Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Apr 29, 2019
    70
    Bannermen is a good RTS game. It is intuitive and easy to jump into and the campaign is satisfying. The storyline is engaging enough, and Lord Berrian is enough to make any gamer girl swoon. The only thing about it I can criticize is that I don’t think it has anything that makes it stand out among other games of this genre.
  2. Apr 21, 2019
    70
    Bannermen is the ideal choice for those in search for a pretty straightforward RTS, even if the game might seem a bit vintage in its gameplay and technical aspects.
  3. Feb 27, 2019
    60
    Bannermen feels half baked and underfunded. It takes ideas from classics, but you’re really better off playing those again.
  4. Feb 26, 2019
    60
    Bannermen still has enjoyable moments of gameplay as armies clash together, but it fails to make its mark on the traditional RTS formula with any tweaks or significant depth.
  5. Feb 23, 2019
    54
    If you can tolerate limited gameplay options and wish to experience fast-paced, simple online battles, Bannermen will hold some appeal for you. Otherwise, if you are looking for more complex systems or your next favorite RTS, you should probably spend your time and money elsewhere.
  6. Apr 16, 2019
    50
    Bannermen is a mediocre attempt at providing a standard RTS following many clichés and archetypes. It sadly fails to live to even the basic requests of a modern game of this genre.
  7. Feb 25, 2019
    50
    Bannermen is only a forgettable fantasy RTS.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Mar 18, 2019
    10
    If you love classic RTS games such as Starcraft and Warcraft, then you will 100% enjoy Bannermen. Quite fast-paced with focus on battles,If you love classic RTS games such as Starcraft and Warcraft, then you will 100% enjoy Bannermen. Quite fast-paced with focus on battles, rather than the basebuilding (which is not as APM heavy as SC for example). Several spell-casters with 3-4 spells each make the skill cap extremely high. Heroes that can be levelled up during the game also adds complexity and is a nice touch.

    The campaign is great, with lovely artwork and voice acting in the cutscenes. The story is enjoyable yet not super deep (which however isn't necessary in an RTS imo). 23 campaign missions if I'm not mistaking, rendering about 8 hours of play.

    But the best part of the game is the multiplayer, really high replayability. I've also watched serveral tournaments on Twitch and I'm really impressed of the strategic depth and high skill cap, demonstrated by the most skillful players.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 19, 2019
    9
    As an RTS enthusiast, I'm thrilled that I found this game. The economy, base-building and overall macro are similar to Starcraft, butAs an RTS enthusiast, I'm thrilled that I found this game. The economy, base-building and overall macro are similar to Starcraft, but simplified. Map control and unit control (micro) are super important - if you manage your troops and spells properly you can defeat an enemy army twice your size. The hero system and nature power system adds depth and replayability. As I'm interested in competetive online gaming, I haven't completed the campaign yet (but probably will, because so far so good), but the multiplayer itself offers enough to make Bannermen worth buying. Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2019
    9
    A solid RTS game, gameplay-wise similar to SC2/WC3, but theme-wise more like AoE. Runs well and got all modern control features (rally-points,A solid RTS game, gameplay-wise similar to SC2/WC3, but theme-wise more like AoE. Runs well and got all modern control features (rally-points, order queueing, control groups, re-bindable hotkeys, idle worker button, etc). Great campaign (about 8 hrs) and multiplayer with high replayability. As I love the genre, I'm really happy to see a new well-made RTS in 2019!

    Must add: saw that some weirdo trashed the game because he thought the campaign was too hard xD First off all, it's not. If you have played RTS games before, you should not have any bigger difficulties completing the campaign on Normal. Secondly, if you are a beginner, there's a possibility to play on Easy.
    Full Review »