• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 9, 2013
  • Season #: 1
The Tomorrow People Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Peyton List, Luke Mitchell, Mark Pellegrino
  • Summary: A remake of the 1970s British sci-fi series (which was previously remade in the 1990s), The Tomorrow People centers on a group of young adults who represent the next stage in human evolution; each one possesses special powers, such as teleportation and telepathy, and they are caught in a battle between good and evil forces. Robbie Amell, Peyton List, and Mark Pellegrino are among the stars, while Greg Berlanti (Arrow) and Phil Klemmer (Chuck) produce. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 9, 2013
    75
    Silly as the set-up may seem, it works because of competent writing and convincing performances.
  2. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Oct 8, 2013
    75
    It’s an episode of television that exists at the intersection of Marvel’s superpowers-as-puberty metaphors and the half-baked cultural upheaval of True Blood—with a Whedon-esque anti-authoritarian streak thrown in for good measure. The show could devolve into a grab bag of familiar themes and tropes down the line, but its pilot does a remarkable job of synthesizing a cohesive introduction out of those disparate parts.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 9, 2013
    70
    Although predictable in predictable ways, there are enough twists and turns and, relatively speaking, complexities of character to keep things interesting, and a pivot at the end that I did not see coming. Which bodes well.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    50
    Derivative of sci-fi and superhuman dramas we’ve seen plenty of times before, up to and including the slo-mo 'Matrix' bullets flying out of a gun.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 8, 2013
    50
    They’re remaking The Tomorrow People and the results are just kind of “meh.”
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    There's nothing in the pilot that feels particularly like today, much less like tomorrow.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 8, 2013
    30
    It has a stupid title and a stupid premise and, among its many transgressions against watchable entertainment, it really doesn’t make much sense (you know, on top of the acting and the writing and whatnot).

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 47
  2. Negative: 10 out of 47
  1. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    THIS is one of my favorite new shows of the the 2013/14 season. They show has a lot of emotion in it and they characters are ones that you actually care about, especially Cara. Poor Stephen is a hero and is a selfless person that is pretty much Clark Kent of Smallville. Jedikiah is one that you love to hate. GREAT SHOW! Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    The beginning part may seem predictable as well as "familiar" in any Teen Drama, but the transition from that genre begins the moment we move from the familiar "Daddy problem" plot to the next part where the show achieves a change in the main character. While the maturity from "punk" to "benevolent person" may seem to be unbelievable, but after being given enough evidence to support either or sides, I can believe the main character's choice after some big reveals and ending sequence. I am glad it doesn't have Teen angst, but I would like to see more development. People don't like having new things shoved down their throat in the span of ten minutes after revealing one thing. Robbie Amell does have the family talent, in my eyes, and I can hope that the character he is portraying will continue to shine under his care. Also, I would like to know a little more about the Tomorrow People before I can care to make the connection between the title to these guys who are apparently "the good guys" in the story. But, it is possible that under their desire to be free of persecution by the people who hunt them could be less than friendly towards the other species and that would probably be a huge conflict within the show. There is plenty of evidence to support that idea. Collapse
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    I am a person who generally doesn't like a TV series, but The Tomorrow People is simply an amazing series. I really enjoy each episode that is aired, and i always look forward to the next week, just to watch the next episode. This series is by far the best series i have come across, as it has drama and sci-fi, consisting of twists and turns. The story as well the characters is amazing, and the actors who play the roles are great at acting their part. I hope that the series is continued with the same characters. I Love This Show and Look forward for it to be continued! Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    What better than to accompany one beautiful Amell with another? With "Tomorrow People," we get that double dose....and what a double dose that is! "Arrow" was easily one of the best new shows of last season and if the season premiere of "Arrow is any indication of where this show could go, it could be up there this season. Great action, great special effects, good humour, good writing...and this is just the pilot. Looking forward to see where this show will grow as the cast and writers progress. Too bad it's only a thirteen-episode season! Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    For a premise that for the most part has been done many times before, The Tomorrow People manages to take us through the familiar experience of a young man figuring out he has super powers quickly enough without giving us much of an opportunity to feel like we've seen it all before, even though we have. The show clearly makes attempts to stay young and fresh by including a super computer (for no reason whatsoever), an attractive cast (never hurts), lots of fighting and super powers. If you like all these things, then, you will like this show. All I can say is, It's certainly not "The 4400", "Heroes" or "Alphas" but it's a hell of a lot better than Marvel's Agent's of S.H.I.E.L.D and I suspect it will get renewed. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2014
    4
    Concept of series is good. Special effects done really well. Acting is good for the young stars. The plot and believable nature of the actors is NOT good, however. A teen with powers is NOT going to hang around his barely functional family and try to hold school, job, life issues with stability. The antagonist uncle would not just keep his nephew around as a double agent. The tomorrow people would NOT allow themselves to be used by these people.

    Just a terrible job of writing. Those that say this is a good series are being influenced by other equally bad shows. Twilight Zone episodes are more believable than this series.
    Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2014
    0
    I am a big sci-fi fan and i love anything remotely related to super powers, but even i cannot stand this horribly written show whose aim seems to be only to hire super models and show off their flesh! What would you do if you had the power to teleport anywhere, move anything with your mind, telepathy and the power to stop time? - The answer is to fight with your fists!!! As weird as it may seem, that is the logic the writers use in this very badly written show! Even in many situations were they can use their powers, they are stupid enough to not to use them. Even if they do, they use it in the most unimaginative way possible to teleport sideways and use their fists again! If their aim is to just run for their lives, wouldn't it be a better option to just teleport far off from where the fight is going on? That is something for think about when you watch this most illogically written show for dumb people. I feel bad for wasting hours watching this show, it is no wonder they cancelled it! Expand

See all 47 User Reviews