Legacy of Kain: Defiance Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Demons, death, and dark forces cloud the vampire world of Legacy of Kain: Defiance, and you must push through it. In this episode of the Legacy of Kain series, you play as both Raziel, a demonic angel of death, and Kain, an all-powerful demigod. Use telekinetic powers, thrilling combo moves, and legendary swords to fight your way through monsters and undead foes. Replenish your energy by sucking the blood and devouring your enemies' souls. Stop the forces that seek to condemn the world to eternal damnation. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. My favorite of the series. On the PSone, the game was an acquaintance. On the Dreamcast a one night stand. But Defiance is a full-fledged romance. Finally, the storyline satisfies completely and I will not spoil it for you. But I will say that if you are a fan of the series, this is the one you’ve been waiting for.
  2. The story is excellent, the visuals amazing, and when combined with the professional voice work, improved combat, and new telekinetic powers, you won’t find a more captivating or exciting action game on your Xbox.
  3. The best of the series. Beefing up the combat system and allowing control of both Raziel and Kain helps it stand out from its siblings.
  4. If you played any previous Legacy of Kain games, then this is one you will have to pick up.
  5. Nosgoth is a captivating place to exist in, decadent and elegant, shadowy and mysterious. [Jan 2004, p.56]
  6. The twisty story is compelling enough to pull you through the game like a rabbit tied to a rush-hour train. [Mar 2004, p.92]
  7. An uninspired action adventure game that rehashes the same old elements that we've seen throughout the series. There is little combat and what is offered is limited by a few moves and combos which are all practically divulged at the outset.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. DeathHunter
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    I couldn't stop playing it...
  2. GaryF.
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    Become my soul Reaver, my angel of death.
  3. AaronA.
    Apr 10, 2004
    10
    I havent played any of the other blood omens but i am very familiar with the soul reaver games and all i can say is that this game gives you a feeling of power and an amasing storyline that i havent experienced since onimusha 2. as kain u feel invincible and it is such a great feeling when u finally nail a boss or drink the blood of a rival. on the other hand as raziel the story grabs hold of you and the graphics of the underworld are truely breathtaking, combine this with brilliant crisp graphics a great storyline and fighting system and the best sound effects i have ever herd in a game. I LOVE THIS GAME! ps. take no notice of the guys on here giving it a score of 0 coz they are just being immature and i can tell u now that the camera isnt a problem when ur enjoying yourself this much! Expand
  4. GusH.
    Nov 17, 2003
    9
    Okay... THIS IS THE BEST LOK GAME YET. HANDS DOWN. I didnt play the first Blood Omen...but I have played all the rest... Blood Omen 2 was crappy graphics and gameplay...(great story, of course, as with all the LOK games). Soul Reaver 1 was INCREDIBLE. Soul Reaver 2 was..."eh". Good story but only average graphics and gameplay. Until Defiance came along...SR1 was the best one. Defiance blows it away. EVERY detail and complaint that I had with the other games is fixed in this one. Controls are great. You can be KAIN AND RAZIEL....so it doesnt get old being one or the other for 20 hours. You can SAVE ANY TIME. The souls you ingest are not just green blobs... they are actually human figures that cry and scream in agony! The game feels more like a "game" than the previous installments. The other games felt like the game play was an excuse to get to more story. This game melds the two aspects perfectly. The gameplay reminds me of the first time I played Zelda (NES). It gives me butterflies to play it. My ONLY complaints with the game are small. The graphics COULD be a BIT better...being on the XBOX....that said: they still blow away every other LOK game and most other games on the XBOX now anyway. I am actually really happy with the graphics...I just think they could start raising the bar a little....after Splinter Cell. The CAMERA in the game is bad too. But. its not so bad that it ruins the game or anything. Its actually REALLY good most of the time....its very cinematic.... but sometimes...you go into a room and the camera just "decides" not to go with you. so. you have to go out and convince the camera to follow you by trying again. Its weird. But. The game is so good that I forgive it I really really like this game. I dont know if everyone will. But. if you liked ANY of the other KAIN/SOUL REAVER games.....I can promise that you will LOVE this game. If you HAVENT played any other games in this series....I really think you will like this one anyway....they give a great summary in the instruction book... and the dialogue explains a lot of back story in the first few levels.... I watched an online demo of this game... and I was hesitant to get it....it didnt really look that great to me. But. i tried it in the store and after 2 minutes I purchased it. The guy at the counter was like "2 minutes are you are going to buy it? damn...I'll have to try it." Its dark, moody, scary, bloody, and it incorporates many more "action" elements (power ups, etc) that make the game even more fun. I am often disappointed with my xbox purchases...because I feel like they just dont use the xbox's potential. This game does that a little. But. I really feel like I finally got a game that was worth my $50. Hope you enjoy it! Expand
  5. Uter
    Feb 20, 2004
    8
    It plays a lot like Devil May Cry, except a bit better. Enemies don't respawn endlessly, and the fighting is more stylish. Plus there's better music and graphics. I didn't find the camera angles that bad. The story is really well done, but I find it confusing; that's prob a good thing though since it'll be entertaining a 2nd time through. Collapse
  6. J.E.
    Nov 27, 2003
    8
    Fun, brain racking, and addicting. This game is really enjoyable, I have few problems with it. However, due to its short life, I'd have to reccomend renting it. I beat it in 2 days.. but like I said, it's adicting hehe... Graphics: Pretty good, not great great and over the top, but still nice. I believe it suffered for the xbox because it was ported on PS2 and I doubt PS2 could handle much more. The backgrounds didn't bother me too much, just the "backdrops" too "picture-like" didn't feel right. Controls: Fine I guess, it's better that they decided to use the same controls for both characters, that would have REALLY been annoying having to switch so many times. The combos are simple and you can be as creative as you'd like and impress your buddies :). Enjoyment: Really fun and addicting as I said. The story draws you in and does a formidable job at the prologue of capping up what has happened in the previous installments. If you followed the series you'd really enjoy this game. The puzzles aren't too hard, but challenging enough and the bosses aren't incredibly tough once you find their weakness. Overall: I gave it an 8 mostly because it's too short, like the rest were, I mean 2 days? It's addicting enough to have a longer life than that, though I had nothing to do and couldn't keep my hands off the controller. If you're a fan and have purchased all the previous installments, then go ahead and buy this, but if you're the casual gamer, you'll just want to rent this, should beat it within the 5 days you have it :) Expand
  7. MichealW.
    Jan 2, 2004
    0
    Poor camera, lame puzzles and storylines are among some of the many flaws of this game. the puzzles are rather boring and repetitive, sometimes leaving the gamers wandering why the hell the main characters have to go thru all those boring puzzles. The level design only show the laziness of those who programmers, as you will spend most of your time backtracking or playing in the same enviroment. Bugs and glitches are common in Defiance too, and you will often face the frustration of your character getting stuck in glitches when you made a bad jump. another such common glitch is falling thru the ground!! The storyline is another lame attempt made amy hennig and it only shows how poorly she is trying to piece up the puzzles in the LOK series. overall, just do not by this game unless you want your money to be wasted. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews