User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 389 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 389
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    Although the characters are all fantastically built up and the dialogue is actually funny; unfortunately the game feels repetitive, small and often quite a boring experience… Don’t get me wrong I picked this up in the sales for a quid or two and based on the fact I played the game through, it’s definitely value for money! However, the only thing that kept me interested was the quirkyAlthough the characters are all fantastically built up and the dialogue is actually funny; unfortunately the game feels repetitive, small and often quite a boring experience… Don’t get me wrong I picked this up in the sales for a quid or two and based on the fact I played the game through, it’s definitely value for money! However, the only thing that kept me interested was the quirky characters and the dialogue! The game also seems to suffer from a rather average draw distance, with no slider to increase this, which is one of the biggest gripes I have with it… The city is also quite small, which I guess was to be expected but it lacked any real depth and certainly didn’t enhance the experience! All in all it was a decent game but it just felt like GTA aimed at younger audiences! Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    I think of this as Grand Theft Auto meets Skool Daze. Given that both are great games it hardly surprising that mixing these two classics make another great game
  3. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    This game has to be the most underrated games of all time after Just cause 2. The PC version might be a little bit badly ported but the game has that F#CK SCHOOL atmosphere and i just love it! The map is not Extremely big but it still has a lot of things to explore. if your interested in GTA you will love this game. Definitely try this one out.
  4. Oct 22, 2015
    8
    Bully is quite unique, you play a teen (with some issues) arriving to his new boarding school, the game is a true satire of the school system, painting useless/abusive adults and a social tyranny amongst students (and it may not be too far from the reality). And so you'll have to earn the respect from every "gang" one by one thanks to a large variety of tasks, some of them pretty uselessBully is quite unique, you play a teen (with some issues) arriving to his new boarding school, the game is a true satire of the school system, painting useless/abusive adults and a social tyranny amongst students (and it may not be too far from the reality). And so you'll have to earn the respect from every "gang" one by one thanks to a large variety of tasks, some of them pretty useless (delivery jobs and so) could have been cut out of the game but some of them are also very imaginative and somehow epic. But overall the main story is very fun, thanks to excellent writing and cinematics providing original and memorable characters.

    As most of the Rockstar games, Bully is set in an open world, and even if it's quite small compared to their other games it offers quite a lot of side activities (mainly collectibles, but also optional tasks, shops, a funfair, etc.) and of course classes you can attend to and pass if you're successful during the minigames. The game will keep you occupy approximately 30 hours if you want it all (15, if you just wanna do the main story) which is very acceptable for this genre without being outstanding.

    Finally let's talk about the main issues of the game, all related to its porting to PC, the graphics didn't improved at all and makes the game look pretty bad for a 2008 release, but most of all the controls aren't user friendly at all and will take a few hours to master (even then it will not be natural). It's a shame.

    Despite this I still love the game, mainly for its originality I will cherish my memories of it and welcome with open-arms a sequel (College edition ?) and it's definitely a good game that will provide good entertainment.
    Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    7
    a real funny innovative and new style game this game has really funny and entertaining missions the story is fine but what is bad about this game are the controls they're really bad that ruined the game for me but in the end it is really good
  6. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    A great game, I enjoyed the story and the gameplay, the characters are fun, free roam are full of animation. A beautiful game.
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    One of the most underrated games It's got an great story awesome gameplay and a big world
    Only problem is PC optimization on newer systems which was chaotic until the patch
  8. Apr 20, 2019
    8
    Canis Canem Edit nella versione europea, dove venne eliminato il titolo Bully per rendere meno esplicito il soggetto (anche se la locuzione latina usata come sottotitolo nella versione originale significa "Cane mangia cane" e descrive, quindi, a pennello l'atmosfera del gioco) è diventato ormai un classico.

    La Rockstar è stata furba perché si è mossa in un territorio a lei familiare,
    Canis Canem Edit nella versione europea, dove venne eliminato il titolo Bully per rendere meno esplicito il soggetto (anche se la locuzione latina usata come sottotitolo nella versione originale significa "Cane mangia cane" e descrive, quindi, a pennello l'atmosfera del gioco) è diventato ormai un classico.

    La Rockstar è stata furba perché si è mossa in un territorio a lei familiare, quello già collaudato con la serie Grand Theft Auto, colonizzando una fetta di mercato un po' trascurata dalle altre software-house: quella della vita scolastica. Se avete giocato a Manhunt (se non lo avete fatto, dovreste!), il protagonista vi dirà qualcosa fin dal primo sguardo; sia esso il figlio di James Earl Cash, il suo fratellastro perduto, o una sua versione da giovane, il risultato non cambia: James "Jimmy" Hopkins è quasi un gemello perduto del protagonista dell'altro gioco.

    Iniziamo dal principio, comunque, nel recensire questo titolo del 2006 nativo Play Station 2, del quale è stato fatto il porting per Xbox e Microsoft Windows nel 2008. La prima regola quando si parla di un gioco di una certa età è contestualizzarlo: non aspettatevi una grafica paragonabile a quella dei giochi più moderni, anche nella Scholarship Edition - rivisitazione che aggiunge una grafica in alta definizione, nuove missioni, lezioni, mini giochi, personaggi e oggetti - tuttavia, quello che pecca in estetica, o nel comprato audio (ripetitivo in quanto effetti e colonna sonora, mentre il doppiaggio originale è più che discreto), lo "guadagna" in termini di ambientazione e story-line e gameplay. Infatti, l'ambiente scolastico americano (così lontano da quello nostrano) è ripreso nella maniera più cruda, esasperata e realistica possibile.

    Jimmy Hopkins è un ragazzo di quindici anni in piena crisi adolescenziale, che sta a noi gestire in tutto e per tutto; possiamo scegliere il suo modo di comportarsi, di agire, di relazionarsi con gli altri e persino il suo look. Ci troviamo a controllare questo teenager problematico, espulso da ben sette scuole per motivi più o meno gravi (tra cui un incendio doloso), che viene abbandonato dalla madre fresca di quinte nozze e dal nuovo patrigno alla Bullworth Academy. È lampante la componente emotiva che spinge il ragazzo a comportarsi come un teppista, a trovare nella violenza la risposta ai suoi dilemmi morali - e non giustificata solo da ragioni di gameplay, quindi, cosa realmente apprezzabile perché' porta acqua al mulino del background del nostro personaggio - poiché' James soffre la mancanza totale delle figure genitoriali. L'unica vera casa del ragazzo sono i collegi dai quali viene continuamente espulso, mentre cerca in tutti i modi di restare a galla negli spietati degli istituti "correzionali" in cui viene spedito di volta in volta. La scuola privata del New England sarà un punto di svolta e tocca al giocatore scegliere in che modo: sarà l'eroe dei secchioni? L'ennesimo bullo violento? Il ribelle incompreso? Il fighetto capobranco?

    Le possibilità, come le fazioni, sono moltissime e questo contribuisce ad aumentare la longevità del titolo.

    Essendo un "tipico" quindicenne dovrete seguire le lezioni, che a seconda della materia vi daranno vari bonus (ad esempio: seguendo le lezioni di inglese imparerete a scusarvi con le autorità, mentre seguendo le lezioni di ginnastica imparerete nuove combo da usare contro i vostri avversari, oppure partecipando alle lezioni di chimica potrete costruire numerosi armi con l'attrezzatura chimica in camera vostra, o ancora seguendo le lezioni di arte acquisirete maggiori capacità nel trattare con il gentil sesso), preoccuparvi della vostra reputazione, compiere vari lavoretti per guadagnare denaro e uscire con i vostri coetanei (cosa utile per aumentare i bonus salute). Inoltre essendo un titolo di genere sandbox, ci offrire la possibilità di scegliere il nostro modo personale per arrivare alla fine di ogni missione e quando svolgerla.

    Questo gioco di avventura open world sembra quasi un simulatore di vita reale (proprio come il cugino GTA da cui ha ereditato le caratteristiche di free roaming), che ci consente di immergerci nel mondo delle high school americane, che siamo tanto abituati a vedere tramite le loro popolarissime serie tv.

    L'unica pecca significativa a mio modesto parere è stata la cattiva gestione del porting, che rende quasi obbligatorio possedere un joypad per sopperire alla scomodità dell'accoppiata mouse/tastiera; che, sfortunatamente, come la maggior parte dei computer-gamer preferisco. Se per Xbox il gameplay risultava forzato, per pc risulta macchinoso e complicato da gestire (fin da subito e' palese la mancanza di impegno nel trasporto dei comandi di gioco).

    Questa piccola perla è un must nella collezione di ogni amante dei titoli Rockstar, un titolo innovativo (per i suoi tempi, ovviamente) e satirico che è in grado di regalare ore di divertimento.
    Expand
  9. KamilP.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    It is a wonderfull game from masters of GTA style games. It has bad controls but they are easy to redifine.
  10. ChuckBeef
    Dec 21, 2008
    2
    The control scheme is garbage, to say the least. Being able to remap the keys doesn't really help. There are just too many different keys that are expected to be used in tandem, when there should be only a few which are more context-sensitive. The game looks like crap, and even on a modern system, RUNS like crap. There's no excuse for it, really. This was a low-budget consoleThe control scheme is garbage, to say the least. Being able to remap the keys doesn't really help. There are just too many different keys that are expected to be used in tandem, when there should be only a few which are more context-sensitive. The game looks like crap, and even on a modern system, RUNS like crap. There's no excuse for it, really. This was a low-budget console port like so many games, and like so many games it is crappy as a result. It's like developers have forgotten how to make PC games in the last 10 years. Expand
  11. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    It's a really fun game, The keyboard controls are a bit awkward but you can change them I really had fun with this one. although the classroom mini games are a bit repetitive same with some of the missions but it is still a wonderful game.
  12. Jul 19, 2013
    6
    first things first: I DO love this game!

    ...but, it IS an EXTREMELY BAD port from console to PC. it really is a shame if this game would have better controlls and tweakable graphics, it would be one of rockstars very best games! but the bad port quite ruins it, I'll have to admit that. - controls: clunky and overall bad. without an original pre-mapped xbox 360 controller,
    first things first: I DO love this game!

    ...but,

    it IS an EXTREMELY BAD port from console to PC.
    it really is a shame if this game would have better controlls and tweakable graphics, it would be one of rockstars very best games!

    but the bad port quite ruins it, I'll have to admit that.

    - controls: clunky and overall bad.
    without an original pre-mapped xbox 360 controller, this game is literally UNPLAYABLE and I don't mean "too hard to learn", I mean literally unplayable!

    - graphics: ugly textures that looked bad on consoles and haven't been changed.
    also it looks (and FEELS!) like it is locked at 30 FPS.

    I would say this game were a solid 8 or even a 9, if it weren't for these two very negative points!

    apart from lousy graphics and a sub-par port, I enjoyed this game a lot.

    lessons are annoying mini-games, which isn't as bad as it sounds and gym-class is funny all the way.
    characters are caricatures all seen millions of times, but these clichees are what made this game so charming for me, I really enjoyed it kind of like a "Ferris Bueler(?)/Parker Lewis" simulator.
    Expand
  13. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    MOST UNDERRATED GAME EVER!!!!!!

    I just dont get how can people dislike this game.. It AMAZING! The story is really, the characters are really likeable, and the game is FUN,, i recommend this game to EVERYONE!
  14. Aug 29, 2012
    6
    Bully for PC is similar to the Wii port in many ways. It has a terrible control scheme and has no graphical upgrade to speak of, hell it even looks worse. The game retains the tongue in cheek story and excellent...well everything but is hampered yet again by poor keyboard & mouse support and awful visuals.
  15. Sep 16, 2014
    7
    Bully is a late night snack made from Grand Theft Auto III leftovers. Rockstar did both games, and the latest patch runs perfectly on Windows 8. I better enjoy the writing, stereotypes, and caricatures in Bully more now than when I first played it.
  16. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    Any rating under 8 is crap if you say it glitches then you sir or mistress have a crappy computer. Bully is amazing and i have to admit it is goes up there with JC2 and not too far below GTA IV or V
  17. Jul 9, 2015
    10
    I don't know why people dont like this game, 'cause honestly it's awesome, if you expect a GTA you will get kind of sad, but it is a great game still! in fact I enjoyed it more than GTA IV. It has an intersiting plot, a decent combat system, the main character is very nice, it has awesome main quests. I realy advise you to try this game, it is one of the most underrated of the Xbox/PS2 generation!
  18. Jan 10, 2017
    8
    gta+school+no guns=bully. godly amazing game with a great storyline,i first played it on ps2. it was easy in ps2 but pc..the controls..ughhhh,not so much but still it worked like a charm and rocked like a god. it's simply a phenomenal game made by rockstar studios,hope to see bully 2 come out soon as possible. every open world game fan should try out this.

    My rating for it would be 8.4/10
  19. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    This game really doesn't want me to like it. This game is a pretty bad console port with tons of issues that i wont be able to bring up. Most noticeable would be the 30 fps-cap, and the annoying controls. Add to that frequent crashes, unskippable cutscenes, no autosaves and fixed save points and you get a formula for a bad time. And as it happens i am not entirely in love with theThis game really doesn't want me to like it. This game is a pretty bad console port with tons of issues that i wont be able to bring up. Most noticeable would be the 30 fps-cap, and the annoying controls. Add to that frequent crashes, unskippable cutscenes, no autosaves and fixed save points and you get a formula for a bad time. And as it happens i am not entirely in love with the general gameplay either. The combat is easy, boring and unsatisfying. The stealth missions are just plain horrible. The bikes arent all that fun to use making the getting from point A too point B quite boring. Failure often forces you to replay needless bits and there are some silly reasons for failure in this game that can get a bit annoying. There is also a lot of quite boring missions in this game that centers around the same boring mechanic over and over again which makes the game a bit repetitive. Now the campaign took me around 14 hours to complete and you might wonder why i bothered completing it since i havent done anything else than whine so far. Well the reason is that the game is quite charming. I really like the setting and the story, characters and character interactions are quite charming. And i found myself getting quite immersed in the game-world from time to time despite all my problems with the game. These times are however too few and too short for me to recommend this game. The most common emotion this game managed to generate from me is pure frustration and that is never a good sign. So i do not recommend this game despite its charm. Its simply too rough around the edges for me to do that. Expand
  20. Jul 24, 2011
    4
    A nasty port, I did attempt to play Bully despite its technical flaws but got so irritated by the characters, story and, well, everything ... that little remained to warrant continued investigation.
  21. Apr 23, 2011
    2
    Poor port. Can't setup my controller. It doesn't have calibration settings at all. There are also fewer buttons on a "PS3 style" controller than what are needed to perform all the actions, which is very strange... Expect to use the keyboard and mouse if you get this..
  22. Mar 2, 2013
    2
    This game has a horrible game play, with the main gripe being a lousy control of the character. Even after tweaking the controls it's barely playable. Graphics is not great but acceptable and story appeared nice for as long as I could bare the controls.
  23. AWG
    Aug 12, 2013
    6
    I couldn't enjoy this game as much as I wanted, mostly because of the terrible graphics and control scheme. Also, no Steam achievements make Bully a dull game experience. Yes, you can freely roam around the interesting world (a school campus) and yes, there are many blabbering characters but without any in-game gratification you get bored veeery soon.
  24. May 24, 2014
    8
    First off I want to say that I didn't experience any bugs in this game, except for one Townie mission where the audio just cut out and spluttered intermittently. Yeah, I played this with the controller though, so there may be problems on mouse and keyboard that I'm not aware of.

    Anyway, this game is great, and is up there in terms of Rockstar Games' quality. The setting is so creative -
    First off I want to say that I didn't experience any bugs in this game, except for one Townie mission where the audio just cut out and spluttered intermittently. Yeah, I played this with the controller though, so there may be problems on mouse and keyboard that I'm not aware of.

    Anyway, this game is great, and is up there in terms of Rockstar Games' quality. The setting is so creative - it's not just GTA with a facelift and a young protagonist - you feel like you're part of the school. Going to class is actually fun (except Shop cos for some reason the game thinks I'm NOT turn LS counter-clockwise....arghh), and while I was truant a lot, it was never a chore to abandon missions to go to class.

    Characters - great, I liked the character of Jimmy, as well as the faction leaders; Johnny and Earnest mainly. Jimmy himself is a dick, but he knows it, and he doesn't ever act so maturely that his age doesn't make sense. Gary...well. you don't really see him much, but he is an interesting douchebag when you do.
    The missions were probably the highlight of the game: doing GTA-like things like drive-bys, punchups, and fetch quests with a kid-like twist. Gameplay was always solid, and I liked being able to bust out the skateboard to go somewhere instead of worrying about cars. Most of these missions have parts that are a nod to adults, especially Mr Burton's and that lunchlady's missions (people who have played it know what I mean).

    Finally, the environment of Bullworth and its surrounding towns was surprisingly rich. I found myself wondering if they scaled down the town because without a car, you wouldn't travel around it so fast. This is probably why they squeezed in more detail...and when I found myself on a moped, my suspicions were confirmed. Didn't really feel the urge to explore it outside of missions, though.

    Yeah, so, Bully's a great game if you want to feel nostalgic over your New England school days, as well as beat up some preppies and nerds, GTA-style. I'd give it 8.5/10.
    Expand
  25. johnathanhellbourne
    Aug 16, 2009
    8
    It's a GTA themed game except that the pistols are slingshots and the protaganist is having puberty but It feels better than the GTA series main reason is tha I don't have to spend half the time going to point A to B just for an stupid race ar an gunfight, this game has a small map that can reduce the freadom but because you can stray of the path and dying is sometimesIt's a GTA themed game except that the pistols are slingshots and the protaganist is having puberty but It feels better than the GTA series main reason is tha I don't have to spend half the time going to point A to B just for an stupid race ar an gunfight, this game has a small map that can reduce the freadom but because you can stray of the path and dying is sometimes impossible, and seriously if you complete art class you can kiss a girl and get health (or body armor) but still it has some probles most boss characters from the factions(bully, nerd, preps, greasers,etc) the camera angle is stucks and especially the nerd boss the camera angle is very horrible I died three times, and also the overall camera angle is sometimes anoying when you ride a bike the camera autolocks on the back, that restrains you to fire projectiles at enemys, and geography class it's really horrible and besides what does it unlock? I don't kno and I don't care and math class it's practically useless it just gives you clothes I expected better than that, an graphic textures is a bit low(for the PC) anyways the control may be sometimes a pain because of the combat that lacks depth, and an anoying camera it's still fun Expand
  26. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    MOST UNDERRATED GAME EVER!!!!!!

    One of the BEST games ever.. Simply AMAZING! The story is really, the characters are really likeable, and the game is FUN,, i recommend this game to EVERYONE!
  27. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love Bully its fun and a gta game for kids. Its the the first rockstar game i played and still my fav game to date. The twist in the 1st chapter where garry betrays you AMAZING. But its opinion and i accept that. The soundtrack is stupendous with perfect music by Shaun Lee Expand
  28. Mar 29, 2012
    3
    This should be a movie, not a game; and it would still be pretty bad if it were a movie. The problem is that it's based on school cliches and as a result of something boring, the gameplay was sloppily put together. I recommend this to someone who wants something new but isn't very critical. However, anyone else stay away.
  29. Nov 22, 2011
    2
    Horrible graphics, lacking plot line, bad character developement is what makes this horrible game an outcast of all Rockstars products. And whats sad, is i heard number 2 is coming. OH GOD NO! Please do not buy this trash of a game. Use the money on obscure 1 or 2, gta IV, or something decent.
  30. RaymondF.
    Nov 2, 2008
    0
    Utter garbage. Glitches a lot, and freezes near the start on a loading screen. It isn't my system, people on the Steam forums have the same issue. This has to be the most incompetent pc port of the year. How this ever got past QA in the form it shipped in is a mystery. I hope GTA4 is a lot better on pc then this disaster. Plus the textures look extremely poor on some parts,(at least Utter garbage. Glitches a lot, and freezes near the start on a loading screen. It isn't my system, people on the Steam forums have the same issue. This has to be the most incompetent pc port of the year. How this ever got past QA in the form it shipped in is a mystery. I hope GTA4 is a lot better on pc then this disaster. Plus the textures look extremely poor on some parts,(at least the part I was able to play) very blurry and washed out. they didn't spend enough time improving the pc port. Expand
  31. Jun 11, 2014
    6
    What is the point of making a game where all you do is beat up bullies? The gameplay is boring and repetitive, the cutscenes are ugly and dried-out looking, and the game is much too short. Not worth your time or money. Could have been good, but very flawed.
  32. Mar 9, 2015
    10
    This is the worst PC port i have ever played. No menu mouse support and incredibly long loading screen. Don't buy this on PC.
    p.s.
    the animation is also terrible.
  33. JonasNielsen
    Nov 22, 2008
    5
    This is probably the worst port I have ever played. Every single aspect of the game has been ruined by this. The graphics performance is terrible compared to other games of the same quality, the controls are horrible and it is obvious that no Rockstar Games has put no effort whatsoever in making the gameplay just the least fit for PC.
    That put aside, the game is very entertaining, but
    This is probably the worst port I have ever played. Every single aspect of the game has been ruined by this. The graphics performance is terrible compared to other games of the same quality, the controls are horrible and it is obvious that no Rockstar Games has put no effort whatsoever in making the gameplay just the least fit for PC.
    That put aside, the game is very entertaining, but it's just not worth it to put with the terrible port job.
    Expand
  34. Aug 13, 2013
    7
    I picked this up from Green Man Gaming the other day for a couple dollars, and am pleased that I did. This game has aged well, and is still a lot of fun. It doesn't trump the GTA series but it also doesn't try to. It just finds its own niche alongside its Rockstar brother. The story is solid, the humor is funny although sometimes juvenile and the game play is decent, but it all works wellI picked this up from Green Man Gaming the other day for a couple dollars, and am pleased that I did. This game has aged well, and is still a lot of fun. It doesn't trump the GTA series but it also doesn't try to. It just finds its own niche alongside its Rockstar brother. The story is solid, the humor is funny although sometimes juvenile and the game play is decent, but it all works well together. As many have pointed out the control scheme is a bit haphazard, which is the same with 90% of 3rd person games on PC, and you would do well to get yourself a gamepad. Expand
  35. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    Grand Theft Auto, but with kids. Sure, the classes are a pain in the ass, and I'm still stuck on English 4, but the missions are funny, and there's a bunch of things you can do besides go to school. The graphics are dated, but keep in mind that this is an old game. All in all, this is a must buy for any Rockstar fan.
  36. May 7, 2011
    5
    If you ever think to buy this game simply because it came from Rockstar, and you're expecting a deep, engaging plot like in the GTA and Max Payne series, or maybe a Crows Zero style storytelling, don't buy this game. This game has an absolutely ridiculous plot. It's fine if you just want to play as a weekend time-waste, but generally there's little reason to play Bully. After playing theIf you ever think to buy this game simply because it came from Rockstar, and you're expecting a deep, engaging plot like in the GTA and Max Payne series, or maybe a Crows Zero style storytelling, don't buy this game. This game has an absolutely ridiculous plot. It's fine if you just want to play as a weekend time-waste, but generally there's little reason to play Bully. After playing the game I ended up thinking who should be playing this game. Adults? No, it's too childlish. Small kids? The game's too rough for them. Expand
  37. Jun 26, 2016
    9
    Not sure why the fellow critics are so tough on this game. These days you can often find it on sale for a mere 3 or 5 dollars and it really is worth the few bucks, if you are not one of the mainstream ADD shoot and explosion type gamers. Fun, different and at times a bit nostalgic (you play a kid in highschool, after all)- check it out!
  38. FGM
    Dec 13, 2016
    3
    Funny story & good idea mixed with bad execution, clunky controls, bad animations, poor graphics, lack of content, half good dialogues. In summary, this game is overly lacking in all departments.
  39. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    It's rare that a developer goes from make a adult game about crime with very adult themes. To making a game about a high school kid who moves to a school for child delinquents and socially challenged kids, but in a lot of ways Bully is like a GTA. For example Bully is a giant open world with stuff to collect, bike races to do, arcade games to play, and much more to just kind of find.TheIt's rare that a developer goes from make a adult game about crime with very adult themes. To making a game about a high school kid who moves to a school for child delinquents and socially challenged kids, but in a lot of ways Bully is like a GTA. For example Bully is a giant open world with stuff to collect, bike races to do, arcade games to play, and much more to just kind of find.The mission structure is very similar to GTA, you do a bunch of work for one of the factions;like the jocks or the nerds, and the more the more you do work for one faction it can effect your standing with others. Which in turn can effect the way some of the people treat you at school. The combat is very similar but instead of machine guns and rocket launches. Your playing with slingshots and stink bombs. There are also a lot of things that are different about Bully that really makes it feel like your in high school it feel very structured, but that's not a bad thing at all. Like you have classes two times a day everyday until you pass the highest level of that class, and of you don't go the prefects or any adult of authority. All the classes have there own perks like one of the classes shows you where all the collectibles, and unlike the protagonists in GTA jimmy is 15 and needs his sleep so if your out past 2 you just pass out on the spot which can make some night missions feel a little too time restrictive.
    The story starts you out in a car ride with you and your mom and what seems to be your new stepdad. They then drop you off in the front of Bullyworth academy where you meet the principle and some of the teacher, but the fun starts to come in when you go to your dorm room and meet your new friend Gary, who is a sociopath, i don't know how else to put it.You soon start to become manipulated by him, and you two soon go your separate ways and you start to see less and less of him. You then start to do work for the other factions of the school. Playing Bully it kind of puts you back and makes you think about your time in high school, I know the archetypes aren't as plain and simple as they are in Bully but it does a great job of boiling a lot of the high school experience down to a 20 hour game.
    Then there are a few technical issues with bully I didn't really have too many other then the game crash on me a couple of times, and that just sucks after that happened for the first time a started saving much more frequently. I can't really say definitely how the game will turn out for you, but it didn't seem to bad. From my experience with it. Over all the game is well made but parts of it just seem kind of repetitive and broken;overall though I think it's a great game.
    Expand
  40. Dec 21, 2016
    1
    The controls are horrible on the PC. I don't understand how can be any positive review on this garbage. I left at the first lock pick - by then it was enough of useless controls, bad pc port, etc. Games like this should be banned, they just wasting your time. Refund.
  41. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    Rockstar games are just unbelievable cool !!! This is such a great game and it took me 5 years to find it, i did not know about this game before. Truly great !!! ROCKSTAR RULES !!!
  42. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    one of the best open world games and should even cost more.
  43. Jun 19, 2016
    4
    Bully is a good game on Wii, Xbox 360 and PS2 but the pc port is a terrible transition. It isn't on the levels of Dark Souls' port or Resident Evil 4's port but there are quite a few issues that has made me more focused on them rather than the actual game and it's content. Here are the problems that rouble the PC port of bully and I'm gonna do something a bit similar to what I did with myBully is a good game on Wii, Xbox 360 and PS2 but the pc port is a terrible transition. It isn't on the levels of Dark Souls' port or Resident Evil 4's port but there are quite a few issues that has made me more focused on them rather than the actual game and it's content. Here are the problems that rouble the PC port of bully and I'm gonna do something a bit similar to what I did with my Dark Souls review. I will upload a review of the console version of bully on metacritic but here on steam, I'm gonna focus on the pc's issues. I will put in the metacritic link here when I get it written: For now here are the issues on the PC version:

    PROBLEM 1: Poor mouse and keyboard support. I know that Bully has rebindable keys, but even if u rebind them, the controls will still be a mess. Running around will be awkward and you will find yourself running into walls and run into something when running around a corner. Controls are the worst when you're on a bike. Bike controls are similar to that of GTA SA's bike controls but add in the bad controls of the gameplay when you're on foot but imagine you're on an ice rink. When you make a turn, your bike will turn and possibly knock into something because the camera's hard to control and it will also veer into another direction and crash into something else.

    PROBLEM 2: Frame rate dips. Bully's frame rate ended up dippping into the 10's and sometimes into the single digits when I was performing certain actions and they did this throughout the whole game and they dipped alot when I wa indoors especially.

    PROBLEM 3: Missing environmental textures. Some textures throughout the environment (especially in the alley areas) are either missing nd have a white bloch in it's place, have an incorrect colour tint to it or are poorly textured and make it look like the developers snotted on the camera.

    PROBLEM 4: Frame rate locked. The frame rate was locked t 30 fps, a common problem that I've seen popping up repeatedly when I talk about bad porting. I have had a few friends say that they were able to get the game to 40 fps, but they needed to go into the game's files and delete all of the environment's shadows in it's file in order for it to get 40 and that still isn't a much better frame rate. Even after doing this, my friends still said they had repeated dips in frame rate into the single digits, even with the shadows deleted.

    Bully is a very good game on all of the other systems other than the PC. Bully isn't the worst port in history but it still isn't a good port.
    Expand
  44. Nov 1, 2016
    7
    A kinda unique game with a not so good PC port. Bad out of the way first, game is capped at 30 fps on by default and overall dont feel like a step up from PS2 version with poor graphics and controls that dont work so well on mouse and keyboard. Skating especialy will make your fingers hurt from constant mashing the key. Plz play this on controller if you can.

    Game itself feels like a
    A kinda unique game with a not so good PC port. Bad out of the way first, game is capped at 30 fps on by default and overall dont feel like a step up from PS2 version with poor graphics and controls that dont work so well on mouse and keyboard. Skating especialy will make your fingers hurt from constant mashing the key. Plz play this on controller if you can.

    Game itself feels like a watered down non violent GTA, but theres still enjoyment to be had even if youre a hardcore GTA player. Playing out all the nasty stuff you dreamed about during school but never had the guts to do, or simply play out the stereotypes from american pop culture school movies is very fun. The plot itself isnt anything special, i didnt felt attached to any of its characters. Open world you play in is fairly small, and if you could jack cars it would feel microscopic compared to even GTA III's Liberty City. Its also very restrictive on where you can go and not.
    Expand
  45. Jun 27, 2020
    0
    Bought it , then immediatly refunded it, I dont know how they want us to review a game that dosen't do its job. ACTUALLY WORK. The PC port of this otherwise amazing game is such a joke and shows how pathetic and lazy rockstar games are.
  46. May 15, 2020
    0
    Probaly one of WORST GAME of rockstar. Unfair and full of bugs and glitches doesnt deserve a continuation. Rockstar, throw this game on limbo.
  47. May 9, 2020
    6
    Unusual game from Rockstar. Funny setting, interesting places, plot, good music in some places. I played this game several times in my childhood, but now, having changed my mind, I can say that this game is good, but not as it was once praised.
  48. K.Richardson
    Oct 2, 2009
    7
    It's true the port is terrible, and the opening movie broke up several times on my ATI Radeon HD 2600. But the graphics problems did not continue into the game.

    I actually removed the game from my computer after being soundly beaten by bullies, struggling with difficult controls, etc. Then overnight, it grew on me, and I put it back, deciding to explore and go to class, rather than
    It's true the port is terrible, and the opening movie broke up several times on my ATI Radeon HD 2600. But the graphics problems did not continue into the game.

    I actually removed the game from my computer after being soundly beaten by bullies, struggling with difficult controls, etc. Then overnight, it grew on me, and I put it back, deciding to explore and go to class, rather than face my assigned "activity". So far, it's nicely unpredictable and amusing. Since it's being pretty heavily discounted in stores, I'd say it was a reasonable deal. It's certainly "different".
    Expand
  49. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    This was easily one of my favorite games on my Ps2, and i really enjoyed playing it on the PC as well.
    The Scholarship Edition adds a few new missions (Nothing major), some new school classes and improved graphics (As compared to the Ps2 version). I found the story enjoyable, and i loved the atmosphere surrounding the game. The game is best played with an Xbox 360 controller, but the
    This was easily one of my favorite games on my Ps2, and i really enjoyed playing it on the PC as well.
    The Scholarship Edition adds a few new missions (Nothing major), some new school classes and improved graphics (As compared to the Ps2 version). I found the story enjoyable, and i loved the atmosphere surrounding the game. The game is best played with an Xbox 360 controller, but the Keyboard controls are fine as well.
    Expand
  50. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    Bully is not GTA in a school campus just like RDR is not GTA in the old wild west. Bully is it's own game, and it's story plays out remarkably well. There is only one bad thing about this port: the control scheme. It is one of the first, if not the first game where Rockstar implements the XBox360 controller alongside keyboard controls, and it shows when trying to play with the keyboard.Bully is not GTA in a school campus just like RDR is not GTA in the old wild west. Bully is it's own game, and it's story plays out remarkably well. There is only one bad thing about this port: the control scheme. It is one of the first, if not the first game where Rockstar implements the XBox360 controller alongside keyboard controls, and it shows when trying to play with the keyboard. But apart from that, is a gaming experience not to be missed. The world doesn't feel as big and complex as it's contemporary GTA games (San Andreas), but there's a lot to do in it, even with the lackluster number of vehicles (a few types of pedal-bikes, a kart and wheelboard). The weapons in other games here became improvised "tools" like marbles, rotten eggs, fire-crackers and spud-guns, and the campus is just part of the game, with a (small) city waiting for Jimmy to evade into. Expand
  51. Apr 30, 2012
    7
    I give this game a seven because after tweaking around with some notably uncomfortable pre-set control schematics and mouse sensitivity, i found this to be an enjoyable game.

    I really cant see what the others talk about when they say that the game crashes and whatnot, because it plays perfectly fine in all areas for me, and im on a laptop. The storyline is mildly entertaining, only
    I give this game a seven because after tweaking around with some notably uncomfortable pre-set control schematics and mouse sensitivity, i found this to be an enjoyable game.

    I really cant see what the others talk about when they say that the game crashes and whatnot, because it plays perfectly fine in all areas for me, and im on a laptop.

    The storyline is mildly entertaining, only look at it from an adolecent perspective, and dont expect any fludity throughout the game's story, Rather;look at each mission as it's own seperate story, with a few chaining together.

    Overall its a goofy game with some serious porting issues, but once you hack and type through those issues, Bully:scholarship edition is an okay-game to pass the time.
    Expand
  52. May 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played, fulfilling to play it for hours on end and has a great story arc. Characters are fantastic and hilarious! Really underrated game!
  53. May 21, 2012
    9
    Porting issues. A well known term of our age. But with this game we had no real performance or stability issues. The key is: Reviewers who played the game on another platform remember the controls, how natural it feels to control the game. But when you see a PC port, everything is different. You have to aim, you have new controls and more. It isn't bad. Except for some mouse gesture likePorting issues. A well known term of our age. But with this game we had no real performance or stability issues. The key is: Reviewers who played the game on another platform remember the controls, how natural it feels to control the game. But when you see a PC port, everything is different. You have to aim, you have new controls and more. It isn't bad. Except for some mouse gesture like controls (lockpicking) the controls can feel natural for a PC Gamer. The story, the mood is nice, but sadly something is missing. While you have classes, you don't have radio. And while it is easy to play music in backgrund, you won't have talk shows, commercials, etc. and in a GTA like game we just love commercials. We recognize how American companies advertise, we hear a similar add and laugh. This is how we feel the world of GTA as our World. Bully isn't only smaller, but it isn't as detailed as most GTA titles, and this feels. It is a more than decent game. The issues aren't serious. But from Rockstar you would expect a bit more. Expand
  54. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    a twist to the GTA themed games, it invovles a highschool boy and how his school like turns out is up to you. I wouldn't say this is better than GTA but it is a nice change. you will have to go to classes and play mini games which is interesting a bit. although if you fail to go to class you have to do chores...which gets boring fast. lots of the missions are kinda repetitive and only aa twist to the GTA themed games, it invovles a highschool boy and how his school like turns out is up to you. I wouldn't say this is better than GTA but it is a nice change. you will have to go to classes and play mini games which is interesting a bit. although if you fail to go to class you have to do chores...which gets boring fast. lots of the missions are kinda repetitive and only a few are fun to play. no guns and stealing cars, so you have to use more of your wit and basic weapons like slingshots and stealing bikes...overall story is decent, you go and change the school basically. Expand
  55. RSL
    Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What can i say about this game that has not already been said? Not to much, this game is a hands down classic in every sense of the word, and still will be.
    Story:7/10
    The reason I'm giving the story a seven, is because there is not to much detail about Jimmy, and why he is going to bullworth, all we have is that he has a mean step dad and he is a trouble maker, we don't know WHAT he did

    Characters:10/10
    Why am i giving this a high rating you ask? Because all the characters are unique in their own way. Lets take Russel for example, he is a thug [Spoilers ahead] who in the end, turns out to be a loving person.

    Missions:9/10
    The reason i am giving this a nine is only because of the seasons. I never did like the idea of seasons in video games, but i absolutely HATED the winter season. From the tagging mission to the drunk Santa, the missions are also qwerky and replayabe

    Graphics:10/10
    [Nothing to say here]

    Ending:8/10
    In the end, you confront the bully Garry, who insults you as you chase him,
    Garry has a plan to take over bullworth, while Jimmy thinks other,
    Russel helps you, and a expelled student comes back.
    Garry gets expelled, and the principle is no longer on jimmy tail about anything.
    Expand
  56. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. It has good characters, cool missions, a nice story and funny dialogues. Also, they did a very good job with the soundtrack. A must-buy for GTA fans.
  57. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games, I remember this as a child :D Way better than GTA IV in my opinion. Too bad they didn't make Bully 2, really was looking forward to it
  58. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I approve of this game, it is a good game and I like it because I learnt how to bully people and now I have become the school bully, even the teachers are afraid of me. However there is one person who is not, Harry Lamond
  59. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    The game itself is wonderful, no doubt. And when I started to play this PC edition(back in 2012), the much-complained crash issues were already totally solved by patches. It's perfect.
  60. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    Man, I cannot believe some of the people who gave this game a bad review. This was one of the best GTA style games I have played. The Graphics and gameplay are just ok but it the game is extremly fun to play. The charecters are really likeable and has one of the funniest story lines I have ever seen. I would defenatly recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a good game.Man, I cannot believe some of the people who gave this game a bad review. This was one of the best GTA style games I have played. The Graphics and gameplay are just ok but it the game is extremly fun to play. The charecters are really likeable and has one of the funniest story lines I have ever seen. I would defenatly recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a good game.

    Graphics: 7
    Sound: 9
    Gamplay: 6
    Fun: 10
    Expand
  61. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    Even to this day, Bully is a great game. The story was a bit lacking, but it did not sway me from the fun and satisfaction of its core game-play. Sure, popular series like GTA, has much more freedom in terms of exploration, weapons and vehicles, but is nothing compared to shooting slingshots and using every-day tools as weapons. Bully is a much more relateable game that sets the playersEven to this day, Bully is a great game. The story was a bit lacking, but it did not sway me from the fun and satisfaction of its core game-play. Sure, popular series like GTA, has much more freedom in terms of exploration, weapons and vehicles, but is nothing compared to shooting slingshots and using every-day tools as weapons. Bully is a much more relateable game that sets the players inside the shoes of a new kid in a school filled stereotypical groups of friends, and most significantly, the big bad bullies themselves. This fact by itself enhances the gaming experience tremendously, it was the first game I didn't compel myself to stop taking break, and to get back into the game. I had completely lost myself into the game. Playing through the game from beginning to end felt more of a pleasure and privilege rather than a checked spot off my Completed Games" list. Expand
  62. Jan 8, 2014
    6
    Great freedom and great fun rock star game down and sound, but the game play and a lot of unfortunate bugs that can not be said besides the 2008 graphics as the game came out in the year compared to the dead space, and so on.
  63. Sep 19, 2014
    8
    This game is awesome, it is really fun and worth the money. Why did I not give it a 10? Because the controls are really something you need to get used to and the port is bad but after you get used to the controls its a really fun game to play!
  64. Jul 18, 2020
    8
    Un Aceptable port a PC,X360,Ps3 (Scorlaship edition) del classico juego de rockstar Games
  65. Dec 10, 2016
    9
    10 years ago Rockstar released Bully, a game about an adolescence boy named James(Jimmy) Hopkins. This game is the most unusual game Rockstar has ever developed in the most hilariously amazing ways! The game consists of five chapters where you try to gain influence in each of the town's groupies in order for you to gain control of the school. This makes for some HYSTERICAL missions that10 years ago Rockstar released Bully, a game about an adolescence boy named James(Jimmy) Hopkins. This game is the most unusual game Rockstar has ever developed in the most hilariously amazing ways! The game consists of five chapters where you try to gain influence in each of the town's groupies in order for you to gain control of the school. This makes for some HYSTERICAL missions that exaggerate highschool stereotypes. You will do odd jobs for greasers, preps, nerds, jocks and townies. The game world consists of three islands and school campus. While the map is not the most lively open world game we have seen in gaming it offers a lot of fun cruising on a mo-ped or your stylish BMX bike. My favourite part of Bully is definitely the combat and the silly writing. You learn new combos from a hobo near your school by bringing him what he asks. The combat is very similar to that of The Warriors, only smaller in scale and less brutal(you will not be killing anyone).
    I could go on for such a long time with reasons why I love Bully's charm but I will just implore that you play it for yourself.
    Expand
  66. Mar 5, 2020
    9
    9.0/10
    Когда я покупал эту игру (осознавая тот факт, что вышла она по сути ещё в далёком 2006 году), я даже не представлял, насколько мне будет интересно играть в неё в 2020. Просто потрясающий очередной шедевр Rockstar, незамеченный в своё время многими, в том числе и мной. Интересный сюжет, классный геймплей, приятная живая атмосфера, созданная в том числе отличной музыкой (будь то
    9.0/10
    Когда я покупал эту игру (осознавая тот факт, что вышла она по сути ещё в далёком 2006 году), я даже не представлял, насколько мне будет интересно играть в неё в 2020. Просто потрясающий очередной шедевр Rockstar, незамеченный в своё время многими, в том числе и мной. Интересный сюжет, классный геймплей, приятная живая атмосфера, созданная в том числе отличной музыкой (будь то комичный синтипоп, который звучит в тот момент, пока ты перестреливаешься с ботанами петардами, или агрессивный ска-панк, являющийся саундтреком твоего улепётывания от отчисленных быдланов), и масса сатиры и чёрного юмора, который актуален и по сей день. Игры, которые оставляют такое приятное послевкусие, вдвойне приятно проходить.
    Expand
  67. Oct 20, 2019
    10
    Рокстар та компания, которая умеет довести до ума отличные идеи. Каждая игра нарушает некоторые социальные проблемы - ГТА, ЛА Нуар, Були - все замечательно, даже не скажешь что эти игры издала 1 компания. Отличный симулятор подростающего Тревора Филипса. Единственная игра на которую, я надеюсь что будет, ремастеред, потому что главная беда - это графика, игра реально страшная.Рокстар та компания, которая умеет довести до ума отличные идеи. Каждая игра нарушает некоторые социальные проблемы - ГТА, ЛА Нуар, Були - все замечательно, даже не скажешь что эти игры издала 1 компания. Отличный симулятор подростающего Тревора Филипса. Единственная игра на которую, я надеюсь что будет, ремастеред, потому что главная беда - это графика, игра реально страшная.
  68. Dec 14, 2020
    7
    My experience with this game was quite enjoyable and awful at the same time. I decided to play it again and finish it since I never did as a kid. God damn this game is so good, the characters are so interesting yet so limited, the world is amazing, classes are fun mini-games that improve your stats, the different and very creative weapons are the best thing about this game, the gameMy experience with this game was quite enjoyable and awful at the same time. I decided to play it again and finish it since I never did as a kid. God damn this game is so good, the characters are so interesting yet so limited, the world is amazing, classes are fun mini-games that improve your stats, the different and very creative weapons are the best thing about this game, the game doesn't take itself seriously and it shines in comedy. Now, why a 7? well this is most arguably the worst port I've ever got my hands on, I wasted almost 3 hours of my life of lost playtime because the game kept crashing, even with patches and fan-patches, the game crashed constantly especially late game (Chapter IV and V), I had to redo so many missions it's so unacceptable that a huge company like Rockstar put this **** out. I gotta admit the game was quite short for my taste, with all missions, classes, and challenges finished in just 16 hours. One last thing, the controls... Wow, the controls are so unoptimized for Mouse & Keyboard, the mouse sensitivity is all over the place I couldn't understand what was happening when I attempted aiming. So if you really really really wanna play this underrated gem, play it with a controller, and make sure you save after every simple task you do. It's so sad cause this game deserves so much more care. Now give us a sequel goddamn-it. Expand
  69. Aug 8, 2018
    9
    This game is so underrated. Very fun to play. In time repetition begins but still..
  70. Sep 3, 2018
    8
    Игра отменная, неплохо передана жизнь американского школьника-задиры. Мини-игры в виде уроков превосходны. Игра даже в 2018 году проходится с удовольствием: не было ни одного момента, который бы хотелось пропустить. Диалоги интересно слушать, хотя и далеко-далеко не все.Игра отменная, неплохо передана жизнь американского школьника-задиры. Мини-игры в виде уроков превосходны. Игра даже в 2018 году проходится с удовольствием: не было ни одного момента, который бы хотелось пропустить. Диалоги интересно слушать, хотя и далеко-далеко не все.
  71. May 28, 2019
    9
    Everyone complaining about how **** the port is needs to relax. There has been a patch out for a year or so that makes this game perfect and even run at 60fps. Great game. Still holds up to this day and I have yet to see a game rival this GEM.
  72. Nov 13, 2019
    5
    "So here I am, at probably the worst school in the country. Whose alumni are nothing but arms dealers, serial killers, and corporate lawyers. Real scum. And that old creep thinks he can tame me? We shall see, my friend. I only give people what they have coming to them." — Jimmy Hopkins
  73. Aug 11, 2020
    8
    ====================IIIIIIIIII GAME RANK : 7.50+IIIIIIIIII====================
  74. Feb 6, 2020
    9
    10/10 --------------------------------------------------------------------------
  75. Feb 18, 2020
    7
    07/10......................................................................
  76. Nov 3, 2020
    10
    Love this game, feels and looks so much better than original and has more content
  77. Apr 20, 2020
    9
    The game is really good, this is irrefutable, but this version of the PC lacks functionality, and when I say that, I'm talking about the game crashing all the time. These mistakes must be fixed, but it is something they should do.
  78. Jul 3, 2020
    8
    The game, regarding the graphic improvement seems to me a success for its time. As for the gameplay, it has been adapted poorly since it makes it difficult to play with the default controls offered by the title. The stages are a great point in favor since they are very well built both for the place where they are located and for the history. One thing worth noting is that there are manyThe game, regarding the graphic improvement seems to me a success for its time. As for the gameplay, it has been adapted poorly since it makes it difficult to play with the default controls offered by the title. The stages are a great point in favor since they are very well built both for the place where they are located and for the history. One thing worth noting is that there are many unnecessary filler missions that you could have swapped for missions that extend the story a bit further. Expand
  79. Jul 16, 2020
    8
    Un buen juego de Rockstar y muy original, ya que la forma en la que llevó Rockstar este juego al mercado no es lo común, ya que si, hay juegos así en el mercado, pero su ambientación y misiones e historia son muy distintas en este Bully. Un buen juego, recomendado.
  80. Aug 8, 2020
    9
    СДЕЛАН В БРИТАНИИ...

    Забегу наперёд: Rockstar Games не подкачала. Игра про школьного хулигана получилась в типичной для "рок-звёзд" манере - открытый мир, приправленный сатирой на современное общество. В этот раз разработчики решили затронуть подростковую жизнь с типичными для этого возраста "проблемами" - завалы на учёбе, драки, отношения с девушками. Большинство в данный период
    СДЕЛАН В БРИТАНИИ...

    Забегу наперёд: Rockstar Games не подкачала. Игра про школьного хулигана получилась в типичной для "рок-звёзд" манере - открытый мир, приправленный сатирой на современное общество. В этот раз разработчики решили затронуть подростковую жизнь с типичными для этого возраста "проблемами" - завалы на учёбе, драки, отношения с девушками.

    Большинство в данный период времени закрывается в себе и плачется о своих проблемах, но только не Джимми Хопкинс. Очередной отчим оплатил Джимми год учёбы в Булльвортской академии, дабы вместе с матерью мальчугана отправиться в круиз. Только вот данное место не совсем уж пригодно для обучения. Ученики с "нарисованными" тройками в аттестате становятся корпоративными юристами и наркоторговцами.

    Именно по этому Джеймс решает, что остаться в этой школе несломленным помогут лишь сила и хитрость. Обретая новых друзей и врагов, наживая всё больше проблем, Джимми Хопкинс должен прожить целый год в обстановке вечных скандалов, разборок и проблем. При этом учителя обязаны думать, что Джеймс приличный ученик - иначе восьмое исключение станет для него роковым.
    Сюжет не блещет неожиданными поворотами, это приземлённая история, прелесть которой в сатире. Также, с течением времени, меняется и время года. Это влияет на окружающий мир и одежду персонажей.

    Игровой процесс, зачастую, состоит из драк. Боевая система поначалу представляет из себя "затыкивание" пары кнопок, но со временем Джимми будет учиться новым приёмам, которые помогут валить как уличную шпану, так и лютых качков. Для неравного боя в запасе у юного вандала имеются рогатки, петарды, бомбы-вонючки и прочие предметы арсенала начинающего анархиста.

    Задания разнообразны. От простых разборок, до воровства учебных журналов. Иногда придётся погонять на велосипедах, заниматься порчей школьного имущества. Сама игра делится на главы, каждая из которых соответствует одному времени года. И в конце каждой главы нас ожидает сражение с очередным выскочкой, посмевшим встать на пути Хопкинса.

    Открытый мир не такой большой, как в играх серии GTA, например, но он также наполнен разного рода местами и заданиями. Поручения чудаков и незнакомцев, сбор коллекционных предметов, гонки - классика для открытых миров Rockstar.

    Как было сказано в самом начале - игра вышла отличной. После нескольких прохождений, в неё до сих пор хочется возвращаться. Это и ностальгия по школьным денькам, и разнообразные задания. Особенно эта игра понравится таким же хулиганам, как сам главный герой.
    Expand
  81. Oct 20, 2020
    8
    very bad. only good becuas eo fmods. that fix the **** goddamn game. compelte **** ****
  82. Dec 19, 2020
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game changed my life. The reason I gave this game such a high rating is because I cannot even start to define the excellence provided by Rockstar. I first played this game when I was 9. I saw my friend play it, and he let me borrow his CD. at first I was unsure about the quality, but it blew my mind. The story is unbelievably convincing. The characters are so colorful and interesting. Seriously. If you play a GTA game, you will not know or remember any of the non-storyline NPCs. But even the non-storyline NPCs are memorable and interesting. Everyone has something to do, everyone has a name, everyone feels like a real person. This game is compared to GTA a lot, which should not be done. This game might have an open world and comes from the same studio, but they are very different. In my opinion, Bully is better than any GTA game out there. You can even learn new things because of the class feature. They have Geography, Chemistry, Math, Art, Photography, Gym, Auto-shop and more to learn than GTA could ever offer. It also introduces things I never new could work so well in a game. It introduces the idea of cliques in a high- school setting. Never has a game ever put high schools at such a high level as Bully. You can explore different factions, beat their leaders, become a leader, and view their lifestyle from a newcomers point of view. This brings me to my favorite part of the game, the protagonist and the antagonists. This games protagonist, Jimmy Hopkins is the most relatable person ever. He tries his best to stop bullying and keeps getting sucked into the American high school social life and ends up as the worst student and a teacher's nightmare, which is such a simple, but amazing concept. The antagonist, Gary Smith is my favorite character in the whole game. You only see him in chapters one and five. He is a well written villain and is brilliantly voice acted. He is not some giant scary monster who wants to destroy the human race, he is just a sociopath kid with a lot of mental issues, who needs help. Now we come to the most underrated part of Bully. THE MUSIC!!! I LOVED the soundtrack. Shawn Lee did an amazing job of capturing the mood of the game. The soundtracks vary from place to place, clique to clique and door to door. It is genius and simple. It plays in the background 24/7 and it never gets annoying. I have never heard anyone complain about the soundtrack of this game. You might be thinking, "If you love this game so much, why don't you give it a 10. Because no game is perfect. This game has it's fair share of flaws. Firstly, the PC version (the one I have played) is not as good as the PS2 version. Yeah, the graphics might be better, but I'm someone who can overlook graphics. PC has useless and redundant missions with a few exceptions. The PC version doesn't really brings anything new to the table. I also don't like how buggy it can be sometimes. the controls can be a nightmare and certain cutscenes just look un natural. Even after all this, I can keep going for hours. I love Bully and it is my favorite game of all time. It is a must play and Bravo! Rockstar for making this masterpiece. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 42
    Bully's biggest problem is that it's a shoddy port job, rife with technical missteps that wouldn't warrant comment if they weren't so profoundly damaging to the game.
  2. 78
    Uninspired classroom minigames and PC-specific porting and performance problems continue to frustrate our experience with the game, but never so much that we weren't willing to load it back up again to uncover the next chapter of the story.
  3. Welcome to Bullworth Academy, a melting pot of high school stereotypes. Outsiders are making plans to rule the world, teachers terrorize their pupils, sports aces and rock 'n rollers try to impress the girls while the posh students wrinkle their nose. While the GTA-style game itself is well done, the technical conversion to the PC is a bit sloppy. Should you ever be asked why video games are a cultural asset, show them Bully.