Prison Break : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 29, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Prison Break Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 555 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This drama focuses on a prison designer who gets himself thrown into one of his own prisons to help his falsely accused brother escape death row. Described as in the vein of The Great Escape (and also compared to "24" due to its compressed time frame and season-length plotline), the seriesThis drama focuses on a prison designer who gets himself thrown into one of his own prisons to help his falsely accused brother escape death row. Described as in the vein of The Great Escape (and also compared to "24" due to its compressed time frame and season-length plotline), the series will unfold over 22 episodes, charting the course of a single break. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Prison Break has the dark social hierarchies of Oz and the clever inventions of Escape From Alcatraz.
  2. One of the best new TV shows this season.
  3. It's outlandish and contrived with story holes wide enough for a jackknifed 18-wheeler. But the two-hour pilot of Prison Break... is irresistible.
  4. 70
    The best thing about "Prison Break" is that we've never seen anything like it before.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    63
    An entertaining big-narrative concept. [5 Sep 2005, p.41]
  6. 60
    Unfortunately, Prison Break's dialogue is nowhere near as sharp as its plotting.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 210
  1. ArmindaC
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    This is the show I have been waiting for!!!!!! Keeps me glues to my sofa.. Hot actors, good story line, what more can you want!!? I like This is the show I have been waiting for!!!!!! Keeps me glues to my sofa.. Hot actors, good story line, what more can you want!!? I like Prison braeak more than I like Lost.. Expand
  2. A.C.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    One of the best tv series ever. It has great story and very good actors. I saw first season, and only I can tell you is excellent. The second One of the best tv series ever. It has great story and very good actors. I saw first season, and only I can tell you is excellent. The second season will be on TV (in my country) in 2007. I can't wait that long!!! -_- Expand
  3. Michelle
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    i love this show!!!! not only do you have a hunk (wentworth miller) to stare at, but like a book(a great page turner), its great show that i love this show!!!! not only do you have a hunk (wentworth miller) to stare at, but like a book(a great page turner), its great show that has me at the edge of my seat ever episode! Expand
  4. SheenaL
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Greg P, doesn't know 1 thing about IQ, his is probably .01& I would excuse him since to understand the plot you must have an open mind Greg P, doesn't know 1 thing about IQ, his is probably .01& I would excuse him since to understand the plot you must have an open mind about everything to get a grasp of what is really happening. Good plot, keeps you thinking about what is going to happen next & then you're thrown a curve ball. Thumbs Up to the Creators!!! Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    Favorite TV series and that's saying a lot. If you liked John Doe then this is basically him in prison. Was sad when the show ended which hasFavorite TV series and that's saying a lot. If you liked John Doe then this is basically him in prison. Was sad when the show ended which has never happened to me before. Expand
  6. AndreasW
    Feb 4, 2007
    9
    It's a fantastic show and even overcome LOST on my favourite weekly show.
  7. george
    Jan 14, 2006
    0
    If i remember correctly, maria, the golded days of Lost were but a year ago. Do viewers really forget so quickly? It's pathetic that If i remember correctly, maria, the golded days of Lost were but a year ago. Do viewers really forget so quickly? It's pathetic that uninventive crap like this is something that people actually watch, while the truly great shows, like Arrested Development and Firefly get canceled because the majority of viewers are of sub-par intelligence and don't have an attention span long enough to think about subversive humor and intricate plot twists! Expand

See all 210 User Reviews

Trailers