Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 588 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Life as we knew it has gone to hell after the mother of all zombie outbreaks. Now you and the few scattered survivors have to band together to survive and rebuild in a third-person action game set in a dynamic open world. You decide where to make your stand, designing and fortifying yourLife as we knew it has gone to hell after the mother of all zombie outbreaks. Now you and the few scattered survivors have to band together to survive and rebuild in a third-person action game set in a dynamic open world. You decide where to make your stand, designing and fortifying your home base, performing daring raids for food and ammunition, and rescuing other playable survivors with unique talents. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    100
    State of Decay is an impressive open world zombie game that can actually rival blockbuster zombie games like Dead Island.
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    89
    Decay belongs in the pantheon of great modern zombie games alongside Valve’s Left 4 Dead series and Telltale’s Walking Dead episodes.
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    85
    By tying so many systems together with tough choices and the constant spectre of death hanging over it, Undead Labs has created something singular. Small complaints notwithstanding, State of Decay is one of the most cohesive, terrifying and engaging open-world games I've ever played.
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    As a sandbox game, State of Decay is not very impressive. But a survival game with an apocalyptic and zombies setting is pretty awesome. Combat, exploration and good community sense make for the most ambitious game for the XBLA in a long time.
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    This is a hulking beast, a deep, engaging experience and already one of the year’s standout titles. Xbox Live has offered gamers many gems since its inception and this is one of the more precious.
  6. Aug 6, 2013
    70
    An open-world survivalist horror with deep strategy elements, State of Decay puts the player's zombie apocalypse scenarios to the test in such a thoughtful, complex way that it's almost possible to ignore the awful central narrative and numerous technical issues. It's a rough game, but one worth exploring.
  7. 60
    In theory this is one of the best zombie games ever made, but in practise it’s riddled with technical flaws that fail to put the necessary meat on its undead skeleton.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 207
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    This review is designed to help the undecided decide.. I wrote it designed to point out the key parts for those interested....

    78 critic
    This review is designed to help the undecided decide.. I wrote it designed to point out the key parts for those interested....

    78 critic score is TOTAL CRAP! Anyone who has played this game for even 1 hour can feel the potential...
    --it's an insanely ADDICTING,REWARDING experience.. Did I mention it's addicting.. I just returned to playing this game when I saw the DLC "Breakdown"..funny how the day after I purchased it, the d@mn DLC goes on "spring-sale" clearance. But I used all my luck years ago...
    ---sound--superb. Funny sayings are cleverly placed into new characters who show up..
    --OPEN WORLD- this is the ultimate prototype for "open World freedom"!! You can travel in a car to the boonies on on the faaar side of no mans land and STILL be able to go inside houses for chance loot able stuff..
    --The Game--you find two kinds of loot.. Backpacks which you return to you're base and get you're stockpile of that resource increased. Like medicine,food,ammo,fuel etc,,((you're people slowly dwindle you're resources daily and mainly you use them to build new buildings that unlock newer features..that's a big part of what's addicting....
    --There's many different buildings that can be used for you're base of operations and you can relocate you're whole clan easy enough..
    ----key feature worth noting--""call for runners"" say ya don't wanna carry the backpack all the way home,,,hit a button and for a few pennies runners come and get it..but with 2 small prices/risks..-1- you don't get the morale points and experience of delivering it...and 2nd and more importantly- there's a chance the guy going to get it (ON-FOOT) can be ambushed and if you don't go physically save him - there's a 50/50 chance he will DIE! And you have no control who the runner is..it could be you're favorite hero..every player in game is playable and every single person is unique and different...
    --also,,the runners going to get the backpack for you actually leave the home base and jog all the way there,,pick up backpack and jog a lil slower now all the way back.. The further the run is the higher the risk..
    --you encounter them here & there if you're really micro managing everything.. Ya get into the flow of this game and will have 20'things all going at same time...

    ---guys,, play this cheap game before you PERMANENTLY move on to Xbox1..
    --it takes the shooting zombies we love from shooters,,and the beating them down and beheadeding and lambing them from dead island type games we love,,,and the base building of. Tower defense games we love...all while we get attached to the survivors..--

    --also--HEROES--when you're on a roll doing good and everyone is happy(not always) heroes show up and need and escort,,if you cane sort them= they will join you and they might be a former swat team sniper!!!or a emergency room dr??or a engineer or auto mechanic??these "heroes" become the leaders and most valuable of you're whole village...if you by chance find say a CHEF,,you can access the menu for feast and special meals that pack amazing results and boost.. It's fulfilling when you score an engineer who can build stuff..

    ----it's obvious the minds behind this designed a game they too wanted to really play..

    The scores for this game are reasons why the scoring is broken and one must "READ THE REVIEWS",NOT JUST THE SCORES.. I WOULD REALISTIC SCORE THIS A *** 9 ***
    Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Such a fun game to play! So much content and things to do and the fact that it's an Xbox Live Arcade game blows my mind. A must get for allSuch a fun game to play! So much content and things to do and the fact that it's an Xbox Live Arcade game blows my mind. A must get for all zombie fans. Something original, fresh and and new. Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    I absolutely love this game, but do to some minor problems like driving and frame rate issues, it made me not give this a 10 but a 9. If youI absolutely love this game, but do to some minor problems like driving and frame rate issues, it made me not give this a 10 but a 9. If you want a real open world zombie survival game on the Xbox 360, then this is the game for you. There is permanent death, having to scavenge for supplies, help keeping it together with other survivors, and difficult gameplay you aren't just some unstoppable zombie killer, you're like everyone else.) Did i mention that EVERY SINGLE BUILDING IS ENTERABLE?!?! You have limited supplies to scavenge, car's on the map do not respawn, so keep watch of the cars now!
    For an xbla title, this is truly outstanding. It is worth a buy, i mean it is only 20 bucks!
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    Now, as Deadly Premonitions is the eccentric but fantastic survival horror, State of Decay is the oddity of the zombie genre, encapsulatingNow, as Deadly Premonitions is the eccentric but fantastic survival horror, State of Decay is the oddity of the zombie genre, encapsulating many of the best features from the likes of early Resident Evils to DayZ and also introducing a few innovative elements. Whilst it's unpolished and has a few significant defects, there's a certain fun to the overall flow of gameplay, transcending any setbacks from low framerates and cumbersome combat.

    The take on a post-apocalyptic world and a community within it, which you lead from a multitude of characters through 'influence', is a brilliantly fresh aspect to merely survival, it's construction from the ruins of the civilization clearly experienced: progression as is the direction this game takes. You're not only acquire resources for yourself and each decision isn't without consequence there's a bigger picture, as is the case of a societal collapse.

    You must scout, accumulate resources, choose a base, improve defenses, establish facilities, search for survivors, improve weaponry, amass influence and maintain influence all factors to add a layer of depth to an otherwise straightforward survival game already enjoyable.

    Go and lead through the apocalypse, not simply wander as a vagrant survivor.
    Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    State of Decay has everything a great game should. It has its open world adventure element allowing people to color outside of the lines andState of Decay has everything a great game should. It has its open world adventure element allowing people to color outside of the lines and really form the picture they want. It has an involving storyline making you feel attached to certain Survivors of the groups and allows you to switch between certain Survivors allowing you to hone their skills and upgrade each member accordingly but not in a way that makes you feel confused when switching between characters and you don't have to so it doesn't feel like a chore but more of an achievement or a incentive. The game play is easy as well as friendly making everyone from hardcore gamers to casual gamers enjoys its long haul of a wild storyline. With so many extra things to do and things constantly coming up you will find yourself getting distracted quite often exploring a new region or a new house for supplies or maybe expanding your outposts. Maybe you were helping clear an infestation and you ended up finding some building supplies which you needed to build that new library you wanted. This game has a very strong replay value as you can choose how the story goes. You will always have the same ending but how you get there is all the adventure. I give State of Decay a 8 out of 10. Collapse
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    Fantastic. From the sneaking house to house for supplies, to offing straggler zombies in your way, plowing them over in cars, and managing andFantastic. From the sneaking house to house for supplies, to offing straggler zombies in your way, plowing them over in cars, and managing and economizing your home base, this game is great. Perma-death makes your decisions very important, and intensifies the game play. New survivors are always spawning, but the stats you earn from using characters is where you can grow attached to one moreso than others.

    With State of Decay's success, I'm really looking forward to future installments.
    Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    Jogo não tem uma parte técnica muito apurada, movimentação estranha, falta carisma aos personagens, graficos medianos, muitos bugs e partesJogo não tem uma parte técnica muito apurada, movimentação estranha, falta carisma aos personagens, graficos medianos, muitos bugs e partes mal feitas.... Proposta até bacana mas muito mal executada. Expand

See all 207 User Reviews