• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 14, 2011
  • Season #: 1
The Nine Lives of Chloe King Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Alyssa Diaz, Amy Pietz, Skyler Samuels
  • Summary: After Chloe dies, she wakes up with special powers and claws in this show based on the book series by Celia Thomson.
  • Genre(s): Science Fiction, Kids
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 14, 2011
    75
    With Samuels' star-power and the proficient execution of the episode episodes, The Nine Lives of Chloe King is the sort of summer fun that I'll happily watch in the summer and it has the potential, if it navigates the story properly, to become the rare ABC Family series I might stick with even against regular programming.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jun 13, 2011
    75
    Super set-up seems to punch every teen ticket there is, with plenty to admit adults, too. Future execution will be key--in more ways than nine.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 9, 2011
    75
    In the premiere of this likably preposterous new show, [Chloe] learns that these changes are embedded in her DNA and can be traced back millennia. [20 Jun 2011, p.58]
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 14, 2011
    75
    There are allegories galore--from celibacy to puberty (all that body "processing"), alienation and, yes, teen angst of the "what the heck is that thing on my back?" variety. Think "Teen Wolf" for girls.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 15, 2011
    70
    Despite only marginal spring in the exposition-heavy pilot, the promised mix of action, angst and serialized mystery should make for a purr-fect little summer escape.
  6. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jul 8, 2011
    60
    It is a show about a high-school superheroine--a Catwoman without the camp or the S&M gear--and it enables longtime fans of the subgenre to watch with pride as their children digest its venerable tropes for only the fourth or fifth time.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 14, 2011
    50
    Nine Lives may satisfy undemanding teens in the ABC Family target audience but it'll feel like a retread to others.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    I really enjoy this show. Hopefully they give it a second chance and continue with another season. I'm usually not one for watching teenage dramas but this show had me hooked. Don't really understand the low ratings. Have to wonder if it is due to the amount of people that watch this show online (including myself, because I do not get ABC family). Lets hope they renew it for another season!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    i loved this show and was very disappointed when they cancelled it so much that i have stopped watching ABC family there's really nothing else to watch on that channel anyways Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    i love this show, its wonderful for all ages my grandma and cousin whos is going to be 10 watch it with me and they even love it. Its cute and deep at the same time. the story lines are awsome and the characters are so pure of cute teen spirit. the actors are great at what they do and the writers and producers have been going in the right direction so far. i really hope theres more of this show its a great family show which im pretty sure is what abc FAMILY is all about. i hope to see more and very disappointed if it just leaves off where it is now. abc family do the right thing! Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    I love the mystery and fantasy in this amazing new series! I do hope that abc family continues broadcasting it! i among many other viewers of the show believe that Alek and Chloe should end up together. this show is so exciting. this is by far my favorite series on t.v. I can't wait to see the season finale and hope it isn't the last one they make. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    I absolutely love this show. It is very suspenseful and seriously keeps you guessing at where the story is gonna lead. The finale was amazing. Crossing my fingers here for a 2nd season. I'm pretty sure everyone's still hold there breath to find out what's really gonna happen to all of her friends and family, I know I am. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2011
    6
    Though it has potential, the acting and inventiveness of this drama are lacking. Nonetheless, I will continue watching, hoping for some entertainment in a summer which seems barren of decent TV. Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2011
    4
    I always liked SF. I wish I could like this show. Note to producers, if you are going to retread the same plot points over and over try to add some innovation some where. Hay, I know, how about a teen that has a good relation with there parent and tells them they are turning into a cat. Wow, now that could have been a interesting show. The acting is good and the characters have potential so its a little to soon to call it. But I have seen this one before. It may take more than nine lives to save this one. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews