User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 264 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 264

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    It makes me angry to see many low scores from critics, this is probably one of the best and most emotional movies I have ever watched.
  2. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    I watched this for the third time yesterday, the thing that one critic pointed out is that this film has something extremely rare: soul. This is the most emotional movie I have ever seen, it's not just a drama movie with plot twists and unexpected tragedies; it has extremely lovable and disliked characters. Characters that we connect with, and when anything happens to them in the movie we feel like crying our guts out. It's also bound to make you take a different look on the use of the electric chair, and there are many other underlying themes and subjects with this movie. This film is a 3 hour experience that will change your mental attitude completely, highly recommended movie. 5/5 stars Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    A true cinematic achievement from start to finish. "The Green Mile" is equally beautiful, horrific, heartbreaking and satisfying all throughout, with perfect performances and an unfathomably beautiful score.
  4. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Energetic, deep, and sad. I've never burst into tears watching any movies. It makes me upset to see bad mediocre reviews from critics. I loved this movie. It was worth the 3-hour sit through.
  5. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    It's incredible seeing so many low scores from critics for probably one of the three best movies ever. Its intensity and brilliance is something just amazing. There are no movies of this level nowadays. Three hours of emotions
  6. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    Man in retirement home sees Fred Astaire in a film, has flashbacks back to 1935 when he was a prison warden.
    Fantastic film with great acting & a good adaptation of the Stephen King novel.
    Sam Rockwell is amazing as the very unhinged Billy the Kid & despite it's three hour length doesn't seem as long.
    Tom Hanks does tend to play himself & I still think Bachelor Party is his best film but
    with this & Catch Me If You Can being not far behind. Expand
  7. May 18, 2014
    10
    Despite the film being 3 hours long, it's definitely worth watching. It's really interesting, and I recommend not looking into this film at all as its better that way. The soundtrack for this is brilliant as it's by Thomas Newman which got me to watch this film in the first place. The film is like an adventure, its sad, it's very dark, its a mix of a bunch of things which is what makes it great as well. Not to mention that all of the actors for this film were perfect for their roles as well. Expand
  8. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    Very well made with a beautifully understated musical score by Thomas Newman, it underpins the action perfectly and works very well. All the performances were great; particularly Michael Clarke Duncan who fully deserved his 2000 Oscar nomination for his portrayal of John Coffey. As usual, Tom Hanks puts in a flawless performance as Paul Edgecomb (the younger version of course). The film has quite a slow pace that allows the audience to become familiar with the characters and the comings and goings on Collapse
  9. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    Tom Hanks and Michael Clark Duncan are amazing. The script is creative and often powerful. Running at just over 3 hours long I felt there were a few scenes that could have easily been cut to aid in pacing. Overall a very good movie
  10. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    brilliant movie. but sad thing is, the kind of thing that happened in this movie still goes on in this world we live in. terrible to think about. like Barry said, probably the movie that had the biggest emotional impact on me out of any movie ive ever watched in my life. i just wish i knew the criteria these "critics" use to review movies.
  11. May 24, 2013
    9
    As with the fantastic Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile is based on a Stephen King story and directed by Frank Darabont and I can give no higher praise than to say it is just as good.

    The film centres on a stretch of death row known as The Green Mile in which a giant of a man known as John Coffey, accused of murdering two young girls, has been imprisoned. King is widely known for his
    horror books but, while there are supernatural elements to this story, as with The Shawshank Redemption this film is all about relationships between people in difficult circumstances.

    The Green Mile may be three hours long but every minute of that is used to develop the characters and story so that by the end we really do care what happens to them. Those that dismiss Kings work as chart filler may be pleasantly surprised by what they find in this movie.
    Expand
  12. Aug 21, 2014
    9
    This one is truly great. It may be a tad over three hours, but it feels significantly shorter. Plus, the added time allows us to spend more time with the characters, which is something I will never argue as a negative for this one. Tom Hanks, David Morse, Michael Clarke Duncan, Doug Hutchison, Barry Pepper, Sam Rockwell, Michael Jeter, and James Cromwell, make up one hell of an ensemble cast for this one and all truly knock their roles out of the park. I am typically not a huge fan of prison dramas, but the heart and compassion you feel for everyone involved in amazing and truly draws you in. The more fantastical elements are also very interesting and set against the backdrop of a very realistic situation are all the more odd, but I think they are handled very well. As a whole, this one is very intriguing, touching, and unique, which elevate it above many prison dramas. Add in the great acting and you truly have something special with The Green Mile. Expand
  13. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This is one of those films that everybody has got to watch at some point in their life. It really is a stunning film, there's very little else I can say about it. But beware, you will weep like a child.
  14. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    A emotionally powerful, miraculously acted, exceptionally written, and unique drama. The direction is incredible. Darabont gives the film a vivid sense of place. You are completely absorbed when watching the Green Mile. All the actors rise to an incredible level of convincingness, and the prison feels like an actual place. The supernatural scenes also pack a punch, and some other scenes could make a robot cry. It is pretty long, and not for people with a low tolerance for graphic violence, but it's without a doubt a great movie. Expand
  15. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    An amazing movie by Stephen King! I highly recommend it to almost everyone (don't watch it if you're getting bored too easy, because this movie is 3 hours long). 8.5/10 but i'll give a 9/10 because of the ending!
  16. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    It may not be as good as "Shawshank Redemption" but it's still one moving film. Michael Clarke Duncan gives a powerful performance as John Coffey. Along with a great cast and story, it's a powerfully entertaining drama. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
  17. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    Critics gave this movie red or yellow rank must be clinically insane for sure. This is one of the best movies I ever saw, one of the best melodrama movie. You know, I'm not young man, I dont cry when I get kicked, when I feel pain, but this movie made me cry. Not just a single tear, but I cried like a river. Just watch this, you will never forget The Green Mile.
  18. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    Awesome!!! One of the best pictures ever made. Based on a Stephen King's unputdownable novel!!! Well-acted!!! Brilliant, brilliant and brilliant!!! Watch it!!
  19. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    The Green Mile is a milestone for Darabont. Of course the high-brow critics will think this an overly long snore-fest, but the real movie watchers will realize its accurate portrayal of the passage of time and what it feels like for a death row inmate. Described as his favorite movie he's made, it combines the magic of a Disney film with more adult themes and a soaring story that moves you and makes you judge your own life. Even the title is a metaphor as this film conveys complex themes about life, set in Louisiana in a death row cell block. Expand
  20. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    This movie is one of the best films on history.It never does not duplicate.To my surprise, the overall score of this masterpiece of a total of 61.I'm really sorry for the the critics of these sites
  21. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    Incredible adaptation of Stephen Kings book.

    The late Michael Clarke Duncan is perfect in the role of Coffey a mentally challenged black man sentenced to death for the murder of two little girls. Tom Hanks gives a stellar performance as mild-mannered prison guard in charge of death row.

    One of the best Stephen King adaptations yet (alongside The Shawshank Redemption).
  22. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    This movieā€¦.I can't explain it in words but, this is the best sob movie in time. I'm not going to say its "one of the best" or "probably the best" because I know. This movie is the best. Why? When I was young, about the time you can't walk, I somehow opened the tv and saw this. I only saw a scene of it but, it was so, how to say this, close? I think. Whatever, I couldn't get that movie out of my mind then a 9ish years later, I found the name. I saw the whole movie and now, I feel accomplished. A part of the scene in this movie is so moving that I searched and searched when it was possible to search. I came from a poor family once so I didn't have the internet or a phone or a computer, just a tv. So now, since I have a laptop, I want to say this to the world. This movie changed my life. Expand
  23. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    Seriously? Metascore of this movie is 61!!!What a disaster. Then what are these so called critics expect from a movie.It's interesting,thrilling,emotional ,well directed movie with an amazing story and screen play .
    Actors are really mind blowing.Story and screen play as what i expected from the great 'King'.The Drabaont-king gang have presented us one another gem not lesser than that of
    'The Shawshank Redemption'
    got more than i wanted.
    the critics who gave thus a movie a low rating ,at the same time garnishes the 'waste of time movies' like syriana,up in the air,michael clayton with scores more than 75 .Fools.
    Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. 65
    This jailhouse jam is quite a haul.
  2. Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    75
    There's almost too much there, but the three-hour-plus film permits the kind of detailing that not only brings the storytelling to life, but sometimes persuades us we're breathing to its rhythms.
  3. Its view of spiritual healing is closer to Spielberg fantasy than religious insight. Still, its good acting and good intentions will be enough to please many viewers.