• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 16, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Alcatraz Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fifty years after they vanished, some of Alcatraz's most notorious prisoners reappear and start committing crime once again. Emerson Hauser (Sam Neill), Rebecca Madsen (Sarah Jones), and Diego "Doc" Soto (Jorge Garcia) team up to investigate how this happened.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 13, 2012
    88
    The show has the makings of great--what else can I say?--escapist entertainment. [23 Jan 2012, p.39]
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 17, 2012
    80
    The pilot looks great, offers an intriguing plot and effortlessly introduces the show's characters and premise.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jan 17, 2012
    75
    Alcatraz is easy enough to follow tonight, with twists and surprises that are enjoyable and not enervating.
  4. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Jan 17, 2012
    60
    There's enough in the premise and the performances (particularly those of Garcia and Neill) to keep us watching, but to really hook us in Alcatraz needs to decide what kind of show it wants to be.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 17, 2012
    58
    It's much too generic given Abrams' reputation from "Alias," "Lost," the better years of "Fringe" and the "Star Trek" reboot.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2012
    50
    The mysteries of the mythology--Where were they for the last half-century? Who's pulling their violent strings?--are more compelling than the plodding mechanics of the weekly manhunt.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jan 17, 2012
    40
    Soto helps the mood of the show with his wry attitude and occasional gee-whiz-ardry, and he helps to move the plot along by stating facts that Rebecca would otherwise have to pause and look up.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alcatraz was a great show loved it about the 63's but unfortunately FOX Cancelled the show and left us with a cliff hanger did Rebecca live or die? we can hear the time of death but not the full report if she died or lived. Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    I didn't think I would like this show. I'm not a big J.J. Abrams fan. I watched lost. I got hooked on lost. I wasn't really satisfied with lost, I had just invested so much time into the show I had to know how it ended. Fringe's second and third season was great. It's fourth is terrible, so obviously when I heard of a new J.J. Abrams show I had less than high hopes, and wow was I blown away. The acting is fairly good for a TV show, but the story is really getting me somewhat anxious. Whats going on? Why are the inmates coming back? Who is the lady who was shot? How did Sam Neil's character know that the inmates would be returning? So many questions. So few answers so far. All I can ask for is that this is not another show where the answers are few and far between. I want lots of answers that open more questions and many many twists, but this is J.J. Abrams....i'm still upset over lost... Expand
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    Alcatraz is just the most addicting new show on TV right now. Whether it be because of its great actors (Jorge Garcia, Sam Neil), its engrossing story, its interesting characters, or its simply creative idea- it tops every other show currently on. The show tells a great story through episodes that are more like short stories, allowing for people to start watching the show late in the season without missing anything too important. It's gripping and addicting and I just can't have enough of it. As soon this first season comes out on Blu-Ray, I'm buyin' it. Expand
  4. BKM
    Jan 17, 2012
    7
    Based on just two episodes, I'd say that Alcatraz is promising. Several things will have to be tinkered with it it is to survive for the long haul, however. The characters need more fully developed, Garcia needs to do more than simply rehash his role from Lost and there needs to be a more complex mythology in place as opposed to the one central mystery that series is built on. For now, though, I'm on board. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2012
    6
    The feels similar to lost. It has the same composer which translates to great music that really helps draw in the audience. I really like all the actors save the lead female character. Her acting seems a bit forced and her character seems more than a bit annoying, almost child like, and brash. While the first episode was spectacular, the second episode really let me down with some poor writing. It seemed as if they were rushing through the story and pulling clues out their behinds. I loved lost and I have high hopes for this show. I hope the season improves. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    5
    The show was interesting at first then this show became a disappointment. It wasn't bad per say, but it wasn't good either. It was okay, but I knew it was going to be cancelled. Expand
  7. May 25, 2012
    1
    What a good concept. Not enough SciFi on TV with a touch of criminal action. How much better would it have been if Rebecca was the expert and Diego Soto was the Detective? What you say... a male Detective on a tv show! no way... Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.