Klondike (2014) Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The miniseries produced by Ridley Scott and based on the Charlotte Gray's book "Gold Diggers: Striking It Rich in the Klondike," follows the challenges best friends Bill Haskell (Richard Madden) and Byron Epstein (Augustus Prew) face as they set out in the late 1890s to the Yukon Territory to try to strike it rich. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Movie/Mini-Series, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 14, 2014
    100
    Klondike grabs you with terrific performances, an unusually rich script, magnificently sweeping visuals of jagged mountains overlooking valleys of ice and snow, and such a convincing attention to period detail, you'll believe you're back in Dawson City at the end of the 19th century.
  2. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jan 17, 2014
    80
    Tremendous footage of mountain treks and river running make the spectacle compelling while the sometimes clunky dialogue gets the message across.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 24, 2014
    80
    Klondike delivers its dramatic bounty more effectively and compactly [than Black Sails], capitalizing on some of Discovery's favorite obsessions: dangerous vocations, gold prospecting and harsh Alaska-adjacent terrain, in a fictionalized account of the 1897 gold rush.
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 15, 2014
    75
    Scheuring gets sidetracked by the trite redemption stories of a hooker (Conor Leslie) and a Canadian Mountie (Marton Csokas). But those are small hiccups in this entertaining, expansive tale of one man's fight to keep his humanity, which he discovers is more valuable than all the gold in the Yukon.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jan 20, 2014
    70
    There isn't much new in this northern Western, but the scenery is lovely, the acting is solid, and the mix of characters is just what you'd expect from the genre.
  6. Reviewed by: Terri Schwartz
    Jan 20, 2014
    70
    It helps that so much of 'Klondike' was shot on location and without CGI. That makes the series feel especially real and lived, which is key in making a project like this one work.
  7. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Jan 17, 2014
    50
    Alongside Roth, Shepard and talented character actor Tim Blake Nelson, Madden pulls off the sometimes treacly dialogue, but the insistent no-duh musings (“the die has been cast”) wear thin quickly.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    In 3 episodes, "Klondike" managed to leave me feeling like I had just watched the finale of a show I have loved for years. The scenery, characters, and plot are all spot on. Here's hoping Discovery Channel can keep up this level of entertainment in their inevitable future in scripted TV. Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    6
    Not Good - Not Bad.
    But not as good as we hoped or expected.
    Not sure where the blame should rest ? A rather disjointed affair - with
    unnecessary peripheral sub-plots/stories. We usually blame the DIrector don't we. But some of the writing seems weak. Collapse
  3. Feb 1, 2014
    5
    Definitely a let down given the cast, the drama-rich setting, and Ridley Scott's involvement. Its a paint by numbers miniseries with a bigger budget.

    It has its moments - with this cast, how could you not - but is more miss than hit.
    Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2014
    3
    A real disappointment considering the art direction, cinematography, scenery, and technical merit. A very dumb, cliche-riddled script made this a grueling experience to watch, even with the aid of fast-forward. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2014
    1
    Worst dialogue ever, ranging from the ludicrous to the just plain inane. And while I understand that it's a plot necessity, why out of the thousands of faceless miners is our hero the focus of beautiful women, bad guys, the preacher and everybody else? Expand
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My God this is awful historically inaccurate internally inconsistent shallow faux western soap--no, not soap, just perfumed--drivel. The bounds of decency prevent me from saying what I really think. Expand