Crossy Road - Endless Arcade Hopper Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Crossy Road is an endless arcade hopper.
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 21, 2014
    100
    Crossy Road is a simple game, but there's clearly a lot of work that went into making it one of the best 'simple' experiences that can be enjoyed.
  2. Nov 25, 2014
    90
    Crossy Road might be based on an arcade classic, but it looks great and offers tons of replayability on top of simply being lots of fun.
  3. Nov 20, 2014
    90
    From little considerations like the squish that plays proxy for haptic feedback whenever your tap, to key decisions like the game’s nostalgia-inducing voxel aesthetic, Crossy Road oozes arcade charm.
  4. Dec 2, 2014
    90
    Crossy Road is how free gaming should be done. It's fun fast-paced gameplay is a blast to pass the time while waiting in lines or just if you want to zone out for a while. However, if you're someone that needs some depth to be entertained you won't find it here.
  5. Apple'N'Apps
    Nov 20, 2014
    80
    Crossy Road is a blast to play each time, presenting a simple mechanic fashioned into a thrilling challenge that is a great pick-up.
  6. Jan 15, 2015
    80
    A simple, fun and entertaining casual game, with a beautiful "cubic" art style and lots of characters to unlock.
  7. Nov 24, 2014
    80
    Frogger-like in nature, Crossy Road is an easy to recommend endless runner of sorts.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    The game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rateThe game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rate this 10/10 Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2015
    9
    This game is very fun, and is the new frogger. The most addicting part about this, is that you can get new characters. Thats the reason I'mThis game is very fun, and is the new frogger. The most addicting part about this, is that you can get new characters. Thats the reason I'm still playing to this day. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2014
    9
    This is way better than flappy bird. Instead of maneuvering through pipes you're crossing the road, much like frogger, but better than froggerThis is way better than flappy bird. Instead of maneuvering through pipes you're crossing the road, much like frogger, but better than frogger too. If you take too long to cross you become dinner for an eagle or chicken hawk? That changes the dynamic of the game tremendously, from frogger for some reason and makes it really fun. Emulates the intensity of flappy bird but more addicting. Could benefit from special powers or powerups, that slow down time, or extra lives, or invulnerability, or powerhops (long jumps), diagonal hops, unsinkable, undrownable, radioactive, etc... for the straightforward simple game that it is, like flappybird. its very well polished and addictive. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2015
    8
    Quite addictive, although not perfect. It has crashed and lagged much more than any of my other apps, but it was still mostly my phone. It isQuite addictive, although not perfect. It has crashed and lagged much more than any of my other apps, but it was still mostly my phone. It is also ridiculously hard to get new characters after a while, and I'm not using $1 on this anytime soon. Other than that a good game, but again... not perfect. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2015
    8
    Crossy Road is fun and addictive, with so many playable characters! But the fact that you have to watch boring ads to earn money, and thenCrossy Road is fun and addictive, with so many playable characters! But the fact that you have to watch boring ads to earn money, and then even unlock characters you already own in the prize machine is annoying, especially when you are forced to buy them with real money. But it's still one of my favourite apps. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2017
    8
    Pros
    -Exciting gameplay
    -Simple mechanics -Free Cons -Quite addicting Crossy road is a video game where you play as an animal
    Pros
    -Exciting gameplay

    -Simple mechanics

    -Free

    Cons
    -Quite addicting

    Crossy road is a video game where you play as an animal and try to get along a map as far as possible without getting hit by cars, trucks, etc. This is truly a game for all age because of its simple mechanics and exciting gameplay. And the best part about it is that it’s free on Google Play and the App Store.

    I downloaded this game around 4 months ago and in that time span it has become one of my altime favorite mobile games. As I got farther into the game (collecting more characters) I found that all the characters have their own “personality” so to speak. With each animal/character making there own sound as they get run over by a car. Another cool feature is that some of the characters change the landscape to fit that character's’ style, like an old west character would be in a old west landscape. I guess this could count as easter egg, so Hipster Whale, the creators of the game made one of the collectable characters. . . Hipster Whale. A great bonus to this game is that you can post your high scores on a leaderboard so you can see how you compare to your friends.

    In my opinion, Crossy road is a great game for younger children because of its simple mechanics and fast-paced, exciting gameplay. Also if you have a Windows computer you can download it off of the Microsoft store free. If I had a choice between $20, and Crossy Road, I’d choose Crossy Road because is so good it shouldn’t be free. If you have any questions about Crossy Road, leave a comment and I’ll reply.
    Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2017
    4
    Crossy Road has really lost it's touch sadly. I used to play this game religiously but now I find myself barely ever playing which sucks. TheCrossy Road has really lost it's touch sadly. I used to play this game religiously but now I find myself barely ever playing which sucks. The problem is that there is no reason to keep playing there aren't many updates nor events to keep people happy. It was fun while it lasted but it slowly lost it's touch. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014 Image
    Published: December 17, 2014
    Inside, we rank the 25 best-reviewed iOS games of the year.