User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 134
Watch Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewSteeves
    Sep 24, 2008
    8
    SuperStar Deluxe on the SNES was the best Kirby game, and the DS remake is just as good, but that's a good and bad thing.

    Great game, but I would've loved to have seen some extra things packed in, like extra games.

    And where the hell is the punching mini-game from the SNES, that was awesome.
  2. RyanScura
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    Having played the original SNES game, I was intrigued to find out this was coming to the DS. I bought it when it immediately came out, and started the grind to unlocking the 6 original games (Milky Way Wishes being my favorite). Imagine my surprise when they managed to sneak in a difficult version of Spring Breeze (Revenge of the King), a chance to play through 5 of the 6 original titlesHaving played the original SNES game, I was intrigued to find out this was coming to the DS. I bought it when it immediately came out, and started the grind to unlocking the 6 original games (Milky Way Wishes being my favorite). Imagine my surprise when they managed to sneak in a difficult version of Spring Breeze (Revenge of the King), a chance to play through 5 of the 6 original titles as Meta Knight, and 3 new Arenas. True Arena being a VERY difficult challenge.

    Solo play is recommended for difficult challenges in the game, Co-op recommended for some good fun or help getting past those much harder fights (True Arena).

    Co-op also works well, though, I can't help but wonder why they won't let you play with separate screens if both players do not have the cartridge. They can do it with Spring Breeze... perhaps as a marketing ploy.

    Either way, I recommend it as a buy. Or a rent then buy.
    Expand
  3. RyanSilverFox
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    It's awesome to see this game again and what they did with it gave justice to an already fantastic game.

    I'm a bit suprised at how many of the "professional" reviewers rated and commented so badly on such a gem (though I can't be suprised... reviewers are full of themselves more often than not), especially with the talk about it just being a remake. Yes, it's a
    It's awesome to see this game again and what they did with it gave justice to an already fantastic game.

    I'm a bit suprised at how many of the "professional" reviewers rated and commented so badly on such a gem (though I can't be suprised... reviewers are full of themselves more often than not), especially with the talk about it just being a remake. Yes, it's a remake... but it's almost like they made a "hard mode" and doubled the length of the game. I personally laugh at the people who say it's too easy... especially since some of the final modes are actually pretty challenging.

    I only had two gripes about the game. First, it would have been awesome to make a "Helper's Adventure" mode, where you play as just the helper through the game. Second, the 2nd player mode is kinna tricky to navigate as the 2nd player. The camera centers around Kirby, even as the 2nd player... so you can get lost pretty quickly.

    All in all, it's a must buy for any DS owner.
    Expand
  4. JeremySchlossman
    Aug 21, 2009
    8
    A solid remake of a SNES Cult Classic. Kirby Super Star Ultra is a fine platformer with quite a bit of depth. There's tons of abilities and moves, much more so than any other Kirby title ever made. The majority of the game modes can be played with a buddy who also owns the game (albeit player 2 doesn't always have control of what ability he/she can use). Co-op makes the packageA solid remake of a SNES Cult Classic. Kirby Super Star Ultra is a fine platformer with quite a bit of depth. There's tons of abilities and moves, much more so than any other Kirby title ever made. The majority of the game modes can be played with a buddy who also owns the game (albeit player 2 doesn't always have control of what ability he/she can use). Co-op makes the package really worthwhile, it's much better if you're playing with a friend. Graphics are standard fair for a Kirby game, not very flashy or pretty but always colorful and interesting. There are tons of baddies and bosses to take down, and the last few unlockable stages are actually quite challenging. You can get a good 20 hours out of the game if you 100%. It's still overall rather easy, and it really could have been done on the GBA (Many of the sprites used in Superstar are rehashed from NMiDL/Mirror). It's still a solid and fun game though. Recommended. Highly recommended if you can consistently play with a friend. Expand
  5. StevenTurner
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    People really shouldn't set their expectations for this game too high. It's a remake, if you've played through Kirby Super Star before, you'll enjoy the graphical touch ups and awesome video sequences they've added in. Plus all the mini games have been tweaked. It's definitely worth the money if your a kirby fan and haven't played the original or want toPeople really shouldn't set their expectations for this game too high. It's a remake, if you've played through Kirby Super Star before, you'll enjoy the graphical touch ups and awesome video sequences they've added in. Plus all the mini games have been tweaked. It's definitely worth the money if your a kirby fan and haven't played the original or want to relive the awesome moments of the game that released on the SNES Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    An excellent upgrade to an already awesome classic Super Nintendo title. This time around, the compilation includes all the games and mini-games from the SNES release along with even more new games (Including one starring Meta Knight) and mini-games than before! The graphics and audio have been updated from the original release and new features have been added, there is also new musicAn excellent upgrade to an already awesome classic Super Nintendo title. This time around, the compilation includes all the games and mini-games from the SNES release along with even more new games (Including one starring Meta Knight) and mini-games than before! The graphics and audio have been updated from the original release and new features have been added, there is also new music tracks, bonus video clips and even more bosses that where not in the original version. You can play this game multiplayer by using two game cards and a download play demo with minigames and Spring Breeze but both players have to share one DS screen. With all the high quality content crammed into one cartridge along with multiplayer support, any fan of Kirby should not pass up this amazing compilation. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Another exelent title from nintendo,all af the stories and upgrades makes this game so awesome!
  8. May 26, 2011
    9
    So many games in one! I would've like more unlockable minigames, however. But that is a minor complaint. This game is a gem, and you should definitely own this.
  9. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    A truly amazing game, it's very challenging at some points! I love the fact that this game is a remake to Kirby super star from the 90's, a game I always wanted to play. I love the feature to play as meta-knight, my fav character from the kirby series! Overall, this game is a must have for any DS owner, and any kirby fan, I love this game so much! It's amazing!
  10. Oct 15, 2016
    9
    Underated game. Why is the critic score so low? This game is much better than kirby mass attack. There is so many things to do in this game. Very fun and well made.
  11. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Lot's of fun characters, fun gameplay, and fun worlds. Even if you complete everything in the game, the different games are so fun that it's easy to enjoy playing them over and over and over again. It might have been nice if there were more characters that weren't enemies, but to play as or interact with, but, it's a good game either way. Definitely recommended.
  12. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Kirby Super Star Ultra is an evolution of the original with new modes that are just as awesome as the old ones, while retaining its incredibly fun gameplay. The best Kirby game made better
  13. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Being a huge Kirby fan, my expectations went through the roof, I mean, Kirby Super Star was awesome enough! But no...they gave the fans what they didn't even know they really wanted and amazed us with this FANTASTIC remake! Including all the old fun content from it's 1996 prequel and a TON of new content, this game NEVER gets boring. Tons of abilities and mini-games and even if you DO getBeing a huge Kirby fan, my expectations went through the roof, I mean, Kirby Super Star was awesome enough! But no...they gave the fans what they didn't even know they really wanted and amazed us with this FANTASTIC remake! Including all the old fun content from it's 1996 prequel and a TON of new content, this game NEVER gets boring. Tons of abilities and mini-games and even if you DO get bored playing this, you'll instantly have more fun with a different game on this wonderful cartridge. It satisfies the gamer as much as it can and putting those dumb critics who hate the game aside, I really loved this game. If you liked Kirby Super Star, have a DS, 2DS or 3DS, or are a Kirby fan looking for hours and even days of fun, this is the game for you! Expand
  14. Sep 28, 2014
    9
    awesome,Awesome...AWESOME. THe game is really awesome and easy to play like the others(but in the true arena you gotta dead 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10..............)the only bad i see is the graphics.Is not bad,i say was so good,but Nintendo can make better graphics in the DS,this graphics was in the GBA,not so surprising. That is my critic.I wait was helpful for you
  15. May 20, 2018
    10
    kirby super star nota 10...................................................
  16. Nov 18, 2015
    10
    Endless fun. The game has a bunch of different fun modes that are always enjoyable to replay over and over. My personal favorite is when you can play as Metaknight!! I still haven't even beaten the true arena. Has game modes from easy to very hard. Great game!
  17. Nov 17, 2017
    10
    This game is super fun to play the sheer amounts of games that it has makes the soul amazing! This game came out on the SNES in 1996 and it blew up! Now seeing it makes it better to play with friends and family.
  18. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    this game is the most **** awesome game ever on the ds and it is **** epic and the music is epic oh yea and so is the twist ending lolololololololol XD
  19. May 20, 2012
    10
    I love kirby superstar ultra!

    Aprilbutte, Multiplayer can be done with two game cards too, and both ds can see the screen (Awsome!) Kirby superstar ultra can have it's momments! There are 11 game modes. Here they are. ----------------------- -Spring breeze -Gorment race -Dyna blade -The great cave offensive -Meta knight's revenge -Milky way wishes -King dedede's revenge
    I love kirby superstar ultra!

    Aprilbutte, Multiplayer can be done with two game cards too, and both ds can see the screen (Awsome!)

    Kirby superstar ultra can have it's momments!

    There are 11 game modes.

    Here they are.
    -----------------------
    -Spring breeze
    -Gorment race
    -Dyna blade
    -The great cave offensive
    -Meta knight's revenge
    -Milky way wishes
    -King dedede's revenge
    -Metaknightmare ultra
    -The arena
    -Helper to hero
    -The TRUE arena
    ----------------------------------

    There are 5 minigames
    -----------------------------------
    -kirby on the draw
    -Kirby card swipe
    -snack tracks
    -Megaton punch
    -Samurai kirby
    ----------------

    The music is wonderful and the game is charming and wonderful!

    This for any nintendo fan!
    Expand
  20. Dec 10, 2017
    8
    This game was one of the first remake games that I ever played and one of the best honestly. I know a lot of companies somehow manage to ruin remakes of games but this one was actually done right. The music was remastered, the art looked so much better, and they added enough new content and gameplay that it felt like a new game. The multiplayer was also genius, not sure if that was in theThis game was one of the first remake games that I ever played and one of the best honestly. I know a lot of companies somehow manage to ruin remakes of games but this one was actually done right. The music was remastered, the art looked so much better, and they added enough new content and gameplay that it felt like a new game. The multiplayer was also genius, not sure if that was in the previous kirby games though. I never played the first one much. My brother and cousin and I played this game so much and really enjoyed the multiplayer. I would love to see a kirby game like this release again soon Expand
  21. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    Kirby Super Star Ultra. While the DS has never been my favorite device to play my games on as I much prefer consoles and PCs, I did have a few good games on the system. Heck, I still enjoy playing all of the Mario games that I have on the DS. They are very enjoyable and fun for all ages. As for this game, it is actually a remake of Kirby Super Star for the SNES. So, does this remakeKirby Super Star Ultra. While the DS has never been my favorite device to play my games on as I much prefer consoles and PCs, I did have a few good games on the system. Heck, I still enjoy playing all of the Mario games that I have on the DS. They are very enjoyable and fun for all ages. As for this game, it is actually a remake of Kirby Super Star for the SNES. So, does this remake recapture the magic of the SNES classic, or is it a disgrace to the memory of that wonderful game? Let's find out. This game is about as simple as an action platformer can get. You move from platform to platform fighting enemies and solving puzzles along the way. What makes this game more unique than other action platformers however, is Kirby himself, and the fact that it is several games in one. Kirby on his own can swallow enemies and eat them. When Kirby swallows certain enemies, he can copy their abilities. This is a very important difference from most platformers. Most characters in platformers only have a small amount of power-ups at their disposal. Kirby on the other hand, has dozens. This makes the game much more enjoyable to play. I had a lot of fun trying out Kirby's abilities when I got them. Every ability in the game is very different, and changes the gameplay quite a bit. This game is also several games in one. While the gameplay is overall the same in every game, each game adds a special twist to make it more unique from the last one. The only real problem I had with the gameplay overall is that it was way too easy. Kirby has a lot of health, and there is plenty of food available to refill it. Kirby is also like a balloon, because he can float over gaps, which other characters like Mario would have to make huge jumps over. This makes the game way too easy, and disappointing for those looking for a challenge. However, the difficulty really isn't a problem when the game is this fun to play. As for the graphics, they are beautiful and unique. They have definitely seen an upgrade from the original SNES game. Everything in this game looks cartoony and cute to look at. The backgrounds are also rich with detail. There is really no problem at all with this game when it comes to the graphics. As for the story, this really depends on which game you choose. Even so, all the game stories are really straightforward, and easy to follow. The first game is Spring Breeze, in which King Dedede steals all of the food in Dreamland, and it is up to Kirby to stop him. The second is Dyna Blade, in which a giant bird is attacking Dreamland, and Kirby has to discover why. Then there's Great Cave Offensive, in which Kirby finds himself lost in an underground cavern. He must escape and collect treasure along the way. Gourmet Race is a game in which King Dedede challenges Kirby to race to the finish while collecting the most food along the way. Meta Knight's Revenge is the story of how Meta Knight uses his ship Halberd in attempt to take over Dreamland, and Kirby has to stop him. Milky Way Wishes is about a time when the Sun and the Moon started fighting each other, and Kirby has to find a way to stop them from fighting. These were the stories of all of the original Kirby Super Star games. There are also a few new ones. The Revenge of the King is a remixed version of Spring Breeze that is much harder, and is about how Dedede wants revenge after being defeated in Spring Breeze. Meta Nightmare Ultra allows you to play all of the games mentioned above as Meta Knight (minus Revenge of the King). This adds a nice spin on Kirby Super Star. There are also three arena modes, which are just modes that pit you against all of the game's bosses in random order. While the stories of these games aren't very developed, they are relatively easy to follow, and that's all that really matters in a video game. Overall, this game is a nice throwback to a time when video games had very simple premises. I really enjoyed the time I had with this game. It is a blast to play, has beautiful graphics and stories that are very easy to follow, leaving everything else open to interpretation. This is a game that anyone who owns a DS should play. It is really fun, and more than worth the money.
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 10/10
    Story: 9/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  22. Nov 28, 2015
    8
    I might have a bit of a bias towards this game since it's my number one nostalgic game. sure it's nowhere near perfect (why do you need to look at player 1's screen in co-op instead of being able to look on your own screen Hall?) but the amount of fun I had (and still have) with this game is amazing. maybe it's just me being nostalgia blinded but I don't think I ever had the same amount ofI might have a bit of a bias towards this game since it's my number one nostalgic game. sure it's nowhere near perfect (why do you need to look at player 1's screen in co-op instead of being able to look on your own screen Hall?) but the amount of fun I had (and still have) with this game is amazing. maybe it's just me being nostalgia blinded but I don't think I ever had the same amount of fun in any form of media (even though it's nowhere near my favourite game). Expand
  23. Dec 8, 2015
    9
    This was an awesome game to play when I was a kid.
    But it gets boring when you get all profiles to 100%.
    I still can't beat helper to hero with all characters on them though...
  24. Oct 24, 2015
    10
    This is my all time favorite video game.Taking the timeless Kirby super star and expanding upon it.Thes expansions include all new levels,boss fights,And more overall gameplay.If I were to co with a minor flaw its that multiplayer is less accessable.
  25. Jul 19, 2016
    9
    I think that the snes one is better but doesn't mean the ds one is bad! This one is fun and it's one of my favorite games and now I can fit it in my pocket!
  26. Sep 2, 2016
    9
    This game is just like Super Star but WAY more content, with Revenge of the King, Meta Knightmare Ultra, Helper to Hero, and the True Arena. And if Super Star was good, Super Star Ultra is the best Kirby game, whatsoever!
  27. Jul 24, 2017
    9
    One of my favorite games, I remember playing it back in 2009. The game mostly is good and has very good graphics. The characters are really cute. And also the player and the monsters have a variety of moves. Really creative
  28. Aug 30, 2017
    10
    Bunch of small kirby games bunched up into a DS! Yes please! This game is totally in my top 10 favorite games of all time! The variety and the upgrades that they did stand out and make it a perfect game to me!
  29. Oct 4, 2017
    10
    A remake that almost surpass the original. The new features are amazing, and the addition of 3D cutscenes was a fine touch. It's a shame that some of the original minigames didn't make the cut.

    Conclusion: this game is an amazing experience.
  30. Oct 6, 2017
    10
    This is the 2nd best Handheld Kirby game[Behind Triple Deluxe]! The game has cool stories and abilities while mixing in challenges with the bosses and the Arena and Helper to Hero games. This is the best that the ds has to offer.
  31. Jan 1, 2018
    8
    Undoubtedly the strongest kirby game on the DS. Kirby Super Star Ultra will keep you entertained for a good while
  32. Mar 18, 2018
    10
    This game man, I tell you, if you haven't played this masterpiece, what the heck are you doing with your life?! GO GET THIS GAME! This was my first Kirby game I had ever played and to this day, no Kirby game has surpassed it. The gameplay is super fun with tight controls, there is so many different games inside of this one tiny DS cartridge that will keep you busy for hours on end. On topThis game man, I tell you, if you haven't played this masterpiece, what the heck are you doing with your life?! GO GET THIS GAME! This was my first Kirby game I had ever played and to this day, no Kirby game has surpassed it. The gameplay is super fun with tight controls, there is so many different games inside of this one tiny DS cartridge that will keep you busy for hours on end. On top of adding on to the excellent 1996 SNES classic, there is a mode where you play as FREAKING META KNIGHT! And also, HUGE shoutout to the epic music in this game. It is hands down the best in the series alongside Return to Dreamland and the Original Super Star. I don't say this much about video games and not a lot of games are perfect, but this game fits the mold perfectly (no pun intended). I also don't think most people can disagree with me, since most sites i see top 10 Kirby games in Super Star Ultra or the Original take #1. Expand
  33. Apr 15, 2018
    10
    Game: Kirby Super Star Ultra
    Genre: Adventure Platformer
    Developer: HAL Laboratory Publisher: Nintendo System: Nintendo DS (DS) Year of Release: 2008 Length of Playthrough: 10 Hours Total Score: 100/100 Value Score: 10/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 10/10 • GamePlay: 10/10 • Graphics: 10/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 10/10 • Length: 10/10 • Replay Value: 10/10 • Player
    Game: Kirby Super Star Ultra
    Genre: Adventure Platformer
    Developer: HAL Laboratory
    Publisher: Nintendo
    System: Nintendo DS (DS)
    Year of Release: 2008
    Length of Playthrough: 10 Hours

    Total Score: 100/100
    Value Score: 10/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 10/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 10/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +All of the games from the original version included
    +Addition of 4 games and 2 mini games
    +CG Movies for cutscenes
    +New remix tracks added to the OST
    +New User interface which goes well with the second screen
    +Movie Theater section which shows cutscenes

    Cons
    -N/A
    Expand
  34. JPK
    Jun 20, 2019
    10
    Just As Amazing As The 1996 Game
    After 12 years, Super Star is back And might be better than the original game.
  35. May 1, 2020
    8
    It's hard to put my finger on it, but it's difficult not to like this game. The game isn't complex, but it's still fun. Maybe it's because of our adorable mascot, or how cute the environments look, or how quirky the background music is. It's just welcoming to play.

    The game progresses at your own pace, and poses a decent challenge when you fight the bosses. My main complaint is that the
    It's hard to put my finger on it, but it's difficult not to like this game. The game isn't complex, but it's still fun. Maybe it's because of our adorable mascot, or how cute the environments look, or how quirky the background music is. It's just welcoming to play.

    The game progresses at your own pace, and poses a decent challenge when you fight the bosses. My main complaint is that the abilities and helper are too strong, which makes the game a bit easy.

    Since Super Star Ultra is split into several modes, I've rated them each below. The sub-games were decent, but not really meaningful since they were too short to be played solo. The boss attack modes were not enjoyable to play. In summary, my average score is a 7 across all modes, but it would be an 8 if you simply skip the boss attack modes.

    SPRING BREEZE - 6/10
    A remake of Kirby's Dream Land that's unbelievably short and has a lot of broken abilities that make it a breeze to go through the game. The final boss (King Dedede) was a disappointment since simply hitting him would stunlock him.

    It's hard to give this mode a proper score because it's just too short. You can get it done in 20 minutes. It's hard to imagine that it used to be a whole game in the past. It genuinely feels like a demo and doesn't deserve much.

    DYNA BLADE - 7/10
    More of the same thing but with new environments and more broken abilities. The scenario was about 25 minutes long and the maps felt more exotic as they had more branching paths and enemy variety.

    GREAT CAVE OFFENSIVE - 9/10
    This was the best mode in the entire game. I easily got hooked and wouldn't stop playing. Figuring out the puzzles to find every item was incredibly satisfying. Everything great about Kirby was added into this and each area promoted exploration. A must play. Lasts about four hours if you choose to find all 60 items, but if not, you can probably reach the end in under an hour.

    Now, some items were a pain in the a** to get or were secrets you couldn't possibly figure out without using a guide. Nothing frustrates more than having to deal with annoying solutions, since it ruins the flow of the game. This was the only reason why I couldn't give this mode a full 10.

    GOURMET RACE - 3/10
    Some random, short and cheesy "race" mode that doesn't even suit Kirby. I would've quit halfway if beating it at least once wasn't necessary to unlock the next mode. I can't imagine multiplayer being fun either. You can get it done in under 10 minutes.

    REVENGE OF META KNIGHT - 8/10
    This mode was pretty fun. I enjoyed the theme of the story,and the added time limit required me to be optimal in my playstyle, which added a layer of challenge. The difficulty and length were balanced just right as well. It was about half an hour long.

    MILKY WAY WISHES - 8/10
    An interesting mode because you cannot copy abilities anymore and have to acquire them from bosses instead, similar to Megaman games. This mode wasn't as engaging as the Great Cave Offensive since you didn't need to explore, and I wasn't really sold on having to replay stages to find every ability. It lasted about two hours for me since I didn't try to find all of the abilities. I imagine it would take up to four hours to find all of them.

    Since you can use any ability as much you want once you find it, it can be a cakewalk if you find broken ones early on. Plus, with infinite ability use, your helper basically has infinite health since you can keep respawning them.

    REVENGE OF THE KING - 8/10
    A new mode for the NDS; everything feels more modern and there are new enemies and bosses to fight. It's a basic level-based mode so there's not much to say. It was fun, albeit it didn't last very long. You can finish it in about an hour.

    THE ARENA - 5/10
    A boss attack mode where you have one life to beat every boss in the game. Due to its sheer difficulty, I wanted to skip this mode entirely, but I couldn't unlock the final mode without beating at least 15 bosses in this mode, so I had no choice but to stave it off. YMMV, but I imagine a successful run could be done in half an hour.

    META KNIGHTMARE ULTRA - 6/10
    A mode where you play as Meta Knight (i.e. a reskinned Kirby with the Sword and Wing abilities) through recycled versions of previous platformer modes you did on Kirby. The mode is an absolute cakewalk with Meta Knight's abilities, which made the experience rather bland. It was pretty boring doing the same maps all over again, so I tried to speed through it as fast as I could. It lasted about two hours long, rushed.

    HELPER TO HERO - 6/10
    Basically the same thing as The Arena, except as a helper instead, and without the ability to change abilities. The mode felt a bit easier as the helpers have more evasive and responsive controls, but it's still the same deal. I quit after losing once, but it should last at most the same amount of time as The Arena.
    Expand
  36. May 5, 2018
    10
    A mi me encanta la saga de Kirby y este juego es en mi opinión el mejor de la saga Kirby. Este juego se me borro la partida a cuando solo me faltaban los modo arena.
  37. Dec 7, 2018
    8
    An awesome remake, adding new extra things that no affect so much the original SNES game action, with beautiful graphics, incredible soundtrack remaster and gameplay enjoyable.
  38. Nov 1, 2018
    9
    Игра хороша. Игра не сильно кроткая и не сильно длинная. Проработка уровней в Кирби всегда хороша. В игру интересно играть.
  39. May 8, 2019
    10
    While not perfect Super Star Ultra is a complete improvement from Super Star. While i liked Super Star a lot this Remake is a rare example of when a Remake is better than the original. Great level design. It fixed the Great Cave Offensive which in the original The Great Cave Offensive was just Offensive. Introduced Galacta Knight. And gave all of the bosses a harder form
  40. May 3, 2019
    8
    Music: 5/5
    Game Play: 4/5
    Graphics: 4/5
    Story: 3/5
    Time-Value: 4/5
    Overall:4/5
  41. May 12, 2019
    10
    Call me bias because this was the first game I have ever played and my favorite video game of all time, but I can't and won't ever find a flaw with this game it is an amazing game and I cannot recommend it enough.
  42. Jun 21, 2020
    8
    The formula for Kirby still ages quite well on the DS with tight mechanics and interesting abilities. The level design can be rather dated and boss battle being abit underwhelming.
  43. May 13, 2020
    10
    I remember playing this game when I was little! It was on my mom's DS! It was fun!
  44. Dec 10, 2020
    9
    Как по мне, хорошо переиздание, но оригинал, для меня, получше будет.
  45. Apr 24, 2021
    9
    This game is still, somehow, the best Kirby game. AMAZING music and visuals, and now it's portable with extra features?!

Awards & Rankings

35
4
#4 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
11
#11 Most Shared DS Game of 2008
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 79
    It's not as creative as "Kirby's Canvas Curse", but it's not as "by the numbers" formulaic as "Kirby's Squeak Squad."
  2. Copying enemy abilities and working alongside helper characters is cool, and we dig the imaginative environments, but there's not enough to keep us hooked.
  3. 91
    Kirby and company are just too damn cute and cheerful. If Smash Bros. piqued your interest, Ultra's your next step.