Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 10, 2017
    100
    There is a lot to Antihero, and I could never explain it all in this small wall of text, so just do yourself a favor and grab it for their extraordinarily low price of $15 (or less). It is well worth the price they’re asking, and I would recommend dragging a friend in with you on the purchase so you can enjoy what I think are some of the game’s best qualities.
  2. Aug 7, 2017
    90
    Whether one is considering the challenging campaign mode or the endlessly replayable multiplayer, Antihero is a top-notch electronic boardgame. It rewards players who learn the systems, but contains just enough random chance to keep things interesting. As a game of stealthy moves, hidden trickery and careful manipulation, this is one of those occasions where the setting and gameplay are perfectly matched, offering a great experience for any would-be thief.
  3. Jul 14, 2017
    90
    Anyone who is a turn based strategy game fan should be checking out Antihero, which deserves to find an audience so that its multiplayer base can flourish. This is a game that is easy to learn with a campaign that teaches you all the basics, but it can then throw a number of challenging scenarios at you. Antihero is a game that offers something a little different in the strategy genre, that’s easy to learn before throwing some challenging scenarios at you, and is genuinely fun to play.
  4. Jul 24, 2017
    85
    Where else can you play a video game over days if not weeks with email notifications letting you know when your opponent has moved?
  5. Jul 13, 2017
    85
    Antihero is a charming aesthetic package wrapped around a solid tactical core. If you can master the various systems at play, you can turn any situation into a victorious one. There are multiple paths to success, and you’re only funneled into a specific one if your opponent is absolutely dominating the board from start to finish.
  6. Jul 21, 2017
    80
    A tabletop-esque strategy game with surprisingly variable routes to success, Antihero is stylish, fresh, and beautifully designed.
  7. Jul 17, 2017
    80
    A very different kind of turn-based game, that proves multiplayer action doesn’t have to involve first person shooting.
  8. Jul 12, 2017
    80
    Antihero is a solid turn-based strategy game, with some nice ideas in a system that is simple but effective. There is also a well crafted Campaign, and multiplayer modes that are perfect for every kind of player.
  9. Jul 10, 2017
    80
    A charming board game-esque strategy game that doesn't go quite as far as it should have.
  10. CD-Action
    Oct 30, 2017
    75
    I can appreciate simplicity, but in this case I would welcome a wider variety of maps, buildings and units. Still when I launched Antihero to check something while writing the review, I got immediately carried away by its addictive asynchronous multiplayer, forgetting why I launched it in the first place. [10/2017, p.53]
  11. Aug 23, 2017
    75
    A good strategy with tabletop mechanics which unfortunately lacks some depth.
  12. Jul 24, 2017
    75
    Like a board game you play to death then put on the shelf to bring out on special occasions, but with street urchins and priest-stabbing.
  13. Jul 10, 2017
    75
    If you're looking for a smart turn-based strategy with plenty of ways to play, I'd certainly recommend playing this.
  14. Jul 13, 2017
    65
    Antihero is a good-looking strategy game with complexity to discover.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. The greedy part of me would appreciate a few more modes or units – the few faces do make it feel slightly small after a while – and, sure, I’d love to see what a four-player contest looks like. But by staying small it stays elegant, and that’s what makes Antihero such a pleasure.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Jun 24, 2018
    3
    This game! This game fools buyers. It's a repetitive board game with high rnd. It's not for pc! It's for your kitchen table. I recommend thisThis game! This game fools buyers. It's a repetitive board game with high rnd. It's not for pc! It's for your kitchen table. I recommend this game only for board games lovers. And the art style is quite ok. Full Review »
  2. Jul 24, 2017
    8
    Strangely addictive, the game has a very beautiful graphic style, and excellent mechanics of strategy, the campaign is at least interesting,Strangely addictive, the game has a very beautiful graphic style, and excellent mechanics of strategy, the campaign is at least interesting, but also very short, the online is addictive and challenging, recommend for those who love online strategy games, good game Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2017
    9
    Amazing game! The core gameplay is just amazing. I've played about a 100games (about 40hours), and am in the top 10 right now. As a strategyAmazing game! The core gameplay is just amazing. I've played about a 100games (about 40hours), and am in the top 10 right now. As a strategy turn based game it has enough depth for many many different strategies that can be changed on the fly depending on some rng of the city district placement and your opponent playstyle. It is a snowball game, yet most of the games are quite close. Do you invest in gangs, master thief, or the economy? - The campaign is quite short and should be looked at as only the tutorial, the real game is in the multiplayer. Matchmaking sometimes lasts only a SECOND! although it can go to about 2 minutes as well. - TLDR: Amazing core gameplay, that will only get better with patches! Full Review »