Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Mar 26, 2015
    80
    Despite a few foibles, basically the 3DS has its new killer app.
  2. Feb 25, 2015
    75
    Pokémon Shuffle is a very fun match-3 but which sadly relies too soon on a somewhat annoying microtransaction system.
  3. Mar 28, 2015
    70
    Pokémon Shuffle is a very addictive and well implemented puzzle game which is bound to be enjoyed by both fans of simple puzzle games and Pokémon fans. The micro-transactions scheme does need some work, though, and the waiting time is disproportionate compared to the overall playing time.
  4. Mar 2, 2015
    70
    If you need something you can play for hours at a time, however, your best bet is to ignore the in-game shop altogether; take the money you'd spend on an afternoon's worth of Jewels, put it towards Pokémon Battle Trozei instead, and let the endless supply of Poké-puzzles tide you over between Shuffles.
  5. Feb 27, 2015
    70
    It’s fun and challenging enough to keep Pokémon and puzzle fans entertained.
  6. Feb 24, 2015
    70
    This won’t satiate the hunger for the next full incarnation of the series, just provide an added distraction while watching old episodes of the animé.
  7. Feb 21, 2015
    70
    The much lighter version of Pokémon: Battle Trozei is simple and smooth. Loosely based on Bejeweled and Candy Crush, the game will certainly entertain puzzle fans, but its microtransactions might not be well received.
  8. Mar 2, 2015
    60
    It could be an entertaining Pokémon based puzzle, but levels are too short and microtransactions are intrusive and sometimes even frustrating.
  9. Feb 23, 2015
    60
    It ended up being a fun puzzler with an interesting twist, but bad gameplay implementations.
  10. Feb 28, 2015
    56
    At its core, Pokémon Shuffle is a great puzzle game, but the free-to-play system makes it expensive to enjoy unless you're ok with a system that lets you play a few minutes every few hours.
  11. Apr 8, 2015
    55
    An unfair business model sucks out all the enjoyment that Pokemon Shuffle can grant if played in very short bursts.
  12. NF Magazine
    Apr 20, 2015
    50
    If you have the patience of a saint and like the pick-up-and-play experience, Pokémon Shuffle might be perfect for you. If you don't like the idea of being nickel-and-dimed to experience puzzling at a normal pace, this game's sure to get your blood boiling. [Issue #14: Old vs. New – March/April 2015, p.24]
  13. Apr 13, 2015
    45
    Simple gameplay hamstrung by freemium features.
  14. Mar 13, 2015
    45
    There’s nothing wrong with freemium games when they’re done right, but what Pokémon Shuffle does is reward players with very few benefits when cash is handed over, and that’s just a damn shame.
  15. Feb 20, 2015
    40
    As match-three puzzlers go this is well above average, but the cynical microtransactions make it a horrible slog to actually play.
  16. Feb 19, 2015
    35
    Anything truly enjoyable about the game is ruined by the microtransactions.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 131
  2. Negative: 35 out of 131
  1. Feb 19, 2015
    1
    Encapsulates the absolute worst type of pay model found in Smartphone F2P social games, and being on the 3DS.

    You're given 5 hearts which
    Encapsulates the absolute worst type of pay model found in Smartphone F2P social games, and being on the 3DS.

    You're given 5 hearts which count as turns, and each take about 1-2 minutes to burn through, after you've exhausted your 5 hearts you can either wait 30 minutes to restore ONE, hunt for Streetpass hits, or buy more hearts.

    The fact that it has the Pokemon brand slapped all over it trying to entice children to play is even more dishonest. Shame on you Nintendo for doing something like this.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 24, 2015
    0
    This is such cash-grabby nonsense that you almost wouldn't believe that it wasn't released by EA. Nintendo, Game Freak, Pokemon Company...whatThis is such cash-grabby nonsense that you almost wouldn't believe that it wasn't released by EA. Nintendo, Game Freak, Pokemon Company...what a horrible shame. Here's my experience of the game summed up:

    I download the game. Okay. I start it up and I am bombarded with tutorials that would not be necessary for even a toddler. I am still okay with it, the game will probably be fun after I get past all the tutorials. I find out that you have 5 hearts and every time you play a level, 1 of your hearts disappears, whether you lose or not. Then, at the end of my very short playthrough, I found out that they forced me to waste my hearts on stupid tutorial battles. I also found out that you can buy more hearts and a bunch of other garbage with your Nintendo eShop credit. I was so disgusted by this EA-level microtransaction nonsense that I immediately deleted the game.

    Seriously, this game is free but don't even bother downloading it. This is an utter waste of time for anyone. Even Candy Crush isn't as bad as this.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2015
    7
    The game is really enjoyable, but it's unfortunate you can't play it very long due to expensive 'jewels'. I'd say that you should play thisThe game is really enjoyable, but it's unfortunate you can't play it very long due to expensive 'jewels'. I'd say that you should play this game, but mind the micro transactions. Full Review »