Advent Rising Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Advent Rising, a common legend pervades the galaxy - that of a powerful, ancient race that will one day unite the universe. Millions of cultures from vastly distant worlds revere and hallow these mythological beings known as humans. One race, the Seekers, know humans actually exist andIn Advent Rising, a common legend pervades the galaxy - that of a powerful, ancient race that will one day unite the universe. Millions of cultures from vastly distant worlds revere and hallow these mythological beings known as humans. One race, the Seekers, know humans actually exist and are threatened by their potential power. Under the guise of benevolent explorers, the Seekers travel throughout the galaxy in a desperate attempt to eradicate any human society they unearth. Players assume the role of Gideon Wyeth, a remnant of the last human outpost, on the brink of discovering the incredible powers that lay dormant within him. It is these powers the Seekers are so desperate to suppress. [Majesco] Expand
Watch Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Advent Rising Official Movie 4
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 100
    It is both fun and engaging with a magnificent story, great dialog and a score that is not to be missed. It’s an experience that is well worth the money.
  2. Advent Rising is interactive fiction at its finest. This is what Halo wanted to be; hell, it’s what Star Wars wanted to be. Orson can write circles around George Lucas when it comes to stories, characters, and dialogue.
  3. The control issues are a thorn in the game’s side, no doubt, however you eventually do reach some level comfort with the handles to enjoy the non-stop, thrill-a-minute shooting action enough to forgive some of the annoyances.
  4. It's short but it's good. There are some flaws that you need to overlook but there's nothing here that will ruin the entire experience. The lack of a co-op or multi-player modes reduces the replay value but you can go back and experiment with different combinations of powers.
  5. PC Gamer
    62
    There are better games, but not too many better B-grade scripts. [Dec 2005, p.88]
  6. Ultimately, Advent Rising shoots for the stars but barely breaks orbit. [Nov 2005, p.94]
  7. After gaining psychic powers, the game becomes amazingly easy. Additionally, the storytelling isn't very good and the game is riddled with bugs and design flaws.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 55
  2. Negative: 3 out of 55
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    The best story line ever, probably better than FF7! the game was made for the 360 so theres no suprise no one picked up a copy, since theyThe best story line ever, probably better than FF7! the game was made for the 360 so theres no suprise no one picked up a copy, since they where just getting there hands on the 360 they wanted to play with the best graphics at that time, even though the graphics on this game is the best i saw for the original xbox, the company rushed it and made it flop. I just wish I could play the last two games and find out what happens. the game play and the story line along with the graphics (kickass) Expand
  2. PatrickS.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    The game was awesome and we need a sequel!
  3. DustinP
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    ok ok every game has a few flaws however as far as a game that takes away bordom this is perfect a story line that is damn near better then ok ok every game has a few flaws however as far as a game that takes away bordom this is perfect a story line that is damn near better then Halo and a fun experience t be like a god without being a god its newish and exciting the PC version is the only one ive played the controls are simple and easy to use easy to learn i truly enjoyed this game and this is omming from someone who though COD4 sucked online play is ok for a bit and the offline play sucked hardcore however Advent Risiong beats teh majority of those games it is fun and not boring like the others and needs to have a sequel maybe change the physics engine make it look prettyer and set us up with some more powers more story and lets see the humans conquer lets see them find another planet with others that band togetehr to take out the seekers i think it was wonderfull and needs more much much more maybe say forget the trilogy lets go right for a series and keep it going there is no limit to the potential of this story. Expand
  4. Mystic
    Aug 13, 2005
    9
    Don't let stupid critics fool you. This game is phenomenol. I found it more fun than HALO and the ending is the BEST I have ever seen. Kick ass!
  5. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    The story in this game is surprisingly good and the gameplay is not bad either. I didn't expect anything of this game, but I certainly got aThe story in this game is surprisingly good and the gameplay is not bad either. I didn't expect anything of this game, but I certainly got a good amount of fun out of it. Too bad there is no continuation as of yet. Expand
  6. GF
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    The game is really fun to play and the graphics are very stylish. I really enjoyed this game.
  7. RyanT
    Jul 1, 2009
    3
    The only good thin about the game is the storyline. The gameplay is choppy and riddled with bugs. The developers apparently could not make The only good thin about the game is the storyline. The gameplay is choppy and riddled with bugs. The developers apparently could not make the decision if it should be an action/adventure game or a FPS. In my opinion most of the bugs that I dealt with should have been found during testing; although Majesco has no way to contact them about said bugs. I spent $10 on the game and I feel like I have wasted my money. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews