Midtown Madness 3 Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Midtown Madness 3 provides you with madcap, over-the-top racing and driving excitement in two of the world's most fascinating cities: Paris and Washington, D.C. The latest in the Midtown Madness franchise allows you to get behind the wheel of more than 30 vehicles and compete in exciting race modes such as Blitz, Checkpoint, and Cruise. With a robust Career mode, featuring 14 driving careers, Midtown Madness 3 delivers the rush and excitement of street racing. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Best of all, there is a surprisingly large number of people playing this game online, especially compared to other racing games like "Midnight Club II."
  2. The multitude of gameplay options also makes this one of the most customizable racing/driving games available.
  3. Nearly everything in your way can be smashed or bowled over, which becomes almost illegal fun when your bug is replaced by a city bus. [July 2003, p.79]
  4. 80
    The real stars of the game are the two cities, which are huge arenas ripe for careening around in.
  5. 75
    It looks like I will be playing this game online for months to come; I have yet to touch the offline game since my first time playing. It’s sad, too, considering that this game was supposed to be so well rounded.
  6. All traffic and pedestrians are removed from the game. Fortunately, the capture the flag and tag style modes are plenty entertaining, especially with a larger group. [Aug 2003, p.78]
  7. A dumbed-down "Midnight Club" with a bad soundtrack. [18 July 2003, p.82]

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Single Player is boring, but the Multiplayer is one of the best! But now there is no Xbox Live and we only can play in the Local Area Network. I love it Collapse
  2. ThomasV.
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    I thought this game was awsome on the PC (MM1 and MM2) And when I found out about this game, I had to get it, I am absolutely amazed at the graphics and the new cars. I rented MC2 and got bored of that game the first day. I have been playing MM3 since it came out, having fun online and playing with my brother. This game is a great buy. Expand
  3. DiquanM.
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    This game is the sh**. I love its Cruise and XBOX Live modes because you can really get to know the city even if you've never been there. The graphics in this game are something else. The other cool thing about this game is that the mapping is exact in both cities. I live in Washington DC, so I should know! Expand
  4. Theshiznit
    Jun 28, 2003
    9
    wat th hell! this game got a 53! this game is seriously one addictive game! do not listen to these reviews! its good offline and online, but the only problem is the customization in soundtracks. the car physics may not be exactly correct BUT WHO CARES...doing immediate turns and doing all those tricks you can do makes this game fun! simply one really good racer. Expand
  5. [TS2Rulz]
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    It is the best game it rulz when you are playing Xbox live, graphics arent bad and the cars/trucks are the best.
  6. TomL.
    Feb 10, 2004
    7
    Hey man, just quietly this is a pretty sweet game. The controls are easy to pick up and the city's are great although they should have included the best city in the world -Melbourne. Like ugly, I especially like to drive the bus around the streets. Expand
  7. NickW
    Feb 1, 2009
    3
    Infuriating trials, tedious repetition, and endlessly ramming yourself on the curb. Sound like fun? No, didn't think so. The checkpoint races are largely generic, and although finally completing them brings some satisfaction, its short lived. The racing really just isn't that fun. The work undercover mode adds a bit of variety, involving ferrying passengers about at crazy speeds, and working as a stunt driver, but again it just lack a certain something. It's like a compilation of imitations of other, better games. And there are points where you will get stuck over and over again. Its a nice idea to be able to explore Paris and Washington, but since the actual driving isn't much fun, and you can't run over civilians no matter how hard you try, you won't find much to occupy you, other than plunging into the river as you try to acquire all the hidden pain jobs in a desperate attempt to extend the meagre experience this game provides. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews