• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 2, 2007
  • Season #: 1
Tin Man Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. This version, while imaginative and ambitious--as Halmi's sumptuous visions almost invariably are--is less successful.
  2. It's a cornucopia of fanciful sets and costumes and more computer graphic imaging than you'll find anywhere else on TV, and a lot of it is pretty cool.
  3. 70
    Tin Man’s heart is in the right place, even if the execution of the story evokes, from time to time, creakiness of the metal man’s limbs.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    50
    Replacing "Oz"'s joyfully timeless charm with perverse irony and nightmarish, hallucinatory imagery makes this three-night miniseries more of a lavishly quirky curiosity than a keeper.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    40
    Tin Man proves a bit of a mess. Sci Fi has done well with minis in December, but despite the intriguing concept three consecutive nights of this adventure falls several Yellow Bricks shy of a load.
  6. While the preening and the chewed scenery from the cast are at times glorious to behold, there is no substance to wrap our heads around, no one to really root for
  7. 12
    There is a point to this mess, but what it is, I can't say.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 69
  2. Negative: 23 out of 69
  1. TS
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    Best remake/remix of an old story EVER. As a fan of the original, I actually prefer this version.
  2. Peter,N.VA
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    It's incredible to me how many viewers apparently didn't :get" it! It was not a re-telling of the "Wizard of Oz;" it was a sci-fi It's incredible to me how many viewers apparently didn't :get" it! It was not a re-telling of the "Wizard of Oz;" it was a sci-fi fantasy with tongue-in-cheek parallels and references to it. Sooe of the reviewers are slower than they claim that this plot was. "Tin Man" is reminiscent of Sci Fi's "Flash Gordon" series in that it's about the characters: personal relationships set in a visually stunning backdrop of a dark, often threatening theme. ` I "got it," and I loved it! Expand
  3. Brad
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    Great story telling, imaginative, excellent
  4. AngM
    Dec 4, 2007
    7
    This is not the Wizard of Oz but because it's been promoted as a "re-telling" the producers set the bar very high for expectations and This is not the Wizard of Oz but because it's been promoted as a "re-telling" the producers set the bar very high for expectations and automatically bring the viewer to look for the common threads in the storyline--there are very few "common threads". So, once you stop comparing and just watch the show as these 4 individuals in a surreal, magical, parallel universe fighting an evil sorceress you can then enjoy it for what it is...an entertaining, fantasy Sci Fi picture. I'm enjoying it but have to admit that I'm hoping for a "didn't see it coming" type of ending instead of DG waking up in her bed and realizing this is only a dream....guess I'll find out tonight Expand
  5. HeatherC.
    Dec 21, 2007
    4
    I had so much expected from it. But it failed to deliver. The plot was a bit too contrived and everyone looked too serious. And Rawr was just I had so much expected from it. But it failed to deliver. The plot was a bit too contrived and everyone looked too serious. And Rawr was just freaky. The dialouge was contrived and the plot was too cheesy for me. But brilliant special effects and a nice twist on the classic tale. Too bad it just didn't live up to my expectations. Expand
  6. Jefframonw
    Dec 6, 2007
    2
    For all it's apparent money and resources, Sci-Fi's original programming uniformly sucks. Everytime I see an ad for a new show or For all it's apparent money and resources, Sci-Fi's original programming uniformly sucks. Everytime I see an ad for a new show or original movie they are promoting, I get a sick feeling in my stomach. It's no surprise that "Tin Man" is the latest in their unrelenting line of pro form a schlock. Let's pray they don't get the rights to The Dark Tower. That would be a real shame. Such a waste that network's programming is. Expand
  7. TeeM.
    Dec 2, 2007
    0
    Good Lord this was awful! I love Zoe D. and that's why we wanted to see it in the first place, but if within 15 minutes we recognized Good Lord this was awful! I love Zoe D. and that's why we wanted to see it in the first place, but if within 15 minutes we recognized this miniseries as a flop, why oh why couldn't people who have FAR more experience making TV couldn't see it? Oh, could it be that they never actuallly WATCH TV??? Apparently, so. Because it would only take a few minutes (sans whiskey) to recognize this shite as shite. It stinks!! Expand

See all 69 User Reviews