Mario Party: Star Rush Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Think fast and engage with a variety of ways to party with Mario, Toad, and more, on-the-go or on the couch. It's always your turn as you and up to three friends roll the dice, roam the board, and recruit fan-favorite allies. The bigger your party, the faster you'll earn stars and coins inThink fast and engage with a variety of ways to party with Mario, Toad, and more, on-the-go or on the couch. It's always your turn as you and up to three friends roll the dice, roam the board, and recruit fan-favorite allies. The bigger your party, the faster you'll earn stars and coins in frantic minigames. Break free of turn order and choose your path to victory in Toad Scramble, a mode with five wild worlds filled with bite-sized, open maps to play on. Blast across them in cannons, creep around haunted houses, or get a lift from Lakitu. You may get a chance to take down Bowser's mech. Team up with Yoshi, Daisy, Waluigi and other allies along the way. Pit your skills against friends by racing along in a gauntlet of rapid-fire minigames in Coinathlon. Cannon down Goombas, take out Shy Guys pinball-style, and even surf on a leafboard…but watch for Wigglers! You may even find yourself wandering a labyrinth of Boos. Partying is tough business. [Nintendo.com] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mario Party: Star Rush - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. NF Magazine
    Nov 7, 2016
    85
    Mario Party: Star Rush is far and away the most fun I've ever had with a Mario Party game. [Issue #24 – November/December 2016, p.17M]
  2. Nov 9, 2016
    76
    Mario Party Star Rush’s gameplay design is definitely played on the safe side.
  3. 75
    A strong package overall. It has a lot of smart ideas that will hopefully be used in future games, and there’s a good variety of modes to play with.
  4. Oct 5, 2016
    70
    Randomness issues excepted, Star Rush brilliantly charged at the main flaw of Mario Party - the slow pace - thanks to a simultaneous turn, while adding some strategy along the way through the boards' architecture, allies and clever amiibo integration.
  5. Nov 9, 2016
    65
    Mario Party: Star Rush feels more like a collection of modes than a fun next step for the series.
  6. Oct 7, 2016
    65
    We've enjoyed Star Rush playing with our friends, but as a game it's quite irregular, and playing on your own still is quite boring.
  7. Oct 5, 2016
    50
    If a group of buddies all chip in Star Rush can be a cheap night or two of fun, but it’s not much more than that.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Dec 31, 2016
    10
    This is the first Mario Party game I can enjoy all the way through WITHOUT friends. With friends it's an absolute blast and everyone moving atThis is the first Mario Party game I can enjoy all the way through WITHOUT friends. With friends it's an absolute blast and everyone moving at the same time makes the games move quicker, skipping the time of boredom, waiting for others to move. With so many new modes there is a lot of variety here too. The best Mario Party by far, I think. Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2016
    10
    People should check out Mario Party Star Rush. As Mario Party continues to grow, the series will be receiving more installments such as MarioPeople should check out Mario Party Star Rush. As Mario Party continues to grow, the series will be receiving more installments such as Mario Party 11, Mario Party 12, etc. 2017's E3 might see an announcement of Mario's eleventh party outing for consoles, and the first for the upcoming Nintendo Switch! If you have played all of Star Rush, get ready because Mario Party 11 might be coming your way! Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2018
    9
    Conseguiu trazer uma otima mecanica, os minigames são bem divertidos e a variedade dos modos são otimos, acho que foi o melhor Mario PartyConseguiu trazer uma otima mecanica, os minigames são bem divertidos e a variedade dos modos são otimos, acho que foi o melhor Mario Party desde o Mario party 9 do Wii! Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2018
    7
    Its an overall ok game but in my opinion lack the traditional party game mode. The best gamemodes are (imo) Boos Block Party which is prettyIts an overall ok game but in my opinion lack the traditional party game mode. The best gamemodes are (imo) Boos Block Party which is pretty much like Tetris Attack, and Mario Shuffle which plays like a board game. I usually just play it for 20 minutes then it gets boring and i leave it one a shelf for another fortnight Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2016
    7
    Mario Party is back on the Nintendo 3DS and this time, we're going to destroy the purpose of having you to wait for your turn and let you playMario Party is back on the Nintendo 3DS and this time, we're going to destroy the purpose of having you to wait for your turn and let you play at any sort of time. This game, like the rest of the installments, keeps trying to be like the original, but it just fails to surprise at a single-player game. As a multiplayer game, I can accept that, but get Star Rush if you must instead of Island Tour. Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2019
    6
    As a huge fan of Mario Party, I normally look upon the series with positivity, I personally loved Mario Party 9 and I was willing to defendAs a huge fan of Mario Party, I normally look upon the series with positivity, I personally loved Mario Party 9 and I was willing to defend the lack of content in Mario Party 10. This game is a pretty major exception though. While there is plenty of things to do, the whole game feels lifeless and dull, the boards are small and have to rely on certain gimmicks to actually be interesting, and the minigames don't feel special or fun. There are some positives though, all the characters move at the same time which makes it more entertaining and allows for some fun moments. The game modes and gimmicks themselves aren't that bad either, "try to get the right combination of balloons" or "loose as many coins and games as possible" are two examples of this. Overall though, this game definitely feels like something that was created specifically to put something Mario related on shelves, definitely my least favorite Mario Party Game (besides Advance and Top 100) Expand
  7. May 6, 2019
    0
    WORST MARIO PARTY EVER DON'T PLAY IT YOU'LL DIE OF PAIN PLAY THIS FLASH GAME INSTEAD: https://scratch.mit.edu/projects/2898680/

See all 19 User Reviews