F1 Race Stars Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get ready to experience FORMULA ONE cars, teams and circuits with F1 Race Stars from Codemasters Racing, the home of the series of HD official FORMULA ONE games. Coming this November, F1 RACE STARS is a fast-to-the-fun arcade racing game for all ages featuring the official FORMULA ONE cars,Get ready to experience FORMULA ONE cars, teams and circuits with F1 Race Stars from Codemasters Racing, the home of the series of HD official FORMULA ONE games. Coming this November, F1 RACE STARS is a fast-to-the-fun arcade racing game for all ages featuring the official FORMULA ONE cars, teams and circuits as they've never been seen before. Drivers including Lewis Hamilton, Fernando Alonso and Sebastian Vettel have been transformed into personality-packed heroes and FORMULA ONE locations have become vibrant racing theme parks designed for speed and wheel-to-wheel competition. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
F1 Race Stars Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    80
    A fun, light-hearted take on Formula 1, F1 Race Stars offers a great opportunity to beat any of well-known drivers, including the current champion of the world.
  2. PC Gamer
    Feb 1, 2013
    70
    The whole thing feels a bit bland. [March 2013, p.73]
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Jan 23, 2013
    65
    Kiddie version of the Formula 1 circus is easy and boring, although it tries its best to imitate chaotic Mario Kart. Perhaps next year, then.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    60
    Caught between game styles, it'll only make the podium for a very specific audience.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    60
    F1 Race Stars is an action-filled karting game featuring all drivers and teams from the 2012 season. The rather crazy fast-paced gameplay start out funny, but gets to repetitive after a short while.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    55
    It's a bit of a shame, really. Codemasters Racing is one of the best and most dependable developers of racing games out there, but F1 Race Stars simply doesn't live up to the high standard defined by F1 games of the past.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 4, 2013
    50
    Interesting race game at first glance fires all of its ammunition in the opening ten minutes of play. After that there is nothing more to offer. [Jan 2013]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Really fun game, loved every moment of it, not for everybody though.But I'm not sure I would have the patience for a relatively primitiveReally fun game, loved every moment of it, not for everybody though.But I'm not sure I would have the patience for a relatively primitive interface from an older game like that and i was planning on checking out this update. A side by side would probably make that decision for me. Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2020
    10
    I haven't enjoy Mario kart in forever this game is the best love the pits for super damaged karts. short cuts r a bit insane but i feel all inI haven't enjoy Mario kart in forever this game is the best love the pits for super damaged karts. short cuts r a bit insane but i feel all in all very fun light hearted game for racers and not who aren't trying to race seriously. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    I really liked every aspect of this game. In my opinion it is important to appreciate this game as more of an indie title rather than a AAA. II really liked every aspect of this game. In my opinion it is important to appreciate this game as more of an indie title rather than a AAA. I have enjoyed this game most when playing local 4 player split screen, it's quick and easy to pick up which is my favorite characteristic in most things in life.

    Haters will say "Mario blah blah blah moan moan moan", but as far as Mario clones this is a really polished example. The cut scenes are a good with obvious time going into the tools used. Into racing games? Give this a chance.
    Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    A good, Mario Kart-ish, type of racing for the PC. The game is not that expensive if you know where to look, and will provide you a couple ofA good, Mario Kart-ish, type of racing for the PC. The game is not that expensive if you know where to look, and will provide you a couple of fun evenings with friends, whether they are racing next to you in splitscreen mode, or on the other side of the world in online play (Which supports up to 12 players), you're guaranteed to have fun. The lack of controller support, control customization, lack of online career mode, and the far too expensive DLC (5,00 euros for 1 track) mean I have to take 2 points off the perfect score. This game is only enjoyable if you buy and play it with friends, and if you look in the online menu, you'll find a ''hidden'' option for a lot of race types, like elimination, Pole Position, Refuel, and slalom. A good game, if you know where to look. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2020
    6
    To make a good Mario Kart like you need a lot of ingredients, and unfortunately F1 Race Stars lacks many of them.

    It was certainly a good
    To make a good Mario Kart like you need a lot of ingredients, and unfortunately F1 Race Stars lacks many of them.

    It was certainly a good idea to transpose the F1 world into a flashy, cartoony world, turn the F1 pilots into cute little guys and revisit the circuits with much more fantasy, but there are too many flaws in the game design:

    1) Mario Kart excels at what I would call "balance in imbalance": although the players receive different objects depending on their current spots, the difference is clearly readable. You know what kind of objects you are likely to receive depending on your spot. Shortcuts in MK give an advantage, but usually this advantage rewards the player for crossing a certain obstacle (achieving a hard jump, using a turbo at the right tempo).
    F1 Race Stars feels like imbalance is total and unrewarding: some paths (which I guess we should call shortcuts) are simply much, much faster than others for no obvious reason (they're not harder to reach for example). Object are of unequal strength, but their relative usefulness is not totally correlated to your current spot in the race.

    2) Speaking of objects, 90% of them are bubbles and only differ by the colour, which makes it difficult to remember which object does what.

    3) Because the imbalance, one could expect that some elements are brought to the gameplay to introduce a bit of "skill", but that is not the case. The gameplay is even more basic than the one of similar games, as you can just accelerate, turn and throw objects. And that's it. No drifting, vehicle customisation, changing gears... It is just all about turning and using objects. And because of this, the lack of balance feels even worse.

    4) Circuits are well designed in my opinion, but the game still lacks a real "personality" because of the pilots. It doesn't matter who you choose, the difference just sums up to a very little advantage in one aspect of the gameplay. Well it obviously changes the brand of your car and the haircut of your pilot, but visually or gameplay-wise it does not feel at all like changing from Mario to Bowser. Even the voice lines are not really special, making the choice of the character quite "bland".

    Can't recommend. Even if you just have a PC, Sonic & All Stars Racing is better for example.
    Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2013
    6
    Imagine Mario Kart landed on PC with the karts changed to mini F1 cars and the characters changed to mini F1 racers. Yeah you get this game.Imagine Mario Kart landed on PC with the karts changed to mini F1 cars and the characters changed to mini F1 racers. Yeah you get this game.

    This game has plentiful locations to drive and the graphics are fine for me. However, the whole game is too cartoon that even Mario Kart looks more realistic than this game. However, the game is not as fun as Mario Kart.

    First, the gameplay is not very good. For mario-kart-style games, there're always boosts and drifts and powerups. I know F1 cars don't drift, but the game is not realistic already (you won't see real F1 cars get boost when rolling through a boost pad) and the game is somehow boring without boosting, boosting and boosting. Also, the keys are actually unfair that if AI got it, he will be going to the secret passage for 101% and go to the front like he's cheating. Even Mario Kart's routes are not as ridiculous as this.

    Another issue is the control problem. I understand F1 cars are not like mario karts but I can't believe AI opponents can go through curves without braking meanwhile I have to press the down arrow once to go through it without crashing.

    This game is fun but I think there's an age limit to this game, like 3-12. Teenagers or older will find this game pretty ...um... boring. I hate comparing games but this game is not very good when compared to other similar games.
    Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    While the game is fun for what it is There are no voices for Michael Schumacher or Nico Rosberg. I'm amazed that no reviewer that I can findWhile the game is fun for what it is There are no voices for Michael Schumacher or Nico Rosberg. I'm amazed that no reviewer that I can find anywhere, made any mention of this... so much for thorough in-depth reviews these days...
    The issue itself is small, but it's the spirit behind not completing the game that bothers me.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews