Prison Break : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 29, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 5
Prison Break Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 673 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This drama focuses on a prison designer who gets himself thrown into one of his own prisons to help his falsely accused brother escape death row. Described as in the vein of The Great Escape (and also compared to "24" due to its compressed time frame and season-length plotline), the seriesThis drama focuses on a prison designer who gets himself thrown into one of his own prisons to help his falsely accused brother escape death row. Described as in the vein of The Great Escape (and also compared to "24" due to its compressed time frame and season-length plotline), the series will unfold over 22 episodes, charting the course of a single break. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Prison Break has the dark social hierarchies of Oz and the clever inventions of Escape From Alcatraz.
  2. One of the best new TV shows this season.
  3. It's outlandish and contrived with story holes wide enough for a jackknifed 18-wheeler. But the two-hour pilot of Prison Break... is irresistible.
  4. 70
    The best thing about "Prison Break" is that we've never seen anything like it before.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    63
    An entertaining big-narrative concept. [5 Sep 2005, p.41]
  6. 60
    Unfortunately, Prison Break's dialogue is nowhere near as sharp as its plotting.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 213
  1. ArmindaC
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    This is the show I have been waiting for!!!!!! Keeps me glues to my sofa.. Hot actors, good story line, what more can you want!!? I like This is the show I have been waiting for!!!!!! Keeps me glues to my sofa.. Hot actors, good story line, what more can you want!!? I like Prison braeak more than I like Lost.. Expand
  2. A.C.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    One of the best tv series ever. It has great story and very good actors. I saw first season, and only I can tell you is excellent. The second One of the best tv series ever. It has great story and very good actors. I saw first season, and only I can tell you is excellent. The second season will be on TV (in my country) in 2007. I can't wait that long!!! -_- Expand
  3. Michelle
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    i love this show!!!! not only do you have a hunk (wentworth miller) to stare at, but like a book(a great page turner), its great show that i love this show!!!! not only do you have a hunk (wentworth miller) to stare at, but like a book(a great page turner), its great show that has me at the edge of my seat ever episode! Expand
  4. abhinavs
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    This is my favorite show on TV right now. It is suspenseful, intriguing, and so much more. There isn't a better show out there. These This is my favorite show on TV right now. It is suspenseful, intriguing, and so much more. There isn't a better show out there. These critics are being really harsh and don't appreciate this show for what it is, an unpredictable thrill ride. I can't wait for seasaon 3!! Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    Simply, my favorite tv series of all time: great characters and plot, as well as settings. You do not want to do is see the second season ofSimply, my favorite tv series of all time: great characters and plot, as well as settings. You do not want to do is see the second season of this fantastic series. Expand
  6. RalphR.
    Aug 13, 2007
    9
    Prison break is the best tv show to be made. so all you losers who say 24 and lost is better you are sorely mistaken the only down-side is Prison break is the best tv show to be made. so all you losers who say 24 and lost is better you are sorely mistaken the only down-side is the fact that you have to wait for another week to view the next one. 9 and 1/2 out of 10 Expand
  7. george
    Jan 14, 2006
    0
    If i remember correctly, maria, the golded days of Lost were but a year ago. Do viewers really forget so quickly? It's pathetic that If i remember correctly, maria, the golded days of Lost were but a year ago. Do viewers really forget so quickly? It's pathetic that uninventive crap like this is something that people actually watch, while the truly great shows, like Arrested Development and Firefly get canceled because the majority of viewers are of sub-par intelligence and don't have an attention span long enough to think about subversive humor and intricate plot twists! Expand

See all 213 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spring TV Preview: 25 Shows to Watch

    Spring TV Preview: 25 Shows to Watch Image
    Published: March 3, 2017
    We pick out the 25 most intriguing shows debuting this spring, including newcomers like American Gods and The Handmaid's Tale and returning favorites such as MST3K, Fargo, and Better Call Saul.