Mario Kart Tour Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario and friends go global in this new Mario Kart as they race around courses inspired by real-world cities in addition to classic Mario Kart courses! These destinations will be featured in tours that rotate every two weeks! In addition to courses based on iconic locales, some of yourMario and friends go global in this new Mario Kart as they race around courses inspired by real-world cities in addition to classic Mario Kart courses! These destinations will be featured in tours that rotate every two weeks! In addition to courses based on iconic locales, some of your favorite Mario Kart characters will get variations that incorporate the local flavor of cities featured in the game. Expand
Buy Now
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Sep 26, 2019
    90
    Mario Kart Tour isn’t perfect, but it is Nintendo’s best offering on mobile yet, and one that manages to completely avoid pay to win in the freemium space. That’s pretty commendable stuff.
  2. Sep 26, 2019
    70
    Get used to Mario Kart Tour’s unconventional control system and ignore its overpriced and unnecessary subscription service and you’re left with a fun, free mobile take on the series. It was never going to replace Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, but by not including an energy system and promising regular new content Nintendo is at least offering a decent alternative to pass the time when you’re out and about without your Switch.
  3. Oct 2, 2019
    70
    Monetization really does stand out as being greedy and egregious, but it can't mask what is an otherwise fun adaptation of the Mario Kart formula on mobile.
  4. Oct 6, 2019
    60
    We’ve had some fun with Mario Kart Tour but, overall, is a disappointing game. Poor control and a omnipresent free-to-play system are simply not good enough for this franchise.
  5. Sep 27, 2019
    55
    The prospect of unlocking every part and every racer depends entirely on draining your wallet - but there is a good chance that I will keep returning with millions of others. The attraction of Mario Kart is even in its diluted form and with a dirty aftertaste too large to resist.
  6. Oct 2, 2019
    50
    Mario Kart Tour could have been a decent outing for the series (not a great one by any means), but its held back by its aggressive and obnoxious microtransaction system.
  7. Sep 29, 2019
    30
    A good looking but shallow repurposing of Nintendo’s classic kart racers, transforming it form the world’s favourite racing game to a cynical, and disturbingly persistent, cash grab.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 123
  2. Negative: 75 out of 123
  1. Sep 26, 2019
    10
    I really can't understand all the hate with this game. The same thing that happened in a different way with Mario run. The currency system isI really can't understand all the hate with this game. The same thing that happened in a different way with Mario run. The currency system is irrelevant if you play the game because you earn good rewards as well by playing the Cups.
    And the gameplay is really amazing for a mobile game. I'll only subscribe in some months after I'm sure that I'v already beaten every cups.
    Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2021
    9
    Very good gameplay, but not good controls. Also this game has 90+% Pay to Win system.
  3. Sep 27, 2019
    6
    this game was pretty disappointing, i really hate the fact you have to buy Mario just to play him, this is pretty much a cash grabber bythis game was pretty disappointing, i really hate the fact you have to buy Mario just to play him, this is pretty much a cash grabber by Nintendo i think the only really good games they have for phone is either Super Mario Run, (which i really like) and animal crossing pocket camp, and maybe fire emblem, (i don't know if it's good or not.) Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2019
    3
    The game is vertical, which is a bad start.
    Its heavily pay to win, needing to open essentially loot boxes to get characters you need. The
    The game is vertical, which is a bad start.
    Its heavily pay to win, needing to open essentially loot boxes to get characters you need. The only good part about the game is the tracks and stages. Also how could they have 4 Mario's but no luigi? If you haven't already, check out the price of the diddy long pack; its 28.99, the same price as mario kart 8 deluxe on amazon! How could nintendo give us this shocking scam of a game
    Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2019
    2
    I dunno what to say. The controls aren't great, the micro-transactions are expensive and unnecessary. I enjoyed it at first, but when I sawI dunno what to say. The controls aren't great, the micro-transactions are expensive and unnecessary. I enjoyed it at first, but when I saw the bigger picture I was SHOCKED. I wouldn't recommend this game. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2022
    1
    The idea to bring Mariokart on phones is very nice. But the game himself is really bad. Nothing you would play longer than 5 minutes becauseThe idea to bring Mariokart on phones is very nice. But the game himself is really bad. Nothing you would play longer than 5 minutes because it's always the same boring thing with the same terrible controls. Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2019
    0
    Só micro transacções, nas pistas mais difíceis quase nem vale apena tentar.

See all 123 User Reviews