Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53
Buy On
  1. Sep 9, 2019
    95
    Borderlands 3 has surpassed the bar that its predecessor had set. The story is grand in scale, the humor is on-point and updated to 2019, weapons are diverse and the new Vault Hunters are unique in every way. Every BL-fan must pick this game up.
  2. Sep 9, 2019
    94
    Gearbox has taken the Borderlands formula and improved it to achieve the definitive "looter shooter". Bigger, better, longer and funnier; Borderlands 3 is legendary loot.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Oct 11, 2019
    93
    Despite the initial skepticism, Borderlands 3 turned out to be great. It does have its faults, but for the entire 30-hour campaign it will keep you entertained not only with its main story, but also with sidequests, exploration and searching for the perfect build for your character. [Issue#240, p.24]
  4. Sep 25, 2019
    92
    Borderlands 3 is a digital party itching to get out of control at every possible opportunity.
  5. Sep 17, 2019
    91
    It makes no sense to focus on minor flaws: Borderlands 3 is a great game, with charisma and great replayability, with four characters to look into, lots of sub-quests to deal with and a future DLC that could shine to the full.
  6. Sep 20, 2019
    90
    When most people think of the looter shooter sub-genre, they think of the Borderlands series. Borderlands essentially created the mould for what a looter shooter should be. Lots of shooting and lots of looting. I don’t think any other looter shooter loots or shoots as well as Borderlands 3 does. Borderland 3 is the best game in the series, not by breaking the mould, but by expanding and deepening it.
  7. Sep 11, 2019
    90
    Maybe it’s not the most innovative game out there, but Borderlands 3 is a total must have for loot shooter fans.
  8. Sep 10, 2019
    90
    We don't know what happened to Borderlands 2, but that's probably the fault of Claptrap. This new game offers funny stories, an amazing world to explore and so much more. Must have.
  9. Sep 9, 2019
    90
    Borderlands 3 is pretty traditional, but in many ways this is the ultimate looter-shooter offering up a great satire about the streamculture of today.
  10. Sep 9, 2019
    90
    For me, the game is for sure at the top of my list of games of the year.
  11. Sep 9, 2019
    90
    Gearbox returns with a new entry in the Borderlands saga and it's the best one yet. It has more guns, a better gunplay, a bunch of iconic characters and a great story, more planets to explore and interesting quests. Even though it has some bugs yet to be fixed, fans are going to enjoy Borderlands 3 and it's going to become a good entry in the shooter-looter genre.
  12. Sep 9, 2019
    90
    Borderlands 3 does not include any major revolution, something we celebrate taking into account the shameless essence of the Gearbox franchise. So many years of waiting have been worth it to return to the office of Vault Hunters.
  13. Sep 9, 2019
    90
    Borderlands 3 is the best game Gearbox has ever made. The weapons are interesting and goofy, the battles are intense and tricky, and the multiple open-worlds are beautiful and full of challenging missions. For Chinese gamers, it might be the most immersive 3A game in recent years because of the wonderful Chinese voice acting.
  14. Sep 9, 2019
    90
    Borderlands 3 sticks to its guns and outdoes itself with an amazing arsenal of weapons, humor, and missions.
  15. Sep 9, 2019
    90
    Borderlands 3 does not feel like a total transformation for the series, just an evolution. And that may leave some part of it stuck in the past, but overwhelmingly, it’s a game that’s still a blast to play, particularly for those into the loot shooter genre.
  16. Sep 9, 2019
    90
    Borderlands 3 feels like the return of your favorite band to the studio for one more great album. A collection of hits all brought together to help celebrate what made you fall in love with that band in the first place. The insane amount of content shown here, including side quests, collectibles, and all the throwbacks to previous Vault Hunters and beloved characters makes Borderlands 3 an absolute delight to play through.
  17. Sep 9, 2019
    90
    Borderlands 3 is bigger and better. It’s everything we expected for the third main entry, and even if it’s very conservative, it’s a fantastic game you will love with friends or even on your own.
  18. Sep 9, 2019
    90
    It didn't need to reinvent the wheel either; as Gearbox pretty much had the formula figured out the second time around.
  19. Nov 13, 2019
    88
    The fun, humorous storyline, some great dialogue and theatrical accents of the diverse characters, beautifully varied locations and the same great gunplay that Borderlands is renowned for, means that Borderlands 3 becomes another must have title in the series.
  20. Sep 25, 2019
    88
    Borderlands 3 is the best that Gearbox could do while maintaining the iconic gameplay without revolutionizing. Now we are waiting for the future of the series.
  21. Sep 9, 2019
    88
    Apart from a few minor annoying issues with AI and Interface, the game is absolutely right for me and is exactly the Borderlands comeback I've been wanting for years.
  22. Sep 9, 2019
    88
    In terms of improvements, there could've just as well been a 5 behind this Borderlands.
  23. Sep 20, 2019
    86
    Borderlands 3 is everything we hoped for. Gearbox has refined the traditional formula of the franchise, improving its powerful mix of FPS and RPG elements with new intriguing features. The heart of the Campaign is the inimitable humor embodied by the characters, except for the bad guys: Calypso twins struggle to find their place among the stars.
  24. Jan 29, 2020
    85
    Borderlands 3 offers a generous experience, with colourful characters, neat gameplay and a charming universe. Its formula, very close to that of the previous episodes does not revolutionize the show but its small new features bring a little freshness and the scenario makes us want to go to the end of the adventure. Its dynamism and nervousness make it a choice piece for adrenaline-ready FPS lovers and license fans.
  25. Sep 30, 2019
    85
    Borderlands 3 is the modern looter shooter at its finest. The signature humor is alive and well, and with a cast of four fresh Vault Hunters and over a billion guns (and some with legs!), there’s a lot to be excited about. It builds on and evolves everything that makes Borderlands great without changing the core looting and shooting that makes Borderlands, Borderlands.
  26. Sep 26, 2019
    85
    A strong return for the series with enough changes to make combat feel fresh and exciting, some great new characters and an awesome soundtrack. A fun time from start to finish.
  27. Sep 19, 2019
    85
    Borderlands 3 isn’t a franchise altering game, but it does manage to combine great gunplay, an expansive world, and stellar co-op into a great overall package.
  28. Sep 9, 2019
    85
    A great return to the franchise that invented most of the modern loot shooter mechanics.
  29. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    80
    Gearbox has a problem: the fantastic Borderlands 2 is too good to be beaten. But in the case of Borderlands 3, it is still more than a worthy successor. The filmmakers brought many pop-cultural references, maybe pushing too hard on how they want to be “modern”, but otherwise it's a great game again. [Issue#298]
  30. Nov 11, 2019
    80
    The extremely stupid humor, top-notch combat and wide range of weaponry make Borderlands 3 one of the best shooters of all-time. Although it's an old formula, Borderlands 3 offers one of the best shlooter experiences you can get.
  31. Oct 4, 2019
    80
    The game is very polished and smooth – I hit zero bugs while playing it, and didn’t have to download a 10GB patch the day after it was released, and Gearbox should be congratulated for that if nothing else. So if what you’re looking for is more Borderlands, this would be the place to find it.
  32. Oct 2, 2019
    80
    The question is, if you aren't already a fan of the Borderlands "stinky cheese" vibe will you take a chance, pinch your nose and take a bite? I myself had a ton of fun blasting my way through the galaxy, laughing at the corny jokes, and enjoying the funk.
  33. Sep 20, 2019
    80
    Those new to Borderlands will find some aspects confusing at first – Borderlands 3 is minimal when it comes to tutorials – but if they persist, they will end up luxuriating in the joyous, tongue-in-cheek, comic book-influenced fun it provides. Sure, it fails to turn the franchise into something new and futuristic in gameplay terms. But why would it, when its original conception was already immaculate?
  34. Sep 19, 2019
    80
    Borderlands 3 doesn’t take much risk and doesn’t evolve much either. It has more content, more loot and more options to customize your character, but that’s it. It’s still fun to play though, thanks to great action sequences.
  35. Sep 19, 2019
    80
    Although it might seem a simple more of the same, Borderlands 3 is the maximum expression of what the brand represents: massacres, loot and pure mayhem. Some flaws in technic and storytelling prevent the game from getting a better score.
  36. Sep 18, 2019
    80
    Its main villain duo can't hold a candle to the greatness that was Handsome Jack, its humour is rather lacking compared to the series' previous instalments, and it is not without its technical issues at launch. Gameplay-wise, however, Borderlands 3 is definitely the best we've seen from the series until now.
  37. Sep 18, 2019
    80
    Nothing says "Welcome home" better than Borderlands 3. It's no different than the other games, it's simply more ambitious: the shooter and lifespan of the game are better, you will explore more planets than ever. But with all of this ambition, it lacks technical polish, where it should have learned from its past mistakes.
  38. Sep 9, 2019
    80
    Borderlands 3 is a love letter to its fans and a celebration of the style of play it first popularized. Filled with characters from previous installments, and unapologetic in its silly humor and bombastic action, it’s an amusing ride that seems hesitant to innovate. If more of what you loved before is your chief desire, Gearbox has granted that wish through a game of impressive scope that charts some very safe territory.
  39. Sep 9, 2019
    80
    Borderlands 3 is more Borderlands, and all the loot that entails. This proper sequel improves upon the formula with more guns, but more importantly, a stretch of unique planets to kill enemies on. The new planets offer more visual variety and a great evolution of enemy encounters. The tuning is clearly meant for more than one player, making a punitive experience at times for the solo Vault Hunter. Despite the formula growing a bit stale, Gearbox has expanded upon it in the right way, resulting in a great Borderlands experience.
  40. Sep 9, 2019
    80
    Borderlands 3 has a few stumbling blocks when it comes to bosses, but these fights are overshadowed by the game's rewarding gunplay and over-the-top humor. The game's character-driven narrative acts as a satisfying finale for the loot-shooter franchise, and the new mechanics and features--especially the reworked skill trees and weapon manufacturer effects--give you plenty of agency in how you want to play through it. If you've never been a fan of the franchise, it's unlikely Borderlands 3 does enough things differently to change your mind, as the game best excels at continuing what the series has always done: deliver a humorous tall tale of misfits looting and shooting their way to heroism.
  41. Sep 30, 2019
    78
    Borderlands 3 sticks to the formula established in previous games. Despite suffering from technical issues and some pretty obnoxious characters and dialogue, the improvements to core mechanics, a great variety of locations and enemies, and series-best procedurally generated loot make it a more than a worthy sequel that should enthrall fans for dozens of hours.
  42. Sep 9, 2019
    77
    I just wish the studio had advanced its humor and encounter design as much as class progression and weapon variety. If you enjoy lootin’-and-shootin’, check out Borderlands 3. But go in knowing that you’re going to cringe at some of the jokes and feel fatigue every now and then.
  43. PlayGround.ru
    Sep 25, 2019
    75
    Borderlands 3 will be just as fun with friends. All that is needed is that you have to be friends, to be sure that you need a cozy immersion in a rich and vibrant virtual world, the sharing of technologies - incapable enjoyment of loneliness. If “a small fish is better than a big cockroach” - yours favorite speech, this rollicking adventure, unfortunately, has nothing to offer you.
  44. Sep 18, 2019
    75
    A solid FPS with hack-and-slash mechanics that are just as strong, Borderlands 3 is a devilishly effective game, one ideally enjoyed with friends. Its four distinct character classes and consistent content are both arguments for this third canonical episode being a highly recommendable title. However, the experience is ruined by the many bugs, glitches and other wild issues that currently plague the game, although an inevitable first patch should ease all that. Finally, the overabundance of 'fart jokes' makes the game's endless conversations even more painful, even if a few quest threads make up for it.
  45. Edge Magazine
    Oct 10, 2019
    70
    It might not have much to say, but Borderlands 3 gives you a lot to talk about. [Issue#338, p.100]
  46. Sep 30, 2019
    70
    In spite of its technical problems, Borderlands 3 is still a very solid looter shooter, generous with both shooting and loot. The magic of the second installment - and its excellent writing - is, however, gone.
  47. Sep 27, 2019
    70
    Despite everything, I enjoyed my time with Borderlands 3. Not to say that the game as a whole isn't good – but rather despite all of the game’s numerous technical troubles, I do believe that once everything is said and done, Borderlands 3 will be a game that most series’ fans will be more than happy with, and a title that is more than worthy of recommendation. I just don’t think that day is today.
  48. Sep 17, 2019
    70
    Borderlands 3 is more Borderlands and not much else. It doesn’t innovate. It doesn’t push the looter shooter genre forward. It doesn’t say anything profound with its plot. It plays it 100% safe by nearly copying its predecessors. That might be enough for some people, but it’s not enough to stand out against other contemporary looter shooters.
  49. Oct 7, 2019
    65
    If I were to over-simplify and equate most video games to desserts, I'd put them in two camps: you have your rich chocolate mousse slice of cake and the super-sized bag of salty, greasy potato chips. Some games don't have a lot on the plate, but that labored over mousse screams quality. Other games are meant to make you mindlessly go from the top of that bag of chips to the bottom without even realizing it, relying heavily on quantity of good enough content. Borderlands 3 is certainly the latter, and just like eating that bag of chips, I feel awful afterwards, regretting what I'd done.
  50. Oct 12, 2019
    63
    All in all, it’s a joke of a game, and it’s not even funny.
  51. Sep 9, 2019
    63
    An endless font of bad jokes and cool guns in the series' most vapid story yet, Borderlands 3 skates by on watching numbers fly and goons explode.
  52. Sep 18, 2019
    60
    I’ve got very mixed feelings about Borderlands 3. Overall I like it and it’s fun to play, but it could have been so much more and the writing feels like time traveling back to your high school days and being surprised and a little disappointed at how immature everyone is.
  53. Nov 3, 2019
    20
    Gearbox is at their best when they’re engineering the act of shooting something. If their game would just shut up and let the gleeful gunplay speak for itself, Borderlands would go a lot further. Instead, the gunplay is clogged up with meaningless loot, smugly unfunny jokes, and lots of using the same ol’ gun while waiting for the parsimonious skill point drip to finally drop. Where’s the glee in all that?
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 18, 2019
    These may seem like nitpicks for a game whose core shoot-and-loot loop is just as fun and compelling as ever. But it's these kinds of little things that are thus far getting in the way of allowing me to completely be reabsorbed by the world of Borderlands. Here's hoping they end up feeling like niggling issues more than ever-present annoyances by the time my time with the game is complete.
  2. Sep 9, 2019
    The franchise used to feel adventurous. Now, without any fresh ideas or concepts, it’s little more than a holdover from a different time. Borderlands 3 feels safe, oddly careful (especially for a game about anarchy), and, worst of all, corporate.
  3. Burgerlords 3 is a game about clicking on things until they stop. It’s blessed with exquisite audiovisual design, it’s extremely annoying on several levels, and it’s compelling despite its boneheadedness. It takes a while to get up to speed compared with previous iterations, and it suffers from having missions stretched to the point of tedium for the sake of boasting a 30+ hour play time. But when it’s firing on all cylinders, it’s the most fun the series has been. At times, I even laughed out loud at the game’s script – which only made the rest of it, with all its dated meme references, poo lols and roaring bros, more frustrating.
  4. Sep 15, 2019
    It's certainly not remarkable. It's a continuation of a formula that works really well.It's just more Borderlands with more stuff in it...Borderlands 3 is a pretty good game.
  5. Sep 20, 2019
    Gearbox can patch out the screams of the bosses, but it can’t patch the heart back into Borderlands.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2443 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Stop leaving bad reviews for it being an epic exklusive. The gameplay is fantastic, Its even better than the old games.
  2. Sep 13, 2019
    1
    Game is unacceptably buggy as of now. My PC is running a 1080ti and an i7-6700k, and is struggling to get a stable framerate. I'm getting veryGame is unacceptably buggy as of now. My PC is running a 1080ti and an i7-6700k, and is struggling to get a stable framerate. I'm getting very frequent drops down into the 40 fps range, with rarer drops down into the 30s. Trying to aim down sights all but guarantees a serious frame drop. I've also had the game go unresponsive and need to be killed with the task manager.

    Wish I could say more about the gameplay and story, but I stopped playing fairly quick. I don't want to play more than 2 hours, or else I'll lose eligibility for a refund. If these issues aren't fixed a week from now, I'll be pursuing that.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    I'm a big borderlands fan and honestly this is my first review, I've never wanted to review something in the past because I always felt likeI'm a big borderlands fan and honestly this is my first review, I've never wanted to review something in the past because I always felt like hey maybe somebody else enjoyed it even if I didn't. But honestly I can just sit around and be silent when it comes to this mess they call a game.


    So they first problem I have with this game is the sheer disrespect and lack of care that this game obviously has the amount of **** bugs and just plain broken things is horrible I can't honestly believe this got past quality control
    Full Review »