Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. May 29, 2014
    90
    If you're inclined to play a mature game with mature decision-making, I do highly recommend Always Sometimes Monsters. The game smartly tests how effectively you choices play out in the final act, something I don't wish to spoil but Vagabond Dogs deserves praise for.
  2. May 21, 2014
    90
    Always Sometimes Monsters isn't the first game to get clever with morality. It's not the first game that's had a few grey areas. It also isn't about either of those. It's about perspective. It's about empathy. It's about who we are and why we do what we do. That narrative is one of contradiction and hypocrisy, because that's what real people are about.
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    89
    Always Sometimes Monsters is probably one of the best narrative driven games of the year. It talks about choices and morality, love and hate, life and death as few other games have done till now.
  4. May 22, 2014
    85
    Always Sometimes Monsters is one of those independent, cult-classic-to-be, games that fans of narrative storytelling should really give a chance.
  5. Aug 4, 2014
    82
    A mature adventure game that challenges you with hard choices and puts you in real life situations. The writing is not always at top level, but when it works it's great.
  6. Jul 21, 2014
    80
    Always Sometimes Monsters will not impress anyone by their technical execution nor by their tip-top graphics – but by a strong emotional experience along with an almost philosophical theme that will make you think about your life, and play it again.
  7. Jul 18, 2014
    80
    It is not an happy game, it will not make you feel better, and probably it will not entertain you. So, why do you have to play Always Sometimes Monsters? Because, in a nutshell, it has one of the best narrative we've seen these days.
  8. Jul 12, 2014
    80
    One of the few games that doesn't sacrifice its core mechanics to tell a story.
  9. Jun 5, 2014
    80
    It's an earnest look at life under tough economic pressure, at love when things don't go according to plan and at a creative career during its shittiest lows. It has a lot to say, and importantly, it speaks from the heart.
  10. Jun 4, 2014
    80
    A convincing examination of player choice set in an all-too-realistic modern world.
  11. Jun 3, 2014
    80
    Without the well-established relationships in Always Sometimes Monsters, the game would be a disaster. It would be an exercise in tedium and starving artists – but the writing makes it all worthwhile. Yes, even the act of making tofu burgers. In the end, love – even just the chance of it – is worth it.
  12. 80
    A game that is from start to finish filled with difficult choices, and demands multiple replays in order to fully appreciate all of the different possible paths through the narrative.
  13. May 22, 2014
    80
    Sometimes Always Monsters is a surprising "road movie game" with a lot of choices to make that will significantly change the story.
  14. Games Master UK
    Jun 29, 2014
    78
    A game for self-reflection and the melancholy. [Aug 2014, p.78]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 82
  2. Negative: 15 out of 82
  1. May 23, 2014
    10
    Didn't expect this much fun when I bought this. made me take a good look at myself.
    Playing it over again with a totally different attitude.
    Didn't expect this much fun when I bought this. made me take a good look at myself.
    Playing it over again with a totally different attitude.
    I highly recommend it.
    Full Review »
  2. May 27, 2014
    10
    This game is an experience.
    First, let's be clear :
    DON'T buy this game if : - You don"t speack English - You don't like to read (there is
    This game is an experience.
    First, let's be clear :
    DON'T buy this game if :
    - You don"t speack English
    - You don't like to read (there is a LOT of dialog)
    - You are not an open-mind person
    - You are alergic to the old school graphics

    So, Always Sometimes Monster will show you basically what type of person you are :
    Are you ready to work hard to get a few legit money to eat a sandwish, but not enought to sleep into a confortable bed, or are you ready to take the money of an old lady for your own confort ?
    If someone is bad at you, will you injure him or will you investigate to find something that could make him jobless ?
    Do you want to live in the past and try to find the lost love of your life, or do you want to live to the futur, without her/him ?
    Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2014
    10
    Always Sometimes Monsters is a unique RPG made by Vagabond Dog with publishing services by Devolver Digital. The price is $9.99, with salesAlways Sometimes Monsters is a unique RPG made by Vagabond Dog with publishing services by Devolver Digital. The price is $9.99, with sales available on Steam, and is available on PC. The aim of the game is to tell a story of choice and consequence that reverberates the human experience. The question is, does it succeed?

    Story and Dialogue

    The story follows your choice of character on a mission to get from east coast to west to see the ex of your choice. You’re flat broke, making the trip an almost epic adventure. This is the true beauty of this game. The story is a very real telling of what it is like to have an obstacle in front of you without having the luxury of being able to throw money at the problem. Finding a couch to sleep on feels like a blessing after having to sleep outside a few nights. As it should. The dialogue between characters comes off naturally and smooth compared to some other RPGs out there, and the colorful cast of characters never tend to filter too much. Playing the story of ASM felt very much like playing through an indie film, or a gritty show from FX or HBO, and the experience is an awesome one.

    Control

    The game plays as well as any other game made with RPG Maker. Everything is solid in the fact that pushing buttons makes things happen. There is no reinvention of the wheel here as it is not needed. If you’ve played any RPG since the SNES you probably know how the controls feel.

    Art

    The character portraits are nice to look at and the in game sprites are reminiscent of old school RPGs. The towns are a perfect size and layout being big enough to explore but small enough to remember where you’re going. Small details set off the overall feel of the game, whether it’s a stray piece of graffiti or campaign posters plastered around. The only problem I experienced was the floor looking like a curb once and I didn’t think I could walk any farther when I could.

    Sound

    Menu sound effects are a delicious 16bit variety, and the soundtrack absolutely shines here. It never got on my nerves and there are a few tracks on there that are solid arguments for buying the soundtrack.

    Fun

    This category is a tricky one. Always Sometimes Monsters is not necessarily a fun game. The mini games are a bit of social commentary or an in-joke. The game itself is not aiming to be fun or offering a new mechanic that could be manipulated for your own fun. The star of the show is the story and in that respect ASM is a blast. I have multiple replays planned for different actions and to see the different dialogues. The story wanted to share the human experience, and this is how I’ll judge the game in this category. ASM is the only game I can think of off the top of my head that made me reflect on my actual life. The final hour or so offered a story and series of choices that forced me to reflect on similar situations. I had my ending plotted out in my head before a few of the last elements played out, and once they did my game played out the opposite way. The game did not actively manipulate me into choosing something different, but the story put me into such a mindset that this happened anyway.

    Final Tally

    Always Sometimes Monsters is a beautiful experience. Beauty does not always mean pleasant or fun or joyful. ASM is a defining moment in the video games can be art argument. Not everyone will like it. Some typical gamers will flat out hate it. But if you’re not typical, and if story matters to you more than twitch reflex, then by all means buy this game.

    Score: 10 – Buy Now
    Full Review »