User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 8 out of 18
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    4
    I honestly hope this game is better on the consoles. Lego, when it aint broke, don't fix it. They did exactly the opposite. What I loved about the previous lego games (aside from Lego Batman 2) The game was the same on DS and the consoles, they didn't dumb it down at all. Well they did this time. Free roam? No. Not only do you not get to explore New York City's Marvel twin, but you don'tI honestly hope this game is better on the consoles. Lego, when it aint broke, don't fix it. They did exactly the opposite. What I loved about the previous lego games (aside from Lego Batman 2) The game was the same on DS and the consoles, they didn't dumb it down at all. Well they did this time. Free roam? No. Not only do you not get to explore New York City's Marvel twin, but you don't get to explore anywhere. This game can still be fun though and is a time wasster, but it is very flawed. If you were planning to buy the 3DS version, don't. I'm sure the PS3 and XBox 360 versions are much better. Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2014
    0
    If you love Lego games avoid this at all costs!

    Travellers Tales have taken the great Lego formula and completely broken it, out go the big levels, multiple character switching and the ability to jump in comes instant death and the frustration of playing levels over and over. Having lots of re-doing levels (instant death or to re-collect gold bricks) and lots of shoddy cut scenes has
    If you love Lego games avoid this at all costs!

    Travellers Tales have taken the great Lego formula and completely broken it, out go the big levels, multiple character switching and the ability to jump in comes instant death and the frustration of playing levels over and over.

    Having lots of re-doing levels (instant death or to re-collect gold bricks) and lots of shoddy cut scenes has been added to counteract the lack of real in game content and try and make the game seem longer than it is.

    I think Travellers Tales thought this game would sell on the LEGO Marvel Superheroes name and quality of past games, so didn't need to put in any real effort.

    A boring and poor addition to the LEGO stable of games.

    Try one of the older Lego games instead and save yourself some money.
    Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2017
    4
    Who thought it was a good idea to have the Lego games go backwards in terms of how far games have come? Even most DS Lego games were almost like the console versions in a way. Instead of having an awesome portable Lego game for the DS, 3DS and Vita, we got one that looks like a smoother version of a Lego game on GBA. Isometric view is where I'm getting at. Those types of games almost neverWho thought it was a good idea to have the Lego games go backwards in terms of how far games have come? Even most DS Lego games were almost like the console versions in a way. Instead of having an awesome portable Lego game for the DS, 3DS and Vita, we got one that looks like a smoother version of a Lego game on GBA. Isometric view is where I'm getting at. Those types of games almost never work. Thank goodness they eventually realized that by the time the 2nd Lego Marvel game came out. Expand
  4. Feb 29, 2020
    1
    ladies and gentlemen, here is one of the WORST console ports i have ever seen in my life it's just so mind-boggling that one of the best LEGO games ever made , to one of the WORST LEGO games ever made. like the old saying goes : if it ain't broke, don't fix it. the formula is completely different from all other LEGO games wich would only return in the port of The LEGO movie videogame andladies and gentlemen, here is one of the WORST console ports i have ever seen in my life it's just so mind-boggling that one of the best LEGO games ever made , to one of the WORST LEGO games ever made. like the old saying goes : if it ain't broke, don't fix it. the formula is completely different from all other LEGO games wich would only return in the port of The LEGO movie videogame and the dumpster fire that is lego ninjago nindroids i have no idea why it's called ''universe in peril''. the title is longer but the whole game is just a downgrade of everything that the amazing console edition had. avoid this at all costs and if you wanna play the game then PLEASE PLEASE buy the console edition Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2020
    1
    Considering this a lego game just isn't fair. The Wii U version is excellent, and it blows my mind that the 3ds version is this bad. Lego Batman 2 on 3ds is excellent because it feels like a lego game minus the open world, but instead, with this game it is linear, you have one life, in a lego game. The game is really challenging, which sucks because while I like difficult games, I don'tConsidering this a lego game just isn't fair. The Wii U version is excellent, and it blows my mind that the 3ds version is this bad. Lego Batman 2 on 3ds is excellent because it feels like a lego game minus the open world, but instead, with this game it is linear, you have one life, in a lego game. The game is really challenging, which sucks because while I like difficult games, I don't want one of those to be a poorly made and instant death everywhere lego game, some missions have a little bit of enjoyment, but this game is bad there is no denying that. I'm giving this a 1/10 because I had a little bit of fun with the first 2 levels, but other than that this game is miserable. i never want to see a lego game in this style ever again. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. May 29, 2017
    30
    Such a let-down, and flawed in almost every aspect that made the full version so special. The stages themselves are fun, as expected, because they're capturing the only aspect of TT's fantastic LEGO games: the gameplay. This is a perfect example as to why people are dubious over handheld ports of titles. These butchered remains of fantastic games are an unnecessary addition for fans of the full version, and unworthy examples for those without the console edition. Avoid.
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    Long load times, ugly cinematics, and finicky touch controls aside, the fun mission structure and engaging gameplay makes this one worth picking up for anyone seeking big fun in small bursts.
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    50
    The portable counterpart to LEGO Marvel Superheroes is a lot les 'Super'. Levels are short and bland, the cut-scenes are in horrible quality and the gameplay just isn't that much fun when the whole game lacks the polish and quality that the console-version has.