Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jun 9, 2014
    83
    What pleasantly surprised me is that A Story About My Uncle doesn't focus exclusively on the story itself, but puts great emphasis on the simple yet engrossing narrative. This results in a high sense of immersion which becomes apparent only at the very end of the narration. ASAMU is certainly a non-violent interactive story videogame that pushes the genre one step forward, through its platforming mechanics. For anyone who thought Dear Esther as a surprising alternative to conventional gaming, ASAMU will certainly not disappoint.
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    80
    The premise of the story is interesting and gets you hooked, and even though the game is linear and demands near perfect execution for many of its puzzles, it's still an interesting mechanical and visual experience, but A Story About My Uncle ultimately disappoints by ending very abruptly and not getting anywhere.
  3. Jun 27, 2014
    80
    The production by Gone North Games is able to offer a great gaming experience, which, however, suffers from a longevity may be inadequate. Despite this flaw is recommended buying the stock, and will not fail to satisfy lovers of the good platform supported by suggestive settings.
  4. Jun 25, 2014
    80
    A unique platform game with clever ideas, imaginative gameplay and a well written story. A Story About My Uncle is one of a few indie titles you can buy immediately without waiting for a flash sale or a bundle.
  5. Jun 5, 2014
    80
    With a price point of only $15, A Story About My Uncle is a must-own for anyone who loves games that make them think and can appreciate a good platforming challenge as well.
  6. Jun 5, 2014
    80
    Unfortunately, the last quarter of A Story About My Uncle does become a little too repetitive, and slightly overly obscure grapple set pieces require blind luck more often than skill. That said, this is still a great adventure - one which will return you to childhood fantasy, and one which will far from get your goat.
  7. May 28, 2014
    80
    A captivating and engaging experience. Once you put on that suit and are launched into the sky, you begin a journey that will have you smiling throughout, even during the challenging moments.
  8. May 27, 2014
    80
    A Story About My Uncle is a fast, evocative and surprisingly good first person platform.
  9. Apr 27, 2015
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. Sep 14, 2014
    78
    A Story About My Uncle has got a nice concept, great controls and some nice level design, but it feels like a game that could have been so much better with more depth and polish.
  11. Jun 4, 2014
    78
    Fast, fluid and fun first-person platforming tied together with a warm narrative. Pace slows near the end, though.
  12. Jun 3, 2014
    78
    It’s a short experience, clocking in at only a few hours, but it’s an adventure I enjoyed taking.
  13. As the first game from Gone North, A Story About My Uncle is a great start for the studio. Effective storytelling and dynamic gameplay mechanics are the best side of this game. However there are some bugs, but still ASAMU is worth playing.
  14. Aug 25, 2014
    75
    A Story About My Uncle accomplishes its goal of creating a feeling through controls that many games aspire to, but fail to grasp. My biggest takeaway from the game was wishing there was more of it; the game does a phenomenal job of making it exciting merely to be present in and move about its world, if only for a fleeting visit.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 158
  2. Negative: 18 out of 158
  1. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    An amazing idea for a game! Although more serious then Goat simulator, the magic is still there, and I absolutely love it! Great graphics,An amazing idea for a game! Although more serious then Goat simulator, the magic is still there, and I absolutely love it! Great graphics, story, and gameplay! 10/10 Full Review »
  2. May 31, 2014
    9
    This is a beautiful idea for a game - myst (adventure) meets dreamfall (RPG) meets Journey (nonviolent exploration) meets an FPS withoutThis is a beautiful idea for a game - myst (adventure) meets dreamfall (RPG) meets Journey (nonviolent exploration) meets an FPS without weapons. I loved it and highly encourage trying it. This is a novel, gorgeous play experience that is as simple as it is captivating. It is somewhat short, but I prefer quality to quantity. In the future, moar like this please! Let the creation of this new genre develop further! Full Review »
  3. Jun 22, 2020
    8
    beautiful game. not extraordinary, but worth playing. kinda forgettable, at least for me.