Kid Icarus: Uprising Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 626 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kid Icarus: Uprising is the long-awaited franchise follow-up to the NES classic.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Kid Icarus: Uprising Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    100
    Pit's triumphant return doesn't just represent another classic that Nintendo should be proud of it also raises the bar to truly heavenly heights. If this monumental title represents what the 3DS is capable of then owners should consider themselves blessed
  2. It feels far bigger than the console upon which it appears, it's deeper than most home console titles and more content-packed than any other 3DS game yet released.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    Even with it's awkward control system, Kid Icarus: Uprising is one of the best action games on the Nintendo 3DS. It really deserves your money!
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    85
    Sakurai did it again. The rebirth of Kid Icarus is nothing less than a game packed with action, great graphics, superb writing and many inspired gameplay ideas.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 9, 2012
    80
    Outstanding colorful and funny action game demands to learn the controls well but the reward is worthy – hours and hours of pure entertainment. [May 2012]
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    80
    A great hardcore action game, with surprisingly deep difficulty and customization options.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    42
    The single player is a complete waste despite the hefty amount of content put into it. If you're going to enjoy Kid Icarus: Uprising, it's because you can stand the awful controls and really badly want something to play online. If you're considering the game for any other reason than that, I highly recommend catching the next updraft and tossing it into the sun.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 208
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up toGreat game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up to impossible almost. Great artwork, clever story, and dialog. Truly another masterpiece title from Nintendo. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2020
    10
    good game. I liked it. very fun. would play again. recomend anyone playing it.
  3. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    Truly epic game. People complaining about the controls clearly have never played a FPS with a trackball before, because the controls areTruly epic game. People complaining about the controls clearly have never played a FPS with a trackball before, because the controls are almost exactly like that. Really it takes only a short time to get used to, and you get far more control than a comparable title for example Metroid Hunters. The number of levels, number of difficulty levels, number of weapons and fusion combinations, number of power-ups, funny dialogue and huge number of secrets to find and unlock make this game far more than value for money. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Kid Icarus Uprising is an absolute blast to play, has a fantastic soundtrack, and has wonderful graphics and art design, with gameplay that isKid Icarus Uprising is an absolute blast to play, has a fantastic soundtrack, and has wonderful graphics and art design, with gameplay that is simple but at the same time very complex and challenging if you want it to be. The difficulty is perfectly scalable to your skill level and the variety of fun and exiting weapons is just plain awesome, and managing your weapons and fusing old weapons to create new and exiting ones is very intriguing. Although the surprisingly long and highly replayable single player is the main bulk of the package the multiplayer is really exiting as well, and works exactly how it should. If you enjoy this game like I have, you will be playing it for months, if not years because of just how much fun it is and how much content is packed in here. But if I'm talking about Kid Icarus Uprising, then I can't help to mention the controls, and the truth is, they work very well. For anyone used to dual analog control it may be difficult to get used to the controls at first, but once you do you'll realize that the controls deliver an accuracy that dual analog cannot. One thing about the controls however that I believe I should mention is the fact that after prolonged periods of gaming, say one and a half to two hours, your hand may start to cramp, however because of the relatively short levels for the most part in the game and the nature of the gamepay which is best enjoyed in short controlled bursts, it shouldn't be a problem, unless of course if you're having such a blast you simply cannot put your 3ds down. I have played this game for a total of 26 hours now and I'm still regularly coming back for more. Another thing I should mention is that even though a lot of the gameplay aspects are different than the original kid icarus, it still maintains a lot of the feel of the original, and still feels like a kid icarus game. Oh, and the voice acting is great too, which is great because otherwise the non-stop dialogue would be a little tedious. Overall this game is absolutely fantastic and anyone with a 3ds needs to play it. It is one of the best reasons, if not the VERY best reason (beside super mario 3d land) to own a 3ds. You will not be dissapointed. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    Uprising is my favorite 3DS game. Graphics are not console-level but they are above average for the 3DS- at least with 3D off. I found the 3DUprising is my favorite 3DS game. Graphics are not console-level but they are above average for the 3DS- at least with 3D off. I found the 3D effect to be atrocious- if I turned it on, even briefly at a low level, the screen got all blurry and my eyes hurt for a good 5 seconds after turning the 3D off. Granted, I am not the biggest fan of 3D but I have enjoyed it in games like Super Mario 3D Land and OoT3D. Fortunately, game looks good without 3D. The story was amusing and didn't take itself seriously for the most part(there were some serious moments later in the game). The whole game was filled with unique characters and funny dialogue which made it a joy to play. Controls for ground segments were clunky and circle pad pro support allowing for the second circle pad to be used to aim would have helped a lot. However, I got used to the controls after the first few chapters and they were actually perfectly adequate after those first chapters. Gameplay is good. The game is quite difficult if you put it anywhere near 9.0 by betting hearts with the innovative difficulty system in which you bet hearts(currency) to increase difficulty and earn more hearts and better loot in the chapter, while losing many of these hearts if you die. This system is unique and is a great touch. Between multiplayer, replayable chapters, streetpass, collectible idols bought using play coins, weapon crafting, and an achievement system, Uprising is a polished title with a lot of replayability. Bad 3D and the difficult-to-learn controls keep Uprising from getting a perfect score, but it is a generally fantastic game. Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    I think this is a great game! The visuals are excellent, the story contains a decent amount of chapters, the characters are well rounded, andI think this is a great game! The visuals are excellent, the story contains a decent amount of chapters, the characters are well rounded, and this game has good humor. It's very fun. Like most games, playing in 3D gives me and perhaps other players as well, headaches.. Despite that, the weapon system is very detailed and in-depth. Adapting to the controls can be difficult but you can adjust them in the settings. There is a lot of action which can be conveniently adjusted by choosing difficulty before playing each chapter. It's a great way to open the game up to beginners and newbies. Once you finish the story, there's not much of a point to replay it unless you want to improve for multiplayer, which I think is more of a weapon fest.. The music compliments the events just fine, though it could be better. Regardless, I totally recommend this to all gamers out there, whether you have a 3DS or not. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    0
    A complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shameA complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shame consider how the actual game is quite good. Considering how game breaking the controls are, I have to rate this one low, especially considering the expectations. Expand

See all 208 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.