State of Decay Xbox 360

State of Decay Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 610 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Life as we knew it has gone to hell after the mother of all zombie outbreaks. Now you and the few scattered survivors have to band together to survive and rebuild in a third-person action game set in a dynamic open world. You decide where to make your stand, designing and fortifying yourLife as we knew it has gone to hell after the mother of all zombie outbreaks. Now you and the few scattered survivors have to band together to survive and rebuild in a third-person action game set in a dynamic open world. You decide where to make your stand, designing and fortifying your home base, performing daring raids for food and ammunition, and rescuing other playable survivors with unique talents. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
State of Decay - Year One Survival Edition for Xbox One Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    100
    State of Decay is an impressive open world zombie game that can actually rival blockbuster zombie games like Dead Island.
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    89
    Decay belongs in the pantheon of great modern zombie games alongside Valve’s Left 4 Dead series and Telltale’s Walking Dead episodes.
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    85
    By tying so many systems together with tough choices and the constant spectre of death hanging over it, Undead Labs has created something singular. Small complaints notwithstanding, State of Decay is one of the most cohesive, terrifying and engaging open-world games I've ever played.
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    As a sandbox game, State of Decay is not very impressive. But a survival game with an apocalyptic and zombies setting is pretty awesome. Combat, exploration and good community sense make for the most ambitious game for the XBLA in a long time.
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    This is a hulking beast, a deep, engaging experience and already one of the year’s standout titles. Xbox Live has offered gamers many gems since its inception and this is one of the more precious.
  6. Aug 6, 2013
    70
    An open-world survivalist horror with deep strategy elements, State of Decay puts the player's zombie apocalypse scenarios to the test in such a thoughtful, complex way that it's almost possible to ignore the awful central narrative and numerous technical issues. It's a rough game, but one worth exploring.
  7. 60
    In theory this is one of the best zombie games ever made, but in practise it’s riddled with technical flaws that fail to put the necessary meat on its undead skeleton.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 205
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    State of Decay is the only game I have ever played that actually makes me scared of dying, which is very much needed in the video gameState of Decay is the only game I have ever played that actually makes me scared of dying, which is very much needed in the video game industry. You can explore the massive world, scavenge, recruit, claim territory and of course, kill zombies. You feel like the weight of the world is on your shoulders when managing your base. There is nothing like running back to base with a backpack of supplies with a horde of zombies right behind you, with your friends desperately trying to save you. This is the game all zombie games will be compared to. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Such a fun game to play! So much content and things to do and the fact that it's an Xbox Live Arcade game blows my mind. A must get for allSuch a fun game to play! So much content and things to do and the fact that it's an Xbox Live Arcade game blows my mind. A must get for all zombie fans. Something original, fresh and and new. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    The zombie game the masses have been waiting for. Yes, there are annoying glitches. Yes, there are graphical issues that cause frame-rateThe zombie game the masses have been waiting for. Yes, there are annoying glitches. Yes, there are graphical issues that cause frame-rate problems and pop in textures. Yes, some of the cut-scenes are hilariously bad. Yes, you can't bring survivors with you unless it is a specially designed mission. Fear not the developers are already pushing out a title update that will fix numerous bugs. I respect your opinion to purchase games that you feel are worth it, but at $20 this is one of the best 10 games to come out this year regardless of platform.

    The gameplay of State of Decay offers so much to a player. Do you love action games where your goal is to kill thousands of zombies? Check. Do you love simulation games where it is your job to manage resources and people? Check. Do you love action-rpg games? Check. Do you love open world games? Check. Do you love games that offer you choice on how to handle situations? Check.

    The graphics have issues. That is probably limited to the size of the game (XBLA games have a 2 GB limit). However, the graphics are still above many other games and have some truly brilliant moments. The day/night cycle produce some backdrops and images that really show off the engine and the skills of Undead Labs.

    I tried to keep this review under a 1,000 characters. (I failed). I attempted to point out all of the flaws of the game, so for anyone who reads the review, would know about some of the game's deficiencies. With that being said, State of Decay is an instant classic and hopefully will be the beginning of an amazing franchise. This game could easily have sold for much more and still been well worth it. Do yourself a favor and pick up State of Decay.
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    Zombie-survival RPG? Check. Simulated open-world? Check. Unforgiving perma-death? Check. Seems like this title just took a look at what otherZombie-survival RPG? Check. Simulated open-world? Check. Unforgiving perma-death? Check. Seems like this title just took a look at what other zombie-survival games made wrong and turned it around to make it the best. I don't even see how Dead Rising or Day Z can compare itself fairly to State of Decay. It's just made so right, there's almost nothing to dislike about it.

    The only thing in the way of a 10 is the lack of a co-op system. If I've understood right, it will come in time.
    Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I purchased state of decay the day it came out, I must say at first playing I didn't think much of the game the gameplay was jittery and it seemed to just lack any terms of overall decent gameplay. But I must say after letting the game develop through the story I found it was a game that was extremely enticing in the terms of making decisions to let certain survivors stay and sending them out to collect supplies etc. the bad sides to this game have to be the fact there is no co-op multiplayer even!! And the story was possible to complete in a matter of 4 days!!!! That's getting all 30 achievements possible!!! I think for future reference if undead labs want to bring out a state of decay 2 they should make it much longer, have co-op and make the choices a lot harder to make. But i must say overall top game definitely worth the buy. Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my opinion (i've played this title for 70h+) this game captures the essence of survival in a fictional apocalypse-scenario: resource gathering, enough self-feature to inspire moving forward (or stay in a global "status quo" inside the game), fight without end giving enough desperation to hope for a better outcome. OK, the characters voices are not the best so far (i hope a DLC would correct that, adding sound and bugfix material, also some new features like areas which can be "cleansed" for a longer time /2-3 real-time hours/, or fuel consumption in cars) and the bugs can be hellraiser (a Juggernaut comes trough the door.......), but we got permadeath and mood crisises (effectively almost all the same, but in sense makes different) and a currency system which will generate itself and fluctuate if you are offline.

    This means that the open-world constantly moves: survivors get chewd up, others may come and go, resources get depleted or replenished, psych issues can/will make the offline process harder or sometimes a little easier so in one sentence: it is not a bad game. I do not say "awesome" because there is a lot features what aren't explained thoroughly in the game's manual (there is a wikia for that); it is just simply a "give-it-a-go" game: if you play it you will realize that you like it or not. So all in all: it is balanced by the positive features and some bug-related gameplay flaws; it is fun.

    And remember: it is not about the zombies. It is about management and survival. Stealth wins the day, gun-hoes will be joining the mindless creep on the street.
    Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    This is the buggiest game I have ever seen. It has lots of screen freeze too many bugs because of lazy programming and poor testing.

    They
    This is the buggiest game I have ever seen. It has lots of screen freeze too many bugs because of lazy programming and poor testing.

    They are basically using you to be a paying beta tester. BUYERS BEWARE!!
    Expand

See all 205 User Reviews