Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. CD-Action
    May 30, 2016
    90
    Trigger Happy Havoc is an unsettling journey, an absorbing moral dilemma and a brilliant, tangled criminal story. [05/2016, p.60]
  2. Feb 18, 2016
    90
    Don’t be turned away by its linearity, Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc is one of the best visual novels you’ll play.
  3. Feb 18, 2016
    86
    A brilliantly funny, disturbing, and entertaining visual novel, but the lack of interaction won't appeal to everyone.
  4. Feb 16, 2016
    85
    While some problems that weren’t present in the Vita version have made their way into Danganronpa on PC, everything that makes the game great is still intact on the platform.
  5. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 14, 2016
    81
    Unlike Phoenix Wright, Danganronpa is a fair-play detective – no one will barge in at 11-th hour with a crucial piece of evidence, so if you pay close attention, you’ll figure out the gist of “whodunit” well before the protagonist does. So if you missed western release of Danganronpa on PS Vita, now is the time to make up for it. [Issue#207, p.71]
  6. Mar 29, 2016
    80
    Successful detective novel has finally found its way to PC from the handheld zone and any enthusiasts of well-narrated stories shouldn´t definitely miss it.
  7. 80
    If you're keen for one of the suspenseful thrillers manageable with just images and text, Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc comes highly recommended.
  8. Feb 22, 2016
    80
    Don’t let the name or presentation put you off: this is an impressive piece of interactive storytelling that gets more right than most other games with 10 times its budget.
  9. Feb 17, 2016
    80
    The game does a great job of switching up the pacing and timing of the gameplay.
  10. Jul 10, 2017
    70
    Danganronpa may not score highly with its excessive menagerie of gameplay mechanics, but if you’re morbidly curious and want to indulge your darker side, this unique visual novel adventure gets a solid passing grade.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 189
  1. Mar 28, 2016
    10
    Awesome game if you're a fan of visual novels such as the Ace Attorney series, with which it has quite a few similarities. With visual novels,Awesome game if you're a fan of visual novels such as the Ace Attorney series, with which it has quite a few similarities. With visual novels, emphasis has to be placed on the atmosphere, characters and story, not gameplay and this game delivers in that regard. The plot twists are great too with a pretty unforgettable story and cast. And I'm not even a fan of anime but this game may have helped convert me. Full Review »
  2. Feb 27, 2016
    10
    Normally I don't like writing a review for a game, however this isn't a normal one. It's like watching both an anime and a crimeNormally I don't like writing a review for a game, however this isn't a normal one. It's like watching both an anime and a crime investigation show on tv at the same time. It's kind of true that you don't really get to make too may decisions from time to time but that is so you don't go too far off track from the story flow. This is probable my 5th or so play through over both the PS Vita and now the PC. Really hoping they add in the other parts for the PC later on. Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2016
    10
    eu conheci danganronpa pelo anime e fiquei um por isso por um bom tempo até que um dia eu decidi jogar o jogo pra ver como era quando comeceieu conheci danganronpa pelo anime e fiquei um por isso por um bom tempo até que um dia eu decidi jogar o jogo pra ver como era quando comecei eu achei estranho, mas não demorou muito e eu já fiquei viciado, o quê mais me interessou no jogo foram seus personagens e também o relacionamento entre eles, as execuções do jogo são visualmente incríveis , os trials são dinâmicos até as investigações são legais eu recomendo esse jogo pra quem gosta de um bom jogo de investigação e não se incomoda com algumas maluquices japonesas Full Review »