Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 6, 2011
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1474 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,063
Mixed:
312
Negative:
99
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Bugger217Sep 13, 2017
Thor is essentially split into two parts. One taking place in Asgard, the realm where Thor comes from, and the other taking place on Earth. The Asgard portion of the film is magical. It's visually spectacular and there's a genuine sense ofThor is essentially split into two parts. One taking place in Asgard, the realm where Thor comes from, and the other taking place on Earth. The Asgard portion of the film is magical. It's visually spectacular and there's a genuine sense of place. Chris Hemsworth has the right kind of swagger as Thor. Tom Hiddleston is a revelation as Loki. Anthony Hopkins brings appropriate amounts of gravitas as Odin.

The Earth portion is less than magical. It looks a lot cheaper, and not just because it's literally more "down-to-Earth." The sets are poorly constructed, and it's here that the film's most uninteresting characters and plot points are introduced. Thor's fish-out-of-water moments are amusing, but Natalie Portman is terribly miscast as his love interest, and their chemistry isn't very strong. Kat Dennings' character is supposed to be funny, but comes off as annoying.

Regardless, there's more good than bad to be found here. The cast is mostly great, the action is a lot of fun, Asgard is a joy to spend time in, and it's here that Marvel Studios truly began to properly build their cinematic universe, bridging multiple franchises, without feeling overstuffed or incomplete.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Kes4278Jul 31, 2017
Well, can't say I am a little disappointed. I mean the movie is descent.Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddelston were great.Natalie Portman was alright. I would give it a fair 7/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MonkiReviewsJun 20, 2017
A good movie, but not Marvel's best. The characters were great, and showed the characters change a lot through the whole thing. The special effects were not perfect, but had great moments. This had more good than bad though, so it is worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
miccaelJun 2, 2017
perhaps one of the best Marvel entry movies, next to Iron Man.
Really love this movie. I cannot understand why critics' score is so low.
I think Marvel did very good job with setting up Thor
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SonicHD7Jun 1, 2017
As the son of Odin (Anthony Hopkins), king of the Norse gods, Thor (Chris Hemsworth) will soon inherit the throne of Asgard from his aging father. However, on the day that he is to be crowned, Thor reacts with brutality when the gods'As the son of Odin (Anthony Hopkins), king of the Norse gods, Thor (Chris Hemsworth) will soon inherit the throne of Asgard from his aging father. However, on the day that he is to be crowned, Thor reacts with brutality when the gods' enemies, the Frost Giants, enter the palace in violation of their treaty. As punishment, Odin banishes Thor to Earth. While Loki (Tom Hiddleston), Thor's brother, plots mischief in Asgard, Thor, now stripped of his powers, faces his greatest threat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ZerpnosMar 4, 2017
Dünyaya ışınlanan Thor ilk başta olayları araştıran birileriyle tanışır ve kıza aşık olur. Güzel zamanlar geçiren Thor artık çekici bulmanın vaktini geldiğini anlamıştır fakat biraz geç kalmıştır. Agents of Shield denen ekip çoktan çekicinDünyaya ışınlanan Thor ilk başta olayları araştıran birileriyle tanışır ve kıza aşık olur. Güzel zamanlar geçiren Thor artık çekici bulmanın vaktini geldiğini anlamıştır fakat biraz geç kalmıştır. Agents of Shield denen ekip çoktan çekicin etrafını çevirmiş ve incelemeye başlamıştır. Sonunda çekicine kavuşan Thor, Dünyaya gönderilen Yokediciyi ardından Asgarda saldırmak isteyen kötüleri durdurur. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
egkJan 14, 2017
ok thor, i think this really an enjoyable movie jokes are funny Chris hamsworth plays a great thor Asgard looks beautiful, and cool Easter eggs Loki is alright, he's not the loki that we know today. And i like fish out of water story. sook thor, i think this really an enjoyable movie jokes are funny Chris hamsworth plays a great thor Asgard looks beautiful, and cool Easter eggs Loki is alright, he's not the loki that we know today. And i like fish out of water story. so overall great movie a little dull at times but still its great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
superbatOct 2, 2016
Thor, overall, was a pretty enjoyable movie, but it's 3D rendering and heavy-CGI effects lower its score to a 7. The acting was great (from Hemsworth and Hiddleston in particular) and was lots of the fun, but they used too much CGI in theThor, overall, was a pretty enjoyable movie, but it's 3D rendering and heavy-CGI effects lower its score to a 7. The acting was great (from Hemsworth and Hiddleston in particular) and was lots of the fun, but they used too much CGI in the making of it, and at times I was distracted Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SCarlisleSep 26, 2016
Thank God for Paramount Pictures, Marvel Studios, Kenneth Branagh, and Kevin Fiege for delivering one of the greatest superhero films onto the big screen to date! Thor is wonderful in nearly all of it's ways! The setting of Asgard is one ofThank God for Paramount Pictures, Marvel Studios, Kenneth Branagh, and Kevin Fiege for delivering one of the greatest superhero films onto the big screen to date! Thor is wonderful in nearly all of it's ways! The setting of Asgard is one of the most beautiful atmospheric environments seen in film history to date! The plot is very solid, and the characters are amazing! Before watching this film, I found it hard for me to relate to Thor, but what Kenneth Branagh did in this film is unprecedented! This movie is absolutely phenomenal! A few iffy plot points prevent the film from scoring an overall perfect score of 10, but that should not take away from how amazing this movie is! Thor is hilarious! You will find yourself literally laughing out loud at certain points in the film. This film just about has everything a superhero film needs--action, comic relief, drama, tear-jerking moments, the list goes on. Thor is awesome! There is not really a whole lot more that can be added to this. Thor is awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLover123Jul 17, 2016
Not going to lie, I know the plot is nonsensical and the CGI sometimes is mediocre, however the MCU finally has a good villain character in Loki and the hammer is pretty awesome. Overall, it is a great summer popcorn flick and nothing more.Not going to lie, I know the plot is nonsensical and the CGI sometimes is mediocre, however the MCU finally has a good villain character in Loki and the hammer is pretty awesome. Overall, it is a great summer popcorn flick and nothing more. It will definitely not age well, but I definitely enjoyed it while in the moment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Jun 27, 2016
As far as quasi-coming-of-age-action-adventure-superhero films go, "Thor" is without a doubt among the best. In all seriousness though, Kenneth Branagh had a demigod (tee-hee) of a task on his hands in trying to simultaneously sell theAs far as quasi-coming-of-age-action-adventure-superhero films go, "Thor" is without a doubt among the best. In all seriousness though, Kenneth Branagh had a demigod (tee-hee) of a task on his hands in trying to simultaneously sell the magical realism of the fantastical world at hand, whilst furthering the overall narrative that was "Phase One" of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. And, to be quite frank, he pulled it off. In spades. "Thor" not only accomplishes both of the aforementioned feats, it also introduces us to the charismatic stylings of both Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston, while also teaching us that Branagh himself indeed has a few action-oriented tricks up his directorial sleeves. Overall, "Thor" is great entertainment and I regret missing when it came out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ElectroNickMay 1, 2016
Thor hd always been one of the more boring characters in the Marvel universe since there wasn't really more to him outside of being a Norse God. This film though really fixed that as Thor has a similar character arc to Tony Stark but thereThor hd always been one of the more boring characters in the Marvel universe since there wasn't really more to him outside of being a Norse God. This film though really fixed that as Thor has a similar character arc to Tony Stark but there are a few differences. Thor starts as a prideful prince who lets the power get to his head but later learns the value of mortal life. He goes to Earth after being cast out from Asgard which gives way to interesting character interactions. Chris Hemsworth is a perfect choice to play the God of Thunder and he has great chemistry with Natalie Portman as Jane Foster. There is also a nice comrade re with the Warriors three much like their comic book counter parts. Anthony Hopkins carries a strong presence as Odin which is standard for such a powerhouse actor. The one actor who really steals the show is Tom Hiddleton as Loki. He is a devious character hence why he is called the God of Mischief but he is sympathetic as well in this incarnation. He is so good as the god of mischief that he even fooled me on more than one occasion which makes him a great villain since he is manipulative and unpredictable. Kenneth Branagh directs this film with his trademark visual flare making this film not only fun to watch but also beautiful to behold. This film made me a new Thor fan and I can't wait to see what awaits him in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
Kenneth Branagh invests this comicbook epic with a weighty yet never overbearing Shakespearean dimension.

Neither the star pupil nor the dunce of the Marvel superhero-to-screen class, “Thor” delivers the goods so long as butt is being
Kenneth Branagh invests this comicbook epic with a weighty yet never overbearing Shakespearean dimension.

Neither the star pupil nor the dunce of the Marvel superhero-to-screen class, “Thor” delivers the goods so long as butt is being kicked and family conflict is playing out in celestial dimensions, but is less thrilling during the Norse warrior god’s rather brief banishment on Earth. With Aussie hunk Chris Hemsworth impressive in the lead and helmer Kenneth Branagh investing the dramatic passages with a weighty yet never overbearing Shakespearean dimension, pic looks sure to reap big B.O. on the strength of its ready-made audience, but faces a tougher time attracting viewers for whom this type of fare is the exception rather than the rule.

Although the comicbook has been in print since 1962, Thor hasn’t scored much more than supporting roles and guest spots in various toons and telepics since. With this in mind, scripters Ashley Edward Miller, Zack Stentz and Don Payne have wisely penned an unhurried but engrossing half-hour setup of the lesser-known Marvel character and the three worlds he inhabits.

Opening snapshot in New Mexico finds astrophysicist Jane Foster (Natalie Portman), her gal-pal/assistant Darcy Lewis (Kat Dennings) and Jane’s mentor, Dr. Erik Sevig (Stellan Skarsgard) investigating a twister-like atmospheric disturbance. In their haste to discover what’s come down in the storm, their RV knocks down Thor (Hemsworth), a buff and bearded stranger.

Bulk of the action in the first couple of reels sets up Thor’s fall from grace in his homeland, Asgard, a heavenly realm ruled by his supremely wise but aging father, Odin (Anthony Hopkins). Just moments away from peacefully ascending the throne ahead of brother Loki (Tom Hiddleston), Thor leaps into an eye-popping interdimensional portal and leads an unauthorized attack on Jotunheim, home to their enemies, the Frost Giants, led by reptile-like Laufey (Colm Feore). Odin’s punishment: Thor is dispatched to Midgard (Earth) with his magical hammer, Mjolnir, but cannot use the mighty instrument until he overcomes the classic mythological shortcomings of arrogance and impetuosity.

Speckled with amusing fish-out-of-water humor as Thor marches around a dusty New Mexico town like he’s still in Asgard, the story promises much from the attentions of government agent Coulson (Clark Gregg) and Thor’s brewing confrontation with the Destroyer, a hulking creation that resembles a high-tech suit of armor and shoots fire from its eyes. He’s joined in this endeavor by Asgard warrior pals Sif (Jaimie Alexander), Volstagg (Ray Stevenson), Fandral (Josh Dallas), and Hogun (Tadanobu Asano).

Yet Thor’s smackdown with the Destroyer is all too brief and anticlimactic when stacked up against the spectacularly rendered rumbles in other dimensions. Though Thor’s romance with Jane is passable, thanks largely to Portman’s sterling work in a thinly written role, the couple isn’t given enough alone time or meaningful dialogue to raise the relationship above the ordinary.

It’s a different matter in the heavens. Hopkins rises to the occasion with a restrained yet powerful portrayal of a father forced by conscience to deal the bitterest of judgments upon his chosen heir, and Hiddleston gives a finely tuned perf as the sibling whose loyalty or otherwise to Thor remains a tantalizing question until deep into proceedings. Almost unrecognizable as the star of Aussie soap “Home and Away” in the mid-2000s, Hemsworth holds his own in distinguished company and will serve the series well in any sequels and “The Avengers,” Marvel’s all-star superhero bash skedded for 2012 release. Given only a handful of lines, Rene Russo is under-used as Odin’s wife, Frigga.

As the living actor and director most closely associated with Shakespeare, Branagh may seem a surprise choice for such material. A childhood reader of the comics, he brings a fan’s enthusiasm and his skill as an actor’s director to the table here. Fitting Hemsworth out with a classical but never pompous British accent and shooting emotionally charged sequences with elegant simplicity, Branagh succeeds in rendering his mythological characters deeply human.

While no fatal missteps are taken along Thor’s path to redemption, pic has a slightly choppy feel, as if it’s trying to squeeze an origin tale and at least part of its sequel into a single entity. Most of the material motors along just fine, though the editing occasionally seems a bit too hurried in moving from one dimension to the next. An extra reel of Earth-bound story might not have gone astray.

Effects work is on the money, with the suspended, glowing Bitfrost gateway from Asgard to other worlds an eye-catching highlight. All other technical credits are thoroughly pro.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FuturedirectorMar 17, 2016
Thor is another classic of action films. Maybe the mitology and formula it's a bit confusing or dull for this kind of films, but it really works, with interesting story-telling, human altitude, great interpretations and action-packed. Fans ofThor is another classic of action films. Maybe the mitology and formula it's a bit confusing or dull for this kind of films, but it really works, with interesting story-telling, human altitude, great interpretations and action-packed. Fans of Marvel will really like this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BarneyOnMTMar 12, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: 'Thor' is majestic, fantastical yet heart-filled. Really, it's a shock it's so good, but thanks Kenneth Brannagh's Shakespearean characterisation, we get one of the better hero origins we've seen. Branagh's attention to detailWHAT I LIKED: 'Thor' is majestic, fantastical yet heart-filled. Really, it's a shock it's so good, but thanks Kenneth Brannagh's Shakespearean characterisation, we get one of the better hero origins we've seen. Branagh's attention to detail is perfect for this world and these characters, as are the incredible cast who are all perfect for their roles. This film will make you smile, triumph, and it'll even tug at your heart strings.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It could have done with a touch more action and a more interesting plot to add to it's overall impact. Oh, and, what was Loki's plan exactly...?
VERDICT: A fantasy take on Superhero films, 'Thor' is sadly Marvel's forgotten gem - it's actually very good.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeFeb 4, 2016
Thor wasn't the best opening to a franchise, but it's still strong and holdable at some cases and then there are those cases that remind you to the case of Thor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrackerDeviceNov 2, 2015
Chris Hemsworth does an excellent job as playing Thor while the supporting also proves to be effective as well. With great action scenes, storytelling, and it sense of humor, Thor will definitely not disappoint fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoOct 9, 2015
Unique among superhero films. For one thing, it's got a fantasy feel to it and for another thing, the main character has been stripped of his powers for most of the movie so it's more of a fish out of water story. Tom Hiddleson's Loki wasUnique among superhero films. For one thing, it's got a fantasy feel to it and for another thing, the main character has been stripped of his powers for most of the movie so it's more of a fish out of water story. Tom Hiddleson's Loki was brilliant (looks like the MCU has found their Heath Ledger) and Chris Hemsworth was very good as the title character. It's a pretty good movie, different from most films of its kind. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MrMovieBuffJul 8, 2015
'Thor' follows the story of a once arrogant God named Thor (Chris Hemsworth), who is banished from his world, Asgard by his father and king, Odin (Anthony Hopkins). Along the way, at Earth, Thor meets three scientists; Jane (Natalie Portman),'Thor' follows the story of a once arrogant God named Thor (Chris Hemsworth), who is banished from his world, Asgard by his father and king, Odin (Anthony Hopkins). Along the way, at Earth, Thor meets three scientists; Jane (Natalie Portman), Eric Selvig (Stellan Skarsgard) and Darcy (Kat Dennings).

At Earth, Thor learns what it is and how to be worthy in order for him to become a mighty God again, but all that doesn't go according to plan when his scheming and jealous brother, Loki (Tom Hiddleston) plans to jeopardize Thor's return to Asgard and become King once again.

Kenneth Branagh directs this movie with such visual ambition, the actors commit to their roles very well despite looking and often sounding ridiculous what with the costumes and constant Shakespeare-like dialogue. It definitely doesn't feel like a comic book movie, instead, more like a tone-down version of "The Lord of the Rings" and "Game of Thrones".

The film does suffer from predictability and, possibly, just a short and thinly written plot, but it is a lot of fun, it may not rank among some great comic book films like; 'Superman' (1978), 'X2: X-Men United' (2003), or even 'The Dark Knight' (2008), but if you are a fan of the "Thor " comics...then you will like this for what it is.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SythusRATINGSOct 19, 2014
Thor spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is the mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth by hisThor spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is the mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth by his father Odin and is forced to live among humans. A beautiful, young scientist, Jane Foster, has a profound effect on Thor, as she ultimately becomes his first love. It's while here on Earth that Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero when the most dangerous villain of his world sends the darkest forces of Asgard to invade Earth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 24, 2014
All in all, I very much enjoyed this film.

Chris Hemsworth was both annoying and fabulous as Thor; he played the character very nicely, creating a stubborn, hot-tempered, prideful god who is eventually banished from his home for those very
All in all, I very much enjoyed this film.

Chris Hemsworth was both annoying and fabulous as Thor; he played the character very nicely, creating a stubborn, hot-tempered, prideful god who is eventually banished from his home for those very qualities.

All in all, the story was splintered between events taking place in Asgard and on Earth.

Asgard, sadly, wasn't nearly as interesting, focusing more on plotting and revelations of betrayal. Thor's Asgard companions were left a bit hollow, but his new friends on Earth (Jane Foster, played by Natalie Portman, mysterious Stellan Skarsgård as Erik Selvig and Kat Dennings as the ever optimistic Darcy Lewis) were a little better, in the end they managing to create a much-expected romance between Jane and Thor.

Regardless of the sad fact that the characters didn't have enough life in them, the story progressed nicely with fabulous action.

Definitely looking forward to any continuations.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
WadeusAug 9, 2014
Thor is a great movie and the fact that that it sets up something bigger is a bonus to what is a awesome film about the bratty future king of Asgard, Hemsworth give a good performance as Thor and Portman is very good as Jane Foster
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeJul 30, 2014
The best Marvel film so far, that show the most adventurous and stunning visuals that never have been identified before.

The high amount of science fiction and action truly keeps me entertained, not to mention the amazing CGI and the
The best Marvel film so far, that show the most adventurous and stunning visuals that never have been identified before.

The high amount of science fiction and action truly keeps me entertained, not to mention the amazing CGI and the stunning amount of details, which together form a wonderful and entertaining film. The romance (no spoilers) between the characters in Thor truly gives the movie a high rating, because it’s so wonderful. The story in Thor is one other thing that’s fascinating, and there are many unique things that are cool to see in this amazing film, even thought there are some slow scenes where nothing particularly happened.

Thor is an entertaining film, that also is funny and enjoyable, and combined with a stunning composing from Patrick Doyle, is this film amazing to watch.

It’s not a flawless film, but it’s a very well made film by Marvel.

Thor gets a 8.3/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrBlackTronJul 28, 2014
Avengers filmine geçiş için karakterleri tanıtmayı amaçlayan bu filmler biraz aceleye getirilse de oyuncu kadrosu çok iyi ve uygun seçilmiş olduğu için yine de seyre değer. Konu klasik biraz tempo da zaman zaman düşüyor. Asıl Thor ve Loki yiAvengers filmine geçiş için karakterleri tanıtmayı amaçlayan bu filmler biraz aceleye getirilse de oyuncu kadrosu çok iyi ve uygun seçilmiş olduğu için yine de seyre değer. Konu klasik biraz tempo da zaman zaman düşüyor. Asıl Thor ve Loki yi 2.filmden itibaren görebileceğiz kanısındayım. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cumoviesJul 26, 2014
this movie to me was very good acting special effects action story was all good but not great this movie is better than a 7 but not good enough to be an 8.
my ratting 7.7/10 action 8/10 story 7.5/10 acting 8/10 comedy 7/10
this movie to me was very good acting special effects action story was all good but not great this movie is better than a 7 but not good enough to be an 8.
my ratting 7.7/10 action 8/10 story 7.5/10 acting 8/10 comedy 7/10 characters/character development 8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SuperheroMoviesApr 17, 2014
Bolstered by an enthusiastic cast and a broad sense of humor, Thor is one Marvel film that delivers on many levels and is delivered with an honest, fun spirit that will spark the sense of adventure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialMar 8, 2014
This film is a good setup, leading to "The Avengers". It has emotion, good visuals and a great villain. It's not as good as "Iron Man" or "The Avengers", but you're a fan of either one of those films, you can't miss out "Thor".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BradySmithDec 21, 2013
Thor is an enjoyable superhero movie. It doesn't really try anything new, but it uses the standard ingredients well enough. It has a likeable hero, decent visual effects, and a very good finale. Sometimes it can even make you sad. InThor is an enjoyable superhero movie. It doesn't really try anything new, but it uses the standard ingredients well enough. It has a likeable hero, decent visual effects, and a very good finale. Sometimes it can even make you sad. In places the script and direction do need some work though. It's no Dark Knight ,but what else is? Well to be honest Iron Man, and the first two Spider-Man films were also better than Thor. So it's not exactly one of its genre's best. It's just above average entertainment. I can live with that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Movie1997Dec 19, 2013
While it's not the best super hero ever made, it still showcases some good old super hero starts! While some say the sequel is way better than the this first installment, I disagree. "Thor" brings in an interesting plot with good charactersWhile it's not the best super hero ever made, it still showcases some good old super hero starts! While some say the sequel is way better than the this first installment, I disagree. "Thor" brings in an interesting plot with good characters and some good storytelling. It never felt too goofy, but never brought anything more than it could have. Overall, it's still a pretty good marvel movie. I give it a B. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cag11Nov 29, 2013
I can understand if someone didn't like this movie. It has a shallow plot that doesn't have much action in it. I did like it because I'm more focused on whether or not the plot was executed good. It did good for a part one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mrjoneseznNov 28, 2013
This is a comic-book movie (duh) and doesn't have aspirations to be any more than that. In that regard, it's a really good comic-book movie. Yeah, some of the dialogue is wooden, and some characters are underdeveloped, but it stays true toThis is a comic-book movie (duh) and doesn't have aspirations to be any more than that. In that regard, it's a really good comic-book movie. Yeah, some of the dialogue is wooden, and some characters are underdeveloped, but it stays true to its source material, and ends up being a pretty fun film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
marcmyworksNov 27, 2013
Thor is fast paced, enjoyable and fun and only suffers when he is brought to Earth. There he is not nearly as interesting as he is on Asgard, but hey, those effects are expensive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuNov 17, 2013
If you can set aside cynicism and stomach Thor's goofy premise, you'll be in for a sci-fi comic book treat. Those expecting it's dialogue and depth to match The Dark Knight will be left wanting (although Loki's Shakespearean tragedy play isIf you can set aside cynicism and stomach Thor's goofy premise, you'll be in for a sci-fi comic book treat. Those expecting it's dialogue and depth to match The Dark Knight will be left wanting (although Loki's Shakespearean tragedy play is awesome) But Thor isn't that type of movie. It's aspiration is to come as close to the comic books as possible (or possibly pay homage to 80s 'classics' like Flash Gordon or Krull). The movie really succeeds at this, feeling like it has just leaped off the page and into celluloid. It's exactly as it should be: Colorful, light, action packed and very, very daft. Thor is an extremely fun romp from start to finish and one of the most refreshing super hero movies of recent memory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dougaussieNov 5, 2013
Great eye candy. Lots of explosiony dusty dark stuff. bit of a story line. very little yukky romance, the side kick to thors girlfriend was good light relief humor. Lots of destruction, I like the destruction bits. You just like loki more andGreat eye candy. Lots of explosiony dusty dark stuff. bit of a story line. very little yukky romance, the side kick to thors girlfriend was good light relief humor. Lots of destruction, I like the destruction bits. You just like loki more and more. Great spaceship design. Now the bad: if the dark stuff is imprisoned in the core of some planet how can thors girlfriend accidently get to it, that's just stretching it too far, poor writing. And give me a break, a scientist on earth has some techno sticks that will stop the alignment of planets. Theres some good ideas and effects let down by logic gaps. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
starscream97Nov 3, 2013
While this movie is really good and a great introduction to the character and the world of Asgard, there were a few things that could've been better. Their needed to be more characters because even though the ones we got were greatWhile this movie is really good and a great introduction to the character and the world of Asgard, there were a few things that could've been better. Their needed to be more characters because even though the ones we got were great (Loki...need i say more?) i wanted to spend more time with Heimdall or the Warrior's Three. The main romance was fine as was Thor's character arc, but again more time needed to be spent developing them. The action sequences are great but their needed to be more of them or at least have them be a little bit longer. But the biggest problem is that they get one of the greatest character actors out there, Colm Feore to play the villain and they don't do anything with him. But still this was a really great movie with an awesome cast, great action and impressive effects. Let's just hope that The Dark World fixes these problems. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobOct 24, 2013
Surprisingly I really enjoyed Thor. It is dense, two hours dense; these aren’t the greatest characters in the world; and the dutch angle can get annoying. However, I’m willing to overlook these flaws because the main characters are for theSurprisingly I really enjoyed Thor. It is dense, two hours dense; these aren’t the greatest characters in the world; and the dutch angle can get annoying. However, I’m willing to overlook these flaws because the main characters are for the most part likeable and well acted with Chris Hemsworth killing at as for, some nice character moments as opposed to a whole action fest, some enjoyable action, and some epic moments. If you’re a fan of superhero movies check this one out, which is easier than ever since it is on Netflix as I am writing this. Even if you don’t think it’s as good as Iron Man you’ll still be really entertained. If you aren’t a fan of the superhero movies than you can sit this one out since this one isn’t doing anything ground breaking that’ll change your mind. As for me, like I said before, I really enjoyed this film. It did a fantastic job establishing Thor and got me excited for The Avengers. Hopefully the sequel will surprise me as well although it has a lot to live up to if it wants to be as entertaining as this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Aug 10, 2013
Not as good as I first remembered but still a highly entertaining film. There is plenty to like here as Thor is one of my favourite characters from 'The Avengers' line-up and I find I can enjoy this film as apposed to the likes of theNot as good as I first remembered but still a highly entertaining film. There is plenty to like here as Thor is one of my favourite characters from 'The Avengers' line-up and I find I can enjoy this film as apposed to the likes of the 'Iron-Man' series. There isn't a great deal of Action for a film that you would expect to have a lot of it, but the final few scenes is where it picks up. Overall a very good film and I am quite looking forward to the sequel later this year! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJul 26, 2013
The special effects of this movie are really cool which really helps this one out a lot. The acting is good, and the plot is interesting as well. Only negative is that it's pretty much your typical superhero movie, it does nothing differentThe special effects of this movie are really cool which really helps this one out a lot. The acting is good, and the plot is interesting as well. Only negative is that it's pretty much your typical superhero movie, it does nothing different despite Thor being a God rather than a superhuman. If that was different, then it undoubtedly would've been more enjoyable, even though as is, it's a pretty good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MalevolentMay 31, 2013
This movie was a lot better than I thought it was going to be. The plot was great and the characters were excellent, especially Loki. I can't wait for Thor: The Dark World.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722May 29, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like the rest of the Avengers films, this movie was fantastic. I thought Chris Hemsworth did a great job in his portrayal of Thor and the rest of the cast was great. Natalie Portman is as breathtaking as ever and the rest of the supporting cast adds a combination of depth and humor. The action sequences were done great and I loved how well this film tied in with the others in the universe. The little nods towards Iron Man and The Incredible Hulk were subtle yet really well played. I thought Loki's motives were a little shaky, especially considering that it's the entire foundation of the movie. Nonetheless, the rest of the plot develops really nicely and the film gets a bit of everything from action to drama to romance to suspense. If you can suspend your disbelief enough to accept the premise of the film, I think this movie is very entertaining and enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StevenFMay 22, 2013
Some superhero films just click in the sort of way where everyone is there for a reason, the plot flows nicely, the dialogue is the balanced blend of drama with real humour to mellow the mood, and characters that are larger than life andSome superhero films just click in the sort of way where everyone is there for a reason, the plot flows nicely, the dialogue is the balanced blend of drama with real humour to mellow the mood, and characters that are larger than life and memorable. Thor has all of these, just not to the fullest.
The God of Thunder is an over-confident, adrenaline-fuelled piece of meat played by the talented Chris Hemsworth, he is the would-be King to succeed his father, Odin (Anthony Hopkins), King of Asgard.
When Thor recklessly battles with the Ice Giants of Jotunheim, a race that his father was holding a dodgy truth with, he is banished by his father and removed of all his power, including his hammer, Mjolnir.
Crossing paths with the banished God on earth is Jane Foster (Natalie Portman), who accidentally runs him over while chasing an anomaly in the sky, Jane and her team, Eric Selvig (Stellan Skarsgård) and Darcy (Kat Dennings) are unaware at first that it was Thor and his hammer causing the strange occurrences in the sky.
As Thor adjusts to life on earth, his brother Loki (Tom Hiddlestone), mischievous indeed, isn't everything he appears to be, and sets out a plan to be King. This is without doubt an explosive and action-packed first outing for Thor, the humour in the film is top notch and director Kenneth Branagh brings a true sense of realism to such an expansive and magical story.
However, the film too often feels like a tie-in to keep us going until The Avengers, much like Iron Man 2, S.H.I.E.L.D. are just too heavily involved and often spoil the party for an otherwise enjoyable flick. The action is often just too quick, flashy and CGI-laden to enjoy, there is plenty of blur in the film, for all the wrong reasons. Clark Gregg returns as Agent Coulson, and while his scenes are good, and sometimes funny ("One of Starks?" "I don't know, he doesn't tell me anything"), they are just too expansive and plot oriented to the point where we start to lose interest in the Thor plot.
That aside, Chris Hemsworth is perfectly cast, his charm, bulging biceps and over-zealous attitude contribute to much of the comedy, with a few one-liners that are simply priceless. The chemistry between himself and Portman is magical, while the more limited role of Selvig is enjoyable, its really the small part of Idris Elba playing Heimdall that is excellent.
Not a the best of the Marvel Universe, but certainly an enjoyable first outing for Thor.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mad_Hatter91May 9, 2013
This film has exceeded my expectations. It 's been really nice and was able to entertain me without annoying me. I especially loved the character of Loki. Great performance by Tom Hiddleston.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Azid_AlexDeSmalApr 8, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thor is a mighty superhero motion picture in the service of having a direction by Kenneth Branath. The film was written by Ashley Edward Miller, Zack Stentz and Don Payne and starring talented players like Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston and the stellar Anthony Hopkins. Thor is vividly ambitious having employed mega special effects and it is somehow a financial and critical success but it didn't worked out much for me, I just felt that Thor could have been much better.

The plot surrounds the character Thor (Played by Chris Hemsworth), whose character is well occupied with arrogance, courage, aggressiveness and those unpopular self-abilities were responsible for his own exile from Asgard to earth. Upon his exile, his evil brother, Loki (Played by Tom Hiddleston), intends to become the new king of Asgard and to consolidate all powers for his own self. I have absolutely nothing to against its main plot here, not very much of simplicity it is complex to a very small extent and it varies important themes like family and loyalty and it instantly tells me that Kenneth Branath injected some kind of Shakespearean elements in it. I approved its storyline here, it is good.

Acting-wise, it is amazing. Chris Hemsworth plays the tough character Thor and he navigated it very well. He is highly commanding in his acting performance and there is ultra-strength in it and yes, he did accomplished. Tom Hiddleston is very promising in the movie, perhaps I would say, Chris Hemsworth is overshadowed by him. Hiddleston's control on his facial expression every time he is performing is so precise, he exactly knows on when to 'turn to the left', or when to 'turn to the right', and with a perfect combination with his wonderful voice, he is sublime in this film. Perhaps his best moment is when his character Loki, a very inspirational villain, realised that he is adopted. Upon his discoveries, he screamed 'TELL ME!!' for the sake of finding the truth further and literally, backed up with fine acting skills, I could see so much pain and anger in Loki, and this enlightens me that Tom Hiddleston knows on how to manage a character. Anthony Hopkins plays Odin, the father of Thor, and as usual, brings his masterful game for his part and Natalie Portman too brought for us a fine performance.

The first quarter of this movie is very splendid. Anchored with excellent fighting/action scene, excellent editing, beautiful colourful special effects, great dialogues and I would like to reiterate, powerful acting performances but it did not lasted till the end. It literally went down the hill during the last quarter of the movie. Fighting scenes between Loki and Thor are purely messy and too ambitious, and I don't enjoy messiness. Tons of special effects are being employed and it loses my interest of it, and I guess it lacked much audience involvement during that period of time. I'm not trying to suggest that Thor is way over the top but its special effects somehow blinded my eyes that I could not focus much.

Thor is good, but not great, and I am very much in love to repeat that this movie could have been much, much, much, better.

(http://www.rottentomatoes.com/member/AlexDesmall) (http://facebook.com/alex.desmall) Twitter (Alex_DeSmall)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Mar 19, 2013
I didn't really expect too much from this movie, as I was never too much a fan of the comic or the character. But, to my surprise, it was somewhat decent. Effects were first rate, the characters were well played (perhaps a bit hammy atI didn't really expect too much from this movie, as I was never too much a fan of the comic or the character. But, to my surprise, it was somewhat decent. Effects were first rate, the characters were well played (perhaps a bit hammy at points) and story was a pretty good origin story for Thor. Overall: A good, but not great, movie. My least favorite of the Avenger characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
The great and powerful Thor was one of the biggest grossing movies of 2011. The special effects in this film were really some of the best I've ever seen and the star of the film, Chris Hemsworth was amazing, but besides that, this film wasThe great and powerful Thor was one of the biggest grossing movies of 2011. The special effects in this film were really some of the best I've ever seen and the star of the film, Chris Hemsworth was amazing, but besides that, this film was extremely overrated. Thor is banished to Earth for disobeying his father, the King, and must live as a mortal. Surprisingly, it doesn't take him very long to adjust, and he falls in love with Natalie Portman during a fifteen minute car ride. Okay, so the plot was weak to begin with, but the special effects could have more than made up for that. What I really didn't like about this film was just how fast everything happened. Thor is going to be in the Avengers trilogy and there is a good possibility there may be a sequel to this film, so what was the point in rushing everything? The character of Thor is a majestic one. He is one of the most powerful superheroes that ever existed. This film should have been the epic classic that was talked about for years, but instead they rushed the story and hid behind some great special effects. It was visually impactful, entertaining, and had a great star, but a side from that, this film is nothing more than a common theme with a weak script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oblique15Feb 16, 2013
I loved this movie, but I was more amazed by the character Heimdall! He was epic! This movie is more about learning about Thor, I expect any sequel to have more action.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
Hats off to Marvel Studios...Thor is excellent. Definitely one of the best Marvel films, behind Spidermans 1 & 2, which says a lot. This film was the perfect start to the blockbuster season.

First off, the cinematography and visual affects
Hats off to Marvel Studios...Thor is excellent. Definitely one of the best Marvel films, behind Spidermans 1 & 2, which says a lot. This film was the perfect start to the blockbuster season.

First off, the cinematography and visual affects for the film were fantastic. Asgard, Thor's home planet, was beautiful to look at. I really enjoyed the scenes that took place there, and the artistic elements made it even better. The appearance of the film was my favorite thing about the movie. The visual effects were great too, but I come to expect nothing less of Marvel.

The performances were excellent, especially Chris Hemsworth as Thor, and supporting actor Tom Hiddleston. Hemsworth easily could have done what happened in Fantastic 4 and taken a more silly approach to the character, but he really does a great job of sticking to the character. Even during the humorous moments, I felt the acting held up. He gives a fantastic performance and is very convincing. Tom Hiddleston gives the strongest performance of the cast, in my opinion. I thoroughly enjoyed his performance and thought he did a great job. He really added a whole other level of emotion to the film. Natalie Portman is also fantastic, but I expect nothing less from her.

The story was also very appealing. I know absolutely nothing about the comic book Thor, same as most everyone else, so had no idea what to expect of this film. Marvel and director Kenneth Branagh knew this and were sure to keep that in mind when creating the movie. They did an excellent job. The characters were introduced nicely, the scenery gives the story a unique time and place, the pacing is great, there's little time wasted on narration and development, and they casted a brilliant set of actors to deliver the conflict and emotion. Also equal attention was given to both the God world and the human world, which I thought was very nice. The story was foreign to me, but because of the good direction and production, I ended up liking it a lot.

For the first blockbuster of the summer, Thor is a smashing success. I hope it scores big at the box office and I recommend it to everyone. This is Marvel's "prettiest" film, so take advantage of that at least.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PulseEnderNov 24, 2012
Thor is the last movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe timeline right before The Avengers. Chris Hemsworth plays this truly tragic hero as he learns that with great power comes great responsibility. Plot: Thor Odinson is the son of Odin theThor is the last movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe timeline right before The Avengers. Chris Hemsworth plays this truly tragic hero as he learns that with great power comes great responsibility. Plot: Thor Odinson is the son of Odin the allfather (Anthony Hopkins). Odin is the ruler of Asgard which oversees the 9 realms. Long ago the realm of Jotunheim had been engaged in a long war with Asgard in which Odin led his army to victory over the native Frost Giants and steals their source of power. However, Odin is about to name Thor King of Asgard when the Frost Giants attempt to take it back going against the terms of their truce. Odin turns a blind eye while Thor declares war but isn't taken seriously for he is not yet King. Foolishly, Thor travels with his friends and his brother into the realm of Jotunheim in an attempt to eliminate them. After a near death experience Odin bails Thor out but Laufey, leader of the Frost Giants declare war on Asgard. As a punishment for Thor's arrogance, Odin banish's Thor to the realm of Earth and strips him of his supernatural powers. Here, Thor meets a team of meterologists who attempt to help him out as he is misunderstood as the war rages between Asgard and Jotunheim. My opinion: This is a great movie that proves that you don't know what you have until it is taken away. Chris Hemsworth plays the awkwardest part of the movie very successfully as the locales of Earth have trouble communicating with him. If you are interested in Viking mythology or are into conspiracy theorys, or even interested in the Marvel Cinematic Universe then I would reccomend this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HercBrasilSep 2, 2012
recently watched Thor in 3D, I confess I did not expect much from the movie, so much that it took me enough to watch it ...

But I was pleasantly surprised, the movie is very good! It has a good script, great actors, which together
recently watched Thor in 3D, I confess I did not expect much from the movie, so much that it took me enough to watch it ...

But I was pleasantly surprised, the movie is very good! It has a good script, great actors, which together seamlessly into their characters, and it's quite enjoyable to watch.

3D in my opinion is depth of photography, and that Thor, despite not having been run natively in 3D, has good effects and the picture is always crystal clear and deep natural well, I point out to all who have tv 3D to see it in 3D .Edit | Delete
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GarianAug 8, 2012
I liked Thor, the story seemed strong and the characters played their role pretty well, the way Thor interacted with the people on earth was hilarious, and near the end it was good to see him act more human towards them. It wasn't perfect,I liked Thor, the story seemed strong and the characters played their role pretty well, the way Thor interacted with the people on earth was hilarious, and near the end it was good to see him act more human towards them. It wasn't perfect, but it was a very good movie and I enjoyed watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kirkteegardinJul 5, 2012
I watched this movie some time ago. Thor had some actors I like. The old guy that is in charge of the Swiss guard in Angels and Demons is in the movie. The hot Natalie Portmen is also in it (the queen from Star Wars, and the chick fromI watched this movie some time ago. Thor had some actors I like. The old guy that is in charge of the Swiss guard in Angels and Demons is in the movie. The hot Natalie Portmen is also in it (the queen from Star Wars, and the chick from Black Swan). Anthony Hopkins (from Silence of the Lambs) is also in it. He plays as Odin, Thor's father. The main character that plays Thor was unknown to me. When I saw the trailer for the movie I was like who the **** is this guy? Running around thinking he is all bad ass. I was glad that he did not ruin the movie in the end. There are several funny parts in this movie. I thought the funniest part was soon after he arrived at earth and lost all his power; he was in a hospital and people were trying to sedate him and he yells out,"YOU CANNOT STOP THE MIGHTY TH.." Then he passed out after being drugged. The big silver giant robot in the movie bothered me because it looked like they copied and pasted it from the movie The Day The Earth Stood Still. It even shoots out lasers. lol. The movie was good for being a movie I did not really care to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ajago12598Jul 4, 2012
When critiquing a movie, I think people tend to go over-analytical. For me, a movie is decided good or not by how much I particularly liked it. For Thor, I was entertained and I enjoyed the movie a lot. The special effects were killer and IWhen critiquing a movie, I think people tend to go over-analytical. For me, a movie is decided good or not by how much I particularly liked it. For Thor, I was entertained and I enjoyed the movie a lot. The special effects were killer and I was fangirling over both the protagonist and the antagonist. I had fun watching it, and that really matters. Oh, and once again, TOM HIDDLESTON hothothothot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HighwayUKJun 1, 2012
Hmm very mixed bag this one, read the comics as a kid but never really got hooked on the character, this movie spends a great deal of time on Thor's vanity more than anything else, by the time the real story is kicking in the credits areHmm very mixed bag this one, read the comics as a kid but never really got hooked on the character, this movie spends a great deal of time on Thor's vanity more than anything else, by the time the real story is kicking in the credits are close. Not a bad movie but probably the weakest origin movie so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sdcoatesMay 12, 2012
Like John Carter, this was another very entertaining movie, taken from a very unreal story. The lead actor played Thor perfectly. If an uncut version of this movie ever came to light (filling in some of the missing elements in theLike John Carter, this was another very entertaining movie, taken from a very unreal story. The lead actor played Thor perfectly. If an uncut version of this movie ever came to light (filling in some of the missing elements in the relationships within the story) this would be an excellent film. As it stands, it's a solid effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TTW107May 6, 2012
Everyone I talked to about Thor thoroughly disliked it, but I'm really not sure why. It kept my attention throughout and the special effects looked beautiful. I agree that the story could've been a little more exciting but oh well, it wasEveryone I talked to about Thor thoroughly disliked it, but I'm really not sure why. It kept my attention throughout and the special effects looked beautiful. I agree that the story could've been a little more exciting but oh well, it was definitely entertaining and worth my one buck to rent through redbox. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bram29May 5, 2012
i really liked how they portrayed asgard. and although i thought the movie was a bit too lighthearted, i must admit that it was always fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AndrusonMay 1, 2012
Finally got around to seeing this one. I hadn't made it a priority because I'd barely ever even heard of Thor as a Marvel character, and I'll admit that what I'd heard about the ideas behind the mythology of the Thor comics had me a littleFinally got around to seeing this one. I hadn't made it a priority because I'd barely ever even heard of Thor as a Marvel character, and I'll admit that what I'd heard about the ideas behind the mythology of the Thor comics had me a little intimidated as someone who respects comics from a distance. That being said, I was supremely impressed with not only the movie's on-screen depiction of Asgard and the society at large, but also the way that the script worked explanations of how the magic and scientific aspects of the realms work in the fiction. I never felt lost or as if a specific detail or explanation weren't accounted for when the plot called for it. The pacing of the movie feels this though, and there are a lot of long gaps of explanations and dialogue (which is all amazingly written, at least) between action pieces. Thor didn't really step outside of the boundaries in terms of plot structure, (hero fails, works for redemption, finds love, kicks ass, reclaims hero status), but that didn't really bother me because most of the movie works so well. No spoilers or detailed explanations obviously, but there were two things that got on my nerves. First off, the connection between Natalie Portman's character (whose name escapes me) and Thor doesn't feel inspired to me. It's cute that it's there, but I didn't see why they seemed to care about each other as there was little shared screen time between the two. Secondly, our villain is a part of Marvel lore that I had never heard of. That isn't a bad thing, but aside from one standout moment ( / plot twist), Loki seemed completely uninspired, and his role in the movie ultimately becomes a set-up for his role in the Avengers (or so I assume). While neither of these aspects derail the movie or keep you from wanting to watch all of the ass Thor kicks, but I personally would have been far more interested in learning more about Asgard than witnessing some failed plot mechanics. And so while the movie has it's problems, and is definitely a slower-paced Marvel movie than fans are accustomed to, I wouldn't pass it up as a casual movie-goer and fan of other comic book movies. I'll probably watch it at least one more time just because I had so much fun watching it, and that's saying something for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RedMoonApr 30, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The one thing I enjoyed most of this film was the amount of work that was put into it also Chris Hemsworth which play the main role of "Thor" was the best chosen actor for this film. However the storyline started to lack quit a bit nearing the end...the so called death of his brother "Loki" wasn't much of a tragedy after been seen in the "avengers". But over all the film was done quite well and enjoyed it very much. I give this film an 8 well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EverlongApr 10, 2012
As someone unfamiliar with the character of Thor I found this film to be quite entertaining. The plot was better than most superhero movies and the visuals were stunning. Certainly worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
The basic message of â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 7, 2012
This a fantastic film, the mithology of the comic appear in this film, the cast do a great performance of the characters, and the effects, wow, are awesome, the screenplay is good. Thor is one of the better MARVEL Studious films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JaySupertrampFeb 6, 2012
First of all: watch the Credits completely! After that you will see something that changes everything! Thor is funny and loaded with heaps of action. The basic story is well known. So this movie doesn't extend your understandment of the storyFirst of all: watch the Credits completely! After that you will see something that changes everything! Thor is funny and loaded with heaps of action. The basic story is well known. So this movie doesn't extend your understandment of the story of Thor. Some special effects look like a few years behind newest standards but it"s absolutely worth to see it. Good mixture of fun and action, combined with fantasy elements created a better movie the some other superhero movies! Lovestory is only sideeffect what makes the movie even better... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KogiaJan 28, 2012
I've never read a Thor comic and I expected this movie to be dire, in fact I was pleasantly surprised, it's not as bad as it could (or should - the idea of Thor sounds ropey) have been. I thought the visuals of Asgard were fantastic, theyI've never read a Thor comic and I expected this movie to be dire, in fact I was pleasantly surprised, it's not as bad as it could (or should - the idea of Thor sounds ropey) have been. I thought the visuals of Asgard were fantastic, they managed to somehow make a mythological realm of the gods actually feel 'real'. It left me wanting to see more adventures with Thor in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Jan 22, 2012
Thor is about a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. As a result, Thor is banished to Earth where he is forced to live among humans. When the most dangerous villain of his world sends its darkestThor is about a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. As a result, Thor is banished to Earth where he is forced to live among humans. When the most dangerous villain of his world sends its darkest forces to invade Earth, Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero. Although the film is undeniably cheesy Thor is extremely entertaining, action packed and funny and features a fantastic debut performance from Chris Hemsworth and a charming performance from Kat Dennings. Although Natalie Portman just won herself an Oscar her character is cliche and that is the exact performance she has brought us. It seems Natalie is going back to her old bad acting ways like Star Wars. I give this film 88% of a good movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
HyperboleJan 17, 2012
The best this kind of movie is going to get. Chris Hemsworth plays the God Jock turned selfless hero perfectly. The supporting cast are good and look like they are having fun at the same time as delivering the goods. Tom Hiddleston isThe best this kind of movie is going to get. Chris Hemsworth plays the God Jock turned selfless hero perfectly. The supporting cast are good and look like they are having fun at the same time as delivering the goods. Tom Hiddleston is perfectly cast as Loki and does a subtle and eerie job in what is ablockbuster type movie. Anthony Hopkins is well cast and does a good job as Zeus. This is the first film since District 9 where I actually enjoyed the CGI. It is well done and works well for the magical Asgard, as well as for Thor and The Destroyer. I thought the humour worked well in the film too and it was nice to see it used at the right times. I also thought the end was decent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZalJan 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not big on superhero movies and I have not seen that many. But I am proud to say that I have seen Thor and liked it. I didn't expect to. I haven't read the comics but I'm fully aware of what Thor in the comic book series looks like and I know that the books are very campy and goofy.
There are several reasons why I love this movie. First of all, the acting is good, which is not something I expected from this film. Chris Hemsworth, aside from being incredibly handsome, plays the role of Thor very well. He's able to show a playful yet sympathetic side to Thor. My favorite bit of him acting is when he is taken into custody by SHIELD and Loki comes to visit him and tells him about the "death" of Odin. Hemsworth acting is entirely genuine in this scene. All of the other actors are good. There are two that I didn't like quite as much. First, Anthony Hopkins as Odin. This is more of a casting issue than an acting issue because I like Hopkins but I think he looks silly as Odin. Then there is the guy who played Loki (whose name I don't remember and I'm too lazy to look it up). He was good for the most part, but there were times when he REALLY went over the top. Also, what is up with that stupid hat?
All of the characters are fun and interesting. Thor is surprisingly complex and Loki is a great character, too. I love all of Thor's friends from Asgard. Kat Denning's character Darcy is very funny.
Some people I know complain that there wasn't as much action as there should have been. Personally, I didn't mind that there wasn't much action. There was more time spend on developing Thor and the other characters and that made up for it.
I did think it was sort of strange how the climax involved Thor trying to save the frost giants. It didn't make much sense and it was very short. It was disappointing.
Overall it's pretty good and I'm looking forward to the sequel and Avengers movie.
By the way, Idris Elba is in the movie. AWESOME!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Sithlord4885Jan 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Marvel Studios has done it again with another stellar representation of one of their characters as we prepare for the Avengers movie in 2012. Surprisingly funny mixed with great action, my only gripe came with the ease in which Thor took down the Destroyer armor, which could have been a much more drawn out and epic battle. All in all though a very enjoyable watch for even the most casual of comic book fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TexasGamerDec 19, 2011
Good attempt to capture the Thor from the comic books, but the movie falls short in so many points. Personally, I think Thor would have been better served by doing a Lord of the Rings style movie. There is no way to capture how great theGood attempt to capture the Thor from the comic books, but the movie falls short in so many points. Personally, I think Thor would have been better served by doing a Lord of the Rings style movie. There is no way to capture how great the movie could have been in a single setting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JollyG87Dec 13, 2011
In terms of the style of the whole thing, this adaptation of "Thor" could not have been better. The dialogue has a bit of that Shakespearean bravado to it, but it's not overly done. The costume translations are the best of any superhero movieIn terms of the style of the whole thing, this adaptation of "Thor" could not have been better. The dialogue has a bit of that Shakespearean bravado to it, but it's not overly done. The costume translations are the best of any superhero movie to date, and the creation of Asgard is just how I pictured it when I read the comic books. Branagh handles the action scenes like a seasoned action director, cleverly mixing CGI animation with close-up shots of the real people. Even the cast is perfect. Chris Hemsworth plays Thor, the trickiest hero in the Marvel universe, and he does so wonderfully. He encapsulates Thor's brash arrogance and sympathetic nature with ease. I also loved Tom Hiddleston as "Loki". He's able to bring what few actors can to a villain; humanity and sympathy. You come to understand why Loki commits the actions that he does. You don't necessarily agree with them, but he's able to become a character who commits actions for a purpose rather than for mere evil intentions. So why isn't Thor a "great" movie? Well, this adaptation suffers from a lot of the same elements of other book adaptations. It feels rushed. There's so much story and so many characters that even at a two hour running time, Branagh is unable to explore it all sufficiently. It would have been better if we saw more of Asgard in the beginning, and also more character interaction between Thor and Jane Foster (Natalie Portman). Also, very few of the characters are developed sufficiently (Loki and Odin were the only characters I felt were explored fully). Now this is kind of a good and a bad thing. It's bad in the sense that you don't feel like you got the complete movie experience when it's all said and done, but at the same time, this "Thor" acts like the first "X-Men" film where it more or less introduces all of the characters leaving room for more character exploration in the sequels ahead. It's kind of like the series premiere of a TV show where the movie "Thor" is there to hook you in to the concept and leave you wanting more. Overall, "Thor" is an immensely good time at the movies. It could have been something really great, but it settles by delivering an engaging story with fun characters and terrific action scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ajdolanNov 28, 2011
Thor is not one of the deepest comic characters in the Marvel Universe but his story translated to the big screen just fine. If you live all of the other comic movies this one will not let you down. I would even suggest buying it if there isThor is not one of the deepest comic characters in the Marvel Universe but his story translated to the big screen just fine. If you live all of the other comic movies this one will not let you down. I would even suggest buying it if there is a bit of nerd in you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ansi322Nov 24, 2011
After having watched Green Lantern, Thor wasn't a disappointment. In fact, it is a good movie. It didn't do justice to the comics though but still it was worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tranquilbez22Nov 15, 2011
To say that Thor is a bad superhero movie is wrong but saying it's the greatest superhero movie is also wrong. Though I enjoyed Chris Hemsworth as Thor and I found everyone to be not as enthusiastic as Thor himself particularly Kat DenningsTo say that Thor is a bad superhero movie is wrong but saying it's the greatest superhero movie is also wrong. Though I enjoyed Chris Hemsworth as Thor and I found everyone to be not as enthusiastic as Thor himself particularly Kat Dennings character who just was annoying and made to many references to todays society. the CGI effects are terrific particularly the Asgard scenes. Nice little cameo from Hawkeye for next years Avengers film and Samuel L. Jackson makes another appearance as Nick Fury which is pretty cool. Overall the was ok just a few things wrong with it. hopefully the Avengers and Thor 2 in 2013 will sort things out. I look forward to seeing Hemsworth work with RDJ and Chris Evans next year Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: One of the better films in the â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SkipperPenguinNov 9, 2011
This is the result of what happens when comic books meet Shakespeare. Great popcorn film full of action and humor. Well worth the money to see this film. This is Thor's back story and should make for the base for future Thor and AvengerThis is the result of what happens when comic books meet Shakespeare. Great popcorn film full of action and humor. Well worth the money to see this film. This is Thor's back story and should make for the base for future Thor and Avenger films. Hemsworth is outstanding. Hopkins is always good and Branagh showed the world that he's more than just the Shakespeare guy. Fantastic movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NEEBONDNov 3, 2011
THOR IS A PURE ACTION FULL OF STORY AND DRAMA OF GODS. AMAZING MOVIE OF 2011. ACCORDING TO ME IN THE WHOLE AVENGERS TEAM THE COOLEST ACTION HERO IS THOR, WHICH MEANS THOR (THE GOD OF THUNDER) REALLY ROCKS. DON'T MISS THE BEST ACTION MOVIE OFTHOR IS A PURE ACTION FULL OF STORY AND DRAMA OF GODS. AMAZING MOVIE OF 2011. ACCORDING TO ME IN THE WHOLE AVENGERS TEAM THE COOLEST ACTION HERO IS THOR, WHICH MEANS THOR (THE GOD OF THUNDER) REALLY ROCKS. DON'T MISS THE BEST ACTION MOVIE OF 2011. BUY IT ON BLU-RAY OR DVD. GO FOR IT!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviekretikOct 31, 2011
The idea of a "classic" director like Kenneth Branagh making a superhero film might initially sound strange, but in the case of Thor that ended up being very appropriate, because the comic always used Shakespearean drama and archaic languageThe idea of a "classic" director like Kenneth Branagh making a superhero film might initially sound strange, but in the case of Thor that ended up being very appropriate, because the comic always used Shakespearean drama and archaic language to tell the story of the God of Thunder, the political/family conflicts in the Asgard kingdom and its interaction with the universe of Marvel Comics. An exhilarating experience, with splendid visuals and a great dose of witty humor. Thor is a very entertaining flick and i was flabbergasted with the CGI effects in this! They are amazingly well done and pretty realistic. Though of all the praises fired up there's a lot of improvement that should have been made for this movie especially the story though simplicity means beautiful I still believe it should have been greatly produced with sort of brain twisting climax. Overall very descent and spectacular film..CGI brings the entertainment plus the fact I love Natalie Portman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JonathanCOct 8, 2011
If you are not a comic book lover, or 12 years of age, you may find the start of this movie a little warn, old hat and "not a movie for you". However if you continue watching, the movie finally opens up into a little sun, stops taking itselfIf you are not a comic book lover, or 12 years of age, you may find the start of this movie a little warn, old hat and "not a movie for you". However if you continue watching, the movie finally opens up into a little sun, stops taking itself too seriously and so begins an enjoyable movie. Once a few jokes were cracked, you knew you were in light hearted adventure territory and that served well for the rest of the movie. Acting was good, 3D city and animation was ok but I thought a little too cliche and not really that inventive. However as a piece of entertainment, absolutely fun for the whole family and much better than I anticipated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BeastinvaderOct 7, 2011
Probably the best super hero movie so far. It portrays the real Thor comics wonderfully and has real and realistic movie effects to boot.
The character choice is also awesome and the story deeply entertaining. The only downside is that if you
Probably the best super hero movie so far. It portrays the real Thor comics wonderfully and has real and realistic movie effects to boot.
The character choice is also awesome and the story deeply entertaining. The only downside is that if you watch it in 3D you'll find that it doesn't make to much of a difference. All and all a great movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
psbrown1989Sep 29, 2011
Fun action movie. don't try and break it down and analyze it. the movie is meant to entertain and be a fun movie about THE GOD OF THUNDER!!!!!! if you wanna chill out to a cool action movie this is a good choice.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Delta_AssaultSep 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The concept of Thor always appeared to be a difficult proposition for a film adaptation. The very idea of an actual Norse God as a superhero, co-existing with your friendly neighborhood Spider-Man and your military-industrial Iron Man, just seemed far-fetched. Would he wear tights and speak in ye olde Norse dialect? Fortunately, Kenneth Branagh was up to the challenge and has delivered a fairly first-rate superhero film whose ambitions are never that high but which succeeds on pure force of execution and entertainment value. Asgard in this movie looks like some sci-fi vision of the Emerald City, which works quite well with this audacious and fantastical vision of the Marvel Universe's cosmic realm. Given that they're presented more like alien overlords then actual spiritual Gods, the glorious sheen of polished hallways with strange otherworldly designs melds well with the rustic Viking elements of long dining halls and carved stone steps. In other films, I'll often decry the widespread and indiscriminate use of CGI as a serious detriment, as they look wrong and pull the audience out of the story. Yet here... the world of Asgard obviously looked CGI, but it didn't bother me. After all, it's an utterly foreign world of Norse gods/aliens living on a planet in another galaxy/dimension and possessing technology which qualifies as both magic and science. In such a land, you can't help but get something that looks like CGI. It's not real, it makes no effort to look real, and I found it worked quite well for what they were going for.

Of all the elements in this film, the humor is probably what stands out to me the most. I found myself laughing, chuckling, and giggling more often during this screening then I have in quite a long time at the theater. Most of that humor comes from Kat Dennings's character Darcy, with lines like, "Mew mew? What's mew mew?" which always seemed to hit their mark, at least with me. The middle act is basically a fish out of water story, and wrings as much comedy out of that premise as you'd imagine. I dunno, maybe I'm just real easy to entertain, but the comedy all worked. It ends up striking that nice balance between humor and seriousness without tipping over into absolute goofiness that can ruin a superhero film.

Finally, Natalie Portman has managed to get herself into a good sci-fi film, cause those Star Wars prequels sure as hell didn't do it. While her performance is in tune with the rest of the film and quite competent, I never did buy her as a physicist studying Einstein-Rosen bridges. Anyone expecting something incredible and transformative like her Oscar-winning turn in Black Swan is going to be sorely disappointed, but... that's not really the sort of expectation you should have for this kind of film, I'd have to say. It's not amazing by any stretch, but she also doesn't embarrass herself here. Most of the time, she's being a giggly, googly-eyed girl, which is how pretty much any human female would behave in the presence of a winsome God of Thunder like Thor, I suppose. Oh, and her line reading of "Oh My God" has to be one of the top three deliveries of that phrase ever uttered on film. It is hysterical.

Chris Hemsworth makes for a dashing, slightly arrogant, and incredibly powerful Thor. I'll admit, I was somewhat leery of the casting choice at first, not because he didn't physically resemble the comic book character, not at all, but because honestly... I wasn't much of a fan of his performance at the beginning of Star Trek 09. Oh sure, it was just a small role, and he didn't have that much to work with, but his line delivery just didn't quite click with me. And then we heard of the rumors on set, where supposedly Anthony Hopkins had berated him for being lousy. Well, whether they were true or not seems moot now, because Hemsworth delivers a very comfortable, crowd pleasing performance which cements his status as a rising star in Hollywood and probably gives what many Thor readers have hoped and dreamed of. I can't say if his Thor is precisely one that leaps right off the pages of the comic book since I've never read a Thor comic, but it does seem safe to say that his is a rather faithful and well-executed portrayal. Whosoever holds this hammer, if he be worthy, shall possess the power of Thor, and Hemsworth proves to be worthy indeed.

While there's no weak link and everyone does a fairly good job, Tom Hiddleston is unquestionably the standout performance of the bunch as Loki. It's striking how effective and yet subtle his performance is. He brings this deep layer of pathos and turmoil to the character that allows you to understand some of his motivations, even if you don't necessarily react sympathetically to his actions. The central story of the entire film is ultimately one between two brothers, and Hiddleston absolutely elevates it to a higher plane than anyone could have expected.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerSep 15, 2011
I had a blast watching this, it not only has some amazing special effects, but extremely enjoyable characters, these are some of Marvels most human characters yet, it can be genuinely funny, somewhat touching, and backs it all up with someI had a blast watching this, it not only has some amazing special effects, but extremely enjoyable characters, these are some of Marvels most human characters yet, it can be genuinely funny, somewhat touching, and backs it all up with some awesome fights, and I just love the references to the other super heroes, like Iron Man (and was that Hawkeye?!), and the way it brings you closer to the future Avengers movie, honestly the most disappointing part was the ending, and it leaves the question of what's next for Thor? but this is still an awesome movie, and a perfect see for fans of Marvel. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Raphael2Sep 15, 2011
An immensely enjoyable Marvel, Chris Hemsworth and tom hiddleston played the parts with a lot of energy. The visuals were quite spectacular, mainly, the sweeping canvas of Asgard. The action scenes were also good though I thought could haveAn immensely enjoyable Marvel, Chris Hemsworth and tom hiddleston played the parts with a lot of energy. The visuals were quite spectacular, mainly, the sweeping canvas of Asgard. The action scenes were also good though I thought could have been executed better with lesser use of the fast cut edit style that is too often the norm in action film these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Khunter4382Sep 14, 2011
The entire film is supported by an all-star cast and each one delivers a pretty darn good performance. Every scene in Asgard, Jotunheim, and in between those two locations quite simply steals the show. I was mesmerized with these settings andThe entire film is supported by an all-star cast and each one delivers a pretty darn good performance. Every scene in Asgard, Jotunheim, and in between those two locations quite simply steals the show. I was mesmerized with these settings and I wish we could have seen more of them. Earth is lackluster when compared to the aforementioned locations, but Thor does make it a tab bit more interesting. The presence of Hopkins is always appreciated and Skarsgard is magnificent as always. Hemsworth is not bad either! This film looks spectacular on Blu-Ray! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Sep 5, 2011
Based on the marvel character of the same name, this live-action movie tells the story about Thor, a noble warrior who gets exiled by his father Odin to live on earth amongst the humans. There, he meets a scientist named Jane Foster, whoBased on the marvel character of the same name, this live-action movie tells the story about Thor, a noble warrior who gets exiled by his father Odin to live on earth amongst the humans. There, he meets a scientist named Jane Foster, who teaches him lessons as his brother plots to send out his dark forces and take over all of Asgard. It is up to Thor to regain his strength and save the two worlds.

I caught the screening of this movie almost four months ago and enjoyed it. Now to my opinion.

Bad: Some of the scenes have product placements like the 7-Eleven store, the Burger King soda drink, and it even had an IPOD mention. The story was lacking and the ending was too clichéd.

Good: The actors were very good at their performances. Chris Hemsworth was very compelling as Thor and he had enough screen time. Natalie Portman was a lot of fun as Jane Porter and she was very funny. Tom Hiddleston was entertaining as Loki and had a lot of talent and Anthony Hopkins was also entertaining as Odin. The CGI and the settings were pretty good and the action scenes were amazing.

Thor may not be the best movie of 2011, but it lives up to its potential of the comic books with neat special effects, solid acting, and great action scenes.

7/10
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
AkkharSep 5, 2011
This is a Great adaption of the known comics book THOR . All of them behind and front of the movie did an amazing work . The whole film is a mixture of Action , thriller , mystery and Funny element that exactly a good movie should have .This is a Great adaption of the known comics book THOR . All of them behind and front of the movie did an amazing work . The whole film is a mixture of Action , thriller , mystery and Funny element that exactly a good movie should have . Sometimes it seems better then Marvel's Iron Man . The Sound tracks and Special Effect was super . Stellan , Anthony , Tom , Kat & Natalie did so good .And Chris was the perfect choice for playing Thor . Kenneth's Direction was great . Story : 1.62 [All comics adaption Movie seems too flat but it was so close to be perfect] Directing : 1.62 Acting : 1.72 [Perfect Chris and amazing Natalie and Tom] Sound :1.62 Effect : 1.72 OVERALL : 8.210â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
avatar16Aug 23, 2011
Thor n'est, au final, pas le film d'action attendu. Même si les personnages sont traités en profondeur comme rarement dans ce genre de divertissement, le film traîne pas mal en longueur, au point deThor n'est, au final, pas le film d'action attendu. Même si les personnages sont traités en profondeur comme rarement dans ce genre de divertissement, le film traîne pas mal en longueur, au point de gâcher la plupart des séquences qui se montraient jouissives dans la bande-annonce (comme le combat avec l'espèce de robot). De plus, certains acteurs déçoivent (surtout Natalie Portman qui surjoue énormément) et la plupart des cadrages ne sont pas terribles (trop en biais). Mais Thor conserve un certain charme grâce à ces décors et costumes (je préfère nettement cet Asgard high-tech), de bons effets visuels, une plaisante bande-originale et un humour bien placé. Pas aussi bon que L'Incroyable Hulk et Iron Man, mais un bon divertissement non sans défauts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ijy101Aug 12, 2011
This movie is not perfect. The mood constantly switches and does not remain consistent. But the acting is superb and the character development is done well. Also the special effects are amazing I have never seen anything like Asgard done in aThis movie is not perfect. The mood constantly switches and does not remain consistent. But the acting is superb and the character development is done well. Also the special effects are amazing I have never seen anything like Asgard done in a movie before and they did it really well. The action scenes are also well done though the last half hour of it feels like a very cliched action movie. all in all though another win for marvel and a good set up for the avengers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
julian_zizzleAug 3, 2011
Really nice piece of art. Some animations were really beautiful. Especially the Bifrost Bridge was magnificent. But there were some flaws at the story of the movie. For example after the end of movie, i still did not understand what was theReally nice piece of art. Some animations were really beautiful. Especially the Bifrost Bridge was magnificent. But there were some flaws at the story of the movie. For example after the end of movie, i still did not understand what was the true intention of Loki, but maybe that was because he was the god of mischief :P Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Edward9630Aug 1, 2011
Thor is a very good film. It has a great story, the characters are told well and the action scenes are very cool. My only problem with this film is that the humour in this film isnt really funny at all. I wouldnt say this is better thenThor is a very good film. It has a great story, the characters are told well and the action scenes are very cool. My only problem with this film is that the humour in this film isnt really funny at all. I wouldnt say this is better then Captain America: The First Avenger but its definitely better then Green Lantern. I would give this film a high matinee! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
heybuddymoviesAug 1, 2011
Since Iron Man I have really enjoyed the way that Marvel Studios is going about incorporating their characters into the film world and Thor is no exception. We have seen over the years, since Robert Downey Jr. donned that red and yellowSince Iron Man I have really enjoyed the way that Marvel Studios is going about incorporating their characters into the film world and Thor is no exception. We have seen over the years, since Robert Downey Jr. donned that red and yellow suit, that Marvel treats their films like their comics, intertwined stories over different characters playing in the same universe. We have seen the cool additional scenes that come after the credits rolled and even seen nods to other characters in the Marvel universe in the background or right there in front of the main character. It has been great, and something I wish DC comics would have done, but I have enjoyed what they have done with Batman, weâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AfreemanukJul 31, 2011
Thor is a good movie, but i think these movies have suffered as a setup for the Avengers. This handles the lore of the Asgardians well but not well enough. The Frost Giants are not really Giants compared to its comic book / TV Animated SeriesThor is a good movie, but i think these movies have suffered as a setup for the Avengers. This handles the lore of the Asgardians well but not well enough. The Frost Giants are not really Giants compared to its comic book / TV Animated Series counter part and Loki is not the big bad crazy bad guy he is in the comics / Animated Series. However that being said this is a setup an origin movie and it covers all the bases well enough for THOR's first big screen adventure. Not all the characters get enough screen time and the movie does seem rushed towards the end. Alough the acting is not as strong as in other marvel productions the cast still do a firm job, Antony Hopkins as Odin does a fine job. But I think they should have used some CGI on the guy that played THOR to make him a bit bigger than he was, as in the comics he is simular is muscle size to the hulk. Apart from that minor grape of mine the film is still enjoyable and as a marvel fan was glad to see a decent attempt at a THOR movie. Lets hope all the build up to the avengers gives us one of the best movies of next year, otherwise marvel's name will be mud. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PaskillJul 30, 2011
The trailer was terrible and I thought this movie would have been a disaster, but Hemsworth impressive acting as a **** Thor, combined with an interesting plot and set-up for The Avengers, it's an enjoyable comic-book movie experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
joawmeensJul 27, 2011
So I FINALLY went to see Thor a week after the release, (I know, what a sacrilege). 3d, IMax, 5:30 showing of Thorâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlecinoJul 26, 2011
A terrific start to the 2011 summer. The acting is great, there's good storytelling, the fight sequences, and the film stays true to the comics. Chris Hemsworth makes a terrific Thor, and that's a great thing. Everyone did a good job too,A terrific start to the 2011 summer. The acting is great, there's good storytelling, the fight sequences, and the film stays true to the comics. Chris Hemsworth makes a terrific Thor, and that's a great thing. Everyone did a good job too, especially Idris Elba. I loved this movie very much, and I can't wait for The Avengers.
Keep it up, Marvel.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kingshahidJul 26, 2011
This movie was very entertaining. It had its moments. Although not a comedy movie we will never forget the moment when the interrogation was happening as we still laugh at that joke (albeit it may not have been intended as a joke). I didn'tThis movie was very entertaining. It had its moments. Although not a comedy movie we will never forget the moment when the interrogation was happening as we still laugh at that joke (albeit it may not have been intended as a joke). I didn't see the real point of it being in 3D as it was not nearly as entertaining as other movies in terms of being 3D. Nonetheless this story and the action in it was great. Again, it could have been better though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
davenbettridgeJul 17, 2011
Thor would have been so easy for film makers to screw up; an armoured super hero with a magic hammer and red cape in modern times is something that was very tricky to get right, and at least not totally ridiculous. Well, Im happy to say thatThor would have been so easy for film makers to screw up; an armoured super hero with a magic hammer and red cape in modern times is something that was very tricky to get right, and at least not totally ridiculous. Well, Im happy to say that while the movie Thor is certainly not perfect and has a few problems, is still enjoyable enough to make it worth your while. The characters are fun enough, the setting is interesting, and the character arc of Thor works. The love story does seem a bit forced, one of the comic relief characters is annoying and unnecessary, and the scenes in the on earth are a bit flat compared to the scene in the world in which Thor originates; however what we have is fun, and enjoyable enough to watch compared to most popular movies. Im interested in seeing where Thor goes from here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shimano6000Jul 16, 2011
This is a great movie. It won't ever be in the top 100 movies of all time, but is part of a franchise that is building. I was expecting that most of this movie would be set on earth, but was stoked to see another universe displayed, andThis is a great movie. It won't ever be in the top 100 movies of all time, but is part of a franchise that is building. I was expecting that most of this movie would be set on earth, but was stoked to see another universe displayed, and presented so well. This was pure entertainment on a grand scale. Well done. I may not buy it when it comes out, but I loved the experience of watching it. Come on! Anthony Hopkins for the win! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FinnaticJul 10, 2011
So much is done right in Thor that you forget what could have gone horribly wrong. The artistic flair exhibited in the other-worldly scenes is smashing. Get off your rear, and go out and enjoy a good old comic book action fest while it'sSo much is done right in Thor that you forget what could have gone horribly wrong. The artistic flair exhibited in the other-worldly scenes is smashing. Get off your rear, and go out and enjoy a good old comic book action fest while it's still in theaters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
avj37Jul 5, 2011
While adding to the Marvel movies that have been made. This is definitely on the top ten's in my list.

Enough mix of humor, action and sci-fi awesomeness. Thor really delivers what you expect from a comic book Norse God. Many things could
While adding to the Marvel movies that have been made. This is definitely on the top ten's in my list.

Enough mix of humor, action and sci-fi awesomeness. Thor really delivers what you expect from a comic book Norse God. Many things could have gone wrong with this movie, I hate to admit that they did make it great. A movie worthy of a God!

The Actor's and Actresses are great! Chris Hemsworth and Natalie Portman really hit it off well. Tom Hiddleston and Anthony Hopkins were great!

I did feel that the story was a bit fast, they did not expand on what Thor does as a normal mortal human being. I did enjoy Asgard and all the mythology that come with it. It makes me wonder on what actually the mythology is.

Over-all, Thor is a great film. Funny, Action packed and also full of science fiction!

A movie worthy for the God of Thunder!

a great start for Marvel Studios this year!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KrisNoteboomJul 1, 2011
While not world alteringly awesome, Thor is is easily in the upper echelon of super hero movies. Bringing Shakespearean specialist Kenneth Branagh on to direct was an inspired decision by marvel as he aptly handled the mythological origins ofWhile not world alteringly awesome, Thor is is easily in the upper echelon of super hero movies. Bringing Shakespearean specialist Kenneth Branagh on to direct was an inspired decision by marvel as he aptly handled the mythological origins of the material. Also credit him with nailing down such a stellar cast. Particularly, Tom Hiddelston is an enticing baddie and sets up devilishly well for the Avengers. And, like with most big summer action fests, Thor isn't trying to be a critical darling. It's trying to be fun. And it succeeds at that task admirably. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews