User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 57
  2. Negative: 20 out of 57
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    I really enjoy Dead Rising and have since the very first installment which I played on the Wii. This game however is strictly a RE-IMAGINING of Dead Rising 2, with a new area which is home to a few more bits and pieces. The story is almost identical to Dead Rising 2, except this time with the protagonist of the first game (Who I prefered) who has his own opinions and dialogue, which mayI really enjoy Dead Rising and have since the very first installment which I played on the Wii. This game however is strictly a RE-IMAGINING of Dead Rising 2, with a new area which is home to a few more bits and pieces. The story is almost identical to Dead Rising 2, except this time with the protagonist of the first game (Who I prefered) who has his own opinions and dialogue, which may seem interesting if you are a die hard fan of the series, however, keep in mind since this is a RE-IMAGINING, most of the story will be identical say for a few parts of dialogue. The combat is as fun as ever, taking the combo weapons and adding a few more to the mix to add more variety to killing the hordes of the undead which are in Fortune City. The new weapons added for this edition are not as interesting as the ones added for the base second game when compared to the first, as they are generally just variations on some of the already existing items with say more/less damage, different noises, ect. The game lasted me around the same time as Dead Rising 2 did, which was around twelve hours with side missions I chose to perform along the way, which are often a lot of fun when involving Psychopaths and help to break up the regular zombie killing experience. If you haven't played the second game, or loved Frank West, then I would reccomend this game if you could find it on sale, full price is a bit steep for a very similar experience when you can find the second one often a lot cheaper. Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    I played this game all the way through twice and loved it! The addition of Sandbox Mode is such a huge improvement! It is something that the Dead Rising series should have had from the start and in a game where exploration is rewarded, but time is limited Sandbox Mode is perfect! I've read a lot of reviews that say "killing zombies gets old," and that's why this mix of Story and Sandbox isI played this game all the way through twice and loved it! The addition of Sandbox Mode is such a huge improvement! It is something that the Dead Rising series should have had from the start and in a game where exploration is rewarded, but time is limited Sandbox Mode is perfect! I've read a lot of reviews that say "killing zombies gets old," and that's why this mix of Story and Sandbox is so great. The level up, inventory, and skills systems are all well executed. The story is gritty without taking itself too seriously and the main characters are very interesting. My only complaint is that sometimes actions take a little too long to perform, which can mess up your timing in tense situations. If you haven't played Dead Rising 2 or always wanted to explore Fortune City without restrictions I highly recommend this game. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Sure, it's almost the same as the other one, but hey, let's face it. It's also better. The thing is, if you've never played Dead Rising 2, buy this game absolutely. If you have, buy it when it's on sale. Either way, still a great game.
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved Dead Rising 2 pre-purchused this and found that if you have nothing to do you would play this game for 10 minutes that will turn into 183 hours simply addicting and very fun dlc you can kill chuck greene and stacy is the new sulivan this game is awesome in 10 ways but i kinda did not like the story im sorry but it's the same thing but 5 times better than Dead Rising 2 there is only one bug i spotted and thats the movement bug (the most anoying thing ever) and there is a new mode for it called sandbox mode that is like infinite mode in Dead Rising Original there is new funny weapons a camera a new zone called uranus zone and much more over all this game has alot into it that people that dont play the game dont know but your not a hero when you give it a zero idiots anyway the price should be $29.99 just for the movement bug but overall this is a very good game Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Dead Rising 2: Of the Record is very interesting add-on to the original game. For example, it has new story, new weapon's combinations, a lot of checkpoints (!), gameplay elements from first game and Hero of first game (Frank West). On my mind, "Of the Record" is the most original game of this fall
  6. May 9, 2014
    9
    Game: Dead Rising 2 Off The Record
    Genre: Action
    Developer: Capcom System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 90/100 Value Score: 9/10 • Story: 9/10 • Characters: 9/10 • GamePlay: 9/10 • Graphics: 8/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 9/10 • Length: 6/10 • Replay Value: 10/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Alternate plot +Play as Frank West +Co-Op allows you to play as Frank and as Chuck
    Game: Dead Rising 2 Off The Record
    Genre: Action
    Developer: Capcom
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 90/100
    Value Score: 9/10

    • Story: 9/10
    • Characters: 9/10
    • GamePlay: 9/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 9/10
    • Length: 6/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Alternate plot
    +Play as Frank West
    +Co-Op allows you to play as Frank and as Chuck
    +New weapons, combinations
    +New Area
    +New Bosses
    +Sandbox mode
    +Protoman Set
    +Pretty much everything intact gameplay wise from the first game

    Cons
    -Rampant glitches throughout entire game
    -Poorly optimized for PC - a lot of FPS drops
    Expand
  7. DQT
    Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Pros:
    + Frank West is back
    + New weapons and combo cards + New survivors to save + New storyline; some characters play different roles and bad guys become good guys (also vice versa) + Sandbox mode, anyone? YES! + In all there are 3 new psychopaths though 2 of these replace previous encounters, and one of the replacement psychopaths is essentially a cut-copy-paste job. So there's
    Pros:
    + Frank West is back
    + New weapons and combo cards
    + New survivors to save
    + New storyline; some characters play different roles and bad guys become good guys (also vice versa)
    + Sandbox mode, anyone? YES!
    + In all there are 3 new psychopaths though 2 of these replace previous encounters, and one of the replacement psychopaths is essentially a cut-copy-paste job. So there's only 1 entirely new, added encounter
    + Frank's Dialogue is golden, he makes hilarious remarks on everything around him; he's always had the best voice actor and lines in the series
    + Frank uses weapons in the same manner as he did in DR1 and his unlockable moves are different from Chuck's, setting the characters apart and giving more depth to co-op
    + A fully developed added area dubbed, 'Uranus Zone'. It's a fun theme-park with plenty of toys and places to explore

    Cons:
    - Too similar to Dead Rising 2 to be released at near full price
    - No real graphical improvements
    - Not enough added content
    - Very poor textures on PC, I don't remember the game looking as bad on the PS3 (I own DR2 on Playstation 3)

    Pro/Cons:
    +/- Non-Canon. What happens in this game isn't considered to have actually happened in the main storyline of Dead Rising. Which is, to be honest, kind of depressing because what happens in this game is pretty awesome. Of course if this was canon it would completely ruin the storyline, also, the ending boss fight is a tad goofy I'm not gonna lie.

    Summary: An enhanced version of Dead Rising 2 with a (in my opinion) more likeable and interesting protagonist. It has enough content added to be fresh and original, while still retaining the feel of Dead Rising 2.

    Who should buy this game:
    * Those who enjoyed Dead Rising 2 and are willing to pay 30 bucks to experience it again from a different perspective
    * Those who have never played Dead Rising 2 but wish to; Off the Record is essentially an improved version of DR 2
    * Those who have fond memories of Frank in the first game; he is very much the star here, and his one-liners, dialogue and several references to the original are very much appreciated and used in good taste
    * Those who like zombie games

    Who shouldn't play this game:
    * Those who didn't like Dead Rising 1 or 2
    * Those who don't like buying revamped versions of existing games for higher prices
    * Those who really, really like Chuck Greene and hate Frank West (I don't think these people exist, but whatever)

    Giving it an 8.
    Expand
  8. Nov 18, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dead Rising 2: Off the Record is ok game
    the story is same off on Dead Rising 2 witch i already beat but eh i could always go though it again
    the new mode sandbox is pretty fun not worried about getting zonbrex for Frank West very fun Challenge stuff to do as well
    Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 1, 2012
    55
    The features of DR2:OTR would have been welcome in a DLC priced at 10 euros, but are unacceptable for a standalone product, despite the somewhat lowered price. [February 2012]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 20, 2012
    60
    Almost identical copy of the original game comes with too little extras to attract veterans of Dead Rising. Only suitable for newcomers who skipped the previous games. [Dec 2011]
  3. PC Gamer
    Dec 1, 2011
    46
    Even if the new features had been awesome, this would have been a pointless re-release. [Jan 2012, p.810]