• Publisher: ZA/UM
  • Release Date: Oct 15, 2019
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 262 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 262

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2019
    9
    A lot to read, but it's my biggest Gaming-Hit 2019.
    There are not many games like this, this is RPG at it's best. Taking place in an great scenario (alternative 50's) your "Job" is to "get your sh*t together" solve a murder case wrapped in a thrilling "i want to know more" plot-blanket.
    not 10 because: The graphics are okay (could be better) and dialogs switch between voice acting and
    A lot to read, but it's my biggest Gaming-Hit 2019.
    There are not many games like this, this is RPG at it's best. Taking place in an great scenario (alternative 50's) your "Job" is to "get your sh*t together" solve a murder case wrapped in a thrilling "i want to know more" plot-blanket.

    not 10 because:
    The graphics are okay (could be better) and dialogs switch between voice acting and reading due to the sheer amount of text…

    i recommend this game, it's really something
    Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2019
    10
    A unique Game of a kind, that revolutionize the RPGs with a level of writing rarely achieved elsewhere.
    True Detective plus Bukowski meets Pixar’s Inside Out where your thoughts and psyche are your skills and they talk to you.
    Just a masterpiece.
  3. Oct 18, 2019
    4
    First i wanted to note that i played Planescape: Torment right before the release of this game, so any comparisons i make have nothing to do with nostalgia or rose tinted goggles.
    Unlike the greatest written game of all time - Planescape, Disco Elysium falls into every possible pitfall of its genre. In no particular order:
    1) The writing is bloated and self-indulgent. Unlike what most
    First i wanted to note that i played Planescape: Torment right before the release of this game, so any comparisons i make have nothing to do with nostalgia or rose tinted goggles.
    Unlike the greatest written game of all time - Planescape, Disco Elysium falls into every possible pitfall of its genre. In no particular order:
    1) The writing is bloated and self-indulgent.
    Unlike what most people claim, Planescape was very concise and to the point. It respected your time and didn't waste it on meaningless paragraphs on paragraphs of text, that in the best postmodernist fashion mean absolutely nothing to the player. Planescape was never a diarrhea of words. Lore dumps were contained and almost entirely skipable(especially important on the subsequent playthroughs). Planescape trusted you to be smart enough and figure out less important parts of the world yourself.
    Disco Elysium is the opposite of that. Prepare to spend tens of hours of playtime on the text that has absolutely nothing to do with the tasks at hand or the dialogue. It came to the point that i now believe that you could cut 2/3 of the text and the players wont miss anything but fluff. The fluff is not as terrible and boring as in Pillars of Eternity, but there's more of it and its there to pad the playtime and validate someones degree in writing.
    2) Show - don't tell.
    The game is all "tell - don't show". You will read so much interesting(and unnecessary) history and lore that you will ask yourself, "why im in this boring **** looking for bottles, instead of those cool places".
    3) The humor is cringeworthy.
    Authors seem to think that "im so random an quirky" is funny. Needless to say if you don't like this type of humor, all of it will fall flat on its face.
    4) Politics and other controversial topics are all bark, no bite.
    Authors said that they will tackle politics and they did. Its done in the most limpdicked way possible, consisting mostly of "im a nihilist Morty" style of writing. One moment the game pretends to be edgy and dark(you can kill a minor and say you want to **** one), another its censoring words that you used when you were in a middle school. In the SAME scene.
    It laughs at every stance(by representing them as stupid), while trying(and failing) to pretend that it doesn't have a dog in the fight. If you do all 4 political stances as a separate playthroughs you will easily figure out what are the politics of the authors.
    5) The only actual gameplay is "collect the bottles".
    At first i though it was a joke aimed at Life is Strange, with its meme bottle collecting gameplay. How wrong i was. The rest of the game is walking and reading simulator with a dice game thrown in every once in a while.
    Say what you want about Planescape being a book and not a game, but it had a robust rule set, decent combat and fantastic spellcasting. On top of having better writing and story.
    6) Soundtrack is all over the place and almost never fits.
    Quality of the OST varies greatly and yet again reminded me of LiS. I also currently playing Persona 5 and i nearly threw up in my mouth after listening to some of the Elysium compositions. Ironically soundtrack of the game is a far cry from the fabled "disco life".
    7) Environments are nothing special.
    Given the lack of gameplay, one would expect it to look absolutely fantastic. In my opinion(and this is the first and the last time i will use this word) Planescape looked more atmospheric and interesting.
    8) Bugs
    I started the game with get the shoe quest being impossible to finish because the second shoe disappeared after i interacted with it, without giving me the usual internal dialogue. Reloading fixed nothing, i had to quit the game and start a new one.
    Dialogue window sometimes locks up with no text being displayed, and no option to close the window.
    I wasted a day researching an idea, only to then notice that it bugged out and stopped despite claiming that its internalizing.
    Some other minor bugs i cant remember from the top of my head.

    There are several other problems i have with the game and its developers, but i will not drag this out any longer and force you to read another blanket of text. Leave that to the game.
    Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2019
    2
    If you are easily impressed by pretentious walls of text and think that a mixture of stereotype dark noir characters, alcoholism and unappealing environments make for a deep experience, you are in for a treat. Just soak in that negativity, revel in pointless exchanges and a skill tree that adds a constant rain of arbitrary checks with every step you take. Never forget that you are playingIf you are easily impressed by pretentious walls of text and think that a mixture of stereotype dark noir characters, alcoholism and unappealing environments make for a deep experience, you are in for a treat. Just soak in that negativity, revel in pointless exchanges and a skill tree that adds a constant rain of arbitrary checks with every step you take. Never forget that you are playing a masterpiece, and every seemingly wasted minute you put into this will inevitably elevate you above those who dare question it's genius. Don't forget the planetscape reference. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2019
    10
    Disco Elysium is a traditional point and click adventure that borrows RPG elements to create a very unique narrative. The game puts you in the shoes of detective on a case and uses the fusion of skills and dialogue create a very personal experience. At least that's how the game is supposed to be played. Employ some classic tricks and this game could be played very differently.

    The game
    Disco Elysium is a traditional point and click adventure that borrows RPG elements to create a very unique narrative. The game puts you in the shoes of detective on a case and uses the fusion of skills and dialogue create a very personal experience. At least that's how the game is supposed to be played. Employ some classic tricks and this game could be played very differently.

    The game mashes up point and click adventure with role playing game elements that can affect your ability to interact with NPC's or the map. The game goes further to add 24 hour game clock with a day/night cycle. There's also a quest log, and an equipment menu. Sounds like a standard point n click right? I want to touch on the RPG elements first because that will help explain how the story is told in Disco Elysium, and how it stands out from anything I've played in the past.

    From the RPG standpoint, Disco carries itself on a system where your skills affect different dialogue and map actions. Every dialogue action is a roll of the dice and still could fail but this isn't a hard stop, using the classic trick of loading your save will give you another shot trying an action. This is the first break in the fourth wall from how the game is intended to be played. Games like XCOM employ some effort to ensure saves play out the same way to deter this kind of manipulation. In Disco you're free to abuse it.

    There level of your skills are increased or decreased by points in a tree, your clothing, consumed items, and the thought cabinet. The unfamiliar of the group, the thought cabinet, holds thoughts that can affect multiple skills at once. The "thoughts" available to think about need to be unlocked while playing the game and require a hardening phase before they unlock. Its a fairly unique approach to affecting a skill tree that further gives life to the story in this game.

    The game does have a experience system that rewards you for finishing quests, or exhausting dialogue, awarding you a skill point. Players seeking to "max out" skills will want to complete quests which could feel like a chore if you're not engaged in the story of all the NPC's. And the main gist of the story is that you're a detective coming off a bender with some serious amnesia.

    Moving onto the story, Disco Elysium is primarily a story game where it puts you into the driver's seat. Within a fictitious world your amnesia allows you to regain your understanding of the place you wake up in. You can really play this game in a number of ways but it always boils down to a point n click adventure where you're running around, finding items, and reading dialogue. I want to say right away that the dialogue is expertly written. Your character has a wide personality and the options are both funny and serious. There are a lot of genuinely funny interactions and text.

    This game is a lot of reading.

    You begin this adventure without pants and ass up with your face cemented into the ground for support. These first interactions drop you right into Disco's story telling. Dialogue appears in many ways. Skill points not only affect your success in doing actions, but also create new dialogue opportunities. For example having higher intelligence skill stats will grant you additional observational options, or if you gain an addiction a voice will hound you to score some smack. Depending on your skills and actions the game employs a volley of inner dialogues that create a true role playing experience.

    In the port of Revachol a strike at the local shipping company has shut down the road. Your character has been called in to investigate a murder which you investigate with your partner Kim. Interacting with the world makes time go by and there are a lot of ways to interact with the world. Its truly up to you whether you care enough to exhaust dialogue options of the NPC's in Revachol or just read a book on the bench to pass the time waiting for future events.

    The music is very thoughtful, slow and airy as you explore the town of Revachol. There were times of only environment sound effects, the sea and breeze. It is all very thoughtful.

    Whether you choose to play the game as intended or abuse the RPG elements to 100% quests and dialogue, Disco Elysium is a treat to play.
    Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2019
    10
    A very interesting and wonderful CRPG. Reminds me of D&D but the campaign is that of a detective story. The atmosphere and aesthetic of the game gives off a 50s, 60s, 70s, type vibe all rolled into one without being a mess. The choices that are available for you to take on your journey is one of the most extensive I've seen a game go for, which tells that each playthrough can be completelyA very interesting and wonderful CRPG. Reminds me of D&D but the campaign is that of a detective story. The atmosphere and aesthetic of the game gives off a 50s, 60s, 70s, type vibe all rolled into one without being a mess. The choices that are available for you to take on your journey is one of the most extensive I've seen a game go for, which tells that each playthrough can be completely different from the last adding tons of replay value which can be pretty good for an indie game. The story and characters have detailed and well done dialogue making it all fit with the atmosphere taking your attention and keeping it. However the pacing and gameplay may not be for everyone especially those who don't mess with RPGs that much but if your types of games are RPGs in general definitely check this game out. Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2019
    9
    After three solid days (and I mean, a marathon, three actual full days), of playing I've finished Disco Elysium

    It's wild. It's soaked in radical politics, drugs, hallucinations, and mostly driven by you talking yourself. I finished play as a fascist smoking speed junkie. Well more of a woman hating nationalist. I avoided heart attacks and psychic collapse, and glimpsed the end of
    After three solid days (and I mean, a marathon, three actual full days), of playing I've finished Disco Elysium

    It's wild. It's soaked in radical politics, drugs, hallucinations, and mostly driven by you talking yourself.

    I finished play as a fascist smoking speed junkie. Well more of a woman hating nationalist. I avoided heart attacks and psychic collapse, and glimpsed the end of the world.

    Seriously, check it out. It's batty, and very compelling. Also, the music, the sound effects, the plotting, and the graphics of this engine are amazingly polished for an indie studio. The graphics blend 3d and 2d effects pretty seemlessly in a manner that impresses as much as Pillars of Eternity 2, partly due to the oil painting style art, but also shadows and lighting effects that really you wouldn't expect from a small indie (it's not easy to blend 3d and 2d in an isometric game like this)

    It's anachronistic, dreamlike and a super compelling setting. Get ready for lots of text though (thankfully, voice overs too, great ones)
    Expand
  8. Nov 1, 2019
    10
    Best-written RPG since Planescape:T.An absolute classic of our time.You like crpg-s?Play it.Now.
  9. Oct 21, 2019
    10
    The best-written cRPG since Planescape: Torment and the closest a cRPG has ever felt to tabletop RPG gaming to me. Its mix of humor and melancholy left me reeling after completing it. An absolute instant classic.
  10. Oct 27, 2019
    10
    Best RPG I've played in years. It has easily the most engrossing writing since Planescape: Torment and it's and absolute pleasure to look at with the backgrounds looking like a painting. The music, Voice acting and general sound design are also top notch.
  11. Oct 18, 2019
    10
    Got some 15+ hours into the game so far and it is truly amazing. It's not going to be for everyone since it has a very unique style and a lot of mature content. The writing is nothing short of great and the characters are deep and really come to live. The came is difficult to describe but if you were around in the 90's and played the adventure and RPG's of the time then it feels rooted inGot some 15+ hours into the game so far and it is truly amazing. It's not going to be for everyone since it has a very unique style and a lot of mature content. The writing is nothing short of great and the characters are deep and really come to live. The came is difficult to describe but if you were around in the 90's and played the adventure and RPG's of the time then it feels rooted in that. Planescape, Fallout (1 & 2) as well as the point and click adventures of the time are perhaps the closest thing to Disco Elysium. I feel nearly as lost as the main character playing the game. It is a discovery process in so many ways and a new page keeps being turned. The graphics are again a bit controversial and will not be for everyone but I personally find them very beautiful, so much love must have gone into making the oil painted canvas that is the gaming ground. Everyone with the slightest interested in grown up games, adventure and RPG's should try out Disco Elysium. I believe the game will become a benchmark for RPG's/adventure just like Fallout and Planescape did two decades ago. Expand
  12. Oct 20, 2019
    10
    This game is only for people who enjoy reading adult stories with literary qualities, humour an poetry. Its depth reminds of Planescape Torment or Fallout 2, but without any combat system. The writing is stellar, atmosphere unique and it succeeds at sucking you in its story and characters where Tides of Numenera failed.

    As for gameplay, it really innovates in the sense that every
    This game is only for people who enjoy reading adult stories with literary qualities, humour an poetry. Its depth reminds of Planescape Torment or Fallout 2, but without any combat system. The writing is stellar, atmosphere unique and it succeeds at sucking you in its story and characters where Tides of Numenera failed.

    As for gameplay, it really innovates in the sense that every situation, every choixe, every failure or success will shape the story in a certain way which allows for a great replayability. Failures don't make you reload your save because they bring their own consequences, that are not necessarily bad. The strength of this game is the huge work accomplished for making you feel like you're in a real pen and paper rpg.

    If you don't like reading and interacting with text and thoughts and prefer killing your ennemies and become powerful, don't play this game, it's just not for you.
    Expand
  13. Nov 7, 2019
    10
    Truthfully I'd rate this game a 7 or 8, but the amount of people rating it a 0 with the justification that this text-based, role playing game has too much text means I have to do my part to signal boost something that's actually different in a world where those same people constantly complain about things being the same.
  14. Nov 7, 2019
    10
    One of the most unique RPG's I have ever played. It is very text heavy, but the writing is superb. One of the coolest aspects of the game in my opinion is the dialog that takes place inside your own characters head and how your skills and choices impact that dialog. You really feel like you are playing out a fleshed out character and impacting their development. This isn't a traditionalOne of the most unique RPG's I have ever played. It is very text heavy, but the writing is superb. One of the coolest aspects of the game in my opinion is the dialog that takes place inside your own characters head and how your skills and choices impact that dialog. You really feel like you are playing out a fleshed out character and impacting their development. This isn't a traditional RPG with combat and what not, so don't expect that. However, if you are into mystery/detective games, and old school tabletop/text based RPG's then give this a whirl. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  15. Nov 1, 2019
    9
    Amazing overall aesthetic, interesting story & characters not a whole lot to hate on to be honest. Pacing and gameplay can definitely put some off to those not used to RPGs in general. But if you like RPGs and games with story and highly detailed dialogue from interesting characters, definitely check this game out.
  16. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    Best rpg ever. First game since planescape torment that made such an impression on me
  17. Nov 10, 2019
    3
    Understand, this is not an RPG. This is an adventure game, with skill checks. If you like clicking on everything in the world, and reading a *lot* of honestly pretty dry diatribes about race and politics, then this is the game for you.
  18. Oct 17, 2019
    10
    Best game of the year - hell, it's probably the best CRPG I've ever played. Still have to finish it so I can say with certainty.
  19. Oct 19, 2019
    10
    Absolutely out of left field, never heard of this game til it released and WOW! What a pleasant surprise. The writing is phenomenal, the story telling is astounding and the atmosphere is just oh so perfect. I couldn't recommend this game enough for RPG fans that crave a good uncanny valley Nior mystery story. By far my GOTY. Anyone who is on the fence due to the amount of dialogue. I wasAbsolutely out of left field, never heard of this game til it released and WOW! What a pleasant surprise. The writing is phenomenal, the story telling is astounding and the atmosphere is just oh so perfect. I couldn't recommend this game enough for RPG fans that crave a good uncanny valley Nior mystery story. By far my GOTY. Anyone who is on the fence due to the amount of dialogue. I was as well, until i realized how much the writing sucks you in, making you crave more and more.. not allowing you to put the game down. Expand
  20. Oct 16, 2019
    10
    Is it perfect? No, but no game - nothing, really - is. As it stands, it's a fantastic and above all refreshing experience, setting new grounds for what games for grown-ups can, and should, be.
  21. Oct 17, 2019
    10
    Disco Elysium is a very weird game in the absolute best kind of way. It's an open world RPG with a focus on dialogue and role playing any type of detective you want by shaping his mental capabilities. While there is *some* combat it takes place in the dialogue system and doesn't come up often (most instances of combat can be avoided too). Some points:

    -Skill system is deep and fun to
    Disco Elysium is a very weird game in the absolute best kind of way. It's an open world RPG with a focus on dialogue and role playing any type of detective you want by shaping his mental capabilities. While there is *some* combat it takes place in the dialogue system and doesn't come up often (most instances of combat can be avoided too). Some points:

    -Skill system is deep and fun to experiment. Even the lesser used skills have hundreds of cases where it's useful. Certain skills will do some truly cool and unexpected things and even open up hidden quest lines and skill checks if you level them up enough. Each skill has a personality that talks to you and gives advice (sometimes awful advice), with that personality becoming more prominent the more you level it.

    -Writing is great and sometimes very funny/clever depending on your choices. If you're into hard-boiled cop novels then this game will be your jam. People calling the writing pretentious probably have never read a book in their lives and are used to the lazy, predictable writing of most video games.

    -A fairly large open world to explore, with years worth of lore that you are free to explore and learn about at your own pace (sort of, there are timed quests). All the environments are made by hand with no assets being reused, so every location in the world looks unique.

    -Yes, there is a few lore dumps. Hell, there is a skill JUST for getting more info about the world and what certain words mean.. It's all super interesting but if you're not into the world of Elysium then you might not like this game.

    -There is a lot of politics in the world of Elysium, and you can decide the opinions of your character to the point where you can make him a misogynistic communist if you so desire. If reading and engaging in fictional politics that occasionally mirrors our own world upsets you, then yeah, don't play this game (I think you can remain neutral politically but not 100% sure).

    -Amazing soundtrack. And the art is strange, abstract, and just cool as hell.

    In conclusion this game is absolutely enthralling IF you have the patience for it, which you should because there is some truly unique things going on here that's never really been done in a video game. I think future RPGs will look up to Disco Elysium for its storytelling, skill system and how it tried to do something fresh and different.
    Expand
  22. Oct 15, 2019
    10
    The most astonishing RPG of 2019. It is difficult not to fall in love in this game from the beginning. It looks great, it feels great, it tastes great. Pure masterpiece.
  23. Oct 16, 2019
    10
    This game is awesome. We need more such a rich RPGs. You can do in this game such a mindblowing things. You need to check it by yourself.
  24. Oct 17, 2019
    10
    Bizzare, lots to read (yes you have to read, the horror!), multiple choices affect just the tiniest game play, you can be racist cop, compassionate cop, dirty cop, horny cop, empathy cop, crazy John Mclain cop. I just died an hour in because I wanted to punch a kid and I missed, then died of a heart attack. I told a pretty blond I wanted to have sex with her and just kept banging on herBizzare, lots to read (yes you have to read, the horror!), multiple choices affect just the tiniest game play, you can be racist cop, compassionate cop, dirty cop, horny cop, empathy cop, crazy John Mclain cop. I just died an hour in because I wanted to punch a kid and I missed, then died of a heart attack. I told a pretty blond I wanted to have sex with her and just kept banging on her door to freak her out. It's an amazing world. Expand
  25. Fuz
    Oct 21, 2019
    10
    A masterpiece.
    Don't be fooled by the camera angle, this is more a P&C adventure than a RPG. Oh, there's *a lot* of roleplayng there, there's an extensive stat/skill system, but there is no real combat system and most of the game is resolved through dialogues and skill checks. And this is where the game shines. The characters, the story, writing are *stellar*. I haven't seen a game so
    A masterpiece.
    Don't be fooled by the camera angle, this is more a P&C adventure than a RPG. Oh, there's *a lot* of roleplayng there, there's an extensive stat/skill system, but there is no real combat system and most of the game is resolved through dialogues and skill checks. And this is where the game shines. The characters, the story, writing are *stellar*. I haven't seen a game so well written in decades. I'm really impressed and it can be pretty damn powerful at times.

    Again, a masterpiece. Buy it.
    Expand
  26. Oct 21, 2019
    9
    If you do not like reading or if you are looking for the usual RPG (whatever combat system, a conventional skill tree, etc.), do NOT bother playing this one.
    Those who miss the good writing and an original story should definitely buy this one.
    I sincerely hope that Disco Elysium is a commercial success, and that it will define the new standard of future RPGs. Also, in my view, being an
    If you do not like reading or if you are looking for the usual RPG (whatever combat system, a conventional skill tree, etc.), do NOT bother playing this one.
    Those who miss the good writing and an original story should definitely buy this one.
    I sincerely hope that Disco Elysium is a commercial success, and that it will define the new standard of future RPGs.
    Also, in my view, being an 'adult' is a prerequisite to really enjoying playing that big drunk loser (i.e. the main character).
    9/10 to encourage big studios to follow the same path.
    Expand
  27. Oct 19, 2019
    10
    Phenomenal game. Very deep. You’ll see references to Planescape Torment and they are valid. But it’s so much more than that.
  28. Oct 28, 2019
    10
    I don't expect anyone to read this, but I want to bump up the number of reviews this game has, because it absolutely deserves all the praise it is being given.

    Games like these don't come often. If you played Planescape: Torment, Tyranny, Kotor 2 for the plot and decisions, this game delivers the same in spades. Set in a brilliant mundane alternative world, with just enough weird
    I don't expect anyone to read this, but I want to bump up the number of reviews this game has, because it absolutely deserves all the praise it is being given.

    Games like these don't come often. If you played Planescape: Torment, Tyranny, Kotor 2 for the plot and decisions, this game delivers the same in spades. Set in a brilliant mundane alternative world, with just enough weird elements to make it familiar but slightly weird and even eerie.

    This game is not only a serious contender for game of the decade, but it will either be remembered as the most criminally underrated cult-classic or the strongest debut of a rising game company since Black Isle made Fallout 1.
    Expand
  29. Oct 25, 2019
    10
    This is mainly a text rpg with some old school click-search elements.

    But wow is it ever a good text rpg. The storytelling is amazing. The characters are so believably human and flawed you can connect with them instantly. It explores many of the most fundamental questions of existence in thoughtful ways, never quite answering but questioning. This game is so brilliantly designed
    This is mainly a text rpg with some old school click-search elements.

    But wow is it ever a good text rpg. The storytelling is amazing. The characters are so believably human and flawed you can connect with them instantly. It explores many of the most fundamental questions of existence in thoughtful ways, never quite answering but questioning.

    This game is so brilliantly designed it almost teaches you who you are through your character rather than allowing you to escape into some other role. You may find yourself making choices in this game according to your own real sensibilities and the game will deftly expose both the virtue and the contradictions of your chosen identity. I can't really think of another RPG that didn't feel like an escape, but rather a journey to understanding with profound lessons about the best and the worst in all of us.

    It isn't for everyone as there is a ton of reading you'll need to do. But it is an amazing experience unlike any other game I've ever seen.
    Expand
  30. Oct 24, 2019
    9
    Disco Elysium is an RPG that invites the player as a troubled Detective into it's torn world filled with colourful and dynamic personalities but the most interesting is yours. The game is all about approach asking the player what should your character wear, what drugs should they take or which tasks they would like to overcome and in what way.

    The skill system can feel complicated at
    Disco Elysium is an RPG that invites the player as a troubled Detective into it's torn world filled with colourful and dynamic personalities but the most interesting is yours. The game is all about approach asking the player what should your character wear, what drugs should they take or which tasks they would like to overcome and in what way.

    The skill system can feel complicated at first and unexpected outcomes happen because of this in the first few hours of the game however after the first few tasks you can quickly piece it together.
    Investing skill points into specific areas allow extra (sometimes hidden) dialogue options or greater chances of success when trying to perform an action.

    You should take your time with conversations every action could potentially have an unexpected reaction, sometimes comical. World building is there if you ask the right questions and isn't forced upon you.

    The graphics and art are phenomenal and fitting to the grim setting of the game. The controls are very basic and it's ultimately a click to move experience which is welcome in this type of story driven game.

    Disco Elysium is dark, comical and filled with mysteries to solve. The question is how far do you stray away from your morality to solve them and what type of person do you need to be to get things done. Do you accept a bribe or not? Would things be easier if you pulled out a gun? Are you willing to lie?
    Expand
  31. Oct 25, 2019
    10
    It's one of the best RPG that is not a crappy AAA . The aesthetic is so pleasing and the art style is very fitting.
  32. Oct 25, 2019
    10
    Perfect RPG in every way, very close to a paper game. A masterpiece. Buy it, play it and enjoy!
  33. Oct 26, 2019
    10
    If you had to build yourself up as a person all over again, challenging all your opinions on things like politics, race, work, music and life in general, what would you do? While Planescape: Torment (a game that many people like comparing it to) asks the question of HOW the nature of a person can change, what experiences that can shift the core of a person's existence, Disco Elysium asksIf you had to build yourself up as a person all over again, challenging all your opinions on things like politics, race, work, music and life in general, what would you do? While Planescape: Torment (a game that many people like comparing it to) asks the question of HOW the nature of a person can change, what experiences that can shift the core of a person's existence, Disco Elysium asks the fundamental question of how WHY the nature of a man changes. Why do we cling to the past, why do we aim to change things, and what would we do differently if we had the chance to start over.

    Besides the incredible thematic use and setting, the game also includes a ton of fun game mechanics. The "skill system" is a superb way to integrate classic RPG mechanics like skill points into a dialogue heavy game, giving you not only bonuses to rolls but also suggestions, background info and opening new options. Different skillsets feel and play very differently, a monumental achievement in a narrative heavy game. Your companion Kim is a fully fleshed out character, and the entire cast is well written. The world itself is a huge piece of work, and learning about it is as exciting as exploring it.

    There are flaws (like the health system being superfluous and some skills being far less useful than others) and some common gripes (certain lore dumps are truly massive, and hard to put into context at the time you get them, voice acting is a mixed bag) but none that detract from the core experience. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to challenge themselves with a text-heavy but totally unique experience.

    I should also note that while some reviewers like to call the game "pretentious", I really can't agree. Pretentious entails trying and failing to achieve something deep and meaningful, and Disco Elysium is both extremely well written and knows exactly what it is doing. At some point, calling something "pretentious" is just a copout from actually commenting on the themes being adressed.
    Expand
  34. Oct 28, 2019
    10
    Hands down best writing since Plancescape. More important is how the game re-invents the way the writing is conveyed to the player. Truly magnificent!
  35. Oct 27, 2019
    10
    It made me excited for video games again.
    Absolute masterpiece in every sense of the word.
  36. Oct 16, 2019
    10
    Amazing atmosphere, brilliant writing, refreshing and intellegent skill system. Masterpiece.
  37. Oct 16, 2019
    10
    Long time im waiting this game, and is really really amazing and genious. Probably my game of the year.
  38. Oct 15, 2019
    10
    This game has the best written dialogue since Planescape Torment. It's a crazy, unique, philosophical, hilariously funny isometric narrative RPG unlike anything you've seen since PsT came out. A strong game of the year candidate and a definite sleeper hit.
  39. Oct 15, 2019
    10
    It's a true masterpiece!!
    Compelling story line, beautiful art style and also lot of reading.
  40. Oct 24, 2019
    9
    - GET READY TO READ... RATHER A LOT.
    - This game starts in something of a tropey & weird place, but it goes someplace wonderful
    I'm not a big game reviewer, but I felt I owed the dev team a review after I had such a wonderful experience with my first playthrough of this game (this will be other playthroughs). I laughed, I almost cried, I actually felt ashamed of one of my decisions
    - GET READY TO READ... RATHER A LOT.
    - This game starts in something of a tropey & weird place, but it goes someplace wonderful

    I'm not a big game reviewer, but I felt I owed the dev team a review after I had such a wonderful experience with my first playthrough of this game (this will be other playthroughs). I laughed, I almost cried, I actually felt ashamed of one of my decisions after everything panned out. I really did care for many of these characters and really enjoyed spending over 30 hours with them. This game has some very strong writing while handling some challenging themes. I only wish my decisions lead to better outcomes...

    oh well, hopefully next playthough :-)
    Expand
  41. Oct 27, 2019
    9
    I think it's dark and it looks like it's rain, you said
    And the wind is blowing like it's the end of the world, you said
    And it's so cold, it's like the cold if you were dead And you smiled for a second I think I'm old and I'm feeling pain, you said And it's all running out like it's the end of the world, you said And it's so cold, it's like the cold if you were dead And you smiled
    I think it's dark and it looks like it's rain, you said
    And the wind is blowing like it's the end of the world, you said
    And it's so cold, it's like the cold if you were dead
    And you smiled for a second
    I think I'm old and I'm feeling pain, you said
    And it's all running out like it's the end of the world, you said
    And it's so cold, it's like the cold if you were dead
    And you smiled for a second
    Sometimes you make me feel
    Like I'm living at the edge of the world
    Like I'm living at the edge of the world
    It's just the way I smile, you said

    Writing 10/10. Graphics 8/10. Interfacing 5/10. Inland Empire 11/10. Shivers 11/10.
    Expand
  42. Nov 12, 2019
    10
    Disco Elysium is the most flawed masterpiece I ever played but dear gods, isn't it a masterpiece nevertheless.

    It's one of the best written, most touching and beautiful games I ever played. Its' excellent dialogue, razor-sharp writing, astonishingly well constructed setting, serious themes (politics, culture, philosophy, art, violence and power projection, imperialism, nationalism,
    Disco Elysium is the most flawed masterpiece I ever played but dear gods, isn't it a masterpiece nevertheless.

    It's one of the best written, most touching and beautiful games I ever played. Its' excellent dialogue, razor-sharp writing, astonishingly well constructed setting, serious themes (politics, culture, philosophy, art, violence and power projection, imperialism, nationalism, class struggle, disco music) and its' ability to treat the player as an intelligent, mature person who knows who Karl Marx was and why was he so funny are a sight to behold.

    I never thought I would see such sophisticated tone in a video game: At surface level it's absurd and grotesque, but, on a closer inspection, intelligent and reflective, full of critical, witty nostalgia and sorrowful reverie. All of it is perfectly accented by the wonderful soundtrack and excellent art design.

    Unfortunately, the longer you play the more you see the game is bursting under its' own weight. At the end of it all, it's both too big (mechanically and conceptualy) and too small - Including the ending which comes out of nowhere in a point that I could have sworn was the 2/3rds of the story. Too many gameplay mechanics are not fully thought out, not playtested enough, you can feel the game is missing a lot (especially when it comes to the duration of the main story as well as the amount of side content). At the same time, some other gameplay elements are almost absurdly blown out of proportion despite not adding much to the experience, and sometimes even detracting from it.

    And yet, if you love good RPGs, drop everything you're doing and play this game NOW. Despite its' flaws, it flatout blows all the other post apocalyptic-fantasy-retro-crap-pseudo-RPGs out of the water. Still, I feel the true magnum opus of this studio will be the sequel to this game, if (or rather: "when") it releases.

    Because when Disco Elysium is good, it's astounding. Unfortunately, it can't manage to be astounding all of the time. Still, a 10 despite the flaws because it's a transformative tite for the entire genre, you don't get those often.

    PS. VAGUE SPOILER ALERT, but I give the game bonus points for featuring a murder mystery where the perpetrator turns out to be communism itself. Absolutely delightful twist, it's a shame the game literally ends on the next screen without giving the plot any sort of meaningful resolution.
    Expand
  43. Oct 24, 2019
    9
    Very interesting and very unique game. The story is stereotypically, but plays out uniquely enough that it doesn't even feel cliche.
  44. Nov 1, 2019
    10
    Best RPG and probably best game i ever played. Absolutely fantastic piece of art. I would love to see this type of game and mechanics in low medieval fantasy or D&D type of setting...
  45. Nov 10, 2019
    2
    Gibberish writing masquerading as Pseudo-faux avant-garde pontifical erudisms. Not even an RPG, IMO. Its a graphic adventure/puzzle game
  46. Oct 30, 2019
    10
    There are some people who throw the term "pretentious" around when describing Disco Elysium. To do so is just sort of a bizarre self reflection - it's a role playing game based around a detective having lost his memory but needs to solve a murder. You don't have to play up the delusions or chemical abuse, but you can, and you choosing to do so represents your characters outlook and howThere are some people who throw the term "pretentious" around when describing Disco Elysium. To do so is just sort of a bizarre self reflection - it's a role playing game based around a detective having lost his memory but needs to solve a murder. You don't have to play up the delusions or chemical abuse, but you can, and you choosing to do so represents your characters outlook and how people respond to you in the game. The game is creative about how you set your stats as well as its thought tree which gives boosts and special dialogue, and your interactions and experience is determined by the players own want to embrace the "role playing". You can choose to be a despicable person who fails at every roll you do, mainly cause you didn't put much thought into your stats or the outcome, but that doesn't make the game pretentious - it just goes to show you shouldn't presume that the game is supposed to do what you want it to, and that if players can't learn to live with your consequences, it kind of reflects on you as a person. Expand
  47. Oct 30, 2019
    10
    An absolutely fantastic RPG, fantastically written and with great characters and voice acting. The art style and graphics fit the game perfectly and I can't think of a better look for the game. I'm far from done with it but I still feel no problems recommending it to others.
  48. Oct 15, 2019
    10
    Back to the old cool way of playing games, lovely artwork, sound acting and writing, really enjoying this one. Runs nice on my low end pc!
  49. Oct 19, 2019
    5
    Pretentious and dull, but rich in dialogue choices and so on. If money is tight, I wouldn't risk paying full price for Disco Elysium, but I can see how some people would love it.
  50. Oct 28, 2019
    3
    Endless text windows (mostly not synchronised) - No real tutorial - completely un-motivating story/plot - no common theme noticeable, therefore no further motivation to move on - really tried it for 3-4 hours - in the end I was relieved quitting it
  51. Oct 31, 2019
    2
    Pros: stylish interactive book
    Cons:
    No gamepad support (constant clicking where you need to go).
    Lots of loading screens.
    No fast travel + slow moving speed + constant clicking = uncomfortable gameplay.
  52. Oct 22, 2019
    10
    Disco Elysium is a text-heavy isomorphic RPG in the vein of Planetscape: Torment

    [DRAMA[Medium: Failure] A moment sir- too formal! Spice it up! RHETORIC[Medium: Success] A game review should at least describe HAND-EYE COORDINATION[Trivial: Failure] teh gmae in some fahsion. VOLITION[Medium: Success] Pull it together- you can do this! Despite sharing none of the setting or
    Disco Elysium is a text-heavy isomorphic RPG in the vein of Planetscape: Torment

    [DRAMA[Medium: Failure] A moment sir- too formal! Spice it up!
    RHETORIC[Medium: Success] A game review should at least describe
    HAND-EYE COORDINATION[Trivial: Failure]

    teh gmae in some fahsion.

    VOLITION[Medium: Success] Pull it together- you can do this!

    Despite sharing none of the setting or lore, it mimics Ps:T in being aggressively weird- the vast majority of the discussion in the game will literally be your skills competing for time inside your head, bolstered by random thoughts about invisible insects or the nature of art criticism

    SHIVERS[Hard: Success] A breeze and the sound of a child close by. The mother looks for the lost toy
    EMPATHY[Challenging: Success] Wrap this up. It's too long and the readers are rolling their eyes.
    VOLITION[Hard: Success] Not without explaining what the game is like. It's too good to ignore.
    LOGIC[Medium: Success] Writing a compelling review will help sales, thus possibly creating more games like Disco Elysium.
    AUTHORITY[Hard: Success] JUST BUY THE DAMN GAME ALREADY!
    Expand
  53. Nov 10, 2019
    1
    It's the self destructive, ostentatious, circumlocutory, nihilistic, preachy politicized RPG Reddit has been praying for UwU.

    I often find the same lot who love games like this looking down on Anime-y type games, so lets be clear on one thing: this game is just as much fan-service for those nervous about whether their liberal arts degree in Russian lit was good financial decision as is
    It's the self destructive, ostentatious, circumlocutory, nihilistic, preachy politicized RPG Reddit has been praying for UwU.

    I often find the same lot who love games like this looking down on Anime-y type games, so lets be clear on one thing: this game is just as much fan-service for those nervous about whether their liberal arts degree in Russian lit was good financial decision as is some harem anime game.

    Lets also be clear on point 2: giving you the option to whole hardheartedly agree with the devs politics or simply remain silent on political issues is not "choice", that is the same "choice" given to all those in authoritarian regimes, wholehearted agreement or silence.

    I applaud the devs for taking a position on something instead of having some watered down "taking over the world is widely regarded as a bad move" message. But there is such a thing as nuance. And this had all the political nuance of COD's "FREEEEDUMMM!" message on the opposite end of the political spectrum, but run through a thesaurus several times and given over to undergrads who specialize in the art of maximizing word count on their essay requirements.
    Expand
  54. Nov 14, 2019
    0
    Boring! The game had so much to hope for. But it didn't live up to expectations. i didn't want an reading sim.
  55. Oct 16, 2019
    1
    Clumsy controls and an ultra-slow burn. Pretentious writing and generally restrictive choices in dialogues. Another one of those titles hyped by hipsters or people who never grew up playing titles better executed.
  56. Oct 19, 2019
    2
    It's the kind of game you have to convince yourself wholly that you will like before you pick it up. I played a couple of hours before dropping. The dialogue trees and RPG system all seem well fleshed out. I just didn't see anything interesting happening during my time with the game. Seems like the type people will tell you to play 10-20 hours before it gets good (aka, a crap game). EarlyIt's the kind of game you have to convince yourself wholly that you will like before you pick it up. I played a couple of hours before dropping. The dialogue trees and RPG system all seem well fleshed out. I just didn't see anything interesting happening during my time with the game. Seems like the type people will tell you to play 10-20 hours before it gets good (aka, a crap game). Early 10's are likely devs and shills. Just go read a book instead. Expand
  57. Nov 8, 2019
    0
    boring, pretentious, artsyfartsy, nonsensual indie shill game that getting good reviews based on the fact that its indie game... meh. Visual is boring, story is cliché, gameplay terrible and its scream low budget from all sides... theres a good reason why these low budget indie shill games will never be GOTY nominee
  58. Oct 24, 2019
    6
    I'm surprised how short, small, and linear the game is. If Revachol is not smaller than Sigil, it does feel smaller. The developers said there is an extensive underground area that requires a flashlight to explore, it seems that must have been scaled down massively. They said that Revachol would be full of guns, and it's not. You get a skill for improving your shooting, but you can'tI'm surprised how short, small, and linear the game is. If Revachol is not smaller than Sigil, it does feel smaller. The developers said there is an extensive underground area that requires a flashlight to explore, it seems that must have been scaled down massively. They said that Revachol would be full of guns, and it's not. You get a skill for improving your shooting, but you can't actually find a gun outside of one specific point in the story. There are numerous side quests that are unresolved or underexplored. And once you trigger the story's climax, you are locked in and railroaded until the end.

    Politics are a big part of the story, but every political dialogue you can choose is played for laughs. At no point do YOUR political choices affect the story, yet it's thrown in your face constantly. It's like they couldn't decide if they wanted the game to be a satire or not.
    This game has a **** of typos, way more than in any RPG I've played, and way way more than I expected of a writing team that's led by a published author. It's like they couldn't afford a proofreader.

    It's also buggy. At a certain point one of the four types of drugs in the game stopped functioning in my menu/UI, it's just disabled for the rest of the playthrough. Many of the thoughts are also bugged and don't work, and there's no way to tell unless you invest in them first, at which point you have to invest more to get rid of them or revert to a previous save. And the saves are also buggy. Beating the game seems to have broken the save system. Now the game either doesn't allow me to manually save, or it lets me then freezes. Autosaves sometimes trigger like normal, but won't show up.

    This game is saved by its excellent art, its large amount of solid writing, unique skill system, and the high points of its world & story. It's a breath of fresh air in the CRPG genre, but I would have been disappointed had I paid full price. It's no Planescape: Torment.
    Expand
  59. Oct 19, 2019
    2
    It's just a reading simulator. The devs should have at least hire voice actors to voice the endless dialogs. At this state it feels like a book reading and not a game. It burns you pretty fast.
  60. Oct 18, 2019
    0
    I dislike politics in video games and this game is full of it. We have enough of that crap in real life, keep it away from video games.
  61. Oct 27, 2019
    2
    A self-indulgent point-and-clicker that forces its unsolicited ideology on you every chance it gets. The only real choice you get is when you've had enough...
  62. Oct 21, 2019
    0
    It's just a regular text rpg without any visual representation. I don't get what's all the hype about.
  63. Nov 6, 2019
    4
    I feel bad because so many people love his game - I don't.

    Some Games are loved by critics and players - like Witcher 3. And like Witcher 3 everybody seems to love this game - I don't. Everybody seems to love the tv series "The Wire" - I don't. I find the game ... boring ... and ... to slow ... Characterbuild is so slow that the fire did not start - I also dont like the character
    I feel bad because so many people love his game - I don't.

    Some Games are loved by critics and players - like Witcher 3. And like Witcher 3 everybody seems to love this game - I don't. Everybody seems to love the tv series "The Wire" - I don't.

    I find the game ... boring ... and ... to slow ...
    Characterbuild is so slow that the fire did not start - I also dont like the character - I dont like the partner ... I did not likt the (slowly) unfolding story .... it all felt like stereotypes everywhere

    Walk there - click here - talk there - Walk back - read - I cared less and less about the story and requested a refund after 2 hours playtime.

    Graphics are not my taste.

    Voice acting is awesome.
    Expand
  64. Oct 17, 2019
    0
    It's just a glorified reading simulator.
    The universe is boring and graphics are bad.
    If you didn't like Torment: Tides of Numenera, you won't like this one either.

    PS: The 10/10 ratings are clearly from the devs themselves.
  65. Oct 16, 2019
    0
    *edit2: restarted after the softlock - now i get a bug where THE FIRST QUEST IN THE GAME has a bug where an item you pick up simply doesnt appear as it should (shoe) THE FIRST QUEST IN THE GAME THAT IS LITERALLY - PICK UP SHOE - DOESNT WORK! NICE! Expect greatness!
    *edit: got it to run with help from a steam customer support guy. Got hardstuck right at the start of the game - there is a
    *edit2: restarted after the softlock - now i get a bug where THE FIRST QUEST IN THE GAME has a bug where an item you pick up simply doesnt appear as it should (shoe) THE FIRST QUEST IN THE GAME THAT IS LITERALLY - PICK UP SHOE - DOESNT WORK! NICE! Expect greatness!
    *edit: got it to run with help from a steam customer support guy. Got hardstuck right at the start of the game - there is a place that softlocks the game if you dont have certain "stats" - you always take guaranteed 3 morale damage and die. AHAHAHAHAHA wow just wow. Other people are talking about more softlocks later on in the game. Definitely should wait for a patch.

    Doesnt run - first a black screen because of windows 7 (they fixed that) - followed by another blackscreen that apparently only i experience. I am well above recommended requirements and i tried every graphics option available.
    Expand
  66. Nov 10, 2019
    9
    A very strange journey through the human mind and an interesting spin on the isometric RPG genre. You can be insane and talk to visions or just use stone cold logic all packaged into a detective noir storyline, just don't expect any form of combat. One of my favorites this year.
  67. Nov 10, 2019
    10
    The best rpg of the decade. Thanks for making it and giving us hope. 10/10.
  68. Nov 11, 2019
    10
    Masterpiece! And one of the best RPG-games for the last 10 years.
    Yes, you can't perform a role play for chaotic-neutral dwarf, who was raised in the elf-circus in an ancient forest. But still, there are plenty of ways to entertain yourself as a police detective with heavy hangover.
  69. Nov 11, 2019
    10
    Did you ever dream of being a hobo and a cop? Or to feel how it is to suffer from psychological disorders that can be used as skills? What would happen to you if the love of your life abandoned you at the vulnerable age of forty? Learn how your words and actions lead to consequences for both you and the people around you. This game will make you a better person. Bona-fide art.
  70. Nov 11, 2019
    8
    This game is getting mixed reviews mostly because of the way it approaches ideologies. And this, indeed, is its absolutely worst aspect. Most characters are categorized by their "ideology", and said ideologies lack any nuance. You're either a hardcore bolshevik, a brick-headed fascist, soulless capitalist, or something along these lines. This aspect of the game can easily break immersionThis game is getting mixed reviews mostly because of the way it approaches ideologies. And this, indeed, is its absolutely worst aspect. Most characters are categorized by their "ideology", and said ideologies lack any nuance. You're either a hardcore bolshevik, a brick-headed fascist, soulless capitalist, or something along these lines. This aspect of the game can easily break immersion and reminds you that you're not solving a real crime. People are never so simple.

    It's also worth mentioning that, sometimes, the game can be a little too crazy or assign insane difficulty to very easy tasks. In many cases, also, you're not allowed to do the most obvious thing. Instead, you're being sent on a wild goose chase.

    This being said, the game endears you to itself with its art style from the first moment. Its (rare!) voice acting is great, graphics are enthralling, and even such tiny things as pictures used for stats, are generally mesmerizing. Writing is stellar, despite some ham-fisted approach to ideology. But most importantly, your game really depends on who your character is. To the point I've never seen in any game before.

    Character creation in Disco Elysium is unique. You don't play a warrior or a rogue; you're a cop and a cop is his mind, his charm, his physique and his motorics. All these aspects decide whether you can tell if someone is lying to you, how you respond under pressure, whether you understand what it is being a cop, or how much you can rely on your gut feelings. If you're a guy who can spot a lot, you're most likely not very good at reading intentions, even though you may notice blood-shot eyes. But it's not as simple as that. If your perception is too good, you may focus on a childhood scar of your interlocutor, completely forgetting about your case for two days. Middle road gets you nowhere but when you specialize, you may easily lose yourself. Not to mention that if you're not composed enough, swaying hips of a gal can be more than enough to make it impossible for you to think straight.

    What hooked me into this game is that character choices do matter. There's plenty of moments when you can perform a perfect investigation and end up with completely bogus results because you weren't able to recognize some cultural motif and your empathy towards a child led you astray. In other cases, you need to get something done and agree to a rotten compromise, just to learn that there were other ways of accomplishing things. Most tasks are interesting, the main story has its twists, and there are also quite a few things intentionally designed to waste your time.

    The game deserves stellar note of 9/10. Alas, it's not perfect mechanics-wise. I could use "always run" mode, it would be nice to manage your equipment, fewer loading screens would be welcome, proper multicore optimization is a must in 2019 and so on. These are all rather minor things. All the same, -1 for limited quality of life.

    All in all, it's a must-play for fans of the RPG genre who don't mind reading a lot. If you don't enjoy reading, this game is simply not for you. No harm in that. To those, who are afraid that Disco Elysium is filled with useless narrative like the latest Planescape Torment, don't worry. Every line of test is both well written and interesting.
    Expand
  71. Nov 13, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game got me hooked right at the start - we get a typical Torment-like opening only to discover it's just the biggest of hangovers ever. The game reminds me of Torment:Tides of Numenera in many ways. It's hugely reliant on skill checks, the story is also gloomy and there is this deppresing vibe around it.
    The gameplay is wonderful - no meaningless fights, just exploration, and detective work. Mechanics are harmonizing with the storyline. It's a throwback to point'n'click detective games, but employs a lot of RPG spice to it - which blends together so well.
    It only makes it more amazing when you realize, it's the debut of ZA/UM, good luck with the future games, either it's a sequel or a totally new IP.
    Expand
  72. Nov 19, 2019
    0
    Disco Elysium is just another piece of postmodern art. I understand why boomers give it 10/10, it's called a "duckling syndrome". They see something like Planscape torment and think that it's an excellent game. But they are wrong. DE is nothing. Just accept it.
  73. Nov 18, 2019
    7
    I'll keep the review relatively short. I'd best summarize Disco Elysium as a unique RPG slow burn. You play as a protagonist/antagonist detective in an alternate universe set in the 50s. The choices you make truly determine the outcome of the endgame. In that sense, this is one of those games where your choices do matter. That being said, this game is slow paced, and can be long-winded.I'll keep the review relatively short. I'd best summarize Disco Elysium as a unique RPG slow burn. You play as a protagonist/antagonist detective in an alternate universe set in the 50s. The choices you make truly determine the outcome of the endgame. In that sense, this is one of those games where your choices do matter. That being said, this game is slow paced, and can be long-winded. Overall, a solid game with a lot of replayability if you're wanting to see how different choices play out.

    Pros:
    + Nice voice acting
    + Interesting plot and nicely fleshed out world, super outside-the-box even for a detective game
    + Leveling system encourages different styles of play
    + Psychological thriller-type gameplay in a sense -- different aspects of your being battle it out to influence your player choices.

    Cons
    - Sometimes there is simply too much reading
    - Scarce action, almost non-existent as far as combat goes
    - Slow-paced running throughout the game world, which can get tedious
    - Graphics will not blow anybody away (not too much of a con for this type of game)

    Overall, a solid RPG. Unique and worth multiple play throughs for the most part.
    Expand
  74. Nov 17, 2019
    9
    Disco Elysium is probably the most ambitious deep dive into the human psyche, and the human condition, that I've ever witnessed in a videogame. It's a real writing tour de force and undoubtedly a game which will be remembered and talked about for years and years to come.

    If you like games with hard hitting writing such as Pillars of Eternity, The Talos Principle, Planescape: Torment or
    Disco Elysium is probably the most ambitious deep dive into the human psyche, and the human condition, that I've ever witnessed in a videogame. It's a real writing tour de force and undoubtedly a game which will be remembered and talked about for years and years to come.

    If you like games with hard hitting writing such as Pillars of Eternity, The Talos Principle, Planescape: Torment or Fallout 1 and 2 this game should definitely appeal to you. I will also give big props to the art, artstyle and music which are an easy 10/10 in my book. Pretty original and creative stuff and in combination with the writing it really helps elevate the game and give it a unique feel.

    I will however leave out the perfect 10/10 for a couple of things:

    * The Dice Roll Skill Check really messes up your playthrough sometimes, if you're a bit of competitionist (like me) completing the game without save scumming at a couple of encounters is nearly unavoidable. The alternative, if you don't want to save scum even a little bit, is to probably have to do 3-5 playthroughs to see everything. And some people probably like that but I just don't have time for it. I understand why the skill checks are there but it wasn't a mechanic I was overly fond of since they sometimes broke the immersion a bit.

    * The conclusion of the game ended up going in a tangent pretty unrelated to what came before, maybe they were pressed for time toward the end but in my mind this isn't overly good writing. Maybe real life is like this but fiction typically flows better when what comes next is more strongly connected to what came before. It's maybe not quite deus ex machina stuff but it's close. That's about all I can say without getting too spoilery.

    * The final conclusion of the game could have given more closure. Some cutscenes for our choices would have made for a fitting end to our journey. You could also have listed our achievements with some pictures (hobocop, superstar cop, recovering alcoholic etc). Maybe they were pressed for time but if there is a special edition they should definitely do this.

    * The game is a smorgasbord of philosophical and psychological ideas, if there is one area it stumbles a bit it might however be in the leftist vs ultra-liberal debate which isn't very nuanced. You're quite often asked to take a stand on socioeconomic ideas and the choices often boil down to 1) I'm a dyed in the wool proletarian 2) Ultra-liberalism shall concur all 3) I don't like to take such strong stances so therefore I must be a moralist.... Now, if they had left this part of the discussion out I'm not sure that many of us would have been the wiser. But since it's in there I think many of us would have appreciated a more nuanced debate.

    Don't let that perturb you though, as I said this game is in my mind already a very memorable masterpiece and an instant classic. If you like old school RPG's, text driven games, adventure games, philosophical games, noir games etc then Disco Elysium should be at the very top of your short list.
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Nov 19, 2019
    96
    Certainly worth a look if you like detective or adventure games, with a lot of depth and character to them!
  2. Nov 18, 2019
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Nov 15, 2019
    90
    Disco Elysium is a wonderfully written RPG that defies preconceptions of what RPGs can be. Whether or not it somehow marks its own paradigm shift or inspires a new sub-genre remains to be seen, but for now, I encourage anyone who wants to experience some of the best game writing on offer to give it a try.