• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 19, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Falling Skies Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 312 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After an alien invasion that killed most of the human race, a group of soldiers fight back in this sci-fi drama executive-produced by Steven Spielberg.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 13, 2011
    90
    The entertainment value and suspense of Falling Skies is paced just right. You get the sense that we'll get those answers eventually. And yet, you want to devour the next episode immediately.
  2. Reviewed by: Thomas Conner
    Jun 15, 2011
    88
    It's "Jericho" meets "V," with the good from both and the bad discarded. It'll raise the summer-TV bar significantly.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 17, 2011
    80
    It all adds up to plenty of action and suspense, with heroes we like and villains we can boo and hiss. And the fate of the planet at stake. Who says there ain't no cure for the summertime TV blues?
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 16, 2011
    75
    The show doesn't have the sinister intelligence of ABC's short-lived Invasion, but it's good family entertainment. [27 Jun 2011, p.45]
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 17, 2011
    75
    Skies has enough going for it to appeal even to those who don't think they like sci-fi.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Jun 20, 2011
    70
    Falling Skies' mix of compelling individuals helps to make its early use of formula less troublesome than it might have been. Later episodes develop interesting and diverse motives, as the 2nd Mass begins to figure out what the aliens are up to and how to fight them more effectively.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jun 17, 2011
    30
    Every attempt at treating a Big Idea seems sophomoric and irritating. Even in its look, the show lacks the elemental rawness necessary to throw its intellectual conflicts into sharp relief.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 125
  2. Negative: 51 out of 125
  1. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Great show, well paced. It took a couple episodes for this series to really grab hold, but now after the first 5 I am hooked. There are 1 or 2 characters that I feel may have been mis-cast but the majority are spot on. Do yourself a favor and watch a few episodes, if it doesn't suck you in, no harm no foul. Speaking for myself, once an episode ends, I immediately want the next to start. Watching the pilot I wasn't sure if they could get me to care about Tom and his children, they succeeded.

    I love sci-fi but hate the stereotypical cheese that so often accompanies it. I am very thankful cheese isn't on the menu for Falling Skies. I'll take a good sci-fi drama any day of the week and twice on Sunday. Hope you enjoy this show as much as I do.
    Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Excellent show, it beats the walking dead hands down. I love the setting of aliens attacking and the actors in this show are amazing. I think its a 10/10 Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    It seemed from the first episode that all this show was is more empty hype and wasn't good. As soon as you hit the 6th or 7th epsiode it completely changes and gets you hooked. Stay with it. It might be a bit too Spielberg-y at first but the writing and great cast make up for it. It will surprise you! Expand
  4. drm
    Jun 20, 2011
    5
    I have to give 'Falling Skies' a big, bland 5. No, it wasn't the worst thing I've seen on television, but it was far from memorable. Cheating us all of the opening alien apocalypse, by using children's drawings, was an enormous directorial misstep. Sometimes it's a great idea to start a story in medias res, but when your entire story is built on people reacting to the harshness of an alien invasion, you just really gotta show some of it. Right? Shouldn't be a problem for Dreamworks to work up some amazing CGI footage like that. Right? It came off as strained budget, as did the sparing presence of the aliens themselves. I know it's hard to set up a big story like this, and I think it's too soon to write it off, but seriously Dreamworks, that next episode better just rock my world, or I'm jumping ship and calling it even. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    3
    Below par on all levels. The dialogue is oversimplified. The CG is poor. The plots are recycled. With the exception of the Pope character, the characters are generic, plagued by stiff acting. It basically says "NBC" on all levels. Falling Skies has very obviously attempted to replicate elements of Battlestar Galactica and The Walking Dead, which are some great shows to emulate. Unfortunately, the show fails to deliver even a fraction of the quality. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2011
    2
    Interesting concept sunk by cliche after cliche. After 2 hours of cliched dialouge and character 'development' I couldn't stand it anymore. The only thing impressive about this show is the production values, and even then only some of the CGI shots look good. In the first 30 minutes we see a huge group of humans traveling slowly, in daytime, and in a town. What the hell? Why aren't they being attacked by the 'hundreds' of aircraft that the aliens have in their mothership which is only several miles away? Look, I'm not one to nitpick but how am I supposed to be scared of aliens that can't find hundreds of people in the middle of the day? And they have aircraft for crying out loud! The characters don't seem like they're taking the whole thing seriously. Everyone is acting like this whole alien invasion thing is just an inconvenience as they spout off 'witty' one-liners and cliched emotional dialouge that we've all heard before. The lead actor is the only person who seems like he's trying to deliver his lines with any amount of emotion. The child characters feel shoe-horned in and are mostly annoying. To be fair, it's only the first episode. But it'll take some serious effort for this show to find it's footing and get better. Compared to all the gold that's on TV right now, this show is a serious letdown. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    0
    Aliens' weapons of conquer are boredom and dullness...
    It is really unbeliveable how characters of this show are dumb. Really. The only
    reason why invaders haven't won yet is because they are even more stupid than humans! The plot is boring and has gap holes as big as the solar system, the characters always (yes, ALWAYS) act with brainless strategies and the only reason why they are still alive is because the so technological advanced aliens seem not to have a proper radar or heat sensor. (no really, how can a flying alien drone not notice a caravan just because it has a blanket on its engine? How can a bad-ass alien terminator not notice human presence 1 meter away?) Collapse

See all 125 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.