• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 13, 2008
My Own Worst Enemy Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Harry lives the stereotypical suburban life, but he also is Edward, a trained spy. The worlds start to merge as the carefully constructed wall between the two breaks down.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    Far, far, far and away NBC's best new pilot of the season and one of the best new shows of the season, on any network -- commercial or cable.
  2. 75
    The action is pretty non-stop, the stars terrific and, if you're willing to do the work to follow the complicated plot, the show can be lots of fun.
  3. My Own Worst Enemy sets up what could be an overly complicated premise and miraculously makes it all seem perfectly acceptable and clear by the end of the first hour.
  4. 63
    The first episode of Enemy ended up being a relatively compelling hour of television. As competent as it is, though, it’s hard not to think that the premise contains some holes.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    58
    Slater plays out spy-story clichés that were campy on "The Man From U.N.C.L.E." 40 years ago.
  6. Bad, then decent, then confusing. That's not exactly the trajectory you're looking for in a pilot.
  7. There isn't a series here; just the pitch meeting for a very expensive, very loud, very dopey action movie.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PratikS.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    The series has serious potential,.. And the actor is world class in terms of performance. He really lives his Dual lives well !! I'm The series has serious potential,.. And the actor is world class in terms of performance. He really lives his Dual lives well !! I'm gonna take my chances for now. Also fo me the show is a full 10/10. Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Christian Slater delivers a brilliant performance portraying two characters who are a split personality. They are the same man but differentChristian Slater delivers a brilliant performance portraying two characters who are a split personality. They are the same man but different to one another, so there are parallels between the characters which makes for a difficult job for the actor who somehow makes this look easy. One of the supporting cast has the same job to do; two connected characters in one man and unfortunately doesn't pull it off. one character is complete while the other is too emotionally dead and without personality. It's only toward the very last two episodes that he begins to 3 dimensionalize the spy character. Sadly, this is another brilliant series that has been cancelled. I am beginning to get annoyed with the networks lack of follow through. Expand
  3. MarisaV.
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    Better than Heroes, as good as House Best new show!
  4. MarilynB.
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    Original and should bring it back!!!
  5. JavarioF.
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    I notice that either the alias or the actual news reviews actually responded. With the garbage in the media via musical or visual, it was I notice that either the alias or the actual news reviews actually responded. With the garbage in the media via musical or visual, it was great to see something interesting on television. The television show had more style, depth, and intrigue than a lot of movies. Anything movie-worthy should have a chance on t.v. With all that being said... "Bring it back @ NBC!" What if NBC had a show as huge as Alias? Oh wait, wasn't that My Own Worst Enemy? I believe it was, but what happened? It was canceled! I think the main flaw was probably character depth. I think the problem was that the simple minded couldn't follow the intricate story-line. Maybe if the show builds in depth, maybe it could possibly return. 10 all the way, just needs more location, and breaking down the events to the simple minded low rating reviewers. I see more garbage in the media that would be the stepping stone for the late show that previously passed away. Key points.. i think some people may feel the show was rushed..Maybe it was, but it was still great in it's short life span. If revived, take consideration of the criticism so the appeal shall grow. But, I as long as many other wish for it's return... bring it back, bring it back!!! Expand
  6. JennetP.
    Dec 17, 2008
    9
    This show is not nearly as contrived as some accusers claim; after all, there are documented cases of multiple personality in which different This show is not nearly as contrived as some accusers claim; after all, there are documented cases of multiple personality in which different identities manifest wildly different traits, including awareness of other identities. The contrivance is the idea that MP can be induced and controlled via a chip in the brain, but, for me, that demands less suspension of disbelief than the hordes of delectable 22-year-old cardiac surgeons, district attorneys, political advisors, CEOs, and anthropology professors that populate other shows. As impossibilities go, it pales beside Californication's protagonist, a writer desperate for a comeback who allows a teenager to take credit for his first good novel in years, chuckles wryly as she reads a rave NYT review of what even he has come to call "their" novel, then hugs her tenderly as she departs on a book tour. Now, that's preposterous. And it doesn't open up many interesting dramatic possibilities, which the Henry/Edward dynamic does. The show gives viewers much to chew on, starting with the central irony that the "real," or original personality is the less recognizably human of the two. And, unlike some other reviewers, I see a wealth of possible storylines. For example, what would happen if Janus actually managed to "fix" Henry/Edward? Even if they could control the emergence of each persona, Henry would surely try to discover what Edward was up to. What would happen if either persona learned how to control its emergence? What would happen if Edward fell in love with Henry's wife and/or she with him? Alas, we'll never know how the series might have developed, as it has already been canceled. Surprise. You'd think, given the correlation between intelligence and disposable income, that one or two advertisers could see the benefits of programming for smart people, but I'm sure we'll all be watching "Survivor: Penguin Island" 50 years from now. I hope, by then, to have dementia sufficient to enjoy it. Expand
  7. Jan 11, 2015
    4
    My Own Worst Enemy was one of the critics picks to be the big winner of the 2008 Prime time TV line up, but was cancelled after just nineMy Own Worst Enemy was one of the critics picks to be the big winner of the 2008 Prime time TV line up, but was cancelled after just nine episodes. Despite gaining a cult following, and being released on DVD, the show was very expensive to make and just wasn't that interesting. Christan Slater plays Henry Spivey, a simple businessman with a wife and two kids. Every day when Henry goes to work at his Insurance office, he looks into the elevators retinal scanner and is transformed to another person, Edward Albright, a top spy for an unknown U.S. Government agency. The first problem I had with this show is that the whole family situation could have been copied and pasted right from the film True Lies. If that was the only issue, I could have gotten passed it, but the truth is the every episode in the series was nearly identical and the show just went around in circles. Something breaks in Edward/Henry's brain and he keeps switching back and fourth at the most inopportune times. The two are made aware of each and often have to take each others place. They even leave digital messages for one another. That fact is that this show just wasn't that original, not to mention it was very predictable and extremely frustrating to watch. You had to know that almost every time Edward went on a mission Henry would appear and have to do something he wasn't trained for. It was cute the first time, but by the fourth or fifth time, I had more than enough of it. The same is true with the Edward showing up during family time and seeming strange to his wife and kids.The bottom line, My Own Worst Enemy had a great cast, but a mediocre, predictable story, that just went around in circles. All the guns, explosions, and special effects in the world would have been enough to save this show. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews