• Studio: Gkids
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2013
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 56
  2. Negative: 6 out of 56
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 12, 2015
    8
    I really shouldn't like this film because it's the type of story that normaly wouldn't appeal to me but in this case i love it and it's a credit to both of the Miyazaki's . Goro has listened to a lot of the criticism's he received for earthsea and has improved his direction without compromising his style and it works well with his fathers excellent writing. the story is pretty good suckingI really shouldn't like this film because it's the type of story that normaly wouldn't appeal to me but in this case i love it and it's a credit to both of the Miyazaki's . Goro has listened to a lot of the criticism's he received for earthsea and has improved his direction without compromising his style and it works well with his fathers excellent writing. the story is pretty good sucking you into this world and it's characters in the wake of Japan's relatively recent history of receiving the olympics in the 60's though the narrative can get a bit lost on occasion but not to the extent that it ruins it. the voice acting is great though i've only seen the english dub so i can't comment on the Japanese version and the animation as usual really excels itself. it's another triumph for ghibli. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2015
    7
    Although one of Ghibli's less iconic films From Up on Poppy Hill still has something magical about it. The films theme seems partial to Ghibli's Whisper Of The Heart in some respects. In some spots the writing was weak but overall thanks to the stunning animation From Up On Poppy Hill stays positive in my book.
  3. Nov 16, 2014
    6
    I enjoyed this movie. It's about a bunch of kids fighting to save the old quarter of their 1960's Japanese town. There are some great scenes in here, primarily concerning boys and girls and funny, spot-on ways they behave around one another. It's not the best of stories - the storytelling is clumsy at times (some subplots are contrived and serve little to the overarching story) and thereI enjoyed this movie. It's about a bunch of kids fighting to save the old quarter of their 1960's Japanese town. There are some great scenes in here, primarily concerning boys and girls and funny, spot-on ways they behave around one another. It's not the best of stories - the storytelling is clumsy at times (some subplots are contrived and serve little to the overarching story) and there are plenty of conventional tropes (the two leads are sympathetic but a little bland, and their romance is 100% predictable). But there's a sweetness and gentleness to the tale that lingers. A good movie. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    Interessante, como um história erguida pelo visual e sua trilha sonora encantam. Goro com certeza irá seguir os passos de seu pai. Esse filme fabuloso.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    From Up on Poppy Hill is a simple-yet nostalgic and sweet story. The characters are likable. The main characters is a realistic and beautiful heroine. The story itself will bring back that sense of nostalgia you get thinking about your first love; or just when you where young and in school. Definitely one of my favorite Hayao Miyazaki films.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Another Ghibli masterpiece. Great story, top-tier animation, and a great story make this an all around winner. The plot may be difficult for young children to follow, this is a more mature story.
  7. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    With all of the emotions there with wonderful animation, "From Up on Poppy Hill" is delightful. While it's not as deeply plotted as it could have been, Umi's story is courageous and beautiful, leaving adults more than children to be appealed. It's simply pure Ghibli magic.
  8. May 4, 2013
    10
    One of Ghibli's best, very much akin to Whispers of the Heart but without the magic cats, and with characters a bit more down to earth, with a greater sense of community.
  9. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Very beautiful movie. The movie really captures an old yet youthful atmosphere in a Japan in change. Where old meets young. DON'T watch the trailer before you see the movie and if possible, watch the movie in Japanese.
  10. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    The film was visually stunning and emotionally captivating. Studio Ghibli always manages to pull the audience out of reality and lets them become part of a whole new dimension.
  11. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    From Up on Poppy Hill is a beautiful film. It has charm, harmony and hopefull for new generations. Like "Only Yesterday" and "Ocean Waves", "From Up on Poppy Hill" is an another traditional and folklore Studio Ghibli film.
  12. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    From Up on Poppy Hill is a delightful Gibili anime. Ditching the fantasy motifs completely, the movie tells an understated story of young love and it's obstacles. The film is sweet, subtle and delivers a superbly animated vision of a newly post war Japan. Excellent stuff, as usual!
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Aug 3, 2013
    80
    Goro Miyazaki’s film is about the point at which we decide not what we want to be when we grow up, but who, and the way the tiniest moments in our lives often have the most far-reaching effect.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Aug 2, 2013
    60
    It's a light, breezy 1960s-set coming-of-age tale that strives to convey something of how Japan rebuilt itself after the traumas of the second world war.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Williams
    Jul 29, 2013
    60
    Not on a par with Ghibli's greatest work like Totoro or Spirited Away but not without charms of its own. A solid second effort from Miyazaki Junior.