Command & Conquer: Generals Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 323 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Command & Conquer Generals puts your trigger finger on the pulse of modern warfare. Choose a General in control of massive armies of bleeding-edge military weaponry across a globe teetering on the brink of Armageddon. Command either the mighty U.S. Army, the Chinese war machine or theCommand & Conquer Generals puts your trigger finger on the pulse of modern warfare. Choose a General in control of massive armies of bleeding-edge military weaponry across a globe teetering on the brink of Armageddon. Command either the mighty U.S. Army, the Chinese war machine or the resourceful Global Liberation Army, each packed with high-tech arsenals ready to deliver unprecedented firepower on land or in the skies. Prepare your forces, Commander... it's time to engage in the next generation of 3D real-time strategy. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Command & Conquer: Generals Zero Hour Movie 2
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    Generals has a rock-solid single-player game and the most addictive multiplayer skirmishes of the year... A gaming masterpiece.
  2. 100
    One of the biggest improvements to the game is the full-fledged air battles.
  3. The 3D graphics is exceptional, the units, the buildings, their animations also and the visual effects are very detailed and very well done for such a game.
  4. 86
    It’s these little details and the wide array of units for each side that makes Command & Conquer Generals a very entertaining title and the included skirmish mode will keep you entertained for a long while.
  5. 82
    Like Westwood's real-time strategy games, there's a lot of flash here, some of the same old interface problems, and more than enough "yee-haw!" enthusiasm to make up for any shortcomings. Well, almost.
  6. Although Command & Conquer: Generals has many points that has made the franchise so popular over the years, it has been “vanillafied” – it’s been molded to play and appear like every other real-time strategy (RTS) game out there.
  7. GMR Magazine
    60
    The glossy graphics can't shine off the mediocrity of the Westwood formula. [Apr 2003, p.67]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 46
  2. Negative: 6 out of 46
  1. AmericanGeneral
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    I love this game, Buy this game period.
  2. Apr 14, 2015
    10
    The last time I played this game was many years ago, and I recently purchased it once again. It is definitely the best RTS ever created. ItThe last time I played this game was many years ago, and I recently purchased it once again. It is definitely the best RTS ever created. It brings in a decent difficulty as well as addictive gameplay. Allowing soldiers to go into vehicles and take them to places? What about having soldiers stay inside a building until enemies walk by? I will warn you that it does not have 1920x1080 resolution, but it still plays just fine. If you ever wanted to play a very good RTS, purchase this game! Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    C&C Generals is in my opinion one of the best strategy games ever released. Unlike many other games that call themselves "strategy" games,C&C Generals is in my opinion one of the best strategy games ever released. Unlike many other games that call themselves "strategy" games, Generals really requires a good strategy to play well. It is very well balanced and very entertaining while it isn't as needlessly complex as many other strategy games are. Even though the game was release quite a few years before I write this review, I still consider it a must-buy for people who enjoy strategy games. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2019
    8
    C&C in the finest :)
    Game suck you in after few hour of gameplay !!
    If only a campaign could be longer... too short for C&C game
  5. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    For me, C&C Generals was succeeding a very well made RTS, Red Alert 2, even though its a different type of C&C title. Although I do notFor me, C&C Generals was succeeding a very well made RTS, Red Alert 2, even though its a different type of C&C title. Although I do not believe overall that Generals is a better game, it is still a decent game and fun to play. It also importantly includes 2 great features, Online Multiplayer and a map editor. Online is fun against other players, challenging, and usually the connection is pretty solid. The map editor includes a lot of options, definitely worth checking out if you like making your own games. I do like how this game has a realistic aspect to it, the units and buildings are of a "modern genre" and makes for an interesting battle. There are some flaws though, at times the game is a bit "immature" and I think its missing some of the basic C&C feel. It is important creators of the series don't shy away from the fast-paced, intense combat of the past or the titles may suffer. I will admit right now that I am extremely excited for C&C Generals 2, I think it as the potential to become a superb RTS, please EA please! Expand
  6. Wetwebwork
    Apr 16, 2003
    7
    Graphically, this is probably as good as it gets (well, til next year), but you really do need a top end PC. If you're lacking in way, Graphically, this is probably as good as it gets (well, til next year), but you really do need a top end PC. If you're lacking in way, it's going to suffer. Loading times? Looong. Frame rate drops and pauses? Oh yeah. So you tend not reload and try again when you lose a level because it's just so much hassle. And that's a shame, because there are some sweet touches when it comes to the gameplay. And I agree with Ed S that the view is too small; and clicking the map can often jump your to somewhere *near* where you needed to be, but, fatally, not near enough. Recommended, though highly recommended at a fraction of the price in a couple of years on a good PC. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2020
    0
    This game sucks at StarCraft. Multiplayer is just awful! He is completely unbalanced. The game itself is incredibly boring

See all 46 User Reviews