Torchwood (UK) Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Torchwood: Miracle Day is the show's first season as a coproduction between Starz BBC Wales and BBC Worldwide. CIA agent Rex Matherson investigates a strange worldwide phenomenon and discovers a secret British organization called Torchwood that might know why it is happening.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 7, 2011
    91
    A summertime winner here on the strength of strong acting, engaging writing and an immediately gripping premise.
  2. Reviewed by: Lynnette Porter
    Jul 8, 2011
    80
    The most effective scenes focus on characters' interactions, the sorts of moments Torchwood always did well.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 8, 2011
    75
    Lots of action, lots of shoot-'em-ups and lots of big explosions that don't kill anybody. It's also lots of fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jul 1, 2011
    70
    As the series proceeds, the fiction of the bigger events--e.g. global immortality--is made believable or at least compelling by tiny touches that perfectly anticipate how society would respond.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 8, 2011
    70
    As a straight-ahead sci-fi tale, it's engrossing: how is this happening, who is doing it to us, and how does it relate to Captain Jack's own blessing/curse of immortality? The social aspects, however, are handled more hamfistedly so far.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 7, 2011
    60
    With any luck, subsequent episodes will find a sharper, cleaner stride. All the elements are there, it's just the alchemy that seems a bit off.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jul 7, 2011
    40
    The show has been slowed down this season and stretched out to fill those 10 hours, which means we spend too much time thinking about the story as it develops into a not very interesting allegory involving health care, death lists and big pharma.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    A thrill ride that actually makes you think. Torchwood is a British show that has lived a charmed life over the years but remains to be asA thrill ride that actually makes you think. Torchwood is a British show that has lived a charmed life over the years but remains to be as resilient as its immortal lead character. After the hit and (largely) miss first two seasons the show exploded onto a much bigger, and critically acclaimed, scene with the five-part mini-series 'Children of Earth' in which the British government conspired to surrender 10% of its children to an alien species. Captain Jack Harkness (the immortal hero played by John Barrowman, star of Desperate Housewives among others) was forced to sacrifice his grandson in order to defeat the invaders in a shocking twist in the final episode. Torchwood had finally found its feet and discovered how to create shocking, thrilling, chilling and thoughtful drama and it hasn't looked back since. 'Miracle Day' starts with Oswald Danes (played by the thoroughly magnificent Independence Day star, Bill Pullman) being dosed with a lethal injection as punishment for the sexual assault and murder of a twelve year old girl but something goes horribly wrong. After a few minutes of writhing agony it becomes clear; he won't die. Mekhi Phifer's CIA character Rex Matheson suffers a similar fate when his is impaled after a freak car accident as it becomes clear that this issue has become a global one. Dark themes are explored here with solders, of whom are blown to bits, remain alive (even after being beheaded by a surgeon in a chilling/funny scene halfway through the premiere). Danes, the now immortal murderer, argues that he has been punished for his crimes and that now should be released; a wish that is granted by a local governor threatened by legal action. The Torchwood team, in ruins after the events of 'Children of Earth' come back into the fold to unravel the mystery in explosive fashion as Captain Jack leaps from a suicide bomber out the top floor of a tower block and Gwen Cooper (Welsh actress Eve Myles) blows up a helicopter with a bazooka, obviously. Torchwood is a mix of fascinating intrigue, sound acting, mind-blowing action sequences, chilling themes and impressive writing (from the likes of Doctor Who's Russell T Davies, House's Doris Egan and Buffy's Jane Espenson). Despite a few questionable moments, Torchwood is unashamedly magnificent madness which you'd be a fool to miss. Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    The first episode sucked. But they have been getting better. I am really enjoying the new americanized Torchwood. The have made the transitionThe first episode sucked. But they have been getting better. I am really enjoying the new americanized Torchwood. The have made the transition very well. I do wish they'd stuck with the first two seasons idea of monster-of-the-week but that's just personal opinion. The cast and crew have done a fantastic job of this season and I can't wait for the next episode. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    Although I would have wholly preferred it to be wholly British, the plot of Miracle Day is very intriguing and compelling, with each episodeAlthough I would have wholly preferred it to be wholly British, the plot of Miracle Day is very intriguing and compelling, with each episode making you want more. The acting is ok, and the special effects quite good. This is the best Torchwood yet. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    2
    Being a die-hard Torchwood fan, I had rather high expectations for this fourth series. Unfortunately, there were entirely too many differentBeing a die-hard Torchwood fan, I had rather high expectations for this fourth series. Unfortunately, there were entirely too many different writers...not to mention double the number of needed episodes to portray such positively atrocious writing. Mr. Davies completely tossed out three years of established canon and I was left more than a wee bit disappointed. There were a few bright spots, but on the whole, they were few and far between.

    Personally, I'd recommend fans who've been there from the beginning of series 1 to give this Americanised version a pass. Stick with what Torchwood is supposed to be: Wales, the Hub and Captain Jack Harkness.
    Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2014
    2
    I've been in disbelief for the past month... how the **** could a show writer do this? what were they thinking? This has got to be some of theI've been in disbelief for the past month... how the **** could a show writer do this? what were they thinking? This has got to be some of the utmost tripe I've seen on television in the 21st century, after a series of something I called "The best of british tv this century" and how amazing it was. This is the next chapter... NO.. this needs to be retconned, I don't care how, it needs to never have happened. DO NOT Watch this.. end it at Children of Earth.. that ending is beautiful. NOT LIKE THIS!!! I swear to god. PLEASE DO NOT let this be canon. whoever is saying this is a 10/10 like these **** theyre SOOO WRONG!! PLEASE I BEG YOU NOT TO WATCH IT!! I AM BEGGING YOU!! Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've stayed away from Torchwood since I finished season 3, I wasn't a fan at the end of it.
    So I finally come back to Miracle Day. And I have to wonder to myself where the mentality of people go.
    A current User Score of 6.3 is way too high for this mind numbingly bad idea.
    Notice there, I said "IDEA", because if you think about the premise of Miracle Day, it doesn't matter about anything they say matters, because people can't die.
    If people can't die, then there's nothing anyone needs to worry about. And neither does anything else that's said, diseases - the only reason we fear diseases is because we would die if we contracted a deadly one. And we can't die because of "The Miracle" Then there's the food. Why do people need food? To continue living.
    That's out the window then, isn't it? Yes, we'd end up as stick thin skeletons with a tiny skin sack around it, but that doesn't change anything.

    That's the problem with this series. The initial premise "sounds" cool, but lacks anything beyond that.
    Take Season 1, the premise is a rag-tag band of guerrilla fighters protect the world from alien threats that slip through the net. Tell me why season one should fit that mark? Because other than Day One (and that is a VERY tight squeeze to fit it) the stories are lame, sexed up versions of BAD Dr Who Episodes.
    Season 2, the premise is to learn more about Jack's past as Time Agent. Do we? Not really, we get some lame and pitiable character development and death within the same series smacks of "Well, we don't know what to do with them, kill 'em."
    That might sound hard but it's the truth, building up the stories of Tosh and Owen and then suddenly killing them off shows lack of respect with both their characters, a lack of respect for the fans and a lack of respect for the writing involved.
    Children of Earth could have been a turning point, it wasn't great but it showed a marked improvement over the terrible characterisation and bad writing of the previous two seasons. But then came Miracle Day.

    With anything that Russell T Davies has produced in this vein, there's other things given and shoved in our faces than a fantastical story that should be the main focus.
    While with Torchwood and Who, he injects a form of social satire into it, the constant and stupid news reports with talking heads, I sometimes think he read too much Frank Miller and loved the talking heads in TDKR.
    But the worst part about Torchwood is the over-saturated Sex in it. I don't mind my Whovian world being mixed with a raunchy scene here or there. Just like the cheesecake I occasionally eat.
    But I don't have it for every meal and not in Super Sized amounts either.
    I don't have issue with the gay and lesbian relationships in the Torchwood story, I applaud the fact that gay relationships are being shown on TV, but if you want to do so much sex with any gender, don't set it in a Sci-Fi Show, create a drama where sex is a major feature in it. A Sci-fi show can have sexiness in it sure, we can even have sex as a feature in it. Just understand that the target demographic of this genre is going to want to see sci-fi stuff as the major feature, sure the sex is always going to be appealing, but we like the aliens and ray guns and spaceships and monsters and everything to do with the freaking genre too!

    Torchwood was a bold attempt to make a Darker and more dangerous style of sci-fi and to do it with Who as well, I think it could have worked with a better creative staff.
    It's gone now, and should really stay that way.
    Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2011
    0
    Boring, dull and full of mistakes. Bad acting and over acting abound. The writers also make up their own rules as to how the USA doesBoring, dull and full of mistakes. Bad acting and over acting abound. The writers also make up their own rules as to how the USA does things, such as in the 'whole pedophile gets out of jail' plot--our judicial system doesn't work like that. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews