Silent Hill: Homecoming Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game thrusts players into a shadowy world of chaos and terror with atmospheric graphics and an original storyline that sheds new light on the desolate, fog-shrouded town of Silent Hill. Silent Hill: Homecoming follows Alex Shepherd, a war veteran returning home from an overseas tour ofThe game thrusts players into a shadowy world of chaos and terror with atmospheric graphics and an original storyline that sheds new light on the desolate, fog-shrouded town of Silent Hill. Silent Hill: Homecoming follows Alex Shepherd, a war veteran returning home from an overseas tour of duty to investigate the mysterious disappearance of his younger brother, Joshua. His travels lead him through the small, insular community of Shepherd's Glen and eventually through the hauntingly empty streets of Silent Hill. Building upon the series' trademark foundations of atmosphere, adventure and storytelling, Silent Hill: Homecoming introduces players to a frightening new experience. When confronted by the perverse incarnations of evil that roam Silent Hill and Shepherd's Glen, players are able to utilize an enhanced combat system and execute a number of offensive and defensive maneuvers as they experience every terrifying encounter with the game’s numerous nightmarish creatures. Players also have to solve a variety of puzzles as they progress through the highly atmospheric game world, using cues from the environment to unlock Silent Hill's darkest secrets. Continuing the series’ tradition of standout music and sound design, Silent Hill: Homecoming features an original soundtrack by famed composer Akira Yamaoka. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. 95
    A true heir, lovingly crafted with the same psychological intensity as its predescessors while improving on their weak combat controls. All but the most closed-minded afficionados are sure to embrace it and savvy marketing by Konami could expand the fan base.
  2. If you are a fan of the Silent Hill franchise then Silent Hill: Homecoming is a must buy title.
  3. Solid but over familiar, Silent Hill is a town in need of some redevelopment. [Feb 2009, p.74]
  4. For pure chilling atmosphere, Silent Hill still succeeds with strong plotting and disturbing art direction. Few games can creep you out and leave you thinking about their story after the credits have rolled as much as Silent Hill can and the latest title is no exception. It’s a good game, there’s no doubt, but you just feel this Homecoming is perhaps a few years too late.
  5. Guaranteed to make you jump at least once. [Issue#40, p.78]
  6. It was the game's storyline and characters that captured me versus the suspense this time around, but that didn't make the game any less enjoyable for me.
  7. A shadow of one of the former masters of survival horror, that is better equipped to bore than scare.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. MikeR.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    From the minute I turned on my XBOX360, this game FELT like a Silent Hill game. I spent over 4 hours last night playing this before I From the minute I turned on my XBOX360, this game FELT like a Silent Hill game. I spent over 4 hours last night playing this before I realized I should probably go to bed. Running around the town I actually 'felt' like I was truly alone. Hearing the enemies before seeing them, the many 'puzzles' I encountered and the oddities (like missing pictures, ME missing from pictures, etc) added to the strange and haunting feel. It felt as this could have been, and maybe should have been, the sequel to Silent Hill 2. Expand
  2. ArtV.
    Oct 5, 2008
    9
    After playing through this game many times (I have just gotten all 1000 achievement points) I must say that this game is a great effort by After playing through this game many times (I have just gotten all 1000 achievement points) I must say that this game is a great effort by Double Helix and deserves at least an 8 out of 10. I am not new to this franchise at all (I still have every single SIlent Hill game!) and this game is a great addition to the series. It does not have the best story or endings out of the games (Silent Hill 2 does for sure) but it is still a awesome story with some good twists. Several reviews state that the combat is too easy and that is not the case. I died about 4 times through the game on normal difficulty and I never died in any of the other games. The combat can be quite challenging. The puzzles are well done also. Most people think that the puzzles are just there, but if you look around there are clues for every single one. Overall this is my third favorite in the series. Buy this game if you are a Silent Hill fan!!!! Best to Worst: Silent Hill 2 Silent Hill Silent Hill: Homecoming Silent Hill 3 Silent Hill: Origins Silent Hill 4: The Room Expand
  3. RandalS.
    Oct 3, 2008
    8
    The graphics and presentation are amazing. The story line, though linear, is interesting. Besides from a few flaws with lighting and the The graphics and presentation are amazing. The story line, though linear, is interesting. Besides from a few flaws with lighting and the camera angle, this game is a large improvement over past entries in the series. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    Definitely a case where internet preconceptions steered me wrong. Silent Hill: Homecoming is a solid title that stands on its own as anDefinitely a case where internet preconceptions steered me wrong. Silent Hill: Homecoming is a solid title that stands on its own as an individual and unique step into the SH universe, just as Silent Hill 2 branched off with a separate story from the main canon. The gameplay is changed for the better, giving the player the ability to actually get a close 360 degree view of his/her surroundings, which are rich with abandoned structure detail and hellish red industrial descents. The story is kind of laid bare but nonetheless creeped me the hell out with the reasons for each boss's incredible and horrific designs revealed throughout. Enemies are more formidable, but not so strong as to turn Homecoming into a typical action game and not so pathetic as to wait to get hit by a wooden plank a couple times and fall dead. Some of the substance and creeping dread of the series was removed, but the style and imagery was certainly not spared, despite lifting some elements from the film. Wonderful game. Expand
  5. May 2, 2013
    7
    Silent Hill: Homecoming is the fifth chapter in the saga of Silent Hill. The game has new features compared to the other chapters and haveSilent Hill: Homecoming is the fifth chapter in the saga of Silent Hill. The game has new features compared to the other chapters and have better graphics, a really interesting combat system, and the ability to interact with people choosing the speeches to say. The flaw is the plot of the game, however, quite poor and the fact that less afraid of the other chapters (and here we note that the game was made by the U.S. and not by the Japanese). At the end of the game is good although nothing exceptional. Expand
  6. May 28, 2012
    6
    This game just didn't deliver for me. Creepy enemies, but controls were frustrating.
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    I can't believe the people that are giving this game that high scores... This game is not only the worst Silent Hill game ever made, it's alsoI can't believe the people that are giving this game that high scores... This game is not only the worst Silent Hill game ever made, it's also one of the worst games I ever played. It's just a succession of awfully stuff from the start to the end. The only good thing is the soundtrack. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews