Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. CD-Action
    Oct 15, 2020
    70
    I approached Death Stranding twice. I spent a couple of hours with the PS4 edition and was fascinated with it. I kinda wish I stopped at that and let the game remain a mystery to me rather than complete it later on PC and be disappointed. There are moments when Death Stranding eludes the traditional 1-10 rating system. There are moments when it sets new standards and becomes a truly special experience. But those are just moments scattered throughout tedious gameplay. Still, it is in my opinion one of those games you simply need to play. [10/2020, p.44]
  2. Aug 12, 2020
    70
    Can I recommend Death Stranding? Not really. I don’t think it can be directly labelled ‘good’. It’s a full price, full length, but all too frequently sluggish game. However, if you’re a Kojima fan, I don’t think you’ll want to miss out on this deranged roller coaster ride of an experience and that really elevates it for me.
  3. Aug 7, 2020
    70
    Despite my qualms about the closing hours of Death Stranding, I truly enjoyed about 30 hours of it. There are plenty of moments where tone-setting music sets in and the vastness of the landscapes smothers you with solitude and despair. Collecting materials and contributing them to an online structure was engaging and even downright addictive. Moreover, the foundations of the plot intrigued me so much. I think that's what pains me so much about Death Stranding: I can see its potential, but the game went too far in too many disparate directions.
  4. 70
    While the wonders of hiking around the beautiful world never really wear off, there are a lot of issues with how the game portrays women, how on the nose it is with some of its messaging, and there’s an overriding feeling of there being simply too many messages for one game. That all being said, the music is incredible, and it’s undeniably fascinating, even if it is marred by its story-telling failings.
  5. Jul 14, 2020
    70
    Can I recommend Death Stranding? It depends on which camp you sit in. If you want to see one of the most esoteric video games ever created, that has so many strange elements but none of them cohesively come together to make a traditional “game”, then yes. Dive in and revel in the madness that’s unfolding. If you want a good video game. I’d approach with caution. For me personally, I loved it. I don’t really understand it yet, but the isolated walks and the rebuilding of connections, especially in the world we live in right now, it brought a lot of strange comfort.
  6. Jul 13, 2020
    70
    The coronavirus has made its themes more relevant than ever and while there are many odd decisions, in terms of plot and game design, the overall experience remains strangely engrossing.
  7. Jul 13, 2020
    70
    Death Stranding is unlike any other AAA title on the market. It doesn't hold your hand or provide clear-cut narrative answers—it's downright confusing, at times. You're either onboard for this wild ride or you're not. Death Stranding is the definition of a divisive title, one with a plodding story and cumbersome menu system, but if you’re looking for something that challenges your perception of blockbuster games, it's certainly worth a play.
  8. Sep 20, 2020
    67
    Death Stranding is asking you to find variety in a daily rut, cooperation possibilities for a character who has fear of contact, scientific explanations in clear-cut mysticism. Today, you’re annoyed that the story doesn’t move forward, and you have to trek into the same ghost-infested area as before, but tomorrow you’ll gladly spend a few hours hauling resources for a new highway and feeling good about it. This source of joy is very weird and defies explanation.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jul 13, 2020
    This is the definitive version of Death Stranding. If you were interested in Death Stranding when it released on PS4 and have been waiting to see how the PC version turns out, then go ahead and pull the trigger. However, Death Stranding isn’t for everyone. If you’ve seen nothing of the game before, make sure you check out some gameplay before purchasing it; I’ve had a blast experiencing the story and struggling through tense moments, but I know some of my friends would absolutely hate it. The new Half-Life and Portal content is great, but I wouldn’t say it warrants a replay. Death Stranding is so large that I doubt many PS4 players will be looking to replay it on PC, but for those who are, you’ll be happy to hear that the new content unlocks very early in the game.
  2. Jul 13, 2020
    Like Codi’s review of the game, I found myself surprised by just how much this strange game about delivering goods from one end of the country to the other could be simultaneously thrilling, frustrating, peaceful, and somehow hopeful. It reminds us that we are all connected, but that real monsters also exist. It reminds us that friends and family are the most important things of all. It reminds us that Kojima and his team are the strangest cats on the block, but that they may be some of the best storytellers around.
  3. Jul 13, 2020
    Players who may have passed on the PS4 release in anticipation of Death Stranding coming to PC will not be disappointed. The game ran great during my preview experience, and features keyboard and mouse support. In a world that seems increasingly chaotic and apocalyptic, Death Stranding can provide players with a world that is actually trying to repair itself.
  4. Jul 13, 2020
    The PC release is the optimal way to experience the game, however, and for players that had the patience to wait, you are in for a treat. Similarly, returning PS4 players looking to double-dip will be able to appreciate the level of technical wizardry Kojima Productions have performed with their PC release.
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2790 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 19, 2020
    0
    The framerates drop are annoying, and also the constant glitches and bugs are just annoying to watch every minute.
    While the gameplay is
    The framerates drop are annoying, and also the constant glitches and bugs are just annoying to watch every minute.
    While the gameplay is flat, almost devoid of any type of variety, since it is all centered only on making deliveries from point a to point b and watch the long boring cutscenes, and this is disappointing.
    I honestly would have expected a lot more.
    And until these serious technical problems are solved, it can hardly ever be a decent experience.
    Since it is practically unplayable in this state.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2020
    0
    Worst experience ever.
    This horrible and monotonous game it's the worst sh%t I've ever played in the last decade.
    Trash plot, ridiculous
    Worst experience ever.
    This horrible and monotonous game it's the worst sh%t I've ever played in the last decade.
    Trash plot, ridiculous characters, empty openworld, and the worst and monotonous gameplay I've ever experienced.
    The ups simulator of the trash games.
    Disgusting and forgettable piece of crap.
    Refund
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 28, 2020
    0
    Worst purchase made on PC, I will immediately ask for a refund.
    Horrible performances, with framerates that drop below 30fps, in the most
    Worst purchase made on PC, I will immediately ask for a refund.
    Horrible performances, with framerates that drop below 30fps, in the most empty and ridiculous openworld I've ever seen. Glitch in the textures of the long and boring cutscenes. Ridiculous and simply horrible writing of the dialogues. AI of enemies practically non-existent, and battles against ridiculous Bosses. Monotonous, repetitive and essentially boring gameplay, go from point A to point B, endlessly fetch quests.
    Just horrible purchase.
    Full Review »