Pulse Racer Image
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pulse Racer takes you to a future where racers careen toward the clouds in sleek vehicles to gain an advantage over the competition. As a racer, you'll need a risk-taking mentality; but more importantly, you'll need a vehicle that suits your driving style and a driver who matches your technique. Linked directly to your vehicle, your body will be pushed to the limit in a variety of high-speed tracks. Harass your opponents with missiles, mines, or direct plasma beams and slingshot around tight turns. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 7 out of 7
  1. 40
    The Infinitrax track generation system is interesting. By making use of six user-defined inputs such as curvature, hilliness, and track width, Infinitrax generates new courses on the fly.
  2. The key differences between something like "Wipeout" and Pulse Racer is that "Wipeout" has a compelling, cohesive look, a great soundtrack, an interesting track design, and fun, responsive controls, while Pulse Racer bears none of these traits.
  3. Officially the worst Xbox game I've ever played... Play this title only if you don't have Dr. Kevorkian's number handy. [Feb 2003, p.105]
  4. Pulse's worst crime isn't even that it looks hideous (both technically and artistically); the real sin here is its lack of feel. [Feb/Mar 2003, p.88]
  5. 19
    Easily one of the worst racers on the market.
  6. This is the worst Xbox game available, in every category, from graphics through gameplay. [Feb 2003, p.75]
  7. Simply put this is the worst game we’ve seen on the Xbox. Before you even touch the controller you have to endure the pathetic excuse for graphics. The textures are about as bland as you can get, the visual effects are comparative to the Game Boy Advance and the vehicle models do anything but inspire.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 11 out of 15
  1. judopluto
    May 15, 2006
    10
    Wow what a great game. It was the best game I had, but my friend stole it. I'm going to buy another copy, it's that good.
  2. BatiZoz
    Jul 26, 2003
    10
    Hmmm, may I have one excuse for throwing all your pitiful anger at the game's publisher... if you weren't fools, you wouldn't have fallen to such a lame game... A piece of advice: "read reviews before you move your fat butts towards the nearest game seller !!!" Expand
  3. OrangeadeG.
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    i love this game, this game is probably the best game on xbox...ever. its better than halo, halo 2, TC: SCCT, Riddick, i loved the graphics, and the gameplay was amazing, not to mention the storyline. Collapse
  4. JoeC.
    Jan 4, 2003
    0
    I am sorry that i ever rented this game. What a waste of 4 bucks! The graphics are horrible and the storyline is just BLAH! Please listen to me and don't rent this game. Expand
  5. AndrewM.
    Jul 24, 2003
    0
    You've got to wonder why microsoft would put their name to such a product?
  6. GaborA.
    Nov 12, 2003
    0
    The only explanation to this game is that is was constructed as a joke. But am i going to pay for a quick laugh? And by pay i dont mean money for that is out of the question. What i was implying was seconds of my life. And the answer is no. Expand
  7. Gonepostal
    Oct 30, 2003
    0
    This game is the reason so many kids are killing themselves! I hate this piece of ****!!!!! CRAP CRAP CRAP

See all 15 User Reviews