User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 156
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2021
    10
    De lo mejor en GBA, sigo sin creer que un juego así corra en una consola con esas limitaciones. Personajes 10/10, jugabilidad 10/10, historia 10/10 y el postgame* 11/10.

    * No es un postgame clásico de pocas horas y algo repetitivo, es bastante largo y con muchas historias relacionadas entre sí que son bastante divertidas y más complejas que la historia principal.
  2. Apr 23, 2021
    8
    Bueno, ahora que ha salido el remake es hora de reseñar el clásico de GBA. Se mantiene fresco incluso a día de hoy? Lo veremos.
    Lo primero es que al empezar el juego tendremos un test de personalidad que nos ira preguntando varias cositas sobre nosotros, para que al final nos convirtamos en un Pokemon y seamos el en toda la aventura. El problema que veo con esto es que en caso de que te
    Bueno, ahora que ha salido el remake es hora de reseñar el clásico de GBA. Se mantiene fresco incluso a día de hoy? Lo veremos.
    Lo primero es que al empezar el juego tendremos un test de personalidad que nos ira preguntando varias cositas sobre nosotros, para que al final nos convirtamos en un Pokemon y seamos el en toda la aventura. El problema que veo con esto es que en caso de que te haya tocado un Pokemon que no te haya gustado no hay manera de cambiarlo (a no ser que reinicies la maquina), cosa que no se solucionaría hasta varios años después.
    La historia por cierto me pareció muy buena e innovadora, es decir, quien se imaginaria que TU mismo te transformarías en un Pokemon y harías una aventura épica junto con tu compañero, para averiguar las razones delas que por que te transformaste mientras ayudas a los demás? Sin duda alguna, un viaje emotivo que fomenta bastante la amistad.
    Hablemos un poquitito de la jugabilidad. La jugabilidad es muy distinta a lo que conocemos de Pokemon, ya que ahora las acciones funcionan como una especie de "rejilla" en la que podemos movernos o atacar, parecido a juegos como "Torneko", pero mas pulidos, ya que el nivel no se pierde (salvo en la cueva deseo, que ya hablaremos de ello) y no hay muerte permanente, cosa que es un GRAN acierto en mi opinión. Ahora los movimientos como salpicadura o gruñido tienen mas efectos y sirven mucho mas, por lo que remplazar un ataque y haberse equivocado no resulta en algo negativo a fin de cuentas y podemos recordar los movimientos olvidados GRATIS en cualquier momento, ademas de que las MT se pueden conseguir SIEMPRE, y no necesitas de enseñarle el ataque al Pokemon en otra partida y transferirla solo para tener dicho ataque. Esto me parece un gran acierto, ya que mejora la estrategia que ya tenia la saga, elevándola hasta el máximo nivel, sumado a que los objetos toman un gran rol en esta estrategia, como las semillas, esferas o las rocas, que te sacaran de mas de un apuro. También otra gran mejora es el hecho de que todos los Pokemon se pueden conseguir sin la necesidad de intercambiar! Cosa que también favorece el grado de estrategia/esfuerzo/recompensa que tiene el juego. Sin duda alguna, mejoraron todo (o casi todo) lo que tiene la saga principal.
    Y por ultimo hablemos de los gráficos y la banda sonora: Una obra de arte la verdad, muy bien embocado! Es bastante bello, y esto se explotaría aun mas en el remake.
    Ahora desgraciadamente hay que mencionar algunos puntos negativos que si bien se pueden olvidar, no dejan de causar cierta sensación de "molestia" con el pasar del tiempo. Esta el hecho de que pierdes los items y el dinero de la bolsa al fallar una misión y el sistema de reclutamiento que se mejoraría en la siguiente entrega. Básicamente no podes reclutar Pokemon si tenes el equipo lleno en el momento, y por ultimo lo peor de lo peor: La cueva deseo y el bosque pureza.... lugares obligatorios para conseguir el 100% del juego.... te bajan temporalmente al nivel 1 y tenes que pasar 99 pisos de principio a fin sin morir.... Es una locura, estas mazmorras siempre las odie..... Por lo menos en Exploradores Del Cielo no hay Pokemon que conseguir en las Islas Zero, por lo que zafa.
    En resumen, Mundo Misterioso es un JUEGAZO, uno de mis juegos favoritos de GBA y de Pokemon en general.
    Totalmente recomendado para los fans de Pokemon, y de los Roguelike en general.
    Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2021
    10
    I have very good childhood memories regarding this game, it felt refreshing compared to classical RPG Pokémon gba games
  4. Dec 11, 2020
    10
    I'm giving this game 10/10 since everything is perfect and it's even better than Super Mystery Dungeon.
  5. Apr 3, 2020
    8
    This game is great, Graphics are great for GBA, gameplay is different to usual Pokémon but once you get the hang of it then it's pretty fun, I don't want to say anything about the story so you go play and see it for yourself , if I had to criticize, probably make it easier to change your party members since it can take forever, and maybe if some of the dungeons were more unique, other thenThis game is great, Graphics are great for GBA, gameplay is different to usual Pokémon but once you get the hang of it then it's pretty fun, I don't want to say anything about the story so you go play and see it for yourself , if I had to criticize, probably make it easier to change your party members since it can take forever, and maybe if some of the dungeons were more unique, other then that it's a must play for me Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2020
    10
    My favorite game of all time. Give this game a shot. It is amazin till this day.
  7. Jun 30, 2019
    10
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon, simplesmente uma das melhores sagas de Spin-offs da saga Pokemon e na minha opinião o melhor titulo da franquia é esse, "Red rescue Team", o numero de personagens jogaveis surpreende, com Pokemon da primeira a terceira geração, um modo historia de tamanho agradável, com um pós-game gigante, boas musicas e uma jogabilidade bem satisfatória, tornam esse jogo na minhaPokemon Mystery Dungeon, simplesmente uma das melhores sagas de Spin-offs da saga Pokemon e na minha opinião o melhor titulo da franquia é esse, "Red rescue Team", o numero de personagens jogaveis surpreende, com Pokemon da primeira a terceira geração, um modo historia de tamanho agradável, com um pós-game gigante, boas musicas e uma jogabilidade bem satisfatória, tornam esse jogo na minha opinião uma obra, infelizmente alguns sprites são meio esquisitos como o do Feraligatr que é bem legal de lado, mas fica estranho de frente. Expand
  8. Jun 10, 2019
    5
    I am a massive Pokemon fan and I have been for over a decade, but I've got to say, the Mystery Dungeon games aren't a patch on the usual Pokemon game formats. Whilst Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Red Rescue Team has a curious and intriguing start, it soon becomes a little tiresome and leaves you wondering "where is this actually going? what am I meant to be doing?" which isn't a good thing. OnI am a massive Pokemon fan and I have been for over a decade, but I've got to say, the Mystery Dungeon games aren't a patch on the usual Pokemon game formats. Whilst Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Red Rescue Team has a curious and intriguing start, it soon becomes a little tiresome and leaves you wondering "where is this actually going? what am I meant to be doing?" which isn't a good thing. On the plus side, at least it is interesting playing from the perspective of a Pokemon! Expand
  9. May 3, 2019
    8
    Music: 4/5
    Game Play: 3.5/5
    Graphics: 4/5
    Story: 4.5/5
    Time-Value: 5/5
    Overall: 4/5
  10. Nov 30, 2017
    9
    The best game in the series, yet scores seem too low. Great translation of pokemon battles to a new but working turn-based systems. Fun-to-mess-with power-ups with Gummies and interactions with the environment such as ghost types with walls makes a lot of interesting situations. Great rogue-like features and decent collectible goods along with one of the best graphics in the pokemon seriesThe best game in the series, yet scores seem too low. Great translation of pokemon battles to a new but working turn-based systems. Fun-to-mess-with power-ups with Gummies and interactions with the environment such as ghost types with walls makes a lot of interesting situations. Great rogue-like features and decent collectible goods along with one of the best graphics in the pokemon series just makes it work. Expand
  11. Nov 1, 2017
    8
    Not as good as Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explores of ____, but it's still an great game, with amazing music, great gameplay, but a slightly forgettable cast. Definetly recomended
  12. Oct 30, 2017
    6
    Personalmente no me gusto, bastante aburrido. Parece gustarle a la gente, la verdad no lo entiendo. El combate también se me hizo muy malo. Pero bueno, creo que llega al 6.
  13. Dec 22, 2016
    10
    This is one of the most underrated games of all times. I have been playing this game for over ten years and it is still as good, and still offers a great challenge. It as an awesome replay-ability and one of the best post-game I have seen. In short, the music, the mechanics, and mostly the deep, rich and hidden story are astonishing.
  14. Nov 3, 2016
    9
    Amazing game years ago. Story was really emotional and original. Shocks and twists were plenty. The dungeons were complex at times and challenging. The music was beautiful in almost every moment. I cried at the end. There was a wealth of pokemon you could recruit in dungeons that kept me replaying the dungeons for hours. The best pokemon spin-off title in my opinion. Overall, story wasAmazing game years ago. Story was really emotional and original. Shocks and twists were plenty. The dungeons were complex at times and challenging. The music was beautiful in almost every moment. I cried at the end. There was a wealth of pokemon you could recruit in dungeons that kept me replaying the dungeons for hours. The best pokemon spin-off title in my opinion. Overall, story was immersive and captivating, the music was majestic and compelling and the end was truly unforgettable. Expand
  15. Apr 23, 2016
    10
    It is a highly addicting game... Awesome story, the best gameplay and very good controls! You play as a polite and friendly pokemon which tries to save the world with his best friend... If you need a addicting and fan game you should try it! It also teaches you the true meaning of friends... Try it out!
  16. CWL
    Jan 1, 2016
    7
    With a decent story that gets the job done along with repetition and a slow start, this game still manages to kick off the MD series very well, and I suggest you check it out if it interests you.
  17. Jun 9, 2015
    10
    I have no idea why critics panned this game, it's amazing. Great for kids. Ignore the story because it isn't too much to look at. It is a great addition to the Pokemon Franchise!
  18. Dec 24, 2014
    8
    This game was great, plain and simple. It really changed up the pokemon series and for the better summoning the even better Time, Darkness, and Sky, and the not so great Gates to Infinity
  19. Sep 15, 2014
    9
    This is so far, one of the best looking GBA games. The story starts out repetitive, but ends up getting awesome. This is really addicting and is the best Pokemon Mystery Dungeon game to date. It does have some flaws, but it is worth playing.... for sure.
  20. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    This game is perfect. Good gameplay, intuitive controls and good story. One of, if not the best, Pokemon game out so far. If you're a fan of Pokemon (or roguelikes in general) this is definitely worth picking up.
  21. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mystery Dungeon is a revolutionary game. It's fun and outstanding. Again, customization is key to the games success. You can choose your gender, and from there you can have gender specific pokemon to play as. That's right! You play as a freaking pokemon! It's plot has happy parts and sad parts (the ending to the main story...) Plus, there is so much to do once you beat the game. Expand
  22. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    It's a highly addicting game. You are the pokemon and you form a rescue team to save pokemon around the world from natural disasters. Even with simplistic graphics, the game allows some customization and freedom like the main series pokemon games.
  23. May 5, 2011
    6
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Red Rescue Team is an awfully strange, but mildly effective game for Pokemaniacs and puzzle solvers. Pros: A variety of Pokemon to add to your team and dungeons to explore. Cons: Dull visuals; odd controls; the RPG elements aren't exactly necessary, regardless of the Pokemon series being built on that.
  24. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    Another new concept to the world of pokemon has arrived! The exploration of many different dungeons in this game make it unique and classy. Item's combine with money to create many a joy, and Red Rescue Team eally is a fantasising tale. After begining to play the game, you won't want to stop until you have got a platinum bage. The use of moves is quite a dissapointment, but red rescue teamAnother new concept to the world of pokemon has arrived! The exploration of many different dungeons in this game make it unique and classy. Item's combine with money to create many a joy, and Red Rescue Team eally is a fantasising tale. After begining to play the game, you won't want to stop until you have got a platinum bage. The use of moves is quite a dissapointment, but red rescue team has bought something new to the pokemon world. Expand
  25. SoshiT.
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    This game is awesome for Pokemon fan and dungeon lovers.
  26. LanceB.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    I think this game is wicked! and I think its cool along with blue rescue team. There the first pokemon game where you are pokemon! I hope they come out with more games like this after pearl and diamond! enjoy.
  27. BlakeM.
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    It is fun different and takes alot longer to drop off and even after you beat the main game you are able to keep playing new misions over and the post game is also interesting.
  28. HarleyS.
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    This was a much more original Pokémon game spinoff to the other ones. The fact all the Pokémon are in this game and the addictive nature to keep going is amazing. Replayability only makes the game better, since traveling through dungeons will keep you occupied for at least a while.
  29. HoumanJ.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    This game is the most awsome game in the world.
  30. [Anonymous]
    Sep 20, 2006
    5
    I've found it very different and somewhat difficult to get used to. Controls are really strange and non-intuitive. It's a great game but controls really hurt the gameplay.

Awards & Rankings

15
1
#1 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2006
1
#1 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2006
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    80
    While Nintendo DS owners may feel cheated at the poor second screen features, or may even feel violated by the graphics on their system compared to what they've come to expect, GBA owners can feel safe in the knowledge that this is one of the best looking on their system and that only one good screen, which is what the GBA possesses, is really needed to fully enjoy the gameplay.
  2. 70
    Anyone with an established affection for roguelikes (apparently there are a lot of you) and even the slightest liking of Pokémon will really enjoy this. And ultimately, I did too - played one mission at a time, Mystery Dungeon's old-fashionedness in the context of the adorable setting is charming, and you can't fault it for a lack of longevity.
  3. 85
    You won't find a better handheld RPG so fitting for bite-size moments of play, and those cute 'n' marketable pocket monsters are only the icing on the cake.