User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2020
    6
    Flawed but fun. The main mechanic is enjoyable, for a while, but ultimately there are so many annoying flaws, the game misses greatness. While blasting baddies is satisfying, managing your squad is made challenging by the control system.
  2. Apr 19, 2020
    9
    Broken Lines is a story-driven turn-based tactical RPG developed by PortaPlay, The game is set in a twisted version of World War II.
    First thing that got my attention is the games tutorial , one of the best i have seen on this kind of game.
    The story game revolves around 8 soldier that get stranded in a unknown territory with no clue on what there orders are and what they suppose to do.
    Broken Lines is a story-driven turn-based tactical RPG developed by PortaPlay, The game is set in a twisted version of World War II.
    First thing that got my attention is the games tutorial , one of the best i have seen on this kind of game.
    The story game revolves around 8 soldier that get stranded in a unknown territory with no clue on what there orders are and what they suppose to do.
    The tactigal game is very enjoyable and killing the enemy is very satisfying , broken lines is not trying to emulate other titles like Xcom and the feel and gameplay you get out of this RPG set's it apart from the others in this jeandra.

    The weapons you are going to use are not that diverse but they will be enough to enjoi the game, and not filling like something is missing
    The character's you get to play with have very unique personalities making the player to set them apart during the gameplay almost automatically.
    The decisions you make thru out of the gameplay have a impact on the ending of the game so it gaves it more value because of replayability.
    the Aeye in the game is not made out of some mindless bots and you wil find your self more than wants surprised by the decisions and reactions they have in relation with your playing style
    The graphic's are more then decent, whit a unique art stile , great maps and a good soundtrack which contribuie on the immersion.
    That being said, if you are a fan of this jandra, you may want to give this game a chance..
    Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2020
    10
    Good - but tough combat, I hope I can get to the end of the campaign with my favorite characters alive. And then maybe try on hard and experience the other missions and get the ‘good’ ending. It's rather humoristic, so I remember my game from childhood: Commandos. The atmosphere is the same there, while there is alternative universe in Broken Lines, which lets us avoid any historicalGood - but tough combat, I hope I can get to the end of the campaign with my favorite characters alive. And then maybe try on hard and experience the other missions and get the ‘good’ ending. It's rather humoristic, so I remember my game from childhood: Commandos. The atmosphere is the same there, while there is alternative universe in Broken Lines, which lets us avoid any historical concerns and debates on who's the WW2 winner is. Recommend everyone who loves turned based tactics! Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2020
    10
    Since your decisions have an impact on the ending, this game has a lot of replayability, definitely a game that you can enjoy many times over.
  5. Feb 25, 2020
    10
    It's good to see a new turn-based game, the storyline is fantastically deep and lets you pick your own direction. I know how I'm going to spend this weekend!
  6. Feb 25, 2020
    10
    Permadeath? Check
    Friendly fire? Check
    It's rare to see a game implement these features quite as well as Broken Lines has.
  7. Mar 8, 2020
    10
    Great game had a really good time, multiple ending and encounters throughout the game giving plenty of replay value. i got the game on day 1 and did not come across any game/immersion braking bugs the characters are deep and complex and surprising. basically my first ending left me with questions as a sombre soundtrack played those questioned made me come back and play again well worthGreat game had a really good time, multiple ending and encounters throughout the game giving plenty of replay value. i got the game on day 1 and did not come across any game/immersion braking bugs the characters are deep and complex and surprising. basically my first ending left me with questions as a sombre soundtrack played those questioned made me come back and play again well worth the cash oh and permadeath and friendly fire are real things
    Game play 8/10
    Story 10/10
    Graphics 8/10
    Music 10/10
    1 play through avg 10 - 12 hours

    Similar to Xcom, Breach and Clear, Hard west,
    Expand
  8. Jun 15, 2020
    7
    Good indie Game. It's a light strategy game where you will command a 4 or 5 man sized squad (from 8 characters to choose from) . Game is based on 8 second real time auto paused sessions where you will give a sequences of orders to your troop (like run or use an ability). After a mission you will have to manage a few resources (food, buy and switch weapons, some special objects..not muchGood indie Game. It's a light strategy game where you will command a 4 or 5 man sized squad (from 8 characters to choose from) . Game is based on 8 second real time auto paused sessions where you will give a sequences of orders to your troop (like run or use an ability). After a mission you will have to manage a few resources (food, buy and switch weapons, some special objects..not much else), and assign perks to yours soldiers. There are also some dialogues that alter morale, relations and skill of your squad
    The good:
    1) Different missions to choose from that will exclude one- another ...so you will probably finish the game at least two times to see different paths.
    2) Moral and dramatic decisions that are often in the "gray area" so...there is no easy good-guy path
    3) A very pleasant aspect of the game is that there is NO option to save a game during missions or before a path choice...so you can't abuse save-spam to see an outcome beforehand..this will add tension and fun-mistery to the game
    4) Not too long to finish... you will need about 7 hours ..but you will probabily replay it to see other paths and endings. Missions are also short but in a good way so there isn't downtime
    5) Soldiers have their personality.
    6) Mystery (supernatural or sci-fi) and WW2 Mix Well
    The bad:
    1) Combat is somewhat lackuster...very few options and basic A.I.
    2) Rpg and managemen are also basics.
    3) Most parts of the plot are not explained....this give some mystery...but also feel a little disappointed.
    4) Some late game repetitiveness...mostly because point 1 and 2.
    5) Cutscene are very basic...most of the story is narrated through text and still image..it could be better. Maybe buget restrictions.

    To sum up a good indie if you can find it at a good price.
    I liked it and I hope for a sequel but with a little more options and things to do.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. CD-Action
    Apr 17, 2020
    80
    There’s a lot to fix in the game but regardless it offers a heap of fun and playability – even if sometimes it’s hard to pinpoint why exactly. [05/2020, p.72]
  2. Apr 10, 2020
    70
    Broken Lines, a squad-based tactical strategy game has some interesting elements but lacks the polish to stand out.
  3. Apr 8, 2020
    80
    With a fascinating story and great gameplay, Broken Lines makes a strong case that turn-based combat can be used for projects more modest than the grand strategy and expansive RPGs that generally feature it.