game ZombiU is a weak link in the Wii U's launch lineup.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 236
  1. Sep 19, 2015
    10
    Never would have thought after looking at some game plays on utube that I would have enjoyed this game so much. Seemed typical enough but itNever would have thought after looking at some game plays on utube that I would have enjoyed this game so much. Seemed typical enough but it is not. Suspenseful and surprising. The very seemingly innocent variation of having to start fresh from your last game save without your stuff in hand and having to go back and get it with a "new" character makes it very frustrating and challenging at the same time. What some reviewers have written about this fact is true but it makes you try harder next time around...with a little more angst in the bat to compensate :) and put more game in you to beat the developers at their game. Played through twice which I don't think I've ever done for any game. Definitely would enjoy an add on to this. Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Very good survival game; thx ubi.
    This game isn't made for casual; difficulty level is high.
    En francais : excellent jeu pas fait pour les
    Very good survival game; thx ubi.
    This game isn't made for casual; difficulty level is high.
    En francais : excellent jeu pas fait pour les **** joueurs cependant; direction artistique de toute beauté a mon goût
    Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This was one of nintendos main launch games and wanted this game to sell the Wii U, well Nintendo have achieved that ZombiU works great on theThis was one of nintendos main launch games and wanted this game to sell the Wii U, well Nintendo have achieved that ZombiU works great on the amazing gamepad and has a really adventures twang to the game this is the best game I've ever played you guys have got to get it! Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    I can't remember playing a game that keeps you on edge more than this. It isn't perfect by any means but the experience of playing it is topI can't remember playing a game that keeps you on edge more than this. It isn't perfect by any means but the experience of playing it is top notch. Using headphones amplifies that feeling of terror as you hear zombies lurking or coming for you. Ubisoft uses the gamepad as well as any game thus far. It could use more polish and refinement but graphically it was very good. They definitely took some shortcuts with the routes you needed to take to get to places looking too similar. It is a must own game for the Wii U though and really..only a couple stupid reviews (IGN) keep this score down. It's a solid 8 overall but a 9 for the Wii U. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    It's a really survival horror. The graphics and story are not the best. But the mechanics with the gamepad are cool and the terror sensationIt's a really survival horror. The graphics and story are not the best. But the mechanics with the gamepad are cool and the terror sensation is real. Good game! Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2014
    8
    I got this game dec 13 and I love it. Was the 1st game I played on wii u so took about a hour to get to grips with. I heard about alot of gameI got this game dec 13 and I love it. Was the 1st game I played on wii u so took about a hour to get to grips with. I heard about alot of game breaking bugs but 14 hours in I havent seen any yet. I have loved every minute of this game. Graphics are decent( not groundbreaking) sound is good gameplay is good. The tension is very high and is truly scary when played in the dark with the sound up. Also a decent variety of guns but only one melee weapon which is a cricket bat so I mainly stick to guns. Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2015
    0
    ZombiU was an entire mistake, controls are confusing, game difficult is not ok and the game does not worth the price as day one. AnotherZombiU was an entire mistake, controls are confusing, game difficult is not ok and the game does not worth the price as day one. Another fiasco as the wii u. I was very upset after bought the console and game Expand

See all 236 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.