Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. May 11, 2020
    71
    Cute little city-builder with big ambitions and even bigger cosmic cetaceans.
  2. 70
    A paradoxically relaxing and overwhelming game, Before We Leave is a cute city builder with a lot of depth.
  3. Jun 10, 2020
    70
    It’s such a shame that that serenity is broken by frustration when trying to plan roadways and neighborhoods. This may not seem like much of an issue for some, but for someone who finds odd satisfaction from having complete control of how my society will look, it kept me from falling in love.
  4. Jun 5, 2020
    70
    With a little extra attention, Before We Leave could probably turn into a much larger, more sophisticated game. The foundation is strong enough for that to happen with minimal effort, but I don't think that's what the developers had in mind, and truthfully, I don't have a problem with that.
  5. 70
    If you’re looking for a meditative city builder and enjoy resource management and problem-solving, you should absolutely give Before We Leave a go. But if you’re accustomed to some of the bigger 4X alternatives, you might feel as if what’s here is a little lacking by comparison.
  6. May 17, 2020
    65
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. May 1, 2020
    60
    Before We Leave puts creativity to the test and while it has potential, it fails to reach beyond the stars and truly embrace the vastness of exploration and city-building.
  8. May 5, 2020
    50
    Before We Leave's a surprisingly well-optimized, visually pleasing, and refreshingly relaxing city builder that excels at making players feel like reclaimers of a massive, interplanetary empire, but it has many gameplay issues to iron out in its full release before it can live up to its own ambitions. The gripes noted herein are all present in an alpha build, so it's possible that Balancing Monkey already addressed these and other concerns between then and now. If not, though, the subtle makings of a personality may not be able to atone for the fact that its mysterious, mellow tone is undermined by frequent annoyances.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. May 11, 2020
    8
    This is an excellent fun game that will get you pulled in similar to the "one more turn" of Civ. For the price it is definitely worth theThis is an excellent fun game that will get you pulled in similar to the "one more turn" of Civ. For the price it is definitely worth the hours you will get from it. There is a discord where the devs talk to you directly so some of the minor issues I had seem to be in the works for improvement in upcoming patches. World of possibilities with this game so one to watch going forward. Full Review »
  2. Dec 27, 2020
    9
    This game is really good.
    It's a relaxing city builder, but also a good strategic game, there are new updates that keep your attenction on
    This game is really good.
    It's a relaxing city builder, but also a good strategic game, there are new updates that keep your attenction on the game.
    Furthermore you can get it at a very low price, because it costs 16€, but with the 10€ discount of epic games, it costs only 6€, so there is no excuse not to try this game.

    The only limit of the game is that it is sold only on epic games store, so there are no achivement and no comunity available, this last part is replaced by the discord server.
    Full Review »
  3. May 26, 2020
    5
    This is a perfectly average game, exactly 5/10. It looks nice, sounds nice and everything is...fine. It can be a great introduction to theThis is a perfectly average game, exactly 5/10. It looks nice, sounds nice and everything is...fine. It can be a great introduction to the Settlers/Anno style of game. But if you're already a veteran of this genre looking for a new adventure then BWL won't contain one iota of surprise for you. It's everything you played a 100 times before - setting up basic supply chains, researching new stuff - only in with a small visual twist. Full Review »