User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 63
  2. Negative: 34 out of 63

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. CabriniR.
    Oct 24, 2008
    6
    Great, but I dont think this should be a kids movie; several times in the movie the say the word gringo which means white boy (racist term) in spanish (oh and about the not being a kids movie i mean for 7 and under).
  2. Oct 22, 2010
    6
    This movie is quite underrated. Not underrated with hype, underrated with -- I don't even need to tell you. Though some parts of the plot may seem flawed, I thought the movie was funny and cute. Interesting style of humor also, it hasn't really been done before. So it was fresh and original too.
  3. JayH.
    Feb 22, 2009
    5
    5.5/10. Cute story, but the talking dogs thing wears thin after about 45 minutes. A good film for the whole family though, adults and kids will both be amused. Nothing deep or great, but quite watchable.
  4. Sep 13, 2015
    5
    This film is boring as **** that I never ended it, I always get bored and change the channel, so I don't even know the 100% story. And Chloe acts so unbearable. just ew. I'll give it 5 because I watched the 2 and the 3 and I like them more.
  5. Dec 30, 2015
    5
    Beverly Hills Chihuahua is as lovely as ever and you'll pretty much enjoy the movie if you're into dogs. It's pretty much an average score of okay to decent.
  6. ChadS.
    Oct 6, 2008
    4
    Had this children's movie the ambition to take its theme of class-consciousness with just a modicum of gravity and levity, "Beverly Hills Chihuahua" might have challenged Chris Noonan's "Babe" for best of breed: the talking animal movie division. If the high society lady's fully-grown children in Douglas Sirk's "All That Heaven Allows" bought their lonely mother a Had this children's movie the ambition to take its theme of class-consciousness with just a modicum of gravity and levity, "Beverly Hills Chihuahua" might have challenged Chris Noonan's "Babe" for best of breed: the talking animal movie division. If the high society lady's fully-grown children in Douglas Sirk's "All That Heaven Allows" bought their lonely mother a chihuahua instead of a television, the lapdog and the gardener's hunting dog might have suggested to Cary Scott(Jane Wyman) that she belongs with Ron Kirby(Rock Hudson). "Beverly Hills Chihuahua" stands on the periphery of the 1956 melodrama that inspired Todd Haynes' "Far From Heaven", as Papi(George Lopez) the landscaper's dog, falls for Chloe(Drew Barrymore) the high-maintenance chihuahua, but the film is too timid to take that extra step. Chloe's poolside friends drool over the hunky utilitarian canine because he's the forbidden fruit(the dog you don't take home to meet your master), but what would these pampered pooches say if the queen bee-otch(remember: a female dog is a bitch) declared her love for Papi. Ostracization from dog society? Even more daunting: Imagine Chloe's dilemma if she had to choose between Papi and her owner Viv(Jamie Lee Curtis). One suspects that madame wouldn't want Chloe to birth puppies with an unregistered dog. Although "Beverly Hills Chihuahua" is mostly informed by girly films such as "Clueless" and "Totally Legal", it does manage to smuggle in a reference to Rainier Werner Fassbinder's "Ali: Fear Eats the Soul"(German title: "Angst essen Seele auf") when Viv explains to Rachel(Piper Perabo) that Chloe doesn't like Berlin. In the German reimagining of the Douglas Sirk sudser, it's not just class warfare, but also a divergence in race(she's German; he's Moroccoan), that keeps the lovers apart. Chloe, quite pointedly, is identified as a "gringo" by one of the stray dogs down Mexico way, while Papi unmistakably sounds Hispanic in nature. Predictably, being around mutts, a rat, and inexplicably, an iguana, Chloe learns how the other half lives, and loses her elitist mentality. But how does one explain Viv's transformation? While Delgado(a German shephard voiced by Andy Garcia) regains his sense of smell which allows him to rejoin the police dog force, Viv's nose suggests a more tolerant worldview when she smiles and voices her approval about Chloe's new "earthy" smell. Unless Viv is some sort of dog medium, and relives Chloe's adventures in Tijuana, the privileged woman's newfound well-roundedness seems largely unearned; completely out of the blue. Do you know what's Pixar's secret? They make children's films that go a little too far. That's why they achieve transcendence. "Beverly Hills Chihuahua", on the other hand, plays out like "Far From Heaven" with a happy ending, sans the Brechtian distanciation. Expand
  7. DarrellB.
    Oct 13, 2008
    4
    If you go in expecting a very weak plot, then this movie with entice a few laughs. Not a horrible way to spend an afternoon although I won't be seeing it again.
  8. LaurenS
    Jan 20, 2009
    4
    As a teen, it's AWFUL! The movie lacks a good story line, and talking animals seem to always have a very bad reputation for being in movies. It's about pampered dogs, and what happens when they aren't getting spoiled? They bark. Useless, even as a kids film, the movie is just... stupid. I know its for kids, (i don't care if i'm really a kid, i'm a teen tho) As a teen, it's AWFUL! The movie lacks a good story line, and talking animals seem to always have a very bad reputation for being in movies. It's about pampered dogs, and what happens when they aren't getting spoiled? They bark. Useless, even as a kids film, the movie is just... stupid. I know its for kids, (i don't care if i'm really a kid, i'm a teen tho) but anyways, it still sucks! Expand
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 8 out of 22
  1. The picture might not be as fresh and clever as it could have been, but its spirited voice cast delivers the whole enchilada.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    60
    A filthy-rich fantasy for these cash-strapped times, Beverly Hills Chihuahua features the voices of Drew Barrymore and much of the industry's top Latino talent in a live-action talking-dog lark that should please young pups.
  3. While George Lopez, Cheech Marin, and Paul Rodriguez are funny men, it's amazing how boring these Latin-shtick cutups can be when none of them gets a single good line.