Thor

Thor Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1338 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Thor spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is the mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth by his father Odin and is forced to live among humans. AThor spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is the mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth by his father Odin and is forced to live among humans. A beautiful, young scientist, Jane Foster, has a profound effect on Thor, as she ultimately becomes his first love. It's while here on Earth that Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero when the most dangerous villain of his world sends the darkest forces of Asgard to invade Earth. (Paramount Pictures, Marvel Studios)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 4, 2011
    91
    It's not art, but it's mighty fun.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Apr 26, 2011
    80
    Turn off the snark-o-meter, and this is a return to form for Marvel, introducing a new hero we'll be happy to see again in, oh, about a year or so.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 5, 2011
    75
    The last 25 minutes of Thor aren't much better than the first. But that hour in between - tasty, funny, robustly acted - more than compensates.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    May 5, 2011
    63
    With its references to other properties in the Marvel universe and to classic tales of redemption, this no-surprises summer movie might appeal to those who've been bitten by radioactive spiders or the Shakespeare bug.
  5. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    May 12, 2011
    50
    The year's most divided movie to date; everything that happens in the higher realms, vaguely derived from Nordic legend, is posturing nonsense, whereas the scenes down here are managed, for the most part, with dexterity and wit. [16 May 2011, p. 133]
  6. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    May 5, 2011
    50
    Thor has its strengths, but it is finally something of a mishmash with designs on being more interesting than it manages to be.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 5, 2011
    10
    Like Thor's hammer, this ersatz epic bludgeons its victims into submission. What's more, it requires them to stare at the source of their punishment through 3-D glasses.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 271
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    The reason I loved Thor was because it performed well on a few fronts. The Special Effects are the best to date. Thor is portrayed veryThe reason I loved Thor was because it performed well on a few fronts. The Special Effects are the best to date. Thor is portrayed very closely to his comic character, in terms of Powers, attitude,etc. The arc of th story was well laid out and the pacing was balanced. It was a brilliant way to bring a really fantastic un-real world of Marvel Comics and Norse Mythology into an almost plausible reality. Props to the principle cast, and Brannagh may be the ultimate reason this Stan Lee creation works so well on screen Expand
  2. May 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like the rest of the Avengers films, this movie was fantastic. I thought Chris Hemsworth did a great job in his portrayal of Thor and the rest of the cast was great. Natalie Portman is as breathtaking as ever and the rest of the supporting cast adds a combination of depth and humor. The action sequences were done great and I loved how well this film tied in with the others in the universe. The little nods towards Iron Man and The Incredible Hulk were subtle yet really well played. I thought Loki's motives were a little shaky, especially considering that it's the entire foundation of the movie. Nonetheless, the rest of the plot develops really nicely and the film gets a bit of everything from action to drama to romance to suspense. If you can suspend your disbelief enough to accept the premise of the film, I think this movie is very entertaining and enjoyable. Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    recently watched Thor in 3D, I confess I did not expect much from the movie, so much that it took me enough to watch it ...

    But I was
    recently watched Thor in 3D, I confess I did not expect much from the movie, so much that it took me enough to watch it ...

    But I was pleasantly surprised, the movie is very good! It has a good script, great actors, which together seamlessly into their characters, and it's quite enjoyable to watch.

    3D in my opinion is depth of photography, and that Thor, despite not having been run natively in 3D, has good effects and the picture is always crystal clear and deep natural well, I point out to all who have tv 3D to see it in 3D .Edit | Delete
    Expand
  4. May 7, 2011
    7
    Yes the movie is predictable, but unless you are watching indie-movies ONLY, this will be the case for all able-minded people out there.Yes the movie is predictable, but unless you are watching indie-movies ONLY, this will be the case for all able-minded people out there. Therefore I love this movie for its costumes, its take on norse mythology(i grew up with these stories as well), and the sheer bad-assery of Thor and Mjølner. However the movie can be too tongue-in-cheek at times, especially when its the wrong time. If you liked Iron Man 1, you will like this one too. 3D CAN GO F**** OFF, because this movie really doesn't need it Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    The great and powerful Thor was one of the biggest grossing movies of 2011. The special effects in this film were really some of the best I'veThe great and powerful Thor was one of the biggest grossing movies of 2011. The special effects in this film were really some of the best I've ever seen and the star of the film, Chris Hemsworth was amazing, but besides that, this film was extremely overrated. Thor is banished to Earth for disobeying his father, the King, and must live as a mortal. Surprisingly, it doesn't take him very long to adjust, and he falls in love with Natalie Portman during a fifteen minute car ride. Okay, so the plot was weak to begin with, but the special effects could have more than made up for that. What I really didn't like about this film was just how fast everything happened. Thor is going to be in the Avengers trilogy and there is a good possibility there may be a sequel to this film, so what was the point in rushing everything? The character of Thor is a majestic one. He is one of the most powerful superheroes that ever existed. This film should have been the epic classic that was talked about for years, but instead they rushed the story and hid behind some great special effects. It was visually impactful, entertaining, and had a great star, but a side from that, this film is nothing more than a common theme with a weak script. Expand
  6. May 7, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie didn't disappoint me in any way. Yet, it hasn't surprise me either.
    For me, it was good, I like mythology and all that stuff and the movie makes the parallel in a very good way. But it was a normal super-hero movie.
    It was good, but not that good.
    Expand
  7. May 16, 2011
    0
    Looks like they sent in the B team to do this one, I hope that means that the A Team is responsible for making Captain America because it'sLooks like they sent in the B team to do this one, I hope that means that the A Team is responsible for making Captain America because it's going to be a real shame if they don't get that one right!! Expand

See all 271 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Every Marvel Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Marvel Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: March 14, 2016
    We rank every recent Marvel film from worst to best by Metascore.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: August 9, 2013
    This week, watch new trailers for Spike Jonze's "Her," George Clooney's "The Monuments Men," Ridley Scott's "The Counselor," plus "Thor: The Dark World" and more, and catch up on the week's movie news, including the latest meddling from Harvey Weinstein.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: April 26, 2013
    Watch new trailers for "Thor: The Dark World," Sofia Coppola's "Bling Ring," Michel Gondry's "Mood Indigo," Wong Kar-Wai's "The Grandmaster," "Monsters University," and more, and catch up on the latest movie news.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 18, 2011
    Get another look at "Thor," "Hanna," and "The Adjustment Bureau," and learn about upcoming projects from Martin Scorsese, Shane Black, and more in our latest weekly roundup.