User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 70
  2. Negative: 28 out of 70
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2020
    6
    I haven't had any performance issues or crashes personally, but the game doesn't really look that much better than the original. There are also plenty of sound issues, especially volume and mixing related since there are several units whose responses are almost inaudible. There are also tons of bugs from the old version that haven't been fixed, like pathfinding and units gettingI haven't had any performance issues or crashes personally, but the game doesn't really look that much better than the original. There are also plenty of sound issues, especially volume and mixing related since there are several units whose responses are almost inaudible. There are also tons of bugs from the old version that haven't been fixed, like pathfinding and units getting permanently stuck on terrain. Multiplayer is also really buggy, with disappearing lobbies, unable to observe games, unable to invite friends etc.

    In general, this is an overall weak effort from the developers. This is not some awesome transformative remaster of the game, plus it needs a lot of patches to become acceptable. It is currently not an essential purchase. Wait a year.
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2020
    1
    An absolute disgrace to Ensemble Studios legacy and everything they built. They have the gall to think they know better by reworking the foundational mechanics of some of the in game factions. As a result it has produced new game breaking bugs like crashes and a completely disfunctional AI. Shame on you Forgotten Empires.
  3. Oct 18, 2020
    6
    A good upgrade for the most part, the changes to Native Americans is fine, if a little under implemented. It plays well so long as it doesn't crash, which it does. Often. On very good hardware, on average hardware, and on bad hardware. Doesn't matter, I've had maybe 4 crashes out of 12 or so multiplayer games played. It is buggy and crashes frequently. If you crash in a multiplayer game,A good upgrade for the most part, the changes to Native Americans is fine, if a little under implemented. It plays well so long as it doesn't crash, which it does. Often. On very good hardware, on average hardware, and on bad hardware. Doesn't matter, I've had maybe 4 crashes out of 12 or so multiplayer games played. It is buggy and crashes frequently. If you crash in a multiplayer game, you're out. You can't reconnect, if you time out of the game because you crash, you just resign. It's lame. Until then, you're lucky if you can get it to work properly on windows 10. Units gets stuck behind trade posts, unable to move. Until these bugs/crashes are fixed, the game is not really worth buying unless you're playing with friends. I've had zero crashed in the original AoE3, but crashes aplenty in definitive. Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2021
    0
    The game itself is easily a 10/10. It is balanced, it improves the gameplay from previous entries of the saga.

    The problem comes to the Definitive Edition itself: not only is full of bugs (new bugs come with every update), but the game has also received some unnecessary changes. It’s a game about COLONIZATION, don’t start on the moral high ground and talk about how colonization was a bad
    The game itself is easily a 10/10. It is balanced, it improves the gameplay from previous entries of the saga.

    The problem comes to the Definitive Edition itself: not only is full of bugs (new bugs come with every update), but the game has also received some unnecessary changes.
    It’s a game about COLONIZATION, don’t start on the moral high ground and talk about how colonization was a bad thing and so on. I don’t care about it: I WANT TO PLAY THE GAME.

    Devs invested so much time about this politically correctness non sense: if half of this time were invested in fixing bugs, then we would have a working game.
    Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2021
    10
    The simple AOE2 minds are here to hate on the game by writing untrue reviews of the game.

    The game is awesome and for Age of Empires 4, they need to look into the direction AoE3 went rather than the unstrategic dumb AoE2 game.
  6. Oct 17, 2020
    3
    Worse than the original game, 15 years later. Is this what they meant by it would be epic?
  7. Oct 18, 2020
    4
    It looks good and sounds excellent, but they've made a few choices that just don't make sense. AI pathfinding is even worse than the original, all of the home city upgrades are unlocked from square one, and the new voice lines are pretty annoying. I also find it pretty disingenuous that they've tried to lean into "social awareness" regarding the Native factions, but have kept the "on honIt looks good and sounds excellent, but they've made a few choices that just don't make sense. AI pathfinding is even worse than the original, all of the home city upgrades are unlocked from square one, and the new voice lines are pretty annoying. I also find it pretty disingenuous that they've tried to lean into "social awareness" regarding the Native factions, but have kept the "on hon hon" French accent for Napoleon and the "Sank you, so solly" Japanese accent for Tokugawa. It reeks of "how do you do, fellow social justice seekers :)" and it comes across as forced, unnecessary, and hypocritical.

    Politics aside though this just isn't worth it if you have the game already. While the new water effects look great and the new soundtrack is just outstanding, unless you're desperate for online multiplayer that works very easily you can safely skip this.
    Expand
  8. Oct 17, 2020
    0
    I'ts a shame this game is not even near the old one made in 2007!. it's totaly bugged nothing works like should be in 2020 like good connections, a good broswer to filter matches a good graphic a fluid gameplay. its totaly bugged seems its made from people that never played age! (also never coded maybe). How it possible you are not ranked how to make fair teams? you should play age 3I'ts a shame this game is not even near the old one made in 2007!. it's totaly bugged nothing works like should be in 2020 like good connections, a good broswer to filter matches a good graphic a fluid gameplay. its totaly bugged seems its made from people that never played age! (also never coded maybe). How it possible you are not ranked how to make fair teams? you should play age 3 before doing remaster of it. i'm also secure that those people are not from relic because also coh is way better than this. you should give money back to everyone and apologize that you have ruined a title and you are not any good to make a game also with a huge base and not making it from zero. it's a shame that microsoft let do it to this companies where the **** you come from do indie insted of competitive rts. Expand
  9. Oct 16, 2020
    8
    A quick review (personal experience):

    The game runs fine on my computer tbh, so i don't know why many others are complaining about their own negative experience with it so far? (if i do notice changes or whatever, i'll surely add them here down below in due time..) That being said, it looks rather nice and sounds great as well. (no problems with optimization as of yet?) My rig isn't
    A quick review (personal experience):

    The game runs fine on my computer tbh, so i don't know why many others are complaining about their own negative experience with it so far? (if i do notice changes or whatever, i'll surely add them here down below in due time..)

    That being said, it looks rather nice and sounds great as well. (no problems with optimization as of yet?)
    My rig isn't the newest or best to say the least and the settings were auto set to High (didn't change a thing)..

    I'm currently enjoying myself playing AoE 3: Definitive Edition. (i do own previous disk copies from way back in the day)
    But as with all newly released titles, updates and patches need to be given early so everyone could enjoy it equally much.

    Let's hope there's more to this game than just a "unoptimized" cash grab for us oldtimers (like me) and newcomers alike.
    So, as said above, i'll add more to this review as the game progresses. (in either good or bad times..)

    As promised, a little update:

    Having noticed that the pathfinding has some issues and there are some minor graphical glitches to be seen at times, i know (or expect) most of them will likely get ironed out with the coming patches..

    I'm not entirely sure (i'm not a games developer etc) how deep this goes into the coding, but let's hope and see if the devs are indeed still actively seeking for any possible solutions to whatever issues this game might have.
    Expand
  10. Oct 16, 2020
    0
    Age of Mythology is not historically accurate so why try to make AOE DE historically accurate? People want a game that they enjoy playing not a history lesson. They could care less if it is historically accurate or not. They didn't back when the original AOE was released why would they care about it now? Again like I said we do not want a history lesson. We want to play a game. Instead,Age of Mythology is not historically accurate so why try to make AOE DE historically accurate? People want a game that they enjoy playing not a history lesson. They could care less if it is historically accurate or not. They didn't back when the original AOE was released why would they care about it now? Again like I said we do not want a history lesson. We want to play a game. Instead, more time should have been invested in making a bug free game. This game seemed more like a downgrade than an upgrade. The sound is very low quality and inaccurate. The graphics for some reason don't seem too impressive as they should be maybe because of the inaccuracies of the sound. Something seems off. Like I said bugs should have been a priority. Expand
  11. Oct 17, 2020
    3
    I wrote s long review but metacritic didn’t upload it. Anyway, the game is NOT an improvement of age3 but instead feels like a worse chinese copy where they added some extra features that barely work.
    Its like they said: ”hey, you should buy age4 :)”
    Will maybe buy again if they fix the game, but for now I’ve requested a refund
  12. Oct 17, 2020
    0
    Compared to the original this version is bad bad bad. The lag is horrific. Did they use the same servers as the original or they did invest in new servers? Because this game feels like it's lagging even worse than the original. The sound is terrible and to be more specific I think the problem lies in the sound effects. The sound effects are way off the mark for example when a villager isCompared to the original this version is bad bad bad. The lag is horrific. Did they use the same servers as the original or they did invest in new servers? Because this game feels like it's lagging even worse than the original. The sound is terrible and to be more specific I think the problem lies in the sound effects. The sound effects are way off the mark for example when a villager is building something instead of the sound of a hammer beating on a nail or a hammer beating on wood it actually sounds like someone getting wiped with a belt. I think what made the original AOE 3 great was the feel and that is what was removed. Historical accuracies are not necessary. it's a video game and there really is no need to be politically correct. We miss Ensemble Studios who had a passion for this game and had they done this version I bet it would have been great. Expand
  13. Oct 16, 2020
    2
    So I am playing the first campaign and after some missions I am being switched to a completely different campaign and half of its missions are unlocked.
    If a dev studio cannot hire QA to perform a simple task as going through all its missions and validating that they are being unlocked in a correct order, I cannot imagine what other bugs (new and regression) I can come across with this
    So I am playing the first campaign and after some missions I am being switched to a completely different campaign and half of its missions are unlocked.
    If a dev studio cannot hire QA to perform a simple task as going through all its missions and validating that they are being unlocked in a correct order, I cannot imagine what other bugs (new and regression) I can come across with this "Definitive" edition.
    Expand
  14. Oct 20, 2020
    10
    The game is really good , I love this game and the development team (Ensemble Studios)
  15. Oct 17, 2020
    10
    Вполне себе добротное обновление довольно старой стратегии, по приемлемой цене. Красивая и улучшенная графика, обновлённый и удобный интерфейс, новые режимы и уже включённые все DLC, а так же 2 абсолютно новые цивилизации.Вполне себе добротное обновление довольно старой стратегии, по приемлемой цене. Красивая и улучшенная графика, обновлённый и удобный интерфейс, новые режимы и уже включённые все DLC, а так же 2 абсолютно новые цивилизации.
  16. Oct 20, 2020
    3
    The netcode is disastrous, it has not been updated at all. You have connection problems, lag and lack of smoothness in the animations of the units in the online. I give it a 3, as long as they don't fix the netcode of the online multiplayer.
  17. Dec 15, 2020
    10
    For sure an improvement over original, low score due to r/convervative being snowflakes so freely add 1.5 points to current score
  18. Oct 20, 2020
    1
    J'ai passé des 100ènes d'heurs sur age of empires 3 original.
    C'est un jeu qui fait partie de mes jeux les plus cultes.
    Mais je pense que je vais pas rester longtemps sûr cette version car j'ai déjà envie de retourné sur l'ancienne version. Points positifes - Plus beau et plus fluide que l'original - Nouveau contenu Point négatifes - Le jeu crash une partie sûr deux. - Le jeu
    J'ai passé des 100ènes d'heurs sur age of empires 3 original.
    C'est un jeu qui fait partie de mes jeux les plus cultes.
    Mais je pense que je vais pas rester longtemps sûr cette version car j'ai déjà envie de retourné sur l'ancienne version.

    Points positifes
    - Plus beau et plus fluide que l'original
    - Nouveau contenu

    Point négatifes
    - Le jeu crash une partie sûr deux.
    - Le jeu bug
    - Plus aucun intérêt d'augementé le niveau de ces civilisations
    - Tous est débloqué depuis le début = Sentiment d'avoir jouer pour rien = Frustration
    - Censures progressistes habituelle 2020 oblige
    - Problème de changement de langue dans le jeu
    - Campagne encore plus bugé que le reste du jeu
    Expand
  19. Oct 24, 2020
    6
    the game closes suddenly on 1vs1 ranked matches, thats the mayor problem why i stopped playing. Also closes appear game doesnt respond" on windows when playing 4vs4
  20. Oct 26, 2020
    9
    An immense step up for what we thought would be a slight graphical update. With tons of new content and dedicated servers, and with a few more bug fix patches, this will be one of the best RTS re-releases to date.

    Pros: - Tons and tons of new content, for both European and Native civs. Also, the Chinese can now use more than one army type. This includes new politicians, a few new
    An immense step up for what we thought would be a slight graphical update. With tons of new content and dedicated servers, and with a few more bug fix patches, this will be one of the best RTS re-releases to date.

    Pros:

    - Tons and tons of new content, for both European and Native civs. Also, the Chinese can now use more than one army type. This includes new politicians, a few new mechanics, and an expanded new revolution system.

    - Dedication to competitive multiplayer, in terms of both gameplay improvements as well as balance changes. One of the new civs is seen as a bit overpowered still and there are a few kinks left here and there, but if the devs development cycle is anything near to AoE2:DE (which everything seems to be pointing to), the game will be patched regularly. If you'd rather wait and see, that's completely understandable too.

    - If you're not one of the unlucky people that have game breaking bugs, the server infrastructure is actually really solid. Cross-continent play is (when not bugging) surprisingly lag free. For example, Europeans can play on the Korean server without practically any gamebreaking lag, which is really nice.

    - Fluid, competent and modern UI.

    Neutral:

    - No public ELO in casual games, so no easy way to filter through casual games based on ELO, but also no ELO sniping either. Some people are really pissed about this, but it also fixed a few large problems with the original release. If this is an issue for you, you'll need to wait and see if the devs implement something to let high-ELO people avoid low-ELO casual games and vice versa.

    - As stated earlier, some names have been changed here and there. If this bothers you, there is a mod that will revert the name changes back.

    Cons:

    - Some people are experiencing severe game breaking bugs, as well as other visual bugs. Be prepared to wait or refund if you're experiencing these. These include bugs that stop you from progressing in the campaign, connecting to people or seeing multiplayer lobbies.

    - No singleplayer skirmish progression, if you're interested in that.

    - If you didn't like AoE3 before, you'll most likely not like it now, except if the home city unlocking was your only gripe.

    - The game runs very poorly on some systems, so you'll have to try your luck with the games graphical performance quirks.

    - The clan and replay functionalities don't work properly all the time at the moment.

    - Chinese voicelines and localisation is bad, and in some cases buggy as well.

    - Several other localizations are buggy too.

    - We need a balance patch or two to even out some multiplayer quirks. [Link omitted per site policy]
    Expand
  21. Jan 25, 2021
    2
    Просто кусок параши вместо нормального ремастера, графика осталась ровно такой же как и в далеком 2008, зато фпс проседает так, словно я зашел в рдр, еще я умолчу про бесконечное количество багов и вылетов, из плюсов это две новых цивилизации и... все, но это не может компенсировать общую неиграбельность (из 8 партий я смог доиграть только 4, в других нас с друзьями просто кикало/отключалоПросто кусок параши вместо нормального ремастера, графика осталась ровно такой же как и в далеком 2008, зато фпс проседает так, словно я зашел в рдр, еще я умолчу про бесконечное количество багов и вылетов, из плюсов это две новых цивилизации и... все, но это не может компенсировать общую неиграбельность (из 8 партий я смог доиграть только 4, в других нас с друзьями просто кикало/отключало от сервера/игра вылетала)
    26.01.2021 UPD: сейчас многое пофиксили, подправили, в общем, стало играбельно. Оценку менять не буду, потому что то, что они выпустили на старте, нельзя простить
    Expand
  22. Oct 18, 2020
    3
    Unfortunately, the creators are leftist morons, who allow themselves to censor the word colonial. Plus the game is buggy and poorly optimised.
  23. Oct 18, 2020
    10
    The remaster is so good. So many new changes like new civilizations, maps, game modes, new campaign missions, awesome detailed graphics, the best age game I’ve played!!!
  24. Oct 17, 2020
    0
    Как игра age of empires 3 definitive edition - всё ещё точно такая же хорошая ртс, но как ремастер - кусок вонючего, мерзкого, противного говнища, с кучей червей и мух. Если вы думаете, что ремастеры делают, чтобы добавить новые идеи и улучшить старые, то вы очень сильно ошиблись, когда подумали так про эпоху империй. У старой игры был ворох проблем. Во-первых, итерфейс. Угловатый,Как игра age of empires 3 definitive edition - всё ещё точно такая же хорошая ртс, но как ремастер - кусок вонючего, мерзкого, противного говнища, с кучей червей и мух. Если вы думаете, что ремастеры делают, чтобы добавить новые идеи и улучшить старые, то вы очень сильно ошиблись, когда подумали так про эпоху империй. У старой игры был ворох проблем. Во-первых, итерфейс. Угловатый, занимающий полэкрана и просто выглядящий отвратительно со своими этими иконками мяса и дров - он полностью перекочевал в ремастер и теперь бесит своим видом и в 20(мать его!)20 году! Сука!! Интерфейс в империи - это так как делать НЕ НАДО, но разрабы этого не поняли, они подумали, что это фишка серии или еще что-то и облажались. Во-вторых, это графика. Клянусь, дать вам два скриншота и вы никогда в жизни не поймете, где ремастер, а где оригнал. Как может в 20(СУКА!!!!)20 году игра выглядеть точно также как в 2008? - спросите у кретинов-разрабов. В результате весь ремастер - это переиздание старой игры в новом году. Гениально, сука! 10 из 10 толстых членов вам в рот. Expand
  25. Oct 20, 2020
    10
    The game is a blast and the negative reviews are just superficial whining. Yes it needs patches but remember aoe2de? Chill and enjoy some colonialism bois. See you all on the battlefield.
  26. Oct 16, 2020
    10
    amazing new game, practically everything improved, 2 new civilizations and 8 new revolutions. Personally I loved that they respected the factions historically, in terms of uniforms and names, highly recommended
  27. Oct 22, 2020
    10
    The game is great, if you liked Age of Empires 3 you'll love this.

    Bugs are a YMMV type situation, I've played several games already and had 0 issues personally.

    Ironic, the people complaining about the "dev agenda" are just trying to enforce an agenda of their own.
  28. Oct 24, 2020
    4
    Aoe3 DE by itself is already a problematic game, but the fact that this was a remasted done by one of the largest companies on earth trully shows that the Dutch Diseases may also be present on the gaming industry.

    For starters: I have no idea of why the game is so heavy and badly optimized (I will put my two cents on the new models). There are mods and fan projects of the original game
    Aoe3 DE by itself is already a problematic game, but the fact that this was a remasted done by one of the largest companies on earth trully shows that the Dutch Diseases may also be present on the gaming industry.

    For starters: I have no idea of why the game is so heavy and badly optimized (I will put my two cents on the new models). There are mods and fan projects of the original game with good enough designs that were infinitelly lighter than this one (and mind you, with a better color pallete and saturation).

    Secondly, the multiplayer does not properly work. The age of Empires remakes and HDs are known for being bad, but the last AOE and AOE3 DE really settle a lower a bar from what was already underground.

    Third: The game fortunatelly adds some aspects of fan patches of the original aoe3, but their insistency in archaic mechanics (like the way that some natives colect gold) leads to a more slugish game, as many of those mechanics dont fit here.

    The menus got clumcky and confusing. Homecity cards are just ''thrown'' in the Metropolis without any visual consideration. Honestly, the visual designers don't seen to have put much tough on the subject at all.

    Lastly, regarding the changes to some ''Problematic'' age names and abilities: Changing the Natives power of converting animals was a good move (even back them it was a Pocahantas steryotype) but everything else? Changing colonial to commerce, plantations, etc. They put their hand on a fire on purpose being fully aware that people would take that bait, and sure as hell it brought atention. But i don't recomend you biting it. Unecessary changes that only serve to havoc the community.

    If you want to play Age Of Empires 3, buy the complete colection. It is cheap, it is light, it has a great fan patch (Esoc) and it works online.
    Expand
  29. Nov 2, 2020
    3
    This has been such a lazy remake of an original game. Despite some improvements, there are a tonne of bugs and continued issues from the first game.

    Pros: * Graphics look great * Audio including theme songs sound fantastic * Card system improved (although new cards could be added as feels more basic) to make your game your own Cons: * Disconnection issues with players not being
    This has been such a lazy remake of an original game. Despite some improvements, there are a tonne of bugs and continued issues from the first game.

    Pros:
    * Graphics look great
    * Audio including theme songs sound fantastic
    * Card system improved (although new cards could be added as feels more basic) to make your
    game your own

    Cons:
    * Disconnection issues with players not being able to reconnect to games (why is this a thing in
    2020 especially after this being a problem on the original
    * Tonnes of bugs of characters getting stuck on things
    * Upgrades for units to go from Veteran to Guard etc, there aren't directly below each unit (this was a
    problem in the original, the whole point of a remaster is to fix problems...
    * Steam update not at same time of Xbox update so can't play with friends on Steam due to them not
    pushing updates at the same time and have to wait till they both get updated.
    * Renaming to be politically correct on a game that is set in the 1800s is ridiculous and so SJW
    focused
    * AI bot games, sometimes enemy character's economy stays at like 60 as they don't build their
    empire as glitched out
    * Lots of lagging with times when it takes up to 15 seconds to register a click
    * Poorly optimised and runs at a very low FPS
    * Stuck at 200 population (now that hardware is more powerful, maybe allow this to be changed to allow for bigger battles. Also allow you to select more than 50 units at a time.

    Overall this is merely a slight refresh with some very minor improvements but a tonne of issues of things not fixed and other bugs. Glad I didn't buy it on Steam but play on Xbox Game pass in my subscription.
    Expand
  30. Oct 21, 2020
    10
    Very good remaster! I like it. Graphics is nice, sound, etc. Everything on its place.
  31. Oct 18, 2020
    9
    It's a good quality remaster.
    Finally, the 2 extensions are combined and it is very practical.
    The graphics are better, but lacking in clarity, the far view is a bit blurry compared to the zoomed view. The new game modes like historical battles are great, too bad there are only 6. A lot of negative opinions concern bugs and crashes (especially present in multiplayer), and it's true it's
    It's a good quality remaster.
    Finally, the 2 extensions are combined and it is very practical.
    The graphics are better, but lacking in clarity, the far view is a bit blurry compared to the zoomed view. The new game modes like historical battles are great, too bad there are only 6.
    A lot of negative opinions concern bugs and crashes (especially present in multiplayer), and it's true it's annoying, but once corrected, this remaster will be a real improvement.
    Expand
  32. Oct 17, 2020
    10
    I wonder what people are expecting from a remaster. It has better graphics, better resolution and works better on new PCs. That is exactly what AOE3:DE is doing.
    If you didn't like the 2005 version or the enhanced one released a few years ago, don't bother buying this one, you won't like it either. But if, like me, you loved the previous versions with a passion and wants to play a version
    I wonder what people are expecting from a remaster. It has better graphics, better resolution and works better on new PCs. That is exactly what AOE3:DE is doing.
    If you didn't like the 2005 version or the enhanced one released a few years ago, don't bother buying this one, you won't like it either. But if, like me, you loved the previous versions with a passion and wants to play a version enhanced for your 2019 rig, then pay 20$ and you won't regret it.
    Expand
  33. Oct 18, 2020
    10
    Excelente remasterización le doy un 10, me gusto mucho el trabajo de forgotten empires y tantalus, nada más me encantaría que aumenten batallas historicas y más revoluciones latinas como la de Bolivia, y pongan las campaña de la independencia de las colonias españolas, las guerras napoleónicas.
  34. Nov 12, 2020
    10
    To be honest, the only drawback is the lack of optimization and there are some bugs, but they are working on it, and patches are released every couple of days. Otherwise, there are some pluses. The interface has been improved for the better, it has become even more informative, the minimap has become a little larger, several of its variations are also available, the text size has also beenTo be honest, the only drawback is the lack of optimization and there are some bugs, but they are working on it, and patches are released every couple of days. Otherwise, there are some pluses. The interface has been improved for the better, it has become even more informative, the minimap has become a little larger, several of its variations are also available, the text size has also been slightly increased. The graphics were improved, although the old one was not bad. Added two new nations, modes. And also new cards. Improved balance. And a lot of small additions, a la the possibility of 3-4 teams of 2, a variant with a random civ, observer mode. Decks are available immediately and you don't need to bother with pumping anymore. The fact that the names of Indian civilizations have been changed is not a minus, what is the difference between Sioux and Lakota. Some narrow-minded people just make a problem out of nothing. As a true fan of the third part, I am completely satisfied with the remaster. Expand
  35. Aug 3, 2021
    0
    Terrible optimisation, annoying cheap mobile game like UI, no shortcuts for town center etc. , lots of bugs, waste of money. I actually deleted after playing one game. I prefer the old one over this trash. Can't wait to see aoe4 LOL. Good luck with this franchise. RIP aoe..
  36. May 3, 2021
    5
    Unfortunately I can't recommend this game. Starting where this version does good, it provides better representation to Native Americans than the old version.... that's it.
    It's a better version of the original but with that said, the original made this franchise have a huge hiatus until AoE2 HD/Definitive and competitive scene gave the franchise new light.
    Talking about the gameplay, it
    Unfortunately I can't recommend this game. Starting where this version does good, it provides better representation to Native Americans than the old version.... that's it.
    It's a better version of the original but with that said, the original made this franchise have a huge hiatus until AoE2 HD/Definitive and competitive scene gave the franchise new light.
    Talking about the gameplay, it never really got me like AoE1 and 2, most basic units are ranged units, each spawn in a different number making it hard to keep track of what to create, the game feels a bit slower than previous entries, because of this they created a shipment mechanic, the more points you make you change them for villagers, warriors, fortresses, etc. but that is a bandaid for a problem they themselves created.
    With this I have to say that my biggest gripewith AoE3 is that it makes the franchise go from following historical characters in historical events to fictional characters on fictional events similar to historical ones or helping historical characters, and that sucks... going away from history makes the writing, dialogue, situations so stupid. There was one mission where you help General Washington in his first victory, and you even control him, but after that you go back to follow the fictional captain that is super important but does not exist and is not inspired by anyone.
    That was one of the most stupid decisions ever for the franchise, an Evil Company was created to avoid political problems, which sucks... feels like pandering history.
    All of that together makes this game overall subpar... it's not bad but wait for a discount.
    Expand
  37. Oct 18, 2020
    7
    Неплохо, но вторая часть как-то смотрится поинтересней, тут графика показалась более мыльной, но битвы смотрятся эффектней, в целом не залетела, лучше поиграть во вторую часть. 7/10
  38. Dec 25, 2020
    7
    Una decente definitive, anche se col tempo spero migliori, molto pesante e con poche novita attualmente ma e' pure sempre il classico AGE 3.
  39. Jan 2, 2021
    7
    The base version from 2005 was my childhood favourite game It was pleasure to see it renewed with modern time texture resolution standards. I also enjoyed that we now have the Swedes and the Incas but they should be put into the game already in 2005 together with the Polish nation :)
    I would like to rank this game 8+ but the amount of bugs I experienced was to much, I lost all my saves
    The base version from 2005 was my childhood favourite game It was pleasure to see it renewed with modern time texture resolution standards. I also enjoyed that we now have the Swedes and the Incas but they should be put into the game already in 2005 together with the Polish nation :)
    I would like to rank this game 8+ but the amount of bugs I experienced was to much, I lost all my saves after doing Steam integrity scan of the game and during the game play I had countless CTDs.
    Expand
  40. May 18, 2021
    8
    The Definite edition remains on the same level as its previous editions. The graphic update looks amazing but there are still errors remaining in the game that have occured years ago. If it would work top-notch along with the graphics the score could be higher, but at this point it remains as it is.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. CD-Action
    Feb 8, 2021
    75
    The developers did a great job at ironing out imperfections of the original game and expanding it without messing with its core. There are some visual shortcomings and performance issues, and the AI needs more work, but I longed for a good strategy game and Age of Empires III: Definitive Edition filled that void for me. [13/2020, p.50]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 4, 2021
    60
    Age of Empires III: Definitive Edition is a decent addition to Age of Empires family. While not surprisingly good, it is still a good game, which unfortunately suffers from its technical state. [Issue#307]
  3. Nov 13, 2020
    70
    This is surely the best way to experience a classic and beloved game. Age of Empires III Definitive Edition is a major upgrade to the original even though its gameplay shows its age.