Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 372 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Chris Renaud
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Sci-Fi, Comedy, Crime, Animation, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 98 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 1, 2013
    88
    The funniest kids’ cartoon of the summer.
  2. 75
    An animated sequel that, despite not achieving the inspired lunacy of the first movie where Gru literally steals the moon, is smartly calculated to deliver squeals to kids and amusement to accompanying adults.
  3. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jul 3, 2013
    75
    While I remain disappointed that the sequel gives me a subdued Gru and an uneven pace, I keep remembering things about Despicable Me 2 that make me smile. For every meh moment, there's almost 2 well-conceived gags or lines.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    This loony 'toon is dizzy with wonderments, especially in 3-D. The spindly-limbed character design owes more to Charles Addams' family than to Walt Disney's kingdom, while the story and settings evoke James Bond on laughing gas.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    A too-good Gru is a boring Gru. No matter how much you crank up the adorability factor or offer up the occasional laugh, there is no getting around that.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    Nothing here to challenge anything from the Pixar golden age, but Despicable Me 2 is a sweet-natured family film.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jun 28, 2013
    38
    The script's jumble of plot asides and family-friendly pandering is enough to make you want to root for a hero.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 94
  2. Negative: 5 out of 94
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    The movie is extremely funny and cute and the minions are hilarious! It is one of the best animated movies ever and though it may have a thin plot the movie is enjoyable for all ages and sure to be a BIG hit. Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Excellent! Even better than the first. Really reminded me of the old Chuck Jones cartoons. Just the right amount of hilarity and romance. And you must love Agnes. Highly recommended for all ages. Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    What a fantastic movie. Just saw it in theater and boy was it a blast. It was even better than original (which in my opinion was good). Very funny and had a nice story. Must see. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    Well it worked! Chris Cabin gave an overwhelmingly negative review to a thoroughly enjoyable and well-done crowd pleaser that will probably earn $300 million domestically and keep the franchise going. I had to click over to "Hipper than Thou" Slant Magazine to read why, as quoted by Metacritic, "the script's jumble of plot asides and family-friendly pandering is enough to make you want to root for a hero."

    Half-way through the review, the "reviewer" lays it out there: "To lend even a modicum of nuance or, dare I say it, insight to Agnes's dream [for a mommy to complete her nuclear family] shouldn't be a tall order for an animated romp so predisposed with the idea of the family unit."

    What we have in Mr. or Ms. Chris Cabin is an uber-cool messenger of the "down with family, up with tolerance as long as only alternative lifestyles are tolerated" crowd. Poor Chris has mumee or dadee issues, or is homosexual, or is pseudo-enlightened, or just plain too-cool for Gru, the girls, and the minions.

    A word to the wise Chris: in the second half of his career, Roger Ebert began ignoring movies that disagreed with his liberal politics, leaving them unreviewed and therefore beneath his contempt. Looking for "narrative and character development" in a family-oriented animated popcorn flick, then decimating the film because it falls short of those lofty standards, says more about the reviewer than it does about the movie under review.

    Why don't you stick to reviewing films like "Milk," "Brokeback Mountain," "Philadelphia," and "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" that have a less conventional-slash-less uncool things to say about family?
    Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    awesome movie a perfect job for making people laugh i love it good job by universal it is an awesome movie for a family there are very funny moments in the whole movie Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    I thoroughly enjoyed the first movie and looked forward to seeing the sequel from the moment I heard it was in production. And as much as I liked the first one, this one fell a bit short of my expectations. Some of the character development was stronger, but I had really hoped for a bit more. The comedy was strong, though at times a bit ambiguous and there was plenty of zaney antics fit for an animated movie. What was missing though was the core of what made the first film so great: a strong plot. While the first movie seems to be a story about a super villain struggling to maintain his status as a villain, it is in fact a story about a fish out of water. A villain who is learning to become a father, but still has to balance his villainy with that lifestyle. This second film is a continuation of the fatherhood aspect and now has less to draw upon as a result. It does well in maintaining a great atmosphere for children and adults alike and I would strongly recommend it for kids of all ages really. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    0
    Although this is a film intended for children, who aren't exactly the best at judging whether or not a film is good, I still believe that they should be held against the same scale as other films. with that out of the way, I will now say, this film was, in a word, awful. the plot was boring and bland, the protagonist, Gru, is now boring and flat, and the minions are only there to provide cliched comic relief. there are better ways to spend your money than on this film. Expand

See all 94 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More

    Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More Image
    Published: September 3, 2013
    Find out which summer movies were most liked by critics, and which performed best at the box office. Plus, we check on our users' Metascore predictions for the major summer films to see how accurate they were.